Stats: 3,152,947 members, 7,817,783 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 07:29 PM

Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) (10728) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion (8727594 Views)

Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 / Manchester United Fan Thread: Premier League Champions 2010/11 / Manchester United Fan thread: Forever Reds (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (10725) (10726) (10727) (10728) (10729) (10730) (10731) ... (14147) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:19am On Aug 30, 2021
adisaaowala:

Baba, the truth is that this is a conversation most peeps here arent ready for.

If we remove his goals/assist from setplay and carefully assess his contribution to our overall play ehn....

Make i just stop here sha

Let's just be watching
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by afrodoc2: 7:22am On Aug 30, 2021
TheLequte:

Exactly grin

He ridiculed me cos I said Greenwood would be phenomenal for us if managed well. I listed his abilities and even posted a video.

The day Greenwood score hattrick ehn…dem go hear am

I remember that time now. I said Greenwood was already the best finisher and people were laughing until Amaka himself said it sometime later.

What was funny was that people who had never seen him play were ready to argue while having zero knowledge of the subject matter. cheesy

Someone that at age 16 had already deciphered the secret of finishing like Darth Plagueis. Barring catastrophic injury the number of goals he will score is dem booku.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by TheLequte: 7:23am On Aug 30, 2021
96forever:
Isn’t VdB supposed to be good at that? I mean keeping the ball?

VDB doesn’t keep the ball.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:23am On Aug 30, 2021
96forever:
Isn’t VdB supposed to be good at that? I mean keeping the ball?
The Coach doesn't want to keep the ball. Maybe he doesn't trust VDB physicality, I'm not sure what the problem is. VDB should be able to play Kroos role. Stay close to the DM or CDM and occasionally find some great passes. Pogba should not be the one doing this
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 7:23am On Aug 30, 2021
96forever:
What does Bruno do to others?

You really believe this? He was benched cause they were getting destroyed with a double pivot consisting of those slow mfs, they had to switch to a three to tighten up and Renato Sanches is better at a 3 than Bruno.
Is Bruno not part of the 3? Bruno is not a forward, he is an AMF whose responsibility it is to link the midfield and attack.

What he does to others? Have a go at them for not playing well. Bruno loses possession way too many times even for an AMF. His theatrics is another thing entirely. If Lindelof was the culprit for that Sotton goal, Bruno would have had a go at him.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:23am On Aug 30, 2021
patrickmuf:
That's why I argued the other day that Rodri will look average in our system whist Fred will look world class in that Man City set up...We rush passes as if we are a relegation threatened team.
Rodri would have been thrown to the bench. Fred will bench him in this out setup
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by ChristineC: 7:25am On Aug 30, 2021
patrickmuf:
We will have to talk about Bruno away from his goals and assist at some point...
what else is his job?
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by CapitalCee(m): 7:25am On Aug 30, 2021
adisaaowala:

If we remove his goals/assist from setplay and carefully assess his contribution to our overall play ehn....

I dont understand what you mean by carefully assess his contribution and remove goals/assists from setplays?
Bruno doesn't take corner kicks, and he rarely takes far distance freekicks shaw takes most, the only free kick he takes are ones he has a chance of converting from close range, its only penalties that boasts his G/A stats from setplays. He is the best in both close range FKs and PKs, so how is that a negative for him.

If Patrick is saying Bruno should tone down his hunger for his G/A number to help out in midfield fine, and it is in good faith. You are sounding as if Bruno is a passenger and those his contributions are worthless, when infact we are having this conversation because those saddled with the responsibility of holding their forth in Midfield failed in their duty. In 10/11 Season it was Carrick and Giggs that held the Midfiled for most of the season with aplomb, no one is slandering Rooney's G/A record, because Bruno is occupying the Rooneyesque position.

In France Pogba is flourishing because Kante is a tank and he is good on the ball, alowwing Greizman to join the attack and drop deep occasionally, thats exactly what Ole asked Bruno to do. Our First goal versus Leads clearly showed that, also last season away to Leicester and numerous more. Why should you assess Bruno's contribution and chalk out his G/A record from set plays because our DM and CM are incapable? The conversation you should be making seriously was why Moutinho and Neves ran rings all over pogba and Fred not Bruno who is trying to score and win the game. Moreover Bruno have not scored any goal from set play this season so why the scrutiny on him

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:25am On Aug 30, 2021
TheLequte:

You talking about his quick "make e no spoil for my hand" passes?
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by TheLequte: 7:26am On Aug 30, 2021
patrickmuf:
What Bruno does to others...

Bruno was relegated to the bench in the Euros because he was not in sync with CR7. He was supposed to be their creative outlet but he left the job for Carvalho and the other guy.

So, you’re saying Bruno was benched at the Euros because he wasn’t in sync with Ronaldo - not for any other reason- and that he’ll be benched at Man Itd because he won’t be in sync with Ronaldo?

Who in the past wasn’t in sync with Ronaldo and got benched as a result? And how did Bruno bench other people because they weren’t in sync with him? You said it’s what Bruno does to other people too.

Please explain. I just want to understand.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by olabode89(m): 7:27am On Aug 30, 2021
eph12:

The Coach doesn't want to keep the ball. Maybe he doesn't trust VDB physicality, I'm not sure what the problem is. VDB should be able to play Kroos role. Stay close to the DM or CDM and occasionally find some great passes. Pogba should not be the one doing this

VdB to play Kroos role? How many times have you seen VdB turn with the ball or ping long range passes? My man is always acting like a wall and treating the ball like lava.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 7:28am On Aug 30, 2021
ChristineC:
what else is his job?
Was David Silva all about goals and assist? Check other renowned attacking midfielders. Bruno should do more to link the midfield and attack. A simple pass sometimes to retain possession will do...

I am not blinded by stats...
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by TheLequte: 7:28am On Aug 30, 2021
eph12:

You talking about his quick "make e no spoil for my hand" passes?

He generally doesn’t hold on to the ball to create chances with his passes.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by afrodoc2: 7:28am On Aug 30, 2021
CapitalCee:

Varane is a world class defender

No doubt. The first thing is that he won't have the confidence issues that Lindelof often has since he is used to high pressure encounters from his Madrid days.

I really hope he delivers cos he has been my favorite CB for the last decade.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 7:31am On Aug 30, 2021
TheLequte:

So, you’re saying Bruno was benched at the Euros because he wasn’t in sync with Ronaldo - not for any other reason- and that he’ll be benched at Man Itd because he won’t be in sync with Ronaldo?

Who in the past wasn’t in sync with Ronaldo and got benched as a result? And how did Bruno bench other people because they weren’t in sync with him? You said it’s what Bruno does to other people too.

Please explain. I just want to understand.
You are trying to twist my point for whatever reason.

I said Bruno didn't interpret his role on the pitch to perfection or t a level desired hence he was benched...With Ronaldo, Bruno will have to play more as the attacking midfielder that he is else Ronaldo will end up frustrated...
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by afrodoc2: 7:32am On Aug 30, 2021
patrickmuf:
They're issues we have identified on these board with a lot of our players yet they remain issues. VDB for instance.

I don't think Ole is even aware it's an issue talk less of it being a tactical instruction...

Wahala dey be that.

With VDB though i noticed he reduced his off the ball runs towards the end of last season and during preseason. He started functioning more as a CM which is what we asked for.

The guy bulked up and made changes to his game, impressed in pre-season but still the manager is yet to give him any minutes. Only Amaka can explain that one.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:34am On Aug 30, 2021
olabode89:

VdB to play Kroos role? How many times have you seen VdB turn with the ball or ping long range passes? My man is always acting like a wall and treating the ball like lava.
LMAO na make e no spoil for e hand. I think that's down to confidence. But VDB does this before he joined na. Let's forget about pinging long range passes. He can hold his balls and release to those who can do that like Pogba
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by ChristineC: 7:34am On Aug 30, 2021
patrickmuf:
Was David Silva all about goals and assist? Check other renowned attacking midfielders. Bruno should do more to link the midfield and attack. A simple pass sometimes to retain possession will do...

I am not blinded by stats...
we could have retained Pereira then..
besides, one of the stats that doesn't blind says Bruno has covered the most pitch area in Man United since his debut.. even more than Fred.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:35am On Aug 30, 2021
TheLequte:

He generally doesn’t hold on to the ball to create chances with his passes.
Create chances ke? It's just to keep possession. The openings to create chances will come eventually and he will make those passes
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by TheLequte: 7:35am On Aug 30, 2021
afrodoc2:

I remember that time now. I said Greenwood was already the best finisher and people were laughing until Amaka himself said it sometime later.

What was funny was that people who had never seen him play were ready to argue while having zero knowledge of the subject matter. cheesy

Someone that at age 16 had already deciphered the secret of finishing like Darth Plagueis. Barring catastrophic injury the number of goals he will score is dem booku.

I am sure only few players at the club can score from the angle he did yesterday. The ball went in because of the way he hit it. It was a well measured parabolic shot. If not the keeper would’ve stopped it totally.

Did you see that shot he hit with his left that the keeper saved with the tips of his fingers? It was destined to go in. Greenwood protested but the ref said it was a GK. On replay it was clearly not a GK.

That boy. He knew what he did there.

No one should argue about his finishing skills.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by 96forever: 7:36am On Aug 30, 2021
TheLequte:

What’s VdB’s position in the team then? Cause judging by the latest happenings Lingard seems to be preferred in the Attacking role ahead of him.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 7:37am On Aug 30, 2021
CapitalCee:

I dont understand what you mean by carefully assess his contribution and remove goals/assists from setplays?
Bruno doesn't take corner kicks, and he rarely takes far distance freekicks shaw takes most, the only free kick he takes are ones he has a chance of converting from close range, its only penalties that boasts his G/A stats from setplays. He is the best in both close range FKs and PKs, so how is that a negative for him.

If Patrick is saying Bruno should tone down his hunger for his G/A number to help out in midfield fine, and it is in good faith. You are sounding as if Bruno is a passenger and those his contributions are worthless, when infact we are having this conversation because those saddled with the responsibility of holding their forth in Midfield failed in their duty. In 10/11 Season it was Carrick and Giggs that held the Midfiled for most of the season with aplomb, no one is slandering Rooney's G/A record, because Bruno is occupying the Rooneyesque position.

In France Pogba is flourishing because Kante is a tank and he is good on the ball, alowwing Greizman to join the attack and drop deep occasionally, thats exactly what Ole asked Bruno to do. Our First goal versus Leads clearly showed that, also last season away to Leicester and numerous more. Why should you assess Bruno's contribution and chalk out his G/A record from set plays because our DM and CM are incapable? The conversation you should be making seriously was why Moutinho and Neves ran rings all over pogba and Fred not Bruno who is trying to score and win the game. Moreover Bruno have not scored any goal from set play this season so why the scrutiny on him
This is what we expected to see yesterday.

............................Bruno................................
..............Moutinho......Neves.......................
..............Pogba............Fred...... ...................

If Bruno had occupied that position illustrated above, no way will Neves and Mourinho have the freedom to dictate the play. Bruno left that position and it became a 2 vs 2 midfield battle when in all honesty it was supposed to be 2 vs 3 in midfield.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 7:38am On Aug 30, 2021
ChristineC:
we could have retained Pereira then..
besides, one of the stats that doesn't blind says Bruno has covered the most pitch area in Man United since his debut.. even more than Fred.
Positional discipline...
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Expert17: 7:38am On Aug 30, 2021
ChristineC:
what else is his job?

I tire o.

Remove goals and assists, what of chances created and big chances created.

We should go back to Mata and Lingard.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 7:40am On Aug 30, 2021
afrodoc2:

[/b]
Wahala dey be that.

With VDB though i noticed he reduced his off the ball runs towards the end of last season and during preseason. He started functioning more as a CM which is what we asked for.

The guy bulked up and made changes to his game, impressed in pre-season but still the manager is yet to give him any minutes. Only Amaka can explain that one.
VDB should ask to leave, Ole has no use for him.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by olabode89(m): 7:40am On Aug 30, 2021
adisaaowala:

Please do!

This Bruno slander is outrageous. My man is bursting his body playing his heart out for the team and you guys are trying to push some flimsy agenda against him.

Please take away his Pks and assists from setplays and let's see if anyone apart from maybe Rashford will come close to him in that team. People fail to notice that in our system Bruno is practically a forward and is regularly involved with our forward press.

Also, have we not been complaining about playing two CMs in the pivot that are not vital in our attack play? Why do we need Bruno to help "combat" other midfielders especially when we play against other teams that utilizes 2 CMs like us.

Lastly the age of having an AM that link the midfield and attack is fast eroding, most teams build up play with their full backs/wing backs, wingers and deep lying playmaker.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:41am On Aug 30, 2021
Even Messi comes into the midfield to help out, but but
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by CapitalCee(m): 7:41am On Aug 30, 2021
eph12:

You answered me here. I'm not sure every other thing is necessary.

However we will be fine when we realize that players are not forbidden to drop into the midfield to steady the ship as it benefits everyone including this star player. Let him be running after imaginary balls in the opposition box when Pogba that should supply him is not finding space

My brother, Pogba is finding it difficult becuase Fred was like Wolves 12th man, he cant find his man, he is clumsy, he is poor on the ball and cant control a bag of cement, and surprisingly he is being dribbled every single time. Put Kante or Carrick there Pogba will flourish ala France. Like I said before we need a goal and Bruno us desperate for that he is our go-to-man, you cant deny that Bruno is a team player. This is wolves oo not Barca or Bayern, we simply need to score and Bruno also have to engage their CBs to discourage them from joining the attack. As good as Greenwood is, he is still inexperienced and leaving him at the mercy of Wolves 3 CBs will not work.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:42am On Aug 30, 2021
olabode89:

Please do!

This Bruno slander is outrageous. My man is bursting his body playing his heart out for the team and you guys are trying to push some flimsy agenda against him.

Please take away his Pks and assists from setplays and let's see if anyone apart from maybe Rashford will come close to him in that team. People fail to notice that in our system Bruno is practically a forward and is regularly involved with our forward press.

Also, have we not been complaining about playing two CMs in the pivot that are not vital in our attack play? Why do we need Bruno to help "combat" other midfielders especially when we play against other teams that utilizes 2 CMs like us.

Lastly the age of having an AM that link the midfield and attack is fast eroding, most teams build up play with their full backs/wing backs, wingers and deep lying playmaker.
If Bruno is a forward then we need another person in that midfield so Bruno can play his forward. It's that simple
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Expert17: 7:44am On Aug 30, 2021
eph12:
Even Messi comes into the midfield to help out, but but

So you have never seen Bruno in midfield??

Midfielders contribute with goals and assists, show me Fred's goal and assists.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by jackest1(m): 7:45am On Aug 30, 2021
Dunno about you guys, but this picture deserves to be framed. Absolute class

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by eph12(m): 7:45am On Aug 30, 2021
CapitalCee:

My brother, Pogba is finding it difficult becuase Fred was like Wolves 12th man, he cant find his man, he is clumsy, he is poor on the ball and cant control a bag of cement, and surprisingly he is being dribbled every single time. Put Kante or Carrick there Pogba will flourish ala France. Like I said before we need a goal and Bruno us desperate for that he is our go-to-man, you cant deny that Bruno is a team player. This is wolves oo not Barca or Bayern, we simply need to score and Bruno also have to engage their CBs to discourage them from joining the attack. As good as Greenwood is, he is still inexperienced and leaving him at the mercy of Wolves 3 CBs will not work.
Fred can't find his man, yet he's top 3 in attempted passes and successful passes. This is a mystery

(1) (2) (3) ... (10725) (10726) (10727) (10728) (10729) (10730) (10731) ... (14147) (Reply)

Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021

Viewing this topic: AdisaOwala and 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 89