Stats: 3,329,928 members, 8,443,017 topics. Date: Saturday, 11 July 2026 at 01:48 AM

Ibabz's Posts

Nairaland ForumIbabz's ProfileIbabz's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 (of 37 pages)

PoliticsRe: Manufacturing Sector Lost N1.2trn In 4 Years, Recovering Under Tinubu - Quartus by ibabz(m): 9:40am On Aug 09, 2025
It appears Nigeria now operates under two reporting systems: the version the APC wants Nigerians to believe, and the harsh reality Nigerians wake up to every single day. But Nigerians have the choice which one will they believe: the APC’s report, or the reality they live through daily?
BusinessRe: ₦100k In 2025 Cannot Buy What ₦8k Could Buy In 2006 - StatiSense by ibabz(m): 9:31am On Aug 09, 2025
justli:
The problem most of you have is that while being very loud and seeming intelligent, hence able to drown out opposing views, you people lack basic economics comprehension or you are not capable of critical thinking.

In 1987 the minimum wage was less than 200#. By 2006 the minimum wage was over 5000# and all that rise happened from 2000 under Obasanjo. For the first civil servant were able to buy cars and can afford university education for their children and better housing.
In the time period, minimum wage grew over 4000+ percent.

Since APC took over in minimum wage has gone up from 18,000 to 70,000 (288% increase)
That is why the middle class is gone and civil servants can no longer afford a car or good housing.

And let's not even talk about scale differences in this rise. A 100% rise in inflation in 1987 is not the same as 100% rise in inflation in 2025.

There is a reason europeans would protest over slight increase in the price of staples. They understand economics from direct impact on daily living and not some rubbish hocus pocus some lowlife economist claims.
The average standard tokunbo today is around M8million naira. It will take an average civil servant 106months or almost 9yrs of his entire salary just to buy one tokunbo car. Indeed, Tinubu is the best thing that has ever happened to Nigerians.
BusinessRe: ₦100k In 2025 Cannot Buy What ₦8k Could Buy In 2006 - StatiSense by ibabz(m): 9:26am On Aug 09, 2025
Image123:
Exactly. When his mates wey investing that $43billion, he and Atiku were busy struggling for third term and dollarisation of primaries. We all see how 'smart' and visionless he was a few years later. Go and see Dubai on Google and see what Dubai Metro, Dubai mall and Burj Khalifa has turned them to. Mr I save money in the bank cannot relate.
Haaa chey your mumu no too much? At least their government were able to save without plunging the country into a massive debt. Pls has your APC turned Nigeria into Dubai after 10yrs in office and massive debt portfolio?
BusinessRe: ₦100k In 2025 Cannot Buy What ₦8k Could Buy In 2006 - StatiSense by ibabz(m): 9:19am On Aug 09, 2025
Godfullsam:
How much was your earning in 2006? Compare and contrast.

I don't support this government though, but you can only shout inflation if your earnings remain constant between these periods or if the national minimum wage remains constant between 2006 and 2025 or if the money in circulation remains the same.
Make una dey use some sense small na. Back in 2006, the national minimum wage was ₦7,500, which at the average exchange rate of approximately ₦128.5 per US dollar equaled around $58 per month.

In 2024, minimum wage was N15,000 and exchange rate was N150, which mean $100. An improvement in the standard of living.

Fast forward to 2024, the minimum wage rose to ₦70,000, and with the exchange rate hovering near ₦1,530 to the dollar, that works out to only about $46 per month

So tell me: which is bigger and better between the two parties?
BusinessRe: ₦100k In 2025 Cannot Buy What ₦8k Could Buy In 2006 - StatiSense by ibabz(m): 9:06am On Aug 09, 2025
yemre:
You are so smart and intelligent.

Some people just make comparison without considering the real facts. There's inflation all over the world and the world can not be stagnant. A nursing course that used to cost $10k just two years ago is $35k as of today.

I do tell people, prices of things will never come down in this country, we are the ones that will keep up with the ride. Else, we'll be left behind.

What we buy for 10k today will be worth nothing less than 100k in the next 15 years or so. It's just the reality.
I don’t understand what you guys meant by this statement “ There's inflation all over the world and the world can not be stagnant”. In a sane country when the prices of goods rise, the government will adjust the minimum wage to be able to accommodate the inflation or provide subsidies in the essential commodities like food and health. Pls tell me one thing that Nigerians enjoy as a citizen of this country under Tinubu government, just one thing.
BusinessRe: ₦100k In 2025 Cannot Buy What ₦8k Could Buy In 2006 - StatiSense by ibabz(m): 9:01am On Aug 09, 2025
Image123:
If OBJ did what his mates were doing with dollars, we'll not be where we are today. He and Atiku built their personal business while Dubai was building their metros, Dubai mall, burj khalifa and co.
I pity your ignorance. Official data shows that when Obasanjo left office in 2007, Nigeria had $43.13 billion in reserves: comprising $31.5 billion in external reserves, $9.43 billion in the Excess Crude Account, and $2.18 billion in government savings. Please, tell me, what has your APC government achieved since then, other than borrowing, fueling inflation, and inflicting undue hardship on the people?

Imagine an administration that just took over from the ruins of the military and was able to navigate the country into one of the fastest growing economies in the wand the fastest in Africa.

I have said this before, the worst of PDP is far better than the best of APC. If these people are the best APC can produce, then they have no business in the affairs of governance.
BusinessRe: ₦100k In 2025 Cannot Buy What ₦8k Could Buy In 2006 - StatiSense by ibabz(m): 8:50am On Aug 09, 2025
Putinofrussia:
It will get better.Nigeria was borrowing money to pay for fuel subsidy and defending fx.
When Buhari had problem borrowing,he printed 30 trillion naira,after he exhausted that,they use fuel to borrow money for 5 years.
Meanwhile,ASUU went on strike for 8 months because there was no money to pay them,workers,pensioners,doctors etc were owed money,airlines were owed $7 billion, Nigeria and states were going bankrupt and a load of other ills.
If it went on like that,it would have been worse than this and it might even end in another civil war.
A lot of people were stealing the little oil we were producing...powerful people in govt and out of govt and their cohorts.
It would be a battle for the fittest.
Now,according to FITCH ratings,Poor's ratings,World Bank,IMF...Tinubu has grown the economy (but not felt by the masses ).
Tinubu has paid off the $7billion,paid off IMF more than $3 billion he met on ground etc.

The pain we are going through is what is called transition pain that has eased than last year and it will get better.
Rome was not built in a day.
Go and write it down,before 2027,there will be prosperity for Nigerians.
The key word is a little patience.
For your information,Nigeria's fuel still remains one of the cheapest in Africa.
Previous govts tied our lives to fuel,reason any little hike in price will seem as if the world is ending.
That has stopped. Prosperity is here...soonest.

The United States of America's debt has ballooned to $36.7 trillion, and out of desperation, the U.S. Government is accepting donations from citizens to reduce its indebtedness. The United Kingdom is facing a debt crisis that has seen its budget deficit hit £20.7 billion, and its debt level is now the second highest on record. And the biggest economy in Europe, Germany, is grappling with a €118.8 billion budget deficit.

Meanwhile, in Nigeria, President Bola Tinubu has reduced our national debt from the $113.7 billion he inherited from General Buhari to $97.1 billion today.

This is even as he is building the two largest road infrastructure in Nigeria's history, the 1068 kilometre Illela-Sokoto-Badagry Superhighway, costing ₦13 trillion, and the 750 kilometre Lagos-Calabar Coastal Highway, priced at ₦15 trillion.

Yes, there are still challenges here and there, but Nigeria has made significant progress under Tinubu. And the world is noticing. This is why more countries are granting Nigeria's passport visa-free access, leading to the latest Henley Passport Index upgrading Nigeria's passport from the 97th strongest under General Buhari to the 88th most powerful passport on Earth today.
So Tinubu has not started to borrow money to defend fx? Despite not paying subsidies, this government has continued to borrow money to defend Fx, the same policy people like you are promoting. Who is fooling who?
BusinessRe: ₦100k In 2025 Cannot Buy What ₦8k Could Buy In 2006 - StatiSense by ibabz(m): 8:45am On Aug 09, 2025
Putinofrussia:
So also is 100k in 2006 cannot buy what 8k can buy in 1987.

In1990, a 50k bag of rice cost N350.

In 2006, a 50kg bag of rice in Nigeria cost ₦6,000.

In 2025,a 50k bag of rice cost N70,000.
Let us do the maths.

6000 divided by 350 gives ~ 17.

70,000 divided by 6000 gives ~ 11.6= 12(approx)

Comparing the two with the space of 16 and 19 years,Tinubu has done better because price went up 17 times in 1990 (space of 16 years to 2006) even with the fraudulent Fuel Subsidy.

In 2025,with the removal of the fraudulent Fuel Subsidy,price only went up approximately,12 times (and things are still coming down exponentially, we pray)

Kudos to President Tinubu for having gotten the gut to make these hard decisions that brings prosperity to Nigerians soonest..
Oh really? You guys can’t cease to amaze me. Why not do the first 10yrs of PDP 1999 to 2009 and the first 10yrs of the APC from 2015 to 2025? Since you want us to compare the performance of APC and PDP, focus your energy on the period each party assumed office.
PoliticsRe: President Tinubu Approves ₦1.5 Trillion Light Rail Project For Kano by ibabz(m): 8:37am On Aug 09, 2025
benuejosh:
Aside the Shagari government, no other government has done well in infrastructure than the APC government. This is no sentiments. Those who witnessed the Shagari government will attest to this. The major road and other infrastructure we have in this country today were built during the Shagari government. Only APC government and in clear terms Tinubu has performed well in infrastructure.
Can you backup this your claim with empirical data? I don’t understand how you guys just think your talking to a toddler or someone that didn’t go to school at all.
PoliticsRe: Endorsing Tinubu For 2027 Is Anti-Party - PDP Warns Members by ibabz(m): 7:06am On Aug 09, 2025
Alao046:
Wile didn't endorse Tinubu in 2023, he worked for him silently.
Pele o, the senior special assistant to Wike on Nairaland communication and strategy
PoliticsRe: Endorsing Tinubu For 2027 Is Anti-Party - PDP Warns Members by ibabz(m): 7:03am On Aug 09, 2025
PoliticsRe: Tinubu’s 2-Year Record Has Surpassed PDP’s Performance Under Obasanjo — Bwala by ibabz(m): 7:27pm On Aug 08, 2025
ezra1990:
You will not see those 30k monthly stomach infrastructure collectors defend this...I guess they've crawled into their holes...abi their monthly allowee never drop...probably because of technical glitches?
Their allowance no cover this magnitude of stupi.dity.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan’s Return: A Game Of Shadows, Not A Race To Win by ibabz(op): 8:48am On Aug 08, 2025
Bendeco02:
Jonathan can't win but him contesting is advantage to Atiku/Obi.

Atiku will surely win NW/NE, Obi will win SE and get enough votes in NC/SS combined.

SS will be shared between Obi, Jonathan and tinubu. Why i included tinubu is because of SS governors supporting him.

When you check everthing you don't need anyone to tell you that Atiku/Obi have advantage if both of them contest together.

With Jonathan on the race it will be hard for tinubu even with result manipulation.
With proper planning and strategy, yes it is possible otherwise I see Tinubu winning against. Just like they will all share the south east and south south votes, they will equally share the north votes. However, the south west with estimated votes of about 18million still remain unchallenged. If Tinubu can secure up to 70% of the south west votes and some numbers from eastern and northern parts… what do you think?
PoliticsRe: Jonathan’s Return: A Game Of Shadows, Not A Race To Win by ibabz(op): 8:20am On Aug 08, 2025
descarado:
You do not know the north. If atiku is contesting, who is Jonathan?
North never rated him anyway. Na south east carry the man for head and as it is bc of obi, south east no rate am again. Also, wike spoil show for any south south politician. Jonathan can never convince anybody he is not working with wike. And come to think of it, wike is doing all these for a vp slot 2031. Jonathan coming out already nullifies that plan. 2027 election is what paves way for 2031 so stakeholders have that in mind.

Also, if Jonathan comes out, he is a weakling. Seems like he dont enjoy the goodwill he got before and want to soil it.
Pdp should field wike, afterall he is from ss.
He dont want to contest cos the permutation with tinubu is to make pdp presidential election unattainable so tinubu will come out unopposed in the south. He initially planned to scuttle all the political parties and ride alone but he and his team never saw the coalition coming so they are using plan B to Z at the moment.
Sponsoring smear campaign against obi is not working either. He resorted to using state apparatus and that one failed.
Nice game, we dey side dey watch. It will be fun.
It seems you’re a chess player as well… already reading the opening moves.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan’s Return: A Game Of Shadows, Not A Race To Win by ibabz(op): 6:25am On Aug 08, 2025
AMINDA:
PDP is not equal to Wike. PDP only wanted to neutralize Atiku, not to destroy their party. With Atiku deftly leaving the party, they are now scrambling to save the party (bar Wike). They desperately need resuscitation by fielding a big name (GEJ or Obi). Why would Jonathan contest knowingly with the intention of being a spoiler just to save Tinubu? He's far too big for that. It's as ridiculous as those claiming El-Rufai is working for Tinubu. If GEJ contests, he would best Tinubu in the South and take away all Northern votes that would have accrued to Tinubu with Atiku getting the rest of the Northern votes. Where then will Tinubu get his margins from outside of the Southwest?
I agree, PDP is not Wike. But tell me, is Wike truly bound by the colours of any party? Between Jonathan and Tinubu, where do you think his shadow will fall? And in this Nigeria we know too well, can you point to even one PDP giant who has not, openly or in whispers, aligned with Tinubu’s return to power?

Now, picture this. You are Jonathan. A figure from the past offers you up to $1 billion for your campaign. You know in your heart that the throne is beyond your reach, yet the very act of contesting grants you something more precious than victory: the chance to strike back at the man who once conspired to end your reign. And here’s the beauty of it, you might spend no more than ₦10 billion from that vast sum, and the rest becomes… let’s just say, a quiet reward for your troubles.

In politics, money is not merely currency; it is the weapon that turns enemies into allies, and impossibilities into decisions. And in this land, no politician is too noble to be bought, only too proud to admit the price.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan’s Return: A Game Of Shadows, Not A Race To Win by ibabz(op): 6:20am On Aug 08, 2025
carzeem1:
If Jonathan declared to run, it's game over for Atiku n Obi. It's most certain He would have consulted all the Northern power brokers with a formidable deputy picked to neutralised anything Tinubu's team will do in North west.

The only contest is between him n incumbent due to power of incumbency.
He fits perfectly into all the puzzles of single term for south, payback for Tinubu's poor judgement in appointment, subsidy brouhaha, unification of Forex etc, Nigerians yearning for respite from the hardship of Tinubu's policies and nostalgia of the good old days where prices of commodities were almost free in comparison to today's price.

Jonathan will defeat Tinubu and neutralise all the additional voting strength he gained I'm the south south and north central. North east if Atiku soft pedals will go to Jonathan 80 percent.
Love your opinion, but I see it differently. Tinubu is the grandmaster behind this entire game. If you study the board carefully, you’ll notice he didn’t pick Jonathan by accident, it’s a calculated move to split Peter Obi’s stronghold in the South-East and South-South. Jonathan’s presence means those two regions will now be shared between him and Obi, automatically shrinking Obi’s influence there.

Meanwhile, Tinubu has kept his own bloc under lock and key; the South-West with estimated votes of about 18million votes remains untouched. While the North’s votes will be a battlefield for everyone, but the South-West is still his fortress. The only real threat to his dominance there would be if a heavyweight Yoruba candidate like Osinbajo joined the race, but I’m certain Osinbajo will never take that risk.

This is pure chess: every piece moved with intent, every counter-move anticipated. If you understand the game, you’ll see exactly what he’s doing. And if you watch closely, you will see that Tinubu is thinking ten moves ahead while everyone else is still deciding their first.

I hope you can understand the game plan.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan’s Return: A Game Of Shadows, Not A Race To Win by ibabz(op): 9:36pm On Aug 07, 2025
Rutherford2019:
The greatest fear of Tinubu is if Jonathan joins the race
Let me tell you plan..
Obi will will not run if Jonathan is running
It will be difficult to convince Wike and South South to vote for Tinubu instead of Jonathan..infact South South will betray Tinubu
NB Tinubu is banking on block votes from South South and South West for 2027
The only region that will not vote for Jonathan is SW
If PDP leaders can convince Atiku, Elrufai and IBB and Obasanjo to back Jonathan then Tinubu is a gonna
The only impediment to Jonathan presidency is if Atiku is running, South South will be skeptical of backing Jonathan because they'll think that North want to play them to divide southern votes in favor of Atiku
I respect your opinion but disagree. Do you think PDP wants to win the presidential election? You think OBJ, IBB and Elrufai are still members of PDP? Do you think Jonathan really wants to win the election?
PoliticsRe: Jonathan’s Return: A Game Of Shadows, Not A Race To Win by ibabz(op): 9:15pm On Aug 07, 2025
helinues:
Honestly, the supporters of the opposition are not sharp.

If you are talking about GEJ, what should now happen to both Atiku and Peter Obi

So you guys couldn't pick that news is just to distract and confuse the opposition
Oh really? If there's one thing politics has taught me, it's that every rumor holds a grain of truth until it’s undeniably disproven. This might sound like another conspiracy theory, but remember my take on Kwankwaso being the next pawn? You all waved it off as baseless speculation… only for Kwankwaso himself to step forward and validate exactly what I’d predicted.

It’s funny, but not ha-ha funny how so many of you still can’t read between the lines of Tinubu’s political chess game. I’ve been studying this man’s moves since 1999. Nothing he does surprises me anymore. I can almost predict his next step before he takes it.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan’s Return: A Game Of Shadows, Not A Race To Win by ibabz(op): 9:03pm On Aug 07, 2025
THEGALADIMA:
Well thought out, well written.
A Machiavellian genius you are.
Machiavellian? It’s one of my all-time favorite reads. Once you dive into that book, you don’t come out the same, it shifts something in you.
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Agrees To Run For 2027 Presidency by ibabz(m): 5:44pm On Aug 07, 2025
Dalohad:
It would be debunked before the next 24 hours.

They want to use him to confusion via PDP and finally kill off whatever reputation he has as an elder statesman.
In politics, every rumor is true until proven otherwise
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Agrees To Run For 2027 Presidency by ibabz(m): 5:35pm On Aug 07, 2025
indemnityy:
Where would WIKE pinch his tents if Jonathan choses to run?

20272026#026
The same Wike might be the one orchestrating the plan.

Read my full opinion here

https://www.nairaland.com/8493170/jonathans-return-game-shadows-not
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Agrees To Run For 2027 Presidency by ibabz(m): 5:34pm On Aug 07, 2025
Ddeliverer007:
Don’t you think he is splitting the votes for tinubu?
Read my full article here

https://www.nairaland.com/8493170/jonathans-return-game-shadows-not
PoliticsJonathan’s Return: A Game Of Shadows, Not A Race To Win by ibabz(op): 5:33pm On Aug 07, 2025
With the sudden re-emergence of Goodluck Jonathan into Nigeria’s presidential equation, it’s clear that what we’re witnessing is not politics as usual, it’s political theatre with deeper scripts and hidden actors. This isn't just about winning an election. It’s about managing outcomes, preserving interests, and safeguarding power structures.

The PDP, once the ruling giant, has become what many now call an extension of the APC; subtle in opposition, but loud in compliance. Their latest move to project Jonathan as a "consensus candidate" reeks not of ambition, but of strategy. A careful observer will realize that this candidacy is less about victory and more about influence, negotiation, and control.

But why would the PDP field a candidate they don't intend to help win?

The answer lies in the quiet alliances and unspoken agreements that now define Nigerian politics. A significant number of PDP chieftains, especially those from the South, have already defected to the APC, while others maintain comfortable ties with the ruling party behind closed doors. For them, opposition is only a costume they dine from the same pot. So, even if APC continues in power till 2031, PDP’s top players will continue to eat. The game goes on.

From Jonathan’s side, there may be more personal motivations. This could be his opportunity to “return the favour” to Atiku whose actions led to his dramatic fall in 2015. This candidacy offers him a chance to play the kingmaker or even the spoiler.

Let’s not forget: PDP is broke. So broke, it couldn't afford the tenement rates on its own property. The emergence of Jonathan likely signals that someone, somewhere is bankrolling this mission. And that kind of funding doesn't come without expectation. Rumours suggest support from powerful financial blocs tied to the ruling structure, possibly to the tune of hundreds of billions.

Jonathan will definitely not run alone. Speculations point to a possible alliance with Rabiu Kwankwaso, a strong northern figure who has previously expressed willingness to collaborate with Tinubu. In a bizarre twist of political loyalty, we could see a ticket engineered not to win, but to divide, especially in regions critical to Atiku and Obi.

Let’s move beyond the names and look at the numbers. Based on projections (previously discussed), a free and fair election could look like this:

Atiku + Obi: 9.8 – 11.5 million votes
Tinubu + Shettima: 6.7 – 8.3 million votes
Jonathan + Kwankwaso: 4.5 – 5.5 million votes

If these figures hold in an unmanipulated process, it becomes nearly impossible for the APC to secure another term, given their poor performance and dwindling popularity.

But here’s the twist: what if the outcome was never meant to depend on actual votes?

Many Nigerians still remember what transpired in the Edo gubernatorial elections, allegations of votes being "allocated," not counted. The fear is that this model could be scaled nationally. If such a plan is being carefully orchestrated, we may be staring not at an election, but at a pre-written script; votes already distributed in secret, only waiting for names to be filled in.

Take the Southeast for example. With about 2.4 million votes projected, Atiku and Obi are expected to dominate. But with both Obi and Jonathan pulling votes from similar bases, those votes could be artificially split or strategically redirected through "allocation" to Jonathan or even neutralized altogether.

The same scenario may unfold in the North, where Jonathan’s running mate, likely a strong northern figure could be used to mop up swing votes and dilute Atiku’s influence.

Then comes the darker theory; vote buying at an industrial scale.

Unconfirmed reports suggest that the ruling party may be prepared to offer up to N100,000 per vote in some regions. That’s not just desperation, it’s a declaration of war on democracy. And if this is true, one must ask: how many Nigerians, under the weight of hunger and hopelessness, would say no to such an offer?

It doesn't stop there. There's also the possibility that APC could fund PDP’s vote buying efforts in regions where APC has become a symbol of hardship and is sure to be rejected. For instance, in the core North, where sentiment might heavily favour Atiku, the ruling party might sponsor strategic vote buying not to win votes for APC, but to bleed votes from Atiku by boosting Jonathan’s numbers artificially.

The game, therefore, isn't about candidates. It's about vote cannibalism; divide the opposition, weaken their base, and keep the ruling structure intact.

As it stands, this election may not be decided by rallies or manifestos, but by backroom deals, financial warfare and data-driven manipulation. The PDP and APC may be playing on different sides of the board, but they might just be part of the same team behind the scenes.

Goodluck Jonathan’s entry is not the twist in the story, it may be the smokescreen for the twist yet to come.

And when that twist lands, Nigerians will be left wondering whether they were ever voting... or simply participating in a well-produced illusion.
PoliticsConspiracy Thursday: From Conspiracy To Calculation: Nigeria’s Next Electoral Ch by ibabz(op): 1:00pm On Aug 07, 2025
Conspiracy Thursday: From Conspiracy to Calculation: Nigeria’s Next Electoral Chess Match

If you’ve followed my past write-ups, you’d recall that many of the so-called “conspiracy theories” I shared are no longer theory, they’ve slowly evolved into political fact.

In Nigerian politics, every rumor is considered truth until proven otherwise.

And in this unfolding drama, one thing is becoming painfully obvious: PDP is no longer the opposition. It has quietly become an extension of the APC, a deliberate design to fracture resistance and help retain power, not because the ruling party has earned it, but because many of the supposed opposition leaders are already feeding from the same table.

And as we know, you don’t talk while eating.

The initial APC strategy was straightforward:

Prevent Atiku from winning the PDP ticket by backing a Southern candidate.

Create a scenario where APC would dominate the South, while scraping what they could from the North, even if it meant using federal influence, state security, and INEC.

With Tinubu's deep control in the South West and most Southern governors quietly aligned, APC believed it could squeeze victory out of a divided field, not through votes but through structure and manipulation.

To destabilize Atiku in the North, Kwankwaso was thrown in as a willing pawn and true to form, he has reportedly pledged to work for Tinubu in 2027.

But then, the unthinkable started forming: a coalition between Atiku and Peter Obi; a North-South alignment with organic support. It rattled everything.

Remember: Peter Obi secured over 6 million votes in 2023 on his own. If combined with Atiku's numbers in a credible alliance, it would take a miracle for APC to win cleanly.

The Counterstrategy:
Option 1: Convince Peter Obi to avoid any alliance with Atiku. Likely approached with offers of campaign funding, power-sharing deals, and “national interest” logic. That seems to have failed.

Option 2: Activate a “spoiler ticket. Goodluck Jonathan + Rabiu Kwankwaso.
They don't need to win. They just need to exist.

The mission is simple: Fragment Obi’s grip on the South East and South South. Neutralize Atiku’s growing northern base by reviving PDP’s relevance with an old face.

So, the plan is to prevent that merger from yielding results, not only by splitting real votes, but by playing the dark game of vote allocation.

The Tested Formula: The Edo Template
In Edo State’s 2024 gubernatorial election, observers noticed what many had whispered for years. votes weren’t just cast, they were distributed. Party agents became bystanders while predetermined figures filled INEC’s sheets.

This model invisible to the eye but effective in outcome is likely to be replicated nationwide in 2027. Especially in regions with low turnout, INEC can become both the calculator and the witness.

Because in Nigeria, votes don’t win elections, structures do.

Scenario Breakdown: Assuming the 2027 Lineup:
Atiku + Obi ADC or Coalition)
Tinubu + Shettima (APC)
Jonathan + Kwankwaso (PDP)

Let’s use realistic turnout data.

2023 Turnout: 27% (25 million votes from 93.4 million registered voters).

2027 Projection: Estimated 100 million registered voters, turnout likely around 27–32%, or 27–32 million votes

Zone-by-Zone Projections
North West (6M votes expected) Rabiu is expected to share this votes with Atiku.
Atiku/Obi: 2.5–3M
Kwankwaso/Jonathan: 1.5–2M
Tinubu/Shettima: 1.5–2M

North East (3.4M votes expected)
Atiku/Obi: 1.3–1.5M
Tinubu: 1–1.2M
Jonathan/Kwankwaso: <0.5M

North Central (2.8M votes expected)
Atiku/Obi: 1.2–1.5M
Tinubu: 1M
Jonathan: 0.3M

South West (5.1M votes expected)
Tinubu: 2.5–3M (boosted by INEC structure)
Atiku/Obi: 1.5–2M
Jonathan: 0.5M

South South (3.6M votes expected)
Atiku/Obi: 1.8–2.2M
Jonathan: 1M
Tinubu: <0.5M

South East (2.4M votes expected)
Atiku/Obi: 1.5–1.8M
Jonathan: 0.6–0.8M
Tinubu: <0.2M

Total Turnout Estimate: 27–32 million

Atiku + Obi: 9.8 – 11.5 million
Tinubu + Shettima: 6.7 – 8.3 million
Jonathan + Kwankwaso: 4.5 – 5.5 million

The Conspiratorial Interpretation
On paper, Atiku–Obi might wins
But on the ground, it’s another game entirely.

APC is likely banking on:
Strategic disruption via Jonathan and Kwankwaso

The math doesn’t need to make sense, the narrative just needs to stick.

Politics is not about the best candidate. It’s about the best control over INEC, the ballot chain, the security forces, and the post-election narrative.

Politics is like chess. Every move toward checkmate exposes you to a counterattack. Victory belongs to the one who made the first right move and defended it well.
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Agrees To Run For 2027 Presidency by ibabz(m): 9:49am On Aug 07, 2025
Kdon2:
Game over for obi and atiku
You think so?
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Agrees To Run For 2027 Presidency by ibabz(m): 9:49am On Aug 07, 2025
Usmanovic95:
This is another orchestrated move to split opposition vote.So we will most likely have 4 opposition party challenging this APC. This is not looking encouraging.
I agree with you. But politic is like the game of chess. You might think your best move is the winning move but your opponent gives you a counter move that can end the game immediately.
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Agrees To Run For 2027 Presidency by ibabz(m): 8:51am On Aug 07, 2025
KillahPriest:
He's not eligible to contest and you all know it cool
Why not? Says who? He is over qualified sef
PropertiesRe: Pay Security Fee Or Be Arrested, Legal Or Illegal? by ibabz(m): 8:50am On Aug 07, 2025
cjayro12345:
Very good response. Security is paramount in any community.
Yes, security is paramount but I may decide to go solo and provide my own security for my house. The law doesn’t compel me to join any association, I have the liberty to join or not to join. The choice is entirely mine, so also the consequences.
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Agrees To Run For 2027 Presidency by ibabz(m): 8:45am On Aug 07, 2025
ncpat:
I don't think this will happen because if he loses, it will dent his image.
Jonathan is not going into the election with the mindset of winning. He wants to pay Atiku back for the role he played in 2025 elections and also cashout
PoliticsRe: BREAKING: Jonathan Agrees To Run For 2027 Presidency by ibabz(m): 8:43am On Aug 07, 2025
I saw this coming and I have written something about it before. Because Obi seems not to go along with their negotiations and they believe Jonathan can do the dirty job for them. Both PDP and Jonathan know clearly that they can never win the election, but they have agreed to split the votes for Atiku.
PropertiesRe: Pay Security Fee Or Be Arrested, Legal Or Illegal? by ibabz(m): 8:30am On Aug 07, 2025
EkenmaPeter:
I was opportune to spend some few month in my community and i was told some people will be going house to house to collect security fee 1k per building. failing to comply the person house will be locked. he will be arrested and hand over to the police (community divisional headquarter) , mind you the place have a divisional police headquarter in the community, and there is more than 3k to 5k residential building in the area, meaning they will be making close to 3million per month then pay 5 to 6 people 15k per month as salary.

so i am asking is this thing legal, and if i refuse to pay , what crime will i be charge with when taking to the police. also there is a lot of corruption in the people heading the issue.

so my question, is it legal?, this area is a remote place with a business salary that cant be more than 15k to 25k per month.
OP, I’ll try to answer your question based on my understanding of Nigerian law. I’m not a lawyer, but I’ve worked closely with legal professionals in the past and have picked up some knowledge along the way. Of course, any lawyers here can feel free to add or clarify.

Is it legal to refuse to join a community association?
Let’s begin with the Nigerian Constitution. Your freedom of association is guaranteed under Section 40 of the 1999 Constitution (as amended):

“Every person shall be entitled to assemble freely and associate with other persons... and, in particular, he may form or belong to any political party, trade union or any other association for the protection of his interests.”

This means you have the right to join or not to join any association, including a community or landlord association.

However, if at any point you filled a membership form, signed any document, or agreed (formally or informally) to their terms, you may have legally or contractually bound yourself to the association's rules (also called their by-laws). In such cases, you’ll be expected to comply, including paying dues and participating in decisions. And as a member, you also have the right to demand transparency and accountability from the community leadership.

That said, this is Nigeria and things are not always that straightforward, especially where money, power, or ego are involved.

Yes, it's your right to decline membership. But let’s be honest, sometimes, exercising your rights can come with consequences, especially if you’re surrounded by people who are intolerant of dissent or disagreement.

I remember a case involving a lawyer who refused to join his community association. He believed he didn’t need their security services because he already made private arrangements for himself. Unfortunately, the community saw his refusal as defiance. Eventually, more residents began withdrawing from the association, and their finances suffered.

Tragically, one night, armed robbers stormed the area and targeted his compound directly. Everyone in the building was killed. Some people suspected the act wasn’t random, that it may have been an intentional warning from within the community to discourage others from withdrawing.

Final thoughts:
Legally, you can say no. But in practice, your safety, peace of mind, and relationships within the community might suffer if you’re seen as opposing a collective agreement, especially one involving money. You know a community is made up of diverse people: illiterate, semi-illiterate and the educated illiterate.So weigh your decision wisely.

If you must decline, consider doing so respectfully and diplomatically and always ensure you have alternative arrangements in place for any service they may be offering.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 (of 37 pages)