Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 23 by Iffylove: 7:34pm On Dec 28, 2023 |
Got it. Thank you for your response Bobomaigida: To ascertain the cost, please visit the VFS site cos their fees change intermittently. Most courier companies hardly do two way, as rightly confirmed by DHL, so you can do a one-way dispatch, and visit VFS to pick up when it is ready or pay VFS to return the pkg to you via dispatch. (check their site for the cost). |
Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 23 by Iffylove: 7:34pm On Dec 28, 2023 |
Got it. Thank you for your response kweje: DHL no longer does 2 way courier service. To return back to you via courier you have to use the courier service of VFS. You can pay for that service and inform them. The details are on their site. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 23 by Iffylove: 3:34pm On Dec 28, 2023 |
PLEASE SOMEONE HELP ME OUT-----URGENT Iffylove: Hello everyone, I want to ask about the process of passport collection from vfs. DHL says they do not do two way courier again (from Ibadan to Lagos vfs), that vfs will send it back when the passport is ready. Please I need confirmation of how true this is, and if true, is there any payment that needs to be made to vfs? Thank you |
Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 23 by Iffylove: 3:13pm On Dec 28, 2023 |
Hello everyone, I want to ask about the process of passport collection from vfs. DHL says they do not do two way courier again (from Ibadan to Lagos vfs), that vfs will send it back when the passport is ready. Please I need confirmation of how true this is, and if true, is there any payment that needs to be made to vfs? Thank you |
Travel › Re: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Iffylove: 3:06pm On Dec 28, 2023 |
Hello everyone, I want to ask about the process of passport collection from vfs. DHL says they do not do two way courier again (from Ibadan to Lagos vfs), that vfs will send it back when the passport is ready. Please I need confirmation of how true this is, and if true, is there any payment that needs to be made to vfs? Thank you |
Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 23 by Iffylove: 2:11am On Dec 28, 2023 |
Hello everyone, If the child of an applicant is sending a passport for stamping on behalf of the parent to vfs Lagos in a city different from the residence of the parent. Does the process of sending through dhl differ? Will the child provide any document along the submission? Thank you |
Travel › Re: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Iffylove: 4:19pm On Dec 27, 2023 |
Hello everyone, Please I need information/procedures to follow in sending passport to Lagos for stamping. The applicant did the biometric in Lagos. Thank you. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 6:54pm On Apr 05, 2023 |
Hello everyone Please I need a response from anyone that has applied for PR through work permit. I have someone that wants to apply for provincial nomination to support his PR application, he has been working in Canada for the past 9 months and he needs to change his present job to another. But he is bothered if change of employment can affect his PR application. Does he have to stay with his present employer till he gets the nomination or can he change employment? He's employment is an open work not closed. Thanks |
Travel › Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by Iffylove: 1:06am On Apr 04, 2023 |
Hello everyone Please I need response from there anyone that has applied for PR through work permit. I have someone that wants to apply for provincial nomination to support his PR application, he has been working in Canada for the past 9 months and he needs to change his present job to another. But he is bothered if change of employment can affect his PR application. Does he have to stay with his present employer till he gets the nomination or can he change employment? He's employment is an open work not closed. Thanks |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 12:49am On Apr 04, 2023 |
Hello everyone Please I need response from there anyone that has applied for PR through work permit. I have someone that wants to apply for provincial nomination to support his PR application, he has been working in Canada for the past 9 months and he needs to change his present job to another. But he is bothered if change of employment can affect his PR application. Does he have to stay with his present employer till he gets the nomination or can he change employment? He's employment is an open work not closed. Thanks |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 4:55pm On Jul 15, 2022 |
Apply together, its better that way edimalo: Good day everyone, I would like to confirm if it is advisable for someone that has a job offer letter with LMIA to apply for visa with family at the same time to enjoy the same processing time even if the family might not go immediately or apply for the family after the main applicant gets the visa and get to the country. I am asking because an immigration agent that wants to help with the filing wants to charge heavily when apply with family than applying for the main applicant alone. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Iffylove: 5:21pm On Jul 12, 2022 |
thank you Aissy: yeah I filled the declaration form, yeah I declared everything with me and I was asked at the airport what foodstuffs I brought in |
Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Iffylove: 9:25am On Jul 10, 2022 |
Congratulations on your arrival. When you were filing your arrivecan, did you fill in information for the CBSA (Canada Border Services Agency) Declaration? Did you declare all the food items you carried? Did they ask you about those items upon arrival? Aissy: LANDING GIST
I got to Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport by past 11am for my flight to Toronto with Egyptair by 3pm, please weigh your bags or just prepare your mind to pay for extra bags the airline is not joking oh it must not be 24kg, it can be 23.5 or something but not just 24kg I had to be 66k for extra luggage, one of the airline agents there was behaving quite rudely and I was already tensed so I was just nastily glaring at him then he started to joke that I am his Benin sister I shouldn’t be angry blah blah that they have a lot of work, I just told him to take it easy. We got to Egypt by past 8pm our flight to Toronto that was suppose to leave by 1:55am was pushed to 4:40am I couldn’t sleep, make flight no go leave me LOL… sha just walked around the airport, used Wi-Fi and my brother from home through the phone basically kept me company. Then it was time to board, my people the flight to Toronto is long, I mean it is looonnggg plus the cold inside the plane, ah I still have catarrh and cough because of it…at one point ehn I was like is the pilot not even tired ? Because me that was sleeping and waking I was exhausted, the food was just there with sap much bread plus orange juice.. I really liked their orange juice . We got to Toronto by past 10am so this is where my anxiety started dancing within me, I am naturally an anxious person so this didn’t help me at all. Got to the declaration machine, I had already declared on the arrive can so I just placed my passport and printed my declaration form out then it was time for Immigration. So my visa is expiring in august because I was deferred and the new LOA didn’t come out on time so I couldn’t upload so I was really jittery about this, the queue was quite long so when it got to my turn the officer asked why I didn’t upload the new LOA and I said it didn’t come out on time so he just gave additional time and told me to extend it to cover my entire school duration. My aunty came to pick me and they still haven’t taken the light��� A part of me still can’t believe I am here, but I am seeing a lot of white people and everywhere is really quite so I know I am not in Nigeria too ��� I am extremely thankful to my family and this platform. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 2:54am On Jul 05, 2022 |
Not in the case of ET, I had to pay a guy who used his cart to convey my loads to the section where I boarded the connecting flight at Toronto airport skull4eva: All the way down becos you wont even have access to ur luggage until u arrive canada |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 2:20am On Jul 05, 2022 |
Please is this fee all the way from Nigeria airport to your final destination? Or did you pay any other fee if it's a different airline from the port of entry to the final destination? Because the ET airline stops at Toronto and the connecting flight to the destination is Aircanada. Will aircanada charge for any additional luggage? skull4eva: U can ask when u get to the airline desk in the airport it shouldnt be more than 300usd though. I did do extra luggage twice one was 100usd British airways and another was 296 USD turkish airlines. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 2:20am On Jul 05, 2022 |
. Iffylove: Thank you for your response Is this per bag? |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 1:57am On Jul 05, 2022 |
Thank you skull4eva: Yeah 23kg for 1 and 32kg for the other |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 1:40am On Jul 05, 2022 |
Thank you for your response Is this per bag? skull4eva: U can ask when u get to the airline desk in the airport it shouldnt be more than 300usd though. I did do extra luggage twice one was 100usd British airways and another was 296 USD turkish airlines. |
Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Iffylove: 1:34am On Jul 05, 2022 |
Use your parent, siblings, and your dad's company as your home tie. Discuss convincingly how you are expected to be back to manage his company and how you are responsible to be there for them physically, emotionally, and financially even at their old age. Kenny4real68: Hello everyone,
Please what a 24 years old use a ties back home aside family. I am the 2nd to last child. My dad is my sponsor. He has a good POF and has a company too. But my fear is myself, I don’t know what to use as economic ties, I don’t want to be denied for personal assets and financial status. Please gurus in the house help me . Thanks for your valuable responses. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 1:31am On Jul 05, 2022 |
Travel › Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 21 by Iffylove: 12:34am On Jul 05, 2022 |
Hello everyone, Please does anyone have an idea how much extra luggage cost Thank you. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 12:33am On Jul 05, 2022 |
Hello everyone, Please does anyone have idea how much extra luggage cost Thank you. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 3:58pm On Jul 03, 2022 |
Thanks How do I pull down a visit visa application, do I have to mail IRCC or is there a way to do so on the portal? Its the new portal. Thanks skull4eva: This was the post 1. You need covid 19 test to enter the plane but not to enter canada. At the point of entry they wont require covid 19 test from you but to enter the plane it remains a requirement. 2. You do not need to book a return ticket you sowp can easily be renewed within Canada so a return ticket is not required. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 4:50am On Jul 03, 2022 |
I am sorry about your refusal.... don't be worried, this is just a delay, you shall definitely receive your good news Based on my little knowledge, I will advise you to defer if possible to the nearest resumption date other than September. And try to tackle the reasons for the refusal adequately so that it will not be a problem for another future application (maybe sowp) This new appointment letter: did you initially state anything about this job in your previous application? If No, the VO (maybe different from the initial one) might question its genuineness * judging from the documentation they already have* Also, on the wedding issue: they definitely know that your spouse will join you sooner or later. Some people applied as single and they still got their approval though. So defer your admission, get the job and some other documents from the job apart from study leave & appointment letter and let them see some job progression, with pay slips, evidence of salary entering into your account, some home ties with parents/grandparents, by then your marriage must have been some months old and you can present documents on that and reasons why you will leave after your study (if you can also support it with some home ties from your wife's side) or any other document that can convince the VO that you would leave. Please this is just my view, other people might see it differently. I really wish you the very best by God's grace. Adebamfem: Please help I was denied and the visa officer reply was that I do not have significant family tie outside of Canada,school resumes in September 6,please can I meet up if I reapply and can I add documents like study leave in the new application, cuz I have a friend who is willing to give me study leave and appointment letter from his dad office, can I do a court wedding with my fiance and add the marriage certificate to it also as a proof of home tie, Thanks In my previous application I included my house documents and my lands all on my name, but I just did affidavit of return after study • I am not satisfied that you will leave Canada at the end of your stay. I am refusing your application because you have not established that you will leave Canada, based on the following factors: • You do not have significant family ties outside Canada |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 12:45am On Jul 03, 2022 |
Please direct me to the post skull4eva: Thats kind of true that was why i explained how i did last time |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 10:34pm On Jul 02, 2022 |
Hello everyone, How can I pull down a visit visa application? Should I mail ircc or is there another way through the portal The application was through the new portal. Thank you. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 10:32pm On Jul 02, 2022 |
But it seems airlines still request for covid 19 test result before boarding a flight afrobrown2000: @toceen2022 yea i contacted my airline and they reconfirm what you just said....minors are totally dependent on the parent status as they cant make decisions on their own.... so been on work Visa exempts them from a return ticket As for the vaccine status they said i don't need PCR for the kids since am fully vaccinated ....... I can afford to change/lose our ticket due to he inability to fly. i thought Canada still implements their restriction .."that all unvaccinated minors above 5 years show proof of pre testing" i had to further research this which states Pre-entry testing is not required Pre-entry tests are not required for fully vaccinated travellers entering Canada by land, air or water. You must still use ArriveCAN within 72 hours before your arrival to Canada.
Unvaccinated and partially vaccinated children under the age of 12 are not required to provide a valid pre-entry test result, if they are accompanying a fully vaccinated adult.
Children who are less than 5 years old are not required to test, regardless of their vaccination status.
https://travel.gc.ca/travel-covid/travel-restrictions/covid-vaccinated-travellers-entering-canada |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 3:47pm On Jun 30, 2022 |
congratulations skull4eva: My timeline The journey started in 2020 when i applied for visa for myself and my family together after i got admission for a phd in mcgill. I didnt get funding so i looked for a sponsor who was not a close relative my visa was denied alongside that of my family on basis of funds no travel history and that what was the perosn standing to gain in sponsoring my education. Now i went back to the drawing board decided to reapply alone got some level of funding from my supervisor 18k cad per year then i also got a gift of deed from my parents to increase my financial capacity added the sponsor statement again paid my full tuition for winter 2021 january then reapplied again in december 2020. My visa was approved in my but i didnt travel till july ending. I applied for my spouse sowp while i was in nigeria on 22nd of July 2021 and then the wait started. Did upfront medicals for her but didnt do for the two kids becos they were both less than 3yrs as at then. I was scared for 3 major reasons 1. financially becos i only had 5k USD in dorm account, 2m in my naira account and 2.4m in my spouse naira account as well as my sponsorship letter for the application. 2. I applied from nigeria and most gurus adviced against that although immediately i enter canada i sent my study permit as well as sin and invitation letter to support spouse application via webform and email 3. I changed my program from a phd to a masters when i entered and these things made me afraid When i waited and waited I booked a flight in december to come see my family and made my two kids do medical then. I came back in january hoping to get the news of their approval soon but it took another 6months. Although i sent my flight itenary as well as transcripts and other bursaries and funding i got and even my canada bank statement but they were just acknowledged IRCC didnt work on the file. My Mp started the follow up since sept and he did it till june 15th He is really a wonderful man. He even told me last week that they already put a brought forward date on my spouse sowp file to treat it on july 6 next week. Lets i forget i sent message to IRCC virtually almost every day and it got to a point in march that dey said i shud apply for my kids vv on the new portal so i quickly applied for my kids and spouse on march 25 2022 yet nothing. I kept on sending them mails and webform infact i sent mail to the minister of immigrations, countless times. On may 2nd my kids application attached to my wifes sowp was withdrawn on the old portal. Finally, yesterday i think they withdraw my wifes application for VV and approved that of my kids and then sent her a medical request on her sowp portal becos her upfront medical was done june 22 2021 so it had expired i was even thinking it was july so i spoke to one of my bosses @akintommy and he was like to push it IRCC has reviewed it that was why dey requested for another. We have started to find how to get the medical done fast fast ooo so that i can send the passport together if possible. Sincerely, i entered and came out of depression so many times but Thank God it ended in praises. Nah to start to live the canadian dream remain. Because Canada is like the back yard of heaven. Nigeria is like the backyard of hell. God will answer everyone on the waiting list with PPR. #Greatful heart# |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 3:46pm On Jun 30, 2022 |
Congratulations folla: WHAT GOD CANNOT DO, DOES NOT EXIST!
God has shown mercy to me and my children.
My SOWP and my 3 children's Study Visa applications have been approved by IRCC.
1st Applications
Our 1st applications made in June 2021 were all refused on 25th September 2021. The main concern of the VO, as revealed in the GCMS note, was that my wife, who is a Masters student in BC, filled on her application form that her family would not accompany her to Canada. The VO questioned the truthfulness of my wife's statement in her application, when we now applied for visas while she was still in Nigeria. VO said other things which we considered circumstantial.
I came on this platform then to seek for advice and I really obtained valuable advice from members. What did we do?
2nd Applications
We filed another application on 8th November 2021 with my wife explaining the reasons for her change in plan. We filed additional documents showing strong home ties by exhibition of pictures of our parents, Affidavits of birth of our parents and affidavit of births of my siblings. I also exhibited some share certificates, together with landed property. I showed rent receipts issued to our tenants.
Along the line, my wife wrote her MP sometime in February 2022 seeking for a status update on our applications. The response was that criminality check was passed and nothing more. Our upfront medicals expired in April 2022, but I refused to go for any more upfront medicals. If they are ready, they will contact us. I was drained, both emotionally and psychologically, noting that the journey began in June 2021. I only held on to God, as a lot was at stake.
There was a time I read an email IRCC had sent to someone here requesting for updated transcripts of his student spouse. I took the initiative by sending my wife's updated transcripts sometime in late April 2022. I have a feeling this had a positive impact on our applications.
Boom, medical request showed for my children and I on 16th May 2022. We quickly sent an email to QLife who gave us an appointment in about 9 days later. Medicals were updated to "pass" for my children on 7th June, while they got their PPR on 9th June. For me, my medical was updated to "pass" on 8th June, while my PPR only came today 29th June.
In between my children's PPR and today I sent their passports to Abuja last week Monday and we received the stamped passports yesterday, Tuesday. I almost sent another webform today planning to exhibit my children's visas and seeking a quick response on my application. By 9am today, 2 "donotreply" emails had come into my inbox.
My wife travelled to BC since September 2021, leaving me with 3 active boys, while IRCC kept playing the delay game. Thank God it has ended well.
I wish to say a big thank you to members on this forum who were responsive to my questions at the relevant times. Really appreciate.
To everyone still waiting, hang on there. It's not over until you have won. You can't afford to give up. Keep praying and sending the webforms, the golden emails will surface shortly.
Thank you All! |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Iffylove: 3:05am On Jun 30, 2022 |
Okay, thank you maziude: Check the province you live in and see their requirements. |
Travel › Re: Canada Spouse Open Work Permit (sowp)timeline by Iffylove: 4:20pm On Jun 29, 2022 |
Congratulations Skull4eva, so happy for you skull4eva: My spouse got medical request yesterday. Her upfront Medical expired June 22. Just last week and my two kids got approval on their VV. Would drop my time line as soon as the medical issue is sorted. The application will be 1year on the 21st of july 2022. Applied since July 22, 2021. |
Travel › Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by Iffylove: 4:46am On Jun 29, 2022 |
Hello everyone, Can I use an international driving license I got in Nigeria to drive automatically in Canada, or do I still need to write the knowledge test and take the road test? Because securing a spot for a road test in my province takes about 5 months. Thank you. |