Mj4199's Posts
Nairaland Forum › Mj4199's Profile › Mj4199's Posts
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)
A Ukrainian soldier fighting near the country's northern front line has described the menace of Russia's bombardment, telling the Times of London that they are "losing so many people, there are so many bodies we can't even bring them all back." Describing the fight as "fucking awful," the soldier, identified by the paper as Lemur, added that Ukrainian forces in the area can't move forward. "We can barely hold the line," he said. According to the outlet, Lemur is fighting at Kupiansk in Ukraine's Kharkiv Oblast, around where the Institute for the Study of War has reported marginal Russian gains in recent days. A major factor in the current Russian offensive is glide bombs, which Russia has stepped up the use of in the last three months. These are Soviet-era bombs tricked out with guidance systems and wings enabling long-distance strikes. As of last month, Russia was using them intensely around three flashpoints of the war: Kupiansk, the eastern city of Bakhmut, and Robotyne, a strategic southeastern village, the Kyiv Post reported. Launched from aircraft at a distance and then guided to their target, the small radar signature and short flight time of glide bombs makes them hard for Ukraine's already-strained air defense systems to detect and shoot down. Russia is reported to be ramping up its production of the bombs.Glide bombs were a factor in the Russian capture of Avdiivka in mid-February, its only major success in recent months. Their impact in Avdiivka was reported to be devastating. Ukraine does not release official casualty figures. Maksym Zhorin, a soldier in Ukraine's 3rd Separate Assault Brigade, said in a Telegram post during that battle that glide bombs "completely destroy any position," The Washington Post reported. "All buildings and structures simply turn into a pit after the arrival of just one," he said. Struggling to push Russian forces back, Ukraine has fortified its own defensive lines.
Goodlady:Yet better than your Western gods |
For all those making noise saying Putin is a dictator....for many countries that were ruled by dictator and your western gods liberated which is standing tall now? Are they even better or worse? |
Russian influence has been gaining ground across Africa in recent years, placing the continent at the crux of the growing geopolitical contest between the Kremlin and the White House. U.S. officials say Russia’s efforts to develop a “multipolar” world order, its deployment of disinformation, and its use of mercenaries have undermined democratic stability and driven conflict on the continent. Russian economic and military involvement in Africa still pales in comparison to that of both China and the West. Yet, amid the upheaval of Russia’s invasion of Ukraine, some African governments, such as South Africa, are moving closer to Moscow. According to President Putin "Macron seems to be personally obsessed with the way African leaders are getting closer to Russia and he (Macron) is really trying to use Ukraine to fight us,but in history and even now, no one can suppress us or even intimidate us, we are even better and stronger now." Vladimir Putin was headed for another six-year term as Russian president Sunday, exit polls showed, paving the way for the hardline former spy to become the longest-serving Russian leader in more than 200 years. |
Tradepunter2:You only read the Western media news and how they really want you to see Russia, please get a good source to your information don't be quick to judge from ur ends sir. So if me and you dey fight make I no try defend myself with my strongest strength? Ask yourself why is NATO against Russia, is NATO truly a peaceful organization? |
Krismas:I wonder how people reason this days.. Russia is weak and not strong then why is Almighty USA forming so many allies against weak Russia.. Putin always making empty noises, if he pushes the button now, you all will see him as a very bad person trying to destroy the world peace, yet no one sees the propaganda from the west towards Russia. NATO should invite Russia if truly they want peace! |
For me, thanks the endless joy you brought to us to your talent, we celebrate you sir..Rip John Okafor
Jostoman:The statement was completely wrong that's was why NATO was quick to denied anything like that cause they truly know the consequence |
Jostoman:You think so? NATO know better |
Macron told a meeting of European leaders on Monday that while “there’s no consensus today to send in an official, endorsed manner troops on the ground … nothing can be ruled out”. Russia was quick to leap upon the French leader’s comments. Kremlin spokesperson Dmitry Peskov called Macron’s suggestion that Western states could send ground troops to Ukraine “a very important new element”. It is “absolutely not in the interests” of European members of NATO, he told reporters. “In that case, we would need to talk not about the probability, but about the inevitability [of direct conflict].” NATO’s secretary-general has said there are no plans to send troops to Ukraine, as Russia claimed it was ready to enter a direct conflict with the Western military alliance should it put boots on the ground. Responding to remarks made by French President Emmanuel Macron the previous day, Jens Stoltenberg on Tuesday denied that NATO countries were considering the possibility of sending troops to Ukraine amid the Russian invasion.There are “no plans for NATO combat troops on the ground in Ukraine”, the NATO chief said. Any wrong move from NATO could lead to excalation, any thing that will cause Russia to lose the war in Ukraine, President Putin could resolve to using it's major Arsenals and it will lead to great great consequence....WWIII we don't pray for that... |
Minsk24:I heard they are working on it |
MisfitHPG:Just imagine yourself now...when are we going to drop all this useless tribalism in Nigeria and come together in the right synergy? From a hate post from other continent, we are now here insulting our own brothers and tribal.....who do us Nigeria? |
Oga we even worse pass monkey now self, imagine in my own country a white guy of no qualification is been highly treated and respected more than a black first class graduate with higher standard. Infact monkeys are better than Nigerians, your post want to continue with the western Medias painting Russia black abi....tell your masters they should come up with something else |
A handful of developing countries are preparing to join the BRICS alliance in 2024. Developing countries from Asia, the global south, Africa, and even Europe are considering securing a spot in BRICS this year. The upcoming BRICS summit will be held in October 2024 in the Kazan region of Russia. The 16th summit will see a new influx of applications from countries that are preparing to join BRICS this year. India’s Foreign Affairs Minister S Jaishankar confirmed that more than 2 dozen countries want to join BRICS in 2024. The development indicates that developing countries trust the alliance and want to distance themselves from the US dollar. The spiraling debt of $34 trillion is a burden to developing countries that hold billions in US dollars as reserves.Therefore, developing nations are aiming to reduce the risk of debt by putting their local currencies first for trade. Even if Nigeria decides to join the BRICS alliance now, is it the best time, seeing that Nigeria is not even a producing state rather a consuming state? |
Raf4:Human rights indeed 😉, Putin stands for the truth and the culture |
Beautifulday:We don't know please tell us |
AntiZikist:You're right....this war is not necessary if NATO didn't get involved |
alpharoyalty:Both NATO and it's allies are using poor Ukraine as testing ground while North Korea are also doing same via Russia's end |
Beautifulday:Ask him |
Gbogbowa:Oga go and verify from your source even your western fake news have it |
Bookhub:The president should stop playing with the citizen's life, this is not a movie set, NATO is evil period! |
Ezewuzie01:Despite all the sanctions on Russia, and the world against Russia |
The fall of Avdiivka, a city that was once home to some 30,000 people but is now a smoking ruin, is the first major gain Russian forces have achieved since May of last year. After rebuffing a Ukrainian counteroffensive in the summer and fall, Russian forces in recent weeks have been pressing the attack across nearly the entire length of the 600-mile-long front. The Ukrainian withdrawal on Saturday follows a bloody endgame that saw some of the fiercest fighting of the two-year-old war. Relying on its superiority in personnel and weaponry, Russia pounded the city with aerial bombardments and ground assaults, even as its fighters suffered a staggering amount of casualties. Outgunned Ukrainian forces had begun withdrawing from positions in the southern part of the city on Wednesday, and since then have been engaged in a desperate battle to avoid encirclement inside the city as Russian forces advanced from multiple directions. As Russian bombers pummeled Avdiivka, Ukraine said its forces had targeted and shot down three Russian warplanes. Oleksandr Tarnavskyi, the head of Ukraine’s forces in the south, said there had been no choice but to withdraw, given the Russian advantage in firepower and the number of soldiers Russia was willing to throw into the battle. “In a situation where the enemy is advancing on the corpses of their own soldiers with a 10-to-1 shell advantage, under constant bombardment, this is the only correct solution,” he said in a statement. The commander said that there were losses for the Ukrainians and “at the final stage of the operation, under pressure from the superior forces of the enemy, some Ukrainian servicemen fell into captivity.” “Taking control of Avdiivka might create an opening for Russia,” he said. He added, however, that Russian forces lacked large reserves of troops and equipment and were unlikely to be able to push further west of Avdiivka quickly and turn this week’s success into a major victory. Soldiers reached by phone on Friday, who asked not to be identified given the ongoing military action, described a harrowing bid to escape the city. They gave accounts of racing past blasted-out buildings as shells thundered from all around and Russians pressed in from several directions. “In one of the sectors in the town, fighters from the 3rd Separate Assault Brigade find themselves completely surrounded, but they are attempting to break through, and they succeed,” Maj. Rodion Kudryashov, deputy commander of the assault brigade, said in an interview with Radio Liberty. Some expressed concern privately in interviews that the call to withdraw had come too late, or posted stark accounts on social media of their dangerous and chaotic retreat. |
RUSSIA IDIOT.... IT HAS ALWAYS BEEN PUTIN THREATENING WITH NUKES..... SO DONT COME AND BE SAYING ITS AMERICA THAT THREATEN THEM..... ISN'T PUTIN THAT SAYS HE CAN LEVEL LONDON IN MATTER OF MINUTES
Empty words! Ask them, wen did Putin say he will take over Ukraine in 48hrs? They will be fumbling, cos it’s mere propaganda, no proof