Stats: 3,150,495 members, 7,808,832 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 05:36 PM

Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia - Business (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia (63746 Views)

Sani Dangote Is Dead! Vice President, Dangote Group Dies / Dangote Is Selling Dangote Flour Mills For N130 Billion ($361.11 Million) / Why Aliko Dangote Is Bad For Nigeria - Feyi Fawehinmi (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) ... (21) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by MansoryMX(m): 8:22pm On Apr 06, 2021
babamoha:
please what is the value of the naira to Zambia currency? with that we can know how good or bad the dangote guy is.
and main thing is that our government is our worst enemy

CBN rate of Zambia Kwacha to naira is 18.54 naira. Bag of cement sold in Zambia is 55 Kwacha.

55 x 18.54 = 1019.7
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Raph82(m): 8:22pm On Apr 06, 2021
LMS1:
One Tribe Like That Will Hire Pickup Trucks And Troop To Zambia Just To Go And Buy The Cement At Cheaper Price And Resell Them Here In Nigeria For Profits.
Igbo Kwenu!! grin
With all due respect, this kind of comment is the silliest I've come across today. must u bring tribalistic tune into infuriating matter like this? This is nauseating.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Aconomist: 8:22pm On Apr 06, 2021
Wilespo:
...en dangote ? baba them no force u buy the cement na.....there may be reasons its more expensive here...have u thought about the cost of power generation , security , cost of materials and taxes he pays to the government ? the cost of production is Zambia may be less than that in Nigeria.......take for example, if it costs 850 naira to produce a bag of cement in Zambia and in Nigeria, that same bag of cement costs 1250 to produce, will u advise him to see them the same price ? we should blame the government for their policies that discourages the well being of the masses rather than the man proprietor who is just trying to make profit which is the primary aim of any business man ........in my office, i work more and earn less than my American colleague ( we have a branch office in USA).....when i inquired to know why , my boss said its cheaper to run the office from USA than Nigeria.....these guys are business men, they pay heavy taxes, huge amount of money on security and settling community bullshit here and there....na our government be our problems bros.......if things are in place, these manufacturers will lower the costs of their products....but they are taking advantage of the inefficiency of the government to exploit the citizens for their personal gains and frankly speaking u wont blame them.

Dangote's cost of production is the lowest in the world, but his price (in Nigeria) is the highest in the world.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Nobody: 8:23pm On Apr 06, 2021
elGenius:
These children of hate, perdition and envy.

I think it's high time every one begin to stand up to this lunatics.

we've been treating them like kids, letting them have there ways, the pampering as entered there head, we need to deflate there ego, remind them there irrelevance .

they bring there entire generations from there great grand parents to how regions and still go back to tell there people that we are evil and weaked, and that they are being attacked yet they keep coming.

we can't keep allowing these nonentities to insult and ridicule us, enough
shut up dumb Afonja tribalist see ur smelly ewedu mouth... atleast if you wan do tribalism ... know how how to spell ur words correctly....na ibadan english u dey carry type? undecided

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Jackmj(m): 8:25pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:
When people ask me why I don't invest in Nigeria, remember this thread and responses like this. Nigerians are addicted to stagnation and justify their own demise -- only a fool would put his hard earned capital into a nation of monkeys like this.

Cement prices around the world range from $3 to $6 while Dangote is selling for the equivalent of $11 for a profit margin of 60% in Nigeria compared to an industry average profit margin of 5% to 12%. He is able to charge these high prices because of low competition -- he kicked out competitors by hoarding limestone resources and convincing the federal government to ban imports.

According to Rabiu of BUA Group, Nigeria's real cost of cement production is the lowest in the world. The high prices are because of price gouging and monopolistic behavior from Dangote.
Bring your source.
No electricity in Nigeria
Bad roads, insecurity, these things make prices to rise
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Globad(f): 8:27pm On Apr 06, 2021
ayterajah:
Am not supporting dangote but my point of view is that what's the economy state of Zambia compare to Nigeria and don't forget that dangote it's not alone ... he have many govt officials under him

What has the size of the economy got to do with this? If at all, the one in the bigger Nigerian economy should be cheaper

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by extol1(m): 8:27pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:
Chase the bastard out.
that man is wicked, there was a time the community stopped his trucks from packing the coal. what he did was to call the ogas at the top and they came will a lot of soldiers

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by od501: 8:28pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:
Dangote is selling cement for 55 Kwatcha (1150 naira) in Zambia. But in Nigeria, the same cement is going for 3,000 to 5,000 naira. Dangote is the biggest problem in Nigeria. I have never seen such a wicked excuse for a human being in my live. EndSARS is over. It's time to start END DANGOTE.

https://zambiareports.com/2021/03/31/78130/

Oga calm down. Many things are considered before fixing prices. Check the case of Erisco group, they had to move their business from Nigeria to china cos the cost of production is not not sustainable anymore. It is more expensive to produce here then in other countries with friendlier economic policies.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by adecz: 8:28pm On Apr 06, 2021
Tobbit:
Following our fights on your CBD thread about this. I'm glad you finally took it up, did your research and you're now seeing the light.

I passed a memo yesterday following an information I came across. I hope you are looking into that aswell

Shell Petroleum is out with an exclusive information..

It's a clause within the PIB Bill that is aimed at granting Dangote the sole right to export crude out of the Country... Imagine. Time for another protest Nigerians. Spread the word.

Post this information on your timeline across all your social media handles to sensitive and inform people........ Let's kill this bill before it sees the light of the day..

Buhari wants to hand out the
whole Nigerian economy to Hausa/ Fulani
before leaving power.

But no problem, since he can't take
the seaports , oil wells & fertile lands
of the middle belt & South to Katsina.

The Niger railway is also useless without
linkup to the south.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by michoim(m): 8:29pm On Apr 06, 2021
Fake reporting. The price is FIXED for $5 by the government of Zambia which is equivalent of N2,400 in parallel markets in Nigeria...

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by GistFullGround: 8:30pm On Apr 06, 2021

If this is true, then I've lost respect for him.

Nigeria made you and you MUST show respect & empathy.

Nigerians must bring him to his kneels.

Mennnnmm, I am so pissed!

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Emyogalanya: 8:30pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:
Dangote is selling cement for 55 Kwatcha (1150 naira) in Zambia. But in Nigeria, the same cement is going for 3,000 to 5,000 naira. Dangote is the biggest problem in Nigeria. I have never seen such a wicked excuse for a human being in my live. EndSARS is over. It's time to start END DANGOTE. Buckle up the rest belongs to the government. He has monopoly

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by LMS1(m): 8:30pm On Apr 06, 2021
WoundedLamb:

Just curious, is there anything wrong with looking for where to buy things at a cheaper rate and resell for profit? Isn't that the ideal business plan?
Not At All, Thats Why Am Praising Them, B T W Am From The South!
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by CodeTemplar: 8:30pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:
The only solution for Dangote is a rubber tire and some gasoline. I used to love this man until I did my research and the scales were peeled from my eyes. Wickedness can't even describe this monster.
Lol. . .I have always maintained he is an artificial billionaire.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Litmus: 8:30pm On Apr 06, 2021
Lush100:
Sir, just for info

U can't create a price war with the market leader.
That is suicide.( Every good economists knows this).

Every challenger knows this.

I'm not into arguments though

Yes you can.

When Aldi arrived in Britain, Tesco and Sainsbury’s were sure they had nothing to worry about. Three decades later, they know better. By Xan Rice

On a Thursday morning in April 1990, in the suburb of Stechford in Birmingham, a strange grocery chain started trading in the UK. It only stocked 600 basic items – fewer than you might find in your local corner shop today – all at very low prices. For many products, including butter, tea and ketchup, only a single, usually unfamiliar brand was offered. To shoppers accustomed to the abundance of Tesco and Sainsbury’s, which dominated the British grocery sector with thousands of products and brands, delicatessens, vast fridges and aisles piled high with fresh fruit and vegetables, the range would have seemed dismal.

The managers of this new shop, which was called Aldi, had not bothered to place a single advert announcing its arrival – not even an “Opening soon” sign outside the store. Strip lights illuminated the 185 sq metre store, and from the ceiling hung banners listing prices for the goods stacked on wooden pallets or displayed in torn-open cardboard boxes on metal shelves. A £1 deposit allowed you to borrow a trolley but there were no baskets. The checkout assistants, who had been trained to memorise the price of every item in the store, were so fast that shoppers experienced what some would come to call “Aldi panic” – the fear that you cannot pack your goods quickly enough. The store accepted cash but not cheques or cards. Customers seeking itemised receipts left disappointed.

Information on Aldi’s owners was as limited as the decor. Most news reports noted merely that the company belonged to a frugal and spectacularly rich pair of German brothers, Karl and Theo Albrecht, who had both fought in the second world war and whose desire for privacy had reached extremes after Theo’s high-profile kidnapping for ransom in 1970s. The Albrechts had an extremely popular chain of bleak discount stories in Germany: the brothers had divided the country into separate fiefs, with each controlling the market in one half of the territory.

But most people were confident they would fail in Britain, where there was a discernible snobbery about discount stores. When a reporter from the Times visited an Aldi store in Birmingham the following year, he thought it represented the “anonymous, slightly alarming face of 1990s grocery shopping”, without any pretence of sophistication. “One looks in vain for avocados or kiwi fruit.”

The British supermarket giants, whose 7% profit margins were the world’s highest, were even more dismissive. Sainsbury’s remarked on the absence of service, which was important to British customers. “We welcome the advent of Aldi and others to come,” said Tesco managing director David Malpas. “We can live quite happily in our part of the market and they can live in theirs.”

For a long time it looked like he was correct. In 1999, when Walmart bought Asda, the UK’s third biggest grocery chain, the Financial Times noted that Aldi had made “little impact in Britain” because customers were not as price-sensitive as Americans or continental Europeans. German shoppers, notoriously, took this to extremes: one of the country’s biggest electronics retailers, Saturn, even adopted “Thriftiness is sexy” as a marketing slogan. By 2009 – after nearly two decades – Aldi’s market share was just 2%, similar to that of Lidl, its German rival and imitator, which had launched in Britain soon after Aldi.

Read:

https://www.theguardian.com/business/2019/mar/05/long-read-aldi-discount-supermarket-changed-britain-shopping
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by netmillionaires(m): 8:32pm On Apr 06, 2021
Thanks for the links. I read the interview with Mr. Iweta. The man bar it all. I always tell people that cost of labour accounts for almost 70 percent of the cost of production and we all know that Nigeria with a minimum wage of #18,000 (approximately $45) should have one of the least cost of production. Nigeria is not working because we lack the right policies and institutions to make it work. There are greedy people even in American but the law is there to put them in check.

Aconomist:
He used corruption to destroy the other cement producers and hoard all the limestone resources in the country.

Read this article by Chief David Iweta, a cement producer that was destroyed by Dangote.

https://www.thenigerianvoice.com/movie/54550/real-reasons-cement-price-is-high-iweta.html

Rabiu, owner of BUA Group is saying the same thing about Dangote. Who are you to argue?

https://www.nairaland.com/6436641/rabiu-blasts-dangote-calls-liberalize

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Aconomist: 8:32pm On Apr 06, 2021
od501:

Oga calm down. Many things are considered before fixing prices. Check the case of Erisco group, they had to move their business from Nigeria to china cos the cost of production is not not sustainable anymore. It is more expensive to produce here then in other countries with friendlier economic policies.
Dangote has his own power plants, his own coal mines-- he manufactures his own trucks and bags and even has a private jetty port to bring in supplies. His cost of production is literally the lowest in the world.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Josbreed: 8:32pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:
Dangote is selling cement for 55 Kwatcha (1150 naira) in Zambia. But in Nigeria, the same cement is going for 3,000 to 5,000 naira. Dangote is the biggest problem in Nigeria. I have never seen such a wicked excuse for a human being in my live. EndSARS is over. It's time to start END DANGOTE.

If Dangote sells cement at the rate of N1,150 in Zambia, let us know how much is Bus selling its cement before we begin to protest.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by KingAzubuike(f): 8:33pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:
The only solution for Dangote is a rubber tire and some gasoline. I used to love this man until I did my research and the scales were peeled from my eyes. Wickedness can't even describe this monster.
So who are you to dictate for a man how much he should sell his goods? If you're not comfortable with it then go for larfarge.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Theoarhics: 8:33pm On Apr 06, 2021
Dangote is the richest problem we have in Nigeria
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by CodeTemplar: 8:33pm On Apr 06, 2021
michoim:
Fake reporting. The price is FIXED for $5 by the government of Zambia which is equivalent of N2,400 in parallel markets in Nigeria...
Lol. . . Dangote propagandist spotted. So a USD to Naira is a whopping 480?
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by jaszplus12(m): 8:33pm On Apr 06, 2021
Lomprico2:

you be full
Thanks sir... grin
NL is getting filled with people like you... gutter mentality... once there's opposition to your ideas, your filthy mind begins to send filthy messages rather than trying to convince your opponent with reason!
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by od501: 8:33pm On Apr 06, 2021
MansoryMX:

CBN rate of Zambia Kwacha to naira is 18.54 naira. Bag of cement sold in Zambia is 55 Kwacha.

55 x 18.54 = 1019.7

You have answered the question nh...1 Kwacha = 18.54 Naira. Naira is trash, simple!
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by CodeTemplar: 8:35pm On Apr 06, 2021
Josbreed:

If Dangote sells cement at the rate of N1,150 in Zambia, let us know how much is Bus selling its cement before we begin to protest.
BUA is using the giant status of Dangote in the cement market to shield himself. Why is Dangote maintaining official and black market rate like CBN? lol.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Pclemenza: 8:36pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:

As at 25/03/2021 , Dangote cement was selling in Zambia at 140 KWACHA which is about 2590 NAIRA. Get your facts right before you post in a public platform.
SHALOM

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by LMS1(m): 8:36pm On Apr 06, 2021
Lomprico2:

and when they sell it to your lazy tribe and become prosperous, you will start beefing them.
Which Tribe?
Oga Chill, Am Not A Nigerian, Am Nairegin.
But Make E Nor Pain U Bro,
We Move
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by od501: 8:37pm On Apr 06, 2021
Aconomist:
Dangote has his own power plants, his own coal mines-- he manufactures his own trucks and bags and even has a private jetty port to bring in supplies. His cost of production is literally the lowest in the world.

He bought and maintains those things, not like he hired it or something. He is solely responsible for its maintenance. If it had been government owned e g. The power plant, the money would have been used for other things. And for the cost of production, how do you know this?
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by zigzagluv: 8:37pm On Apr 06, 2021
IN TOGO , THE CEMENT IS 2000 NAIRA AND GHANA ALOT CHEAPER
expliciit:
The dangote guy is a criminal, I have known this for a long time base on report and experts opinion that cement should not be more than #1000
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Advocate500: 8:37pm On Apr 06, 2021
jaszplus12:

A particular tribe are not happy because it's not their person that's enjoying the monopoly...if it were... hmmnmm they would have said how no one else can be smarter than them!! Would not have referred to it as wickedness but as business acumen!!
the fulanis are they buying cement cheaper than what the tribe you mentioned are buying it's? And some one will argue that common sense is common.
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by AwesomeStormy00(m): 8:38pm On Apr 06, 2021
Tobbit:
Following our fights on your CBD thread about this. I'm glad you finally took it up, did your research and you're now seeing the light.

I passed a memo yesterday following an information I came across. I hope you are looking into that aswell

Shell Petroleum is out with an exclusive information..

It's a clause within the PIB Bill that is aimed at granting Dangote the sole right to export crude out of the Country... Imagine. Time for another protest Nigerians. Spread the word.

Post this information on your timeline across all your social media handles to sensitive and inform people........ Let's kill this bill before it sees the light of the day..

WTF!!!! Are you for real, or a whin up
Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by Aconomist: 8:38pm On Apr 06, 2021
KingAzubuike:

So who are you to dictate for a man how much he should sell his goods? If you're not comfortable with it then go for larfarge.
No, the Nigerian government should allow us to import if the local producers can't sell at a reasonable price.

Re: Dangote Is Selling Cement For 1,150 Naira In Zambia by jaszplus12(m): 8:38pm On Apr 06, 2021
Nonexistent:
I hope he sells the cement for N500 to people of your tribe. I knew some mumus like you would try to shift the goal post to tribal and partisan politics, that's what you are paid for. Hediot.
Call me what you think I am.... but I assure you, it won't give you the opportunity to buy that cement for less... you're even "non-existent"!! grin

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) ... (21) (Reply)

List Of All Online Stores In Nigeria / Femi Otedola Celebrates His Son, Fewa's Birthday (Photo) / Speculators Get Burnt As Naira Gains Value

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 64