Stats: 3,147,787 members, 7,798,628 topics. Date: Tuesday, 16 April 2024 at 07:29 AM

Phockallmods's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Phockallmods's Profile / Phockallmods's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (of 4 pages)

Technology Market / Re: The Xiaomi Thread Store by phockallmods: 11:59am On May 01, 2020
What's the Best redmi xiomi under 40k u suggest one to get?
Education / Re: Edo University Begins Second Semester Online by phockallmods: 12:30pm On Apr 27, 2020
Skmoda360:

And they said it's a state university ooo... anyway university education shouldn't be cheap though.
It's public plus private
Education / Re: Edo University Begins Second Semester Online by phockallmods: 10:26am On Apr 27, 2020
Skmoda360:

No be 500k or 400k em dey pay for that school? undecided
Idunno. Should be close to 1mill
Education / Re: Edo University Begins Second Semester Online by phockallmods: 9:29am On Apr 27, 2020
Drabeey:
Online? We copy copy so tae we can't even understand what's best for our system.

So commendable, but ordinary data subscription at this time is a problem. How about students using 'tonasobe' what is their access point?
Must we be a copycat? Poverty level on its on makes many drops out of school. Makes me want to ask, do we really believe Nigerians are poor?

This means no computer/internet access, no learning.
Well at this time, students who can't afford it should please refer back to their textbooks, i believe you have the syllabus. Please read wide, life is not bias, not fair either. it's just where we found ourselves.
It's a private school. And moreover, you have data to watch porn
Education / Re: Edo University Begins Second Semester Online by phockallmods: 9:29am On Apr 27, 2020
bolaayenimo:
Glorified Secondary school..UNIBEN no do online, AAU no do online, na Iyamho dey do online
Iyamho is greater than both combined. Stop living in a cave. Nobody sent you to be poor

Travel / Re: The Odyssey. Narrative Of A Nigerian Nurse. (PROPRIETARY CONTENT) by phockallmods: 11:54am On Apr 26, 2020
haiti007:

Thank you sir for the time taken to attend to my question.
To your question Sir.
I have a very strong passion for nursing.
I have checked the nursing forum, but due to the lockdown, there no relevant informations as regards admission.

Am planning to take two forms. One from luth and the other from Nacon. I will settle with whichsoever one that comes first.
I started my preparations though
Don't ever think you are too old at 25. Many people older than you are in my class, some upto 40years old.
If utme isn't forthcoming, try SON. Choose the ones you know would be fair with admission. Many of them admit more than required and end up withdrawing almost everyone.

Travel / Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by phockallmods: 6:07pm On Apr 24, 2020
Must you use agents? Save money and self sponsor. 1.5mil max will do for self sponsor. Go to UK 1st and gather money if you don't have upto 1.5mill for self sponsor.
Pass your exams after self sponsorship and same Agents refusing you will beg you to come.

Travel / Re: Arriving Australia For The First Time by phockallmods: 11:53am On Apr 23, 2020
Hibiscus62:

Haa... It's obvious you are ignorant of how the Australia nursing curriculum is structured and what it takes for even a foreign trained nurse to practice in Australia.
Nigeria trained nurses are not even recognized by the Australia regulatory body, they enroll for a "bridge program" in order to fill up the training vacuum created by the Nigeria nursing curriculum.

My post was aimed at objectively giving an answer to the question the brother raised. But since you have chosen the part of antagonism based on emotions, I will leave you to the mercy of the hearsays that occupied your mind.
I simply asked a question, attacking my personal lity wasn't called for. Mr know it all. You people love reading posts giving them non existent tone. Speaks volume.

Travel / Re: Arriving Australia For The First Time by phockallmods: 5:39pm On Apr 22, 2020
Hibiscus62:

Lol.. Masters degree in nursing with MBBS?

Baba you are a doctor naa and not a nurse, so you can't encrouch into the nursing profession like that.
Before you talk about any thing concerning masters in nursing, you must be talking about specialties like psychiatric nursing, peri operative nursing, paediatric nursing, intensive Care Nursing, Anaesthetic nursing, etc.

Which means you must be a nurse (a general practitioner) before talking about specialization (through the masters route)

When you hear most people suddenly mentioning that they diverted from medicine to nursing on arrival abroad, they went into the semi skilled care job popular known as "Certified Nurse Assistant" (CNA).
The CNA over there are the foreign version of the ward orderlies we have here in Nigeria (those people on blue in the hospitals that do the cleaning jobs etc)

The CNA's are answerable to and work under the supervision of registered nurses. They run errands for the real nurses.

If you want to be a Certified Nurse Assistant (CNA), use that your MBBS to apply for a masters degree program in public health which is open to all professions in the health sector (you can research more on this)

On arrival in Australia, enroll for the CNA program and run it concurrently with your masters. I learnt that it takes 6 months or less. Then you can start from there pending when you will get better options maybe as a public health officer but not as a doctor. Good luck!
If a non science 1st degree could do masters in nursing, why shouldn't MBBS be able to do so?
Travel / Re: How Did You Obtain Your Permanent Residency In Your Current Country? by phockallmods: 11:17pm On Apr 21, 2020
Skymoore1004:
I think we should rename this thread to How Did You Obtain Your Permanent Residency In Your Current Country from 2015. So that we can have small hope.

Because all the people here are from 2000, 2009, 2010. Things were better then so we cannot relate with you people please.

We need current yarn to have hope
You talk too much. I need you to shuuuush

Travel / Re: The Odyssey. Narrative Of A Nigerian Nurse. (PROPRIETARY CONTENT) by phockallmods: 6:11pm On Apr 21, 2020
OJURONGBE1:

Its been long I read something this smooth on Nairaland. Kudos sir .
Here comes my question :how do you write so well , is it an inbuilt ability or you got this from years of consistent reading and practising ?
I find it hard sometimes to convey my thoughts into words . There are times i write and I feel ashamed of myself because my words were badly put together.

Another question I would love your opinion on is: I have a 15 yr old cousin who's torn between studying medicine and Nursing ,but as it is, her 220 UTME score won't get her an invite for UI Post UTME, so i urged her to try science lab tech at Yabatech, get good grades in her forthcoming WAEC Exam and prepare well for next year.
You might ask me why i am asking this question on her behalf ,well ,she's someone I took interest in ever since she lost her Dad when she was 8 .
How a young girl would be so interested in her future amazes me .Each time I visit them, she always ask me to buy her books, share with me her term results laced with distinctions and how chemistry bores her but her lowest grade was 71.
I have been trying in my little way to expose her on her dream course , got few text books , have her watch Grey Anatomy etc to gear her up but there's a limit to what I can do at the moment because of the financial implications .
So, how good is a Nursing degree obtained from the university compared to school of Nursing?
My Aunt attended Ogun state school of health (Nursing major) and i kid you not, she's extremely good.
She once told me Nursing degrees are more of administrative nursing while school of health deals more with practicals.
I really don't know why old nurses keep glorifying schools of nursing. Tell her to go to uni. Which useless practical are we talking about? Don't let anyone deceive her into any SON. Both are good but uni is better. Medicine is studied in the university, a year for housmanship where "practical" is learnt. There's also internship for Nursing graduates and the so called "practical " will be learnt there.

Travel / Re: The Odyssey. Narrative Of A Nigerian Nurse. (PROPRIETARY CONTENT) by phockallmods: 8:05am On Apr 16, 2020
Soknown:
I continued with my agency work in my spare time. I registered with another agency, this one is in Redhill, a stone-throw to my house as a matter of fact. Smartheart Professionals, this one seems to be more organised than the first agency that i was working with. I send my availability to them and they would book me on available shifts. A particular day in February at the height of Winter, i got a shift in Sunrise of Purley. A posh nursing and residential home in Purley, (one of the popular sunrise and gracewell homes.) I left home 0625hr to catch the 0630hr Bus 405 to Croydon. It takes about 28 minutes to reach Purley from Redhill. I have disembarked and walking to the Nursing home before i was jolted back to reality, i had no beanie and no gloves, the wind was strong and billowing in serious fury driving the winter cold into my bones. I trekked for just 5 minutes but it seem like eternity, when i got the home and wanted to sign, my fingers were gone, my ears were like dried leaves. I sat down in the warmth of the office for some minutes to get the blood flowing again, Signed in, got the hand-over, grabbed a cup of tea, and started work.
At close of business, i trekked to the bus-stop but missed the bus, i had to wait for another hour before the next bus comes, a dilemma should i walk back to the home and come back when it is about time for the next bus or stay hoping another bus by stroke of luck get diverted to the bus-stop. Against better judgement, i decided to wait stupidly at the bus-stop, hammered by the wind and shaking like a leaf, i tried everything. Physiology ( deliberately initiating shivering to generate some heat), Ergonomics (leaving only oneleg exposed, sitting on the other one, chemistry( pooling saliva in my mouth,warming it up with my tongue before swallowing unfortunately no Costas in place i could have gone for some coffe) Psychology ( positive thinking, i am not cold, i am not cold turning into song, singing with gnashing teeth and shivering lips.) all in a bid to stay warm. Well the bus came 10 minutes late, I was looking at the poor driver like where have you been all this while dude. I learnt to always have my beanie and gloves in my bag.
You give me joy with your writing.

Travel / Re: The Odyssey. Narrative Of A Nigerian Nurse. (PROPRIETARY CONTENT) by phockallmods: 7:59am On Apr 16, 2020
Olalekank:

Haq haq haq

Never stayed outside the country for more 3 months and at some point, I missed Nigeria, up to a point. I was staying with fellow Nigerians at the time.

Also worthy to note that I hated and still hate Nigeria and thought I would never miss it. Realized I was only being a clown

Please, prepare your mind that you would miss Nigeria; because you will no matter how hard you try to think otherwise.
I'm a core introvert so if it's about "boredom", I'm used to it. I can maybe only miss my family. Fvck Nigeria

Travel / Re: The Odyssey. Narrative Of A Nigerian Nurse. (PROPRIETARY CONTENT) by phockallmods: 3:37pm On Apr 15, 2020
Soknown:

People like you would start missing Nigeria after 6 months. No place like home, my friend.
I can never miss Nigeria .I'm studying nursing to leave the country even. I hate Nigeria to the core.

Travel / Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by phockallmods: 11:09am On Apr 15, 2020
Alpheziz:

@BlueBeard you are missing something..... I don't think she already has an RN license as an intern nurse There is new process now in Nigeria.,,,.. Since she is not through with her internship, what they have issued her now is "licensed intern " until after she completes her one year internship before they will give her the main RN license.... I don't think she will be able to use that "license intern" document to process her nmc uk ...I stand to be corrected on this.
This broke my heart. Another 1year for stupid internship. Gosh

Travel / Re: The Odyssey. Narrative Of A Nigerian Nurse. (PROPRIETARY CONTENT) by phockallmods: 5:18pm On Apr 13, 2020
ChuksObiora:
is it possible to get reported by a neighbor for cooking with our thick smell foodstuff
My lecturer said she was reported and 911 was called because the oyinbo said she wanted to commit suicide with the way the food smelt. School mgt dismissed issue nd our lecturer won the "case".

Phones / Re: IOS Iphone Anyone? Find A Solution For Ur Iphones Here by phockallmods: 10:39am On Apr 12, 2020
waleyp:
What kind of phone by the way? Dugbe around cocoa House, but its better not to give your phone to just anyone. What brand is the phone
Thanks. Techno l9 plus. Is carlcare Ibadan a good place
Phone/Internet Market / Re: Google Pixel 2xl SOLD! by phockallmods: 12:53pm On Apr 11, 2020
lekjons:
smiley
Where is the best place to repair phone in Ibadan
Phones / Re: IOS Iphone Anyone? Find A Solution For Ur Iphones Here by phockallmods: 12:51pm On Apr 11, 2020
waleyp:
well have you taken it to any phone engineer? well i dont know about phone but if you are in ibadan i know where they can run a check on it not free tho.
Where is d best place to fix phone in Ibadan
Phones / Re: ***** Infinix Discussion Thread ***** by phockallmods: 4:17pm On Apr 10, 2020
toscotech:

I HAVE
How much is new one?
Phones / Re: ***** Infinix Discussion Thread ***** by phockallmods: 4:15pm On Apr 10, 2020
Any good new infinix under 40k fone to buy?
Phones / Re: Phone Engineers On Nairaland Willing To Assist You - Part II by phockallmods: 12:12am On Apr 10, 2020
Gbengakolade1:

I can fix this for ypu you easily

WhatsApp 08104801159
Phones / Re: Phone Engineers On Nairaland Willing To Assist You - Part II by phockallmods: 12:06am On Apr 10, 2020
Repairguru:
the phone need to work on. Chat me up on me whatsap 08082409934
Education / Re: What Course Did You Study In The Tertiary Institution And What's your job now? by phockallmods: 2:57pm On Apr 04, 2020
mcquin:

Big congrats. That's huge. Not cut out for sciences, probably would have been a pharmacist. Couldn't figure out why "Potassium" is "K," meanwhile "Hydrogen" is "H" and "Helium;" "He."
A lawyer now, finished from Uniben and practicing with my office in Benin. I look back and no regrets for not trying to figure out why Potassium is "K." Will always question that crap.
K starts the Latin name for Potassium

Travel / Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by phockallmods: 2:30pm On Apr 04, 2020
BlueBeard:

grin grin grin nursing don dey hot.lolz... If u have the money, go abroad and do an accelerated program of 2yrs. If not, just buy school of nursing form and do d normal 3years course.... Goodluck
So the 5years course is abnormal?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (of 4 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 60