Stats: 3,325,025 members, 8,419,988 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 08:52 AM

James669's Posts

Nairaland ForumJames669's ProfileJames669's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 18 pages)

PoliticsFayose, Aregbesola Disagree On Sale Of National Assets by james669(op): 4:41pm On Oct 03, 2016
[img]http://nigeriannewspapers.info/upload/sources/2731464711685.jpg[/img]

Kamarudeen Ogundele, Ado Ekiti
The Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose, and his from Osun State counterpart, Mr. Rauf Aregbesola have disagreed over the need to sell national assets to finance the 2016 budget.
While Aregbesola urged the Federal Government to sell ‘idle’ national assets and spare the functional ones, Fayose opposed the idea, arguing that selling them would amount to auctioning Nigeria.
The duo spoke in Ado Ekiti during an interactive forum which was part of the activities lined up to mark the 20th anniversary of the creation of Ekiti State.
They, however, canvassed regional integration and cooperation as well as the revival of agriculture as some of the steps to revive national economy.
Aregbesola, who delivered a lecture entitled, “The imperative of unity,” said the biting economic problem was such that in the whole of the South-West region, only Lagos State could stand on its own.
He stressed the need to intensify efforts to revive agriculture, end oil pipeline vandalism and promote regional integration for meaningful development.
He said, “We should revive agriculture, especially food production. Agriculture gives us raw materials for industries and aids in no small measure in economic development. If we can improve on our productivity in food production through agriculture, we will eliminate hunger in our land.
“I want to urge Nigerians to end the ongoing vandalism of oil pipelines as the militants’ activities have been reducing the nation’s daily oil productivity level to between 700,000 and one million per barrel.
“The current vandalism of oil pipeline by the Niger Delta militants is robbing the nation of oil production of 700,000 to one million per barrel on a daily basis. This amounts to a huge loss of oil revenue to the country and has further led to the current recession in the country. An urgent concerted effort is therefore needed to stop the vandalism so that the country could get out of the recession.”
Aregbesola added, “It is high time the Yoruba nation and indeed the South-West united in terms of integrating our development strategies in education, commerce, economy, agriculture and tourism among others. There is no reason we should not unite for the best.
“The truth is that no Yoruba state, with the exception of Lagos State, can survive alone without collaborating with sister states. Therefore, we have to come together, pull together our abundant human and material resources.”
The governor described Ekiti people as men of integrity and courage and urged them to continue to support their governor for the development of the country.
“I congratulate all Ekiti people on the 20th anniversary of the creation of your state, my state, our state. You fought the Ekiti Parapo War which is an indication of unity of purpose. There is strength in unity.”
But Fayose, in his remarks, said selling the national assets was like selling Nigeria at a give-away price.
“Selling our national assets simply amounts to auctioning Nigeria. If we sell the assets because the country is in recession, what would be left of Nigeria?
“What would we call our own? Selling of assets is like moving the country backward. If we sell the assets to finance this year’s budget what would we sell next year? The Federal Government should look beyond its party and assemble economists and financial experts that would assist the President in his drive to bring the nation out of the present economic quagmire.”
Urging the Federal Government to uphold the principles of justice and equity, which he said were germane to building democracy, the governor said, “Justice is very important and without it, democracy is already endangered. If people are now beginning to contest against the Independent National Electoral Commission and security agencies for manipulation of elections, then democracy is endangered. It is political parties that are supposed to contest elections and not people contesting against inadequacies of the electoral umpire.”
Copyright PUNCH.
All rights reserved. This material, and other digital content on this website, may not be reproduced, published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed in whole or in part without prior express written permission from PUNCH.

The post Fayose, Aregbesola disagree on sale of national assets appeared first on Punch Newspapers .

Source: http://nigeriannewspapers.info/news/6050/fayose-aregbesola-disagree-on-sale-of-national-assets

Christianity EtcRecession: Pastor Kumuyi Makes Recommendations by james669(op): 4:23pm On Oct 03, 2016
https://nigerianewstoday.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/10/W.F-Kumuyi.jpg

The General Superintendent, Deeper Life Bible Church, Williams Kumuyi, has giving possible solution to the current economic recession Nigeria is facing, Vanguard reports. Speaking at to journalists at the Benin Airport on Sunday, October 2, the man of God said the federal government is not folding its hands on the current situation. Kumuyi further called on all Nigerians to become proactive and devise means to surviving the problem. “We should become proactive, we should stop looking at the negative side and complaining what has not been done and move forward,” Kumuyi said. “Look at our economy and look at the diversification moves so that we are not just depending on oil alone which everybody is realizing now.

“We need to go into agriculture into tourism and other things that will generate resources and funds for the country,” he said. He also condemned unholy attitude and corruption practices by Nigerians as well as cases of incest and rape by men of God.

He said: “Every intelligent person opposes that; we should see how to help the people out of that kind of behaviour.” Commenting on the anti-corruption fight by the President Muhammdu Buhari-led administration, the cleric said assessment of the present government would be better done at the end of this tenure. “Sometimes when you assess midway, you don’t get the right assessment so I think I like to still observe more to see where we are going so when we get there, we will be able to assess properly,” he said.

Kumuyi further called on all Nigerians to look at the brighter side of life as Nigeria celebrates its 56th Independence anniversary. “I think it is commendable and from that time till this time maybe we are not where we should be but we are not where we used to be and we thank God that democracy is taking root and we are making progress. “There are things to look into for us to become better society but we are thanking God for what has happened already,” he concluded. Meanwhile, the governor of Delta state Ifeanyi Okowa has asked the cleric intercede more for Nigeria and its people. Okowa also condemned activities of other men of God who concentrate only on prosperity and nothing more.

Source: http://nigerianewstoday.com.ng/recession-pastor-kumuyi-makes-recommendations/
PoliticsDeath Toll Of Nigerian Soldiers In On Going War Against Boko Haram Is Increasing by james669(op): 10:36am On Sep 28, 2016
https://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/06/Soldier-killed-598x437.jpg

It was a sad day for the military as the Nigerian Army lost an officer and three soldiers to a landmine and an ambush by the Boko Haram in Borno State on Sunday.

Also, there was pandemonium in Vingir, a town in Kastina-Ala Local Government Area of Benue State, on Monday, when unknown gunmen shot dead a traditional ruler, Chief Awuhe Alev, in his residence.
The Acting Director, Army Public Relations, Col. Sani Usman, said in a late night statement on Sunday that 16soldiers and three members of the Civilian Joint Task Force were also wounded when the troops encountered the landmine between Miyanti and Dareljamal in Borno State.

He said that the troops were on an administrative patrol from Maiduguri when they drove into the landmine and the ambush set by the insurgents.

The Army spokesman said that the wounded soldiers and their Civilian JTF counterparts had been receiving medical attention and were in a stable condition.

Usman said that the troops cleared the insurgents ambush and killed three of them.

According to him, the troops also recovered ‘a machine gun, one AK-47 rifle and some quantity of ammunition’ from the insurgents.

He added that two vehicles which had the encounter with the Improvised Explosive Device were badly damaged.

He said, “Today, troops of Operation Lafiya Dole on administration patrol from Maiduguri encountered an Improvised Explosive Device and an ambush between Miyanti and Dareljamal, Borno State.

“The ambush was cleared and three Boko Haram terrorists were killed by the troops. They also recovered a machine gun, an AK-47 rifle and some quantity of ammunition.

“Unfortunately, we lost an officer and three soldiers, while 16 soldiers and three Civilian JTF members sustained injuries during the encounter. Similarly, two vehicles that encountered the IED were badly damaged.“The wounded have since been evacuated and are in stable condition.”

Confirming the monarch’s killing to the News Agency of Nigeria in Makurdi on Monday, the Police Public Relations Officer, ASP Moses Yamu, said unknown gunmen invaded the traditional ruler’s house in Vingir on Sunday night and shot him dead.

He said the police had yet to discover the motive for the killing, but added that investigations into the murder were in top gear. He assured the people that the culprits would soon bearrested.

The police spokesman said additional policemen had been deployed to the area to maintain law and order. He appealed to members of the public with useful information that might leadto the arrest of the culprits to volunteer them to security agencies.

Meanwhile, NAN reported that a villagein Mbayongo had recently been under siege from security operatives in search of Mr. Terwase Akwaza, Governor Samuel Ortom’s former aide, who had been accused of killing, kidnapping and cattle rustling.

Yamu said that more police men have been deployed to the area while investigation has already commenced with a view to arresting the perpetrators.

Katsina-Ala had witnessed several robbery incidents as a result of a recent pronouncement by the state government, declaring the notorious criminal, Terwase Akwaza, alias ‘Ghana’, wanted.Some weeks ago, soldiers had invaded Gbise in search of ‘Ghana’ and when they could not find him, they destroyed several of his property including a school.

Source: http://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/death-toll-of-nigerian-soldiers-in-on-going-war-against-boko-haram-is-on-the-increase/
PoliticsSee How Much Chief Justice Of Nigeria, Judges And Other Judicial Officers Earn by james669(op): 10:19am On Sep 28, 2016
https://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Nigerian-judges.jpg

A recent report has shown that Nigerian judges, chief justice and other judicial officers gulp N33.47 billion as annual remuneration.

The report released by the Economic Confidential, a financial magazine shows that CJN, federal and state judicial officers have in the past one year received a total of N33.47 billion as salaries and allowances.
The report also included the regular and non-regular allowances – vehicle maintenance and fuel, personal assistants, domestic staff, entertainment, utilities allowances, hardship allowance, outfit and newspapers allowances – for 934 judicial officers in Nigeria.

It also showed that while the CJN receives an annual salary of N3.36 million, he or she is to be provided with vehicle maintenance and fueling, domestic staff, entertainment, utilities and newspapers just like the president of the country.

The chief justice of Nigeria is also entitled to receive 25 % of his annual basic salary, this percentage is reserved for personal assistant and outfit each at N840,993.13.

The CJN also receives 50% of his annual basic salary which N1,681,986.25 as hardship allowance, likewise allowances for furniture, annual leave, severance gratuity and vehicle loan at 10%, 300% and 400% of his annual leave respectively.

Furthermore, his duty tour allowance is fixed at N50,000 and $2000 per night for local and foreign travels.

However, other officials like justices of the Supreme Court and the president of the Court of Appeal are all placed on N2.47 million annual salary while the a justice of the appellate court, chief judge of the Federal High Court, chief judge of the Federal Capital Territory, Judge of the FHC, the president of the National Industrial Court, grand Khadi of the sharia courts and it appeal court and their colleagues in the customary courts are on an annual salary of N1.99 million.

Then for the judges of the Federal High Court, National Industrial Court, FCT High Court, State High Courts, FCT Sharia Court of Appeal, FCT Customary Court of Appeal, Khadi state Sharia Court of Appeal and State Customary Court of Appeal all earn N1.80 million annually.

For the judges, aside the Chief Justice of Nigeria, they receive 75% of their annual salaries as vehicle maintenance and fuelling, 25% for personal assistant, 50% as hardship allowance, 75% for domestic staff and 45% for entertainment.

Other allowances received are 30% of their annual salaries as for utilities, 25% for outfit and 15% for newspapers.

The judges also get 200% for accommodation once a year, 300% of annual salary for furniture, 10% for annual leave, 300% as severance gratuity and 400% for vehicle loan which is however optional for non-regular allowances.

All the justices of the Supreme Court and the president of the Court of Appeal are entitled to N35,000.00 and $1300 per night as duty tour allowance within and outside the country respectively.

Also, justices of the Court of Appeal, Chief Judge of Federal High Court, Chief Judge of the FCT, Judge of the Federal High Court, President of the National Industrial Court, Grand Khadi of the FCT Sharia Court of Appeal, President FCT Customary Court of Appeal, Chief Judge of States, Grand Khadi state Sharia Court of Appeal and President state Customary Court of Appeal all have N30,000 as duty tour allowances each within the country and $1,100 as estacode.

Other judges outside the above are entitled to N25,000.00 as duty tour allowances per night within the country and $800 for estacode when they travel out of the country per night.

Source: http://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/see-how-much-chief-justice-of-nigeria-judges-and-other-judicial-officers-earn/
Nairaland GeneralPassenger Cuts Okada Man With Machete In Akwa Ibom The This Happened by james669(op): 9:23pm On Sep 15, 2016
https://thesummary.com.ng/media/k2/items/cache/f529e6d8912ff7204858d361ab7814e1_M.jpg

As Reported by a Facebook User: "See what a passenger did to a 19 yrs old okada rider and got away with the motorcycle and the cyclist's phone and was apprehended by the men of the Nigeria police force, Onna divisional headquarter. One Inyang (surname withheld) nearly killed a cyclist who carried him from Onna head bridge down to his house at Ikot ebekpo village in onna to change his clothes and then take him back to the head bridge.

According a police officer who made the arrest. it was gathered that the after taking him to the house to change, on their way going back the passenger directed the cyclist to take a turn into the newly commissioned Okat road in Onna for him to pick a gallon of diesel he claimed to have drop somewhere along the road and on getting there. He now pulled out a machete and started cutiing the bike man from the head and dumped inside the nearby bush. The victim bleeded from around 8:20pm when the incident happen till the following morning. The incident took place at about 8:20pm on Sunday evening. The culprit have arrested and the boy taken to the hospital

Source: http://thesummary.com.ng/index.php/news-categories/crime/item/8209-passenger-cuts-okada-man-with-machete-in-akwa-ibom-the-this-happened
Nairaland GeneralGreedyness: Cobra Swallowed 7 Eggs And Almost Died Of Gluttony! Watch How It Spi by james669(op): 9:06pm On Sep 15, 2016
https://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Snake-Video.jpg

Do cobras lay eggs? Not usually, but this greedy creature “laid” 6 of them after being too greedy with the food. See what the snake did!

People found this cobra, but they were not scared to come close to it. Usually these poisonous snakes are fast to strike and kill. However, this one was barely able to move. And the cause of such immobility is astonishing.

greedy cobra

The hungry creature swallowed 7 whole chicken eggs. It moved them down the belly, so when you look at it, you can actually see the eggs inside the snake. It looks very creepy. Surely it would take much time to digest such a meal.

cobra spits out eggs

Mean while the snake needed to escape the village, but was unable to do so and got surrounded by people with sticks. It had to make the choice: to live hungry or to die well-fed. Life is cruel and the beast made a wise choice. It threw up 6 out of the 7 eggs. How it does the trick is amazing. Those eggs were deep down in its belly. You can see the move out… well, you better take a look for yourself!

Watch Video here: http://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/greedyness-cobra-swallowed-7-eggs-and-almost-died-of-gluttony-watch-how-it-spits-out-the-eggs/
Nairaland GeneralWoman Brutally Beaten By Husband In Lagos (graphic Photo) by james669(op): 8:55pm On Sep 15, 2016
https://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Woman-beaten-by-husband-517x437.jpg

A concerned family member, Mr Ibirinde Folu Francis, sent out a broadcast message on Facebook, asking for relevant authorities to rescue Mrs Alabi from the claws of her violent husband in Ikorodu, Lagos.

He wrote :
RASAK ALABI DID THIS TO THIS HELPLESS WOMAN AT IKORODU. THESE ARE HIS NUMBERS His phone number is 08105461563 or try 08179300201 Kindly rebroadcast until it.gets to Govt Ambode and Lagos Commissioner of Police. Dr Joe Ogunmakin over to you before Rasak Alabi kill this woman and you start paying condolence visit. Ikorodu police seems to have been compromised.

Source: http://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/woman-brutally-beaten-by-husband-in-lagos-graphic-photo/
PoliticsControversy! Exposed, 453 Killed In Blood Sacrifice – Fani Kayode by james669(op): 10:02am On Sep 15, 2016
https://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/08/Femi-Fani-Kayode-pointing.jpg

Ex-spokesperson to former President Goodluck Jonathan, Chief Femi Fani- Kayode has revealed that the five plane crashes that occurred between 2005 and 2006 were orchestrated by man.

The former minister of aviation said the crashes were planned and the 453 victims were sacrifices.
According to him, most of our leaders are not human beings, just as he described them as very callous and cold- blooded reptiles and certified psychopaths.

Fani-Kayode who disclosed this in a Facebook post said: “Most of our leaders are not human. They are what Mr. David Icke, the famous British historian and public speaker describes as “hybrids” and “reptilians” who are working for a hidden hand and some very dark and sinister forces. “It is in that context that you can understand their exceptional callousness. They are cold-blooded reptiles and certified psychopaths.

“Between 2005 and 2006, just before I was redeployed as Minister to the Ministry of Aviation, there were 5 plane crashes in Nigeria in one year.

“453 innocent souls perished in those crashes in that year alone. All of them were man-made and planned. They were sacrifices.

“In one case a bomb was planted on the plane. I know this because I took over as Minister and stopped it. I had access to all the reports, particularly the American NTSB reports.

“I wrote to the powers that be and demanded an international investigation only to find out that they were involved too.

I was asked to drop it in very clear and almost threatening terms.

“Despite that I told the Senate Aviation Committee in 2008 at a public hearing what my views were.

“I spoke about a blood cult that was in the aviation sector that derived their power from causing crashes.

“Because of my testimony at the Senate I became an enemy of the entire system.

“From being their darling and blue-eyed boy I became their mortal enemy overnight because I refused to guard their secrets.

“They forgot that I was a true believer and child of the Living God. I cannot be part of their evil.

“Since then they have hated me and tried to destroy and discredit me in more ways than one but God has been with me.

“Members of the public know nothing about their political leaders. And it is worldwide phenomenon.

“There is a grand conspiracy to establish a New World Order and most of these world leaders are just puppets of the illuminati, paving the way for the Anti-Christ. All you have to do us to be in the inner circles of power for one hour to know that these creatures are not human.

“They are cold, unfeeling and callous. They kill, maim and destroy at the drop of a hat.

“There are many secrets that some of us will carry to the grave.

“They say knowledge is power and ignorance comes with a very heavy price and devastating consequences.

“This matter is for developed and enlightened minds and sadly beyond most people.

“The so-called Islamic agenda in Nigeria and elsewhere is obvious and we are here fighting it day and night risking life, liberty and limb.

“The question is who is behind it and why? What is the end game? The motto of a small branch of the illuminati tree known as the Freemasons is “out of chaos comes order”.

“It follows that theirs is to first create chaos from country to country and then to establish their ‘new world order’ ” FFK stressed.

Source: http://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/controversy-exposed-453-killed-in-blood-sacrifice-fani-kayode/
PoliticsBiafra Agitation: Nnamdi Kanu’s Life In Danger, See Evidence (photos) by james669(op): 1:15pm On Sep 10, 2016
https://thesummary.com.ng/media/k2/items/cache/05d6ad665a7fb44a7b139e560444c27d_M.jpg

There have been claims that the life of pro-Biafra leader, Nnamdi Kanu is in danger, the Indegenous People of Biafra (IPOB) have for quite a while raised alarms regarding the threat to their leader’s life. Some photos have emerged, of tear gas canisters recovered from Nnamdi Kanu’s cell in kuje. The pictures have stirred great debate over the fate of the Radio Biafra director, who is still held in custody for crimes bordering on treason.

A lawyer to the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB) Nnamdi Kanu has alleged fears of threat to the life of his client currently under custody at the Kuje prison facility in Abuja. Ifeanyi Ejiofor who spoke to NAIJ.com said security operatives at the Kuje prison shot five canisters of tear gas into Kanu’s cell during a riot that broke out at the facility on Monday, August 29. Ejiofor said: “As we speak right no, Nnamdi Kanu’s life is under threat, there is a situation in the prison custody right now.” “There was a particular cell – very far from where he is – the cell was being searched by security operatives in the course of their routine exercise,” Ejiofor said.

[img]https://i.onthe.io/vllkyt757gqj2jq3c.66f7883c.jpg[/img]

See more Photos: http://thesummary.com.ng/index.php/news-categories/national/item/8156-biafra-agitation-nnamdi-kanu-s-life-in-danger-see-evidence-photos
PoliticsFuel Price Increase Can't Be Stopped - IPMAN by james669(op): 10:18am On Sep 09, 2016
https://thesummary.com.ng/media/k2/items/cache/120dffd222cfc10917d12761474f22ed_M.jpg

The much speculation of possible increase in price of Premium Motor Spirit, PMS, otherwise known as petrol, may not be considered mere, as the Independent Petroleum Marketers Association of Nigeria, IPMAN, Thursday warned of threat to product availability in the country, as it is gripped with series of challenges confronting the petroleum sector. But, other operators have argued that the price of petrol is driven by laws of economies, which cannot be altered for a long time, and as such is expected to increase giving the current challenges of FOREX and others.

National President, IPMAN, Mr. Chinedu Okoronkwo, stated that flexible way to assessing FOREX has been given rather than black market dependence for the purpose of importing critical items to the country. He said, “But I will advice for total deregulation. The price moderation, which is the cap placed is not healthy for the petroleum industry to grow. He stressed that, “If the refineries are working to a good capacity like 70 percent, the product will not be less than N130 per litre. We should focus on making the refineries work.

Source: http://thesummary.com.ng/index.php/news-categories/national/item/8145-fuel-price-increase-can-t-be-stopped-ipman
PoliticsUpdated: Why We Postponed Edo Election – INEC (video) by james669(op): 9:37am On Sep 09, 2016
https://thesummary.com.ng/media/k2/items/cache/635712a2dcf991203133f2a650d94c51_M.jpg

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has agreed to shift the Edo state governorship election by two weeks due to security reasons.

The election which was scheduled to hold on Saturday, September 10, was postponed following a security meeting held in Benin, the Edo state capital in the evening on Thursday, September 8, the Punch reports. The commission told journalists during a press release at 8.00pm in Benin, that the election was postponed following the recommendations of security agencies.Click HERE to see the press briefing on the postponement of the Edo election.

Source: http://thesummary.com.ng/index.php/news-categories/politics/item/8146-updated-why-we-postponed-edo-election-inec-video
CrimeWhite Garment Pastor Arrested For Arming Militants, Others In Lagos (photo) by james669(op): 2:54pm On Sep 05, 2016
https://latestnigerianews.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Fake-Pastor-1.jpg
Pastor of Cherubim and Seraphim Church of Zion at Igando area of Lagos and a mother of seven have been arrested for allegedly keeping guns and preparing food for militants. However, the pastor, who identified himself as Governor Peretun, denied the allegation. According to the police, Peretun used to keep guns for militants.

These militants were part of those who, two months ago, repeatedly invaded Ewedogbon community in Igando area of the state and wreaked havoc on residents. The police said: “The pastor was aiding the militants in pipeline vandalism.
Even the boats, which were used in the Agbara bank robbery operation where a policeman was shot dead, were kept in his custody.” The police said that Peretun was arrested along with a 47-year-old mother of seven, Ebimobe JoJo.

Police said that Jojo was the one cooking for the militants in the Igando creek area. Peretun said that he was once a fisherman but abandoned that trade after the Holy Spirit ‘directed’ him to move into the creek and establish a church there.

The suspect said he was about to board a bus at Iba Bus Stop, heading to Ondo State, when police detectives arrested him. He said: “After I built my church, I opened up the waterways to allow people to start paddling their boats through the routes.

After a while, I started buying fuel from the militants. I used to buy 50 litres for N1,000. I would then resell for N1,500, which was how we became friends. “They used to visit me and I also usually visit them in the creek.

There was a time operatives of Department of State Services (DSS) stormed the creek. I was arrested. After explaining myself to them, I was set free. The DSS men, however, warned me to stop buying from the militants. But I didn’t.”

Stating her own side of the story, JoJo said she used to buy fuel from the militants in the creek.

She added: “I don’t cook food for them, but I used to go with food for them, so that they would sell fuel to me on credit. Anytime I go to buy fuel from the militants, I don’t leave early, to avoid being arrested. When they saw that I used to come with food, they told me to be preparing food for them.

They said they couldn’t come out of the creek.

“Whenever I go to buy fuel from them, the leader of the militants called TK and his boys are always armed with AK47. They also dressed in military uniform; initially I thought they were soldiers.”

The police said that Peretun’s face was captured while he was hiding the militants’ guns. The police added that Jojo’s face was also captured while she was taking food to the militants in the creek. The police said their faces were captured by drone deployed into the coastal area after the militants invaded the community.

New Telegraph had reported that the militants on July 24 invaded Ewedogbon and unleashed terror on the residents. The Divisional Police Officer (DPO) was shot in the back, while the Divisional Crime Officer (DCO), sustained gunshot injury while being chased by militants.

Source: http://latestnigerianews.com.ng/white-garment-pastor-arrested-for-arming-militants-others-in-lagos-photo/
EducationSee What Happened To This Kano Girl Who Scored Straight As In WAEC by james669(op): 1:02pm On Sep 05, 2016
https://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/09/Faizah-Abubakar.jpg
Ms Fa’iza Abubakar has been offered automatic scholarship up to the doctorate level by the Kano state government following her impressive result in the just released West Africa Examination Council (WAEC) exam.

Premium Times reports that Governor Abdullahi Ganduje awarded Fa’iza the scholarship after scoring A’s in all the nine subjects she registered in her WAEC result.
The young girl who hails from Bakin Zuwo, in Kano Municipal area received the scholarship to study any course in any university across the world for undergraduate, post graduate and doctorate level.

The governor said: “This gesture is to acknowledge merit and to especially encourage girl-child education in our state.”

He also said the state government was working to ensure that gifted children were given the opportunity to fully explore their potentials.

He said: “We are happy that this child has performed very well and I want to assure that we will continue to encourage our people to achieve in their chosen endeavours and bring honour to their families, the state and the nation at large”.

In an interview with Daily Trust, Fa’iza said she was glad with her performance and happy to make her parents proud.

“I feel happy and excited that I was able to achieve this and made my parents and family very proud of me. The feeling is overwhelming.”

She disclosed that she was expecting a minimum of B@ and the straight As was a surprise to her.

“I wanted a minimum of B2. That was my goal. It came as a surprise getting such a result but then I know I worked hard for it.”

“I didn’t start studying recently. I started since when I was in SS1. I read my books for around two hours every day. I don’t read at night because I find it difficult to retain what I have studied. When I was in SS3 my study patterned changed because I started reading a lot more. We also had extra classes and classes here in school.”

“My study pattern is to read whatever it is that I don’t know. I study more on topics that I don’t understand completely to shed better light on it.”

She said English was her weakest subject and had to study extra hard for it while mathematics was her easiest as she didn’t have to study hard to understand it.

“I don’t study at night at all. I don’t like reading at night because I believe the brain needs to sleep and if you read at night, whatever you might study, your brain probably won’t be able to remember it the next day.”

She said she was not a very smart child when she was young but became serious in JSS3.

“I was a playful kid, when I was in junior secondary school I wasn’t very serious until JSS 3 when I became serious then everything became normal. In SS1 I found it easier to read, I’m somebody that is very quiet. But I wasn’t actually smart when I was young.”

“My dream university is Harvard University but I have applied to a few universities. I also plan on applying for scholarships at some reputable universities abroad too. I applied to Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria as my choice for JAMB.”

She advised other students to study and understand themselves instead of trying to be like others.

“Just be yourself, because sometimes when you join the crowd you become lost, everyone is different, don’t compare, when you discover yourself everything will be easy. Be attentive to details, be confident and believe you can do better.”

Source: http://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/see-what-happened-to-this-kano-girl-who-scored-straight-as-in-waec/
PoliticsOba Of Lagos Reacts To Mile 12 Crisis - See What He Said by james669(op): 1:04pm On Mar 09, 2016
The Oba of Lagos, Rilwan Akiolu has charged the police and the Lagos state government to fish out and punish the culprits of the Mile 12 mayhem that claimed many lives and destroyed properties in the state.

The Oba blamed traditional rulers in Ketu and Ikosi communities for the inter-tribal clash saying the monarchs had prioritized extortion of the citizenry over administering the market area. He said “How many times did you hear that those (Hausa and Yoruba traders) around here fight? It can never happen around here. But you are too far from them. You said that they don’t respect you. It is because you kept demanding money from them, which I don’t do around here (Lagos Island). That is why you will have no respect among them.” And the Oba also supported the proposal by the state Assembly for the relocation of the popular Mile 12 market.

SOURCE: http://thesummary.com.ng/index.php/news-categories/national/item/6267-oba-of-lagos-reacts-to-mile-12-crisis-see-what-he-said
PoliticsBREAKING: Senator Zareko Is Dead by james669(op): 8:51pm On Mar 08, 2016
Emerging reports suggest that Senator Abdulmimun Zareko, who represented Jigawa state in the 7th National Assembly has passed on.

Zareko died at Aminu Kano Teaching Hospital on Monday after protracted illness. Governor Muhammad Badaru of Jigawa state on Tuesday, March 8 expressed shock over the death.

In a statement signed by Alhaji Bello Zaki, the special assistant to the governor on media, Badaru described the deceased as a gentleman and a fine lawmaker who had contributed on the development of the state.

Badaru said the late Senator would be remembered for his simplicity and humane disposition to issues affecting the masses.

“On behalf of myself and good people of Jigawa, I wish to express my condolence to his family and all members of his party and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP),” he added.

SOURCE: http://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/breaking-senator-zareko-is-dead/
PoliticsRe: APC E Touts Training Manual by james669: 1:25pm On Mar 08, 2016
CrimeTeacher Beheaded 10-year-old Pupil Because She Provoked Him[PHOTO] by james669(op): 11:36am On Mar 08, 2016
One Edet Umoren, a teacher in a private school who beheaded a 10-year-old pupil, Precious Adedeji, last Thursday in Ogun State, said he was provoked by the victim and the head teacher, who is the wife of the proprietor.

The 52-year-old indigene of Akwa Ibom State said he committed the crime because Adedeji and the head teacher made him angry by some uncomplimentary remarks they made.

The deceased, Adedeji, a pupil of Favour Nursery and Primary School in Esugbo, Itamerin, near Ijebu-Ife, in the Ijebu East Local Government Area of the state, was the granddaughter of the proprietor, Pastor Joseph Olutoye.

Umoren confessed before newsmen on Monday while being paraded at the headquarters of the Special Anti-Robbery Squad, SARS, Magbon, Abeokuta, along with six suspected kidnappers and a suspected Boko Haram member by the state Commissioner of Police, CP, Abdulmajid Ali.

The CP said the suspect, who ran away after committing the crime, was later arrested at Itamagiri in Ijebu Imusin.

Umoren was alleged to have also severed the right hand of Adedeji.

He allegedly attacked Adedeji, who was in company of her friend, Patricia.

They were said to be on their way back to the school when Umoren allegedly pounced on them. She was killed by the assailant a day after her 10th birthday.

Patricia, who escaped from the scene, was said to have run back to the school to inform the proprietor of the attack by “uncle Edet (Umoren).”

According to Umoren, “That morning, I held a cutlass which I used to cut canes in the bush to discipline pupils. The girl (Adedeji) and the head teacher saw me and made some remarks which provoked me; then I used the cutlass to behead her.”

“I never knew what came over me; it was when I had carried out the act that I regained my senses. I regret my action.”

Umoren, who said he was married with three children, stated that he had a pupil he was sponsoring in the school, adding that the school fees was deducted from his salary.

The suspect who had been in the employ of the school since 2011, explained that the proprietor owed him four years’ salary arrears, adding that his salary was N7, 000 per month and not N4, 000.

Umoren, who until the incident was the treasurer of the proprietor’s church, was also accused of allegedly stealing over N250, 000 from the church.

He said what he took from the church fund was about N50, 000, claiming it was part of the salary arrears being owed him.

The proprietor, Olutoye, expressed shock at Umoren’s action, saying the teacher left two notes at the scene of the crime, claiming that he committed the crime because of the failure of the proprietor to pay him his January and February salary.

https://latestnigerianews.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/03/Ritualist-Teacher-300x286.jpg

SOURCE: http://latestnigerianews.com.ng/teacher-beheaded-10-year-old-pupil-because-she-provoked-him/
PoliticsAPC Suspends 3 Senators, 6 Reps Members For Not Paying Dues by james669(op): 9:57pm On Mar 07, 2016
Three senators and six House of Representatives members have been suspended by the All Progressives Congress in Niger state for not paying their party dues.

Barrister Mohammed Liman, the secretary of the party in the state said, only four federal House of Reps members out of the 13 legislators at both chambers of the National Assembly produced by the party have paid their dues till date.

He said: “The constitution of our party is very clear on it, it says any member or political appointee that came into being through the platform of our party and fails to pay his dues is technically not a member of the party.

“The constitution says you must pay your dues as and when due. This means technically they have suspended themselves.” ‎“‎Those we elected did not deem it fit to support the party financially, and how do they want the part to move on?”

According to him, they stand suspended technically for deliberately refusing to pay their dues. The three senators affected are ‎ Mustapha Sani Mohammed (Zone A), David Umaru (Zone B), and Aliyu Abdullahi Sabi (Zone C).

Those affected at the federal House of Representatives include Hon. Mohammad Mahmood of Lapai/Agaie federal constituency,‎ and Muhammed Bala Faruk of Bida/Gbako/Kacha constituency.

Others are Ahmed Abu representing Lavun/Edati/Mokwa constituency, Shehu Sule representing Magama/Rijau constituency, Salihu Adamu Shadafi of Bosso/Paikoro Constituency and Abubakar Lado Abdullahi of Suleja/Tafa/Gurara constituency.

The APC has been suspending some of its members in different states across the country. In February, the Kebbi state chapter of the party suspended a member of the House of Assembly, Hon. Sani Idris Umar for insubordination. The Benue state chapter of the APC also suspended at least 15 party leaders in the state.

SOURCE: http://nigerianewsnow.com.ng/2016/03/07/apc-suspends-3-senators-6-reps-members-for-not-paying-dues/
PoliticsList Of APC Senators That Has Pledge Total Support To Saraki - The Summary by james669(op): 12:11pm On Mar 07, 2016
Some Senators on Sunday reiterated their “solid and unshakable” support for the Senate President, Bukola Saraki, whose corruption trial at the Code of Conduct Tribunal commences on Friday.

The five Senators are– Lanre Tejuoso (APC-Ogun), Ibrahim Rafiu (APC-Kwara), Peter Nwaoboshi (PDP-Delta), Isa Misau (APC-Bauchi) and Mr. Sabi – issued a joint statement, reiterating loyalty to Mr. Saraki and dismissing insinuation of shopping for his replacement.

SOURCE: http://thesummary.com.ng/index.php/news-categories/national/item/6225-list-of-senators-that-has-pledge-total-support-to-saraki
Politics‘I Will Remain In PDP For As Long As It Is Convenient’ – Attahiru Bafarawa by james669(op): 11:57am On Jan 30, 2016
Attahiru Bafarawa- one of the major characters in the ongoing investigation into the arms funds diversion scandal of the last administration- says 90 percent of Nigerians are corrupt.

Bafarawa, who is on trial alongside former National Security Adviser, Sambo Dasuki, in an interview with Vanguard, reiterated his support for the anti-corruption war of President Muhammadu Buhari.

The former governor of Sokoto state also berated former Presidents, Umaru Musa Yar’Adua and Goodluck Jonathan for failing to buildon the anti-corruption efforts of their predecessor, Olusegun Obasanjo.

“Corruption in Nigeria is not a thing that one man can fight. I believe fighting corruption is the responsibility of every Nigerian. Don’t forget that I served for eight years from 1999 – 2007, I served for eight years. When we took over from the military in 1999 the crude oil was $9 per barrel and in 2007 it had gotten up to $30 – $40 and then we left a lot of legacies in our various states during that period.”

“When I left office, I left behind N12 billion in the treasury. You can see the fortune that came the way of the nation between 2007 and 2015 when the price of oil rose to over $100 per barrel. One begins to wonder why those who enjoyed the huge oil revenue should be asking for bailout from the Federal Government.”

“I can say that I left behind legacies that generations yet unborn will be very proud of. We had a good leader, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, who was committed to fighting corruption and he created many institutions like the EFCC and the ICPC to handle the job. Whatever name you want to give him; whether he did it for fighting corruption or for witch-hunting, at least, it assisted in fighting corruption. He laid a foundation, he realised there was corruption and he fought it. After he left, his successors -YarÁdua and Jonathan-did not do much to fight corruption and that exacerbated the monster in the land.”

“Today, one can say that up to 90 percent of Nigerians are corrupt because when you go to the grassroots level, that is where corruption starts. The electorate will demand money before they elect you into office no matter how good you are, no matter the kind of ideology you have and intend to bring for their own good. If you don’t give them money, they would not support you. The game is that anyone who comes and shares money to them gets the support and nothing more.”

Speaking further, Bafarawa described himself as an accidental member of the opposition, the Peoples Democratic Party.

The ‘professional politician’ said he’s one of the founding members of the All Progressives Congress, and that he was forced to join PDP due to circumstances beyond his control.

“I have never been a member of PDP since the creation in 1999 up till 2014. I have never been a member of PDP because my ideology is different from theirs otherwise I would have joined them. I found myself in PDP by accident. What I mean by accident is that I was part and parcel of the APC. I am a founding member of the APC. I was forced to leave APC because of corruption in politics in my state when PDP governors defected to the APC. Corruption came into the system along the formation of the party when they said that the PDP governors were going to join APC and I happened to be a victim. We were forced to hand over the party to my governor, who was a PDP member. So my followers insisted we must remain in PDP and I had to work with them.”

“I had to work with them. I joined PDP at the state level with my people without coming to Abuja or anybody enabling me. Even the top shots in PDP, including former President Jonathan did not believe that I had indeed joined the PDP when he was told. He could not believe that because during the days of Obasanjo, I had a lot of pressure to join the PDP but I refused.”

“Mind you I am a professional politician; I have ideology so I have to protect my profession. I started as a local government counsellor in 1976 so this is my profession. So I still stand on what I believe. That was why I had to join PDP just to get my people to have a place where they can contest election. The same way Buhari finds himself in this system is the way I found myself in the PDP.”

“I will remain in PDP for as long as it is convenient. The APC is the same with PDP. I used to call them PDP 1 and PDP 2 because almost many of the people in PDP are now in APC and vice versa. For instance, the Number 2 man in PDP who ruled this country for eight years as a vice president is now in APC. If you count all the governors in APC, most of them were at one time or the other were in PDP. You can say so of at least two National Chairmen of PDP now in APC.”

SOURCE: http://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/i-will-remain-in-pdp-for-as-long-as-it-is-convenient-attahiru-bafarawa-of-dasukigate/
PoliticsObasanjo Under Attack Over Letter To National Assembly by james669(op): 4:12pm On Jan 29, 2016
Ex-President Olusegun Obasanjo’s letter to the National Assembly over lawmakers’ “reckless spending” and insensitivity to the country’s economic downturn yesterday generated ripples.

The ex-President received knocks from the House of Representatives whose spokesman described his correspondence as “a distraction”.

Obasanjo, in a January 13 letter to Senate President Bukola Saraki and House of Representatives Speaker Yakubu Dogara, accused the lawmakers of reckless spending and abuse of office. He asked them to return to the path of honour.

Obasanjo also asked the lawmakers to open their financial records for external audit.

The leadership of the National Assembly acknowledged receipt of the latter and Saraki, in a “preliminary” response, said the 8th Senate was committed to transparency and accountability.

The chairman of the Senate Committee on Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Dino Melaye, accused Obasanjo of introducing corruption into the legislature. He described his letter as “a misplacement of anger”.

Vowing not to take up issues with Obasanjo over the letter, the House said it believed that it was not directed at it but at the 4th and 5th House that operated when Obasanjo was President between 1999 and 2007.

House spokesman Abdulrazak Namdas said: “We don’t want to join issues because we see the letter as a distraction. Moreover, we don’t believe the letter is directed to this Assembly but to the 4th and 5th Aseembly when he was the President.

“I say this because the subject of the letter is about tranparency and for us, we have keyed into transparency and very open about our activities.”

House Minority Leader Leo Ogor said buying vehicles for oversight functions is not in contravention of the constitution.

Obasanjo criticised the lawmakers’ planned purchase of vehicles for oversight functions after obtaining car loans.

Ogor said if the former President and Nigerians do not want oversight functions of check and balance against the executive, a process of amending the Constitution should be initiated.

Melaye, who represents Kogi West, wondered why Obasanjo should mistake the 8th National Assembly as the one that allegedly defrauded him in 2007 by collecting his money and refusing to actualise what he called his Third Term agenda.

He hoped that the letter was not an attempt to cover up and distract attention from the Halliburton and Siemens corruption allegations.

Melaye said: “I have tremendous respect for President Olusegun Aremu Okikiola Obasanjo.

“Elder statesman, respected Pan- Africanist and committed patriot.

“I went through the letter written to all Senators and members of the House of Representatives.

“The letter I can see is a misplacement of anger. Our leader is mistaking the 8th National Assembly as the same Senate Assembly that defrauded him in 2007.

”I appeal to Baba that we are not the ones please.

“After nine years of that bribery saga, the first of its kind, I expect forgiveness to have taken place.

“There was the case of bribery introduced by the Obasanjo regime in the desperate attempt to remove Speaker Ghali Umar Na’abba from office then.

“In fact, there was an open display of that bribery money on the floor of the House. That government exposed the National Assembly to corruption and easy money.

“I hope this is not an attempt to cover up and distract attention from the Halliburton and Siemens corruption allegations.

“While I am against corruption anywhere in Nigeria, I will not support accusations based on anger and vindictiveness.

“The 8th Senate should also look inwardly and purge herself of all the deliberate misgivings of the past. Nigeria must work and we must support the anti-corruption stand of the Buhari Administration. God bless Nigeria.”

SOURCE: http://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/obasanjo-under-attack-over-letter-to-national-assembly/
PoliticsNational Chairman: PDP Crisis Deepens by james669(op): 12:02pm On Jan 29, 2016
The crisis within the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) yesterday deepened as the National Working Committee (NWC) of the party faulted a directive by governors elected on the party's platform directing the Acting National Chairman, Prince Uche Secondus, to hand over to the National Secretary, Prof. Wale Oladipo, pending the emergence of a substantive chairman to be picked from the Northeast zone.

In a statement issued on Thursday by the party's National Legal Adviser, Mr. Victor Kwom, the party insisted that Secondus remains the Acting Chairman. The statement reads, "The NWC of the PDP wishes to assure all members of the party nationwide that there has not been any change whatsoever in the leadership composition of the party at the national level. “For the avoidance of doubt, the statutory organs of the party, the NWC, National Caucus, BoT and NEC will be meeting next week to deliberate on some developments including the replacement, from the North East of Alhaji Adamu Mu’azu, who resigned as the National Chairman of the party."

SOURCE: http://thesummary.com.ng/index.php/news-categories/politics/item/5649-national-chairman-pdp-crisis-deepens
CrimeRe: Graphic Photos: Girl Rescued After Boyfriend In Search Of Riches Held Her.... by james669(op): 12:01pm On Jan 29, 2016
mightyhaze:
How does lockin sb up underground translate 2 riches? Africans are v daft! Anybody dat kills another for money rituals just wasted a soul for nuffn,..
CrimeGraphic Photos: Girl Rescued After Boyfriend In Search Of Riches Held Her.... by james669(op): 1:36pm On Jan 28, 2016
Shocking photos have emerged of a young girl who was recently rescued after her boyfriend in search of riches left her in a deep pit for 8 months!

This happened in Tanzania. This Lady spent 8 months in a deep pit, feeding twice a week and thank God she is still alive. This was done reportedly by her boyfriend in search for riches.

https://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Kidapped-lady-480x437.jpg

SOURCE: http://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/graphic-photos-girl-rescued-after-boyfriend-in-search-of-riches-held-her-in-deep-pit-for-8-months/
PoliticsSee How PDP Reacted To Swearing In Of Bello As Kogi Governor by james669(op): 1:03pm On Jan 28, 2016
Wednesday's swearing-in of Alhaji Yahaya Bello as Kogi State Governor has been desribed by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) as a comical event. A statement yesterday by the National Secretary of the PDP, Prof. Wale Oladipo, said, Bello is on excursion to the Kogi Government House, adding that he did not participate in the overall election to emerge governor.

The statement said: "The people of Kogi are aware that the man being paraded by the APC is not the person they exercised confidence in at the election as he scored a paltry 6,885 votes in the so-called supplementary election as against the 204,877 votes polled by the PDP candidate, Alhaji Idris Wada, in the overall election". The statement urged party members in the state to remain calm as "the courts would soon deliver justice with regard to the authentic governor with the mandate of the majority at the election."

SOURCE: http://thesummary.com.ng/index.php/news-categories/politics/item/5630-see-how-pdp-reacted-to-swearing-in-of-bello-as-kogi-governor
CrimeIncredible! Man Tapes 14 Bottles Of Alcohol To His Body In An Attempt To Smuggle by james669(op): 12:13am On Jan 28, 2016
The love of alcohol will make some people do the unbelievable. This smuggler was caught trying to sneak 14 bottles of liquor in his underwear into Saudi Arabia, according to official Saudi Press Agency (SPA).

The Saudi man was stopped at customs on his way back from the island kingdom of Bahrain on the 16-mile-long King Fahd Causeway linking the two Gulf countries, according to head of customs Fahad Dhufallah al-Otaibi.

After a search, inspectors detected the bottles of booze which were attached with adhesive tapes to the man’s upper and lower legs and hidden by the man’s traditional long white robe.

Customs officials became suspicious of the man after noticing he was walking oddly as he re-entered the Saudi Arabia from Bahrain.

Alcohol is illegal in Saudi Arabia and as a result there are tough penalties such as public flogging or long detention for anyone caught trying to break the law.

Last week, Saudi customs seized two shipments of liquor from Bahrain, including 415 bottles concealed in various parts of a vehicle and 83l of liquor hidden inside the fuel tank reserve of a truck.

In October, a British man was caught with homemade wine and faced public lashing.

Karl Andree, 74, was arrested by Saudi religious police and spent more than a year in prison. He was spared flogging because of his age and ill-health.

We don’t know what will befall the man now.
https://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/wp-content/uploads/2016/01/Saudi-Arabia-man.jpg

SOURCE: http://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/incredible-man-tapes-14-bottles-of-alcohol-to-his-body-in-an-attempt-to-smuggle-them-into-saudi-arabia-photos/
PoliticsNigeria Escapes List Of 10 Most Corrupt Countries In The World by james669(op): 12:07am On Jan 28, 2016
In spite of crticisms from various quarters, President Muhammadu Buhari’s intensive war against corruption may actually be making a noticeable mark.

One of the indications that the anti-corruption war may be recording successes, is the escape of Nigeria from Transparency International’s top 10 most corrupt countries’ list.

Nigeria, a regular customer, was not included in the upper echelon of corrupt countries in the world, as released by TI on Wednesday, January 27.

The countries listed as the most corrupt in the world are:

North Korea and Somalia (Tied)
2. Afghanistan

3. Sudan

4. Angola and South Sudan (tied)

5. Iraq and Libya (tied)

6. Haiti, Guinea-Bissau and Venezuela (tied)

7. Eritrea, Syria, Turkmenistan and Yemen (tied)

8. Uzbekistan

9. Burundi, Cambodia and Zimbabwe (tied)

10. Chad, Democratic Republic of Congo and Myanmar (tied)

On the other side of the coin, the top ten least corrupt countries are

Denmark
Finland
Sweden
New Zealand
Netherlands
Norway
Switzerland
Singapore
Canada
Germany, Luxemborg and United Kingdom (tied)

SOURCE: http://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/nigeria-escapes-list-of-10-most-corrupt-countries-in-the-world-read/
PoliticsWives Of Nigerian Fallen Heroes Can’t Access Their Late Husband’s Account... by james669(op): 9:05pm On Jan 26, 2016
Women of personnel fighting the insurgents in the North Eastern Nigeria have complained of difficulties in taking care of their children following the introduction of the Bank Verification Number (BVN).

Pulse gathered that the women who usually access their husbands account for family needs are now crying because of the introduction of the BVN.

Mary Andrew, a widow of one of the slain soldiers, said she was crying because she can’t access her husband’s account.

Mary is not alone in this agony. Over 60 wives of the fallen heroes in the ongoing military ‘Operation Lafiya Dole’ against Boko Haram terrorists and insurgents in the North-East are also facing similar horror.

“Our children are being sent out of schools because we can’t pay school fees. As I speak, none of us can access our late or missing husbands’ bank accounts because of this policy,” Mary said.

The women are crying but the men in the battle fields are making progress, winning the war against the insurgents.

Troops conducted a clearance operation at Shentimari General Area and cleared Boko Haram enclaves, recovering 78 rounds of 7.62mm ammunition, military authorities said.

At Chukun Gudu, troops destroyed terrorists’ camps along Jillam, Bula Butube general areas.10 terrorists were killed, 2 AK47 Rifles, 2 AK47 magazines, 2 solar panels and 2 GSM handsets were recovered with 1 Isuzu vehicle destroyed.

“Terrorists’ camps/enclaves at Ngwalimiri and Gazama in Damboa Local Government Area have been cleared and 10 suspected Boko Haram members from Bego, Mesemarri and Bale villages were intercepted carrying bags containing food condiments, soaps, and other items at Mufurundi village along Damboa-Bale road. The military killed 3 terrorists at Wajirok- Ajigin,” the Theatre Commander, Operation LAFIYA DOLE, Major General Hassan Umaru has confirmed the report, while also commending his gallant soldiers.

The military authority’s breakdown of successes seems to be heart warming but that is not being achieved without casualties from the Nigeria military.

“21 terrorists were killed in Marte while 3 soldiers wounded during the encounter. One Anti Air Gun, 10 AK47 rifles,1 FN rifle,7 x 60mm MOR bombs, qty 342 rounds of 12.7mm, Qty 507 rounds of 7.62mm ammunitions, 1 Toyota Hilux, 1 Land Cruiser vehicle, 1 IED with charger were captured from the terrorists,” authorities say.

The terrorists who have been waging a seven year war seeking to carve out an Islamic territory within Nigeria’s North East region are beginning to surrender.

Three terrorists said to have been forced into joining the group voluntarily surrendered themselves to Damboa Vigilante Group at Kaya village even though one of the civilian JTF died of stabbing in that process.

Rugga Fulani in Dure village has also been cleared by the military, killing eight terrorists and recovering 2 AK47 rifles,2 dane guns, 3 AK47 Magazines with 38 rounds of ammunition. Wala, Tirkopytir, and Durubajuwe villages have also been cleared with 1 rusty GPMG barrel, 1 grinding machine and a dane gun recovered.

Many communities in Borno state including Afe, Kudiye, Souma, Dika, Mijigeta and Mida have been cleared, with over 20 terrorists killed.

“3 rifles, 41 motorcycles were destroyed, 370 hostages rescued and brought to the IDP camp at Dikwa. In Huyum, Jeje and Diba villages, 5 women, 12 children of the terrorists were intercepted, while four were killed,” Gen Umaru disclosed.

However, widows of the men who fought and are still fighting the insurgents hardly can eat. Some of them are beggars on the streets of Maiduguri and Biu Local governments, it was gathered.

“In the last two months since the BVN came into force, we find it difficult to eat. some of us have become “beggars” on the streets of Maiduguri and Biu,” the widow, Mary, disclosed.

Ibrahim Yerebe contributed reporting from Borno State.

SOURCE: http://nigerianewsonline.com.ng/wives-of-nigerian-fallen-heroes-cant-access-their-late-husbands-account-due-to-bvn-law/
PoliticsREVEALED: Why Jonathan Trusted Dasuki With Campaign Funds by james669(op): 5:04pm On Jan 26, 2016
Dr. Tony Aziegbemi, university don turned politician served two terms in the House of Representatives on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP and won a reputation of steadfast loyalty to the party and its leaders in his native Edo State. In this interview, he spoke on diverse issues including the alleged scam in the office of the National Security Adviser, which he dismisses as a non-issue and gives his assessment of the administration in Edo State. Excerpts:

What’s your reaction to insinuations that the ongoing anti-corruption war is one sided?

I did not vote for Buhari in the last presidential election and I am so happy that I voted for former President Goodluck Eble Jonathan. I am happy that I did. Having said that, I think with Buhari at the helm of affairs in this country, Nigerians are in for a one chance bus. We are doomed for disaster; Buhari does not have the capacity to lead this country.

Buhari knows and if he doesn’t know, that is a pity, that the office of the National Security Adviser is an office that is made to give security cover to the government of the day in whatsoever form or shape.

Security cover

He knows that the money he is talking about that the National Security Adviser gave to many people is not money from the budget of the nation. It is not. He should know if he doesn’t know that the office of the National Security Adviser will be there after him and he is trying to rubbish that office.

Dasuki-Sambo-jonathanThe President knows that the office of the National Security Adviser can and is mostly used for some of those things he is accusing Col. Sambo Dasuki of. So, what Buhari is doing is shamelessly probing the political funds of the PDP though the backdoor. That is what he is doing with the Dasukigate.

I can hazard a guess that there are over twenty different accounts in the office of the National Security Adviser and not all monies that come into the office of National Security Adviser are meant for the purchase of arms. Not. If not, where did the National Security Adviser get the money to buy the three Bullet Proof Jeeps they gave him after he was attacked and almost assassinated by Boko – Haram? That money was not taken from the account meant for the Armed forces.

Everything he does is to ‘see my perceived enemies languishing in jail, in detention.’ Whether that will be good for the nation, that is not his business as far as he makes sure that is what will happen.

The man has lost the capacity to rule this country, but thank God that four years is not too far, we trust the judgment of Nigerians and I am sure everybody was carried away by his anti-corruption toga, but I am sure that in as much as some of us believe that corruption should be fought, we also know that we are supposed to put in place policies that will develop the economy that would make Nigerians make money for themselves and make everybody happy in the system.

There is this belief by Nigerians that the 2.1 billion US Dollars was meant for the purchase of arms.

What he is trying to do is to paint PDP in bad light, to think that all the money that came into the office of the National Security Adviser was given to only PDP people.

No. I can guess, this is about trust, that perhaps former President Goodluck Jonathan had implicit trust in Dasuki and felt that some of the money he needed to run his campaign could be channelled through the office of the NSA.

What is really painful is that he is painting a picture that is not real, he is painting a picture that money meant for arms was being diverted into private pockets or into PDP stalwarts’ pockets.

What is your assessment of the Comrade Adams Oshiomhole administration in Edo State?

Aziegbemi
Aziegbemi
I will begin by saying that the high hopes that every average Edolite had in his administration in the beginning has been totally eroded and dashed. Since he came on board, he has not met the aspiration of the people.

Let’s look at the army of unemployed youths in the state; as we speak, there is no state agency or company that is working. Edo Line Company Ltd, is grounded, the Cassavita Company in Uromi, Auchi Fertilizer Plant, Ehor Fruit Juice Company, Bendel Insurance Company Ltd, Bendel Brewery Company Ltd, among others are grounded.

He met those companies and has succeeded in grounding them because he does not want employment for youths in the state. Secondly, he would normally parrot this phrase that government is meant to create an enabling environment for investors to invest in the state, but I asked, which enabling environment has Oshiomhole created in Edo State for the past eight years for any investor?

Look at the issue of local government administration in the state; I can tell you authoritatively that I have the figures that accrued the 18 local government councils in Edo State.

Huge sums of money were supposed to come into the local government coffers, but it did not get to the councils. For instance, between December 2014 to 5th February 2015, Esan West received a total of N761,578,720, Oredo Local government council within the same period received N1,237,374,111; Etsako West N928,967,395; Ikpoba Okha N1.2 billion, Estako Central N751,703,977.00 and if you go around these local governments, you will not see anything on ground because the state government has appropriated the money meant for the councils.

Appropriation of funds

Hon. Gani Audu is a friend, we know each other very well, but I am surprised that he came out to deny that the state government doesn’t appropriate funds for his local government.

He is from Etsako-West and for the sake of what he has said, in December 2014, Etsako West from the Federation Account, got N116,650,941, January 2015, had N126,713,371, January – September 2015, the council should have gotten N925,967,395. Will Gani Audu sincerely say and can he sit down to say that the chairman of Etsako West local government got this amount in his account for this period?

If so, what did he do with this money? So, there are two issues here. It is either the local government chairmen are getting these monies and are not doing anything with it or the monies do not get into the local governments. My take is that the monies do not get to the local governments.

SOURCE: http://nigerianewsnow.com.ng/2016/01/26/revealed-why-jonathan-trusted-dasuki-with-campaign-funds/
PoliticsReps Threaten To Arrest EFCC Boss – SEE WHY by james669(op): 4:41pm On Jan 24, 2016
The House of Representatives Ad-hoc Committee, investigating alleged fraudulent practices in the collection and management of non-oil revenue remittances by MDAs, has threatened to issue a warrant of arrest on the Chairman of the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC, Ibrahim Magu, if he fails to appear before the Committee, on Tuesday, to account for the revenue collected and remitted to the Federation Account. The Committee had, on Thursday, walked out representatives of the National Drug Law Enforcement Agency, NDLEA, and National Agency for Food and Drug Administration Control, NAFDAC, because their Directors-General were absent at a meeting in the National Assembly.

Expressing his dissatisfaction with the absence of the DGs of the two agencies, the Chairman of the Ad-Hoc Committee, Rep Chike John Okafor, said some government agencies treat the National Assembly with disrespect especially in honouring invitations during the course of oversight functions.

Okafor said that if the EFCC Chairman fails to appear on Tuesday to give account of the money the commission collected on behalf of the Federal Government and how much had been remitted to the coffers of government, the Committee would have no other option than to issue a warrant of arrest on him.

He condemned the absence of the DGs of NDLEA and NAFDAC, who sent representatives, as they were said to be having a meeting in the office of the National Security Adviser, NSA, wondering if the NSA by law was more important than the National Assembly.

SOURCE: http://nigeriabreakingnews.com.ng/reps-threaten-to-arrest-efcc-boss-see-why/

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 18 pages)