Stats: 3,165,711 members, 7,862,255 topics. Date: Sunday, 16 June 2024 at 12:21 PM

NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper - NYSC (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / NYSC / NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper (31572 Views)

I Just Finished NYSC, My Mom Is So Proud Of Me / After NYSC My Life Got Ruined...click To Know The True Story / NYSC: The Best Place Of Primary Assignment For A Corper In Nigeria? (2) (3) (4)

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Thomasankara(m): 3:19pm On Jul 18, 2023
[/color]na lienus grin cheesy grin[color=#770077]
slawomir:
Damnnn niggar
Bros op from ogun state to Lokoja then abia hmmm...bros op...brother op...bros op

Anyway Igbos are loving people ❤️ ❤️

As a Bini I love them to the moon and back

My aunty from my father's side( the sister to my father) is married to igbo man

My uncle from my mother side( one of the twin brother to my mother) is married to one imo woman

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Promicah: 3:20pm On Jul 18, 2023
I don't have to explain myself to you but for clarity sake. You can call me whatever you like but the fact remains I dished out the truth.

For the records. I had to go back to Ota because my elder sister, a twin, was getting married. I attended because she was my close pal.

If I had to infused all information on my personal write up, it will be too long.
OROSUNBOLB:

Okay.

But if we take a cursory look at the extract below from your story,something is not adding up ! I think this is a cooked up story intended to portray igbos as being nice but we know better,man ! You wrote : "I stayed in Lokoja with a friend while waiting for my called up letter",right ? Now, how does that sound if you place it by the side of this (your statement as well) : "Our driver stopped in Lokoja and we rested before we continue the next day to Abia" ??.

Emeka,you're a liar !

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by yarimo(m): 3:22pm On Jul 18, 2023
lolu2019:
he is saying the truth.i served in Abia too.and I schooled in Ogun.he is saying the truth.i slept in an hotel free of charge.i also ate for free during voters card sharing.
and you forget to add everything was free for you, and you were giving job after you have served. Please modify and include it in your comment
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Johnsown1(m): 3:25pm On Jul 18, 2023
Sharpsharp00123:
sit at home n ugm is saying “hi”
this UGM of a name doesn't exist. Most of them these groups are political thugs that are been used to manipulate others which is general in Nigeria. SE will be crime and crisis free zone If some of these harders of Fulani faction are washed out of SE
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by fortunechy(m): 3:26pm On Jul 18, 2023
Igbos are peace loving people just that they joined with country that hated us... Ur people brain wash u and installed hatred in u against Igbos...Anyway enjoy ur service year and more testimonies are coming....

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Ngozi123(f): 3:29pm On Jul 18, 2023
seeme2:
Evebthough I mock Igbo people to no end and oppose them politically I served in the East too and I know one thing: most of them are kind to strangers. Believe it or not they have special love for Yoruba.

The Igbo man's weakness is his mouth. It's a genetic and cultural thing. Mouth mouth mouth. They will do no harm physically but say things that will make you hate them. Ironsi wasn't killed or Igbos massacared until Nzeogwu granted an interview in which he detailed how he killed Sarduna Sokoto. If only these people are diplomatic and know how and when to talk they'd have been very successful. Today, they maintain they are successful and I wonder how. You can't be more successful than how your govt wants you to be. With only one law, govt can end your success and it won't take a week.

Just look at this nonsense here. You admit that Igbos are kind to strangers and especially kind to your people yet actively oppose them politically.

If any Igbo man/woman needs confirmation that Nigerians hate them, please read this post here.

Btw, of course, it's possible to be successful even if your government doesn't want you to be. This kind of mentality is why Nigeria is not progressing as a country.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Promicah: 3:36pm On Jul 18, 2023
mo ti gbo e. e dupe egboon.

FreeStuffsNG:

Oju la lakan fi n şo ori o.
Face the main reason you are there. Do not get involved in their local politics and try and learn their language. Pray for peace there, live in peace with your host, respect their elders, leaders and culture as the Yoruba will always do wherever we are.

If the peace is threatened, leave and come back home in one piece.I wish you God speed

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Juoflife1(f): 3:50pm On Jul 18, 2023
Igbo people are friendly and Anyone can blend in.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Signor5(m): 3:55pm On Jul 18, 2023
Tribal sentiments aside, Nigerians are good.
I was born, brought up and schooled in South East, Enugu to be precise. I was privileged to serve as corper in Ogun State. My PPA was Waterside Local Government. A remote area blessed with very warm and peaceful wonderful people. Is my heartfelt desire to revisit it again in the near future and appreciate them. Stil in contact with some of via social media and phone contacts.
Let's find a way in our heart to stop all this unnecessary tribal attacks on each other, it will do us no good. Appreciate good gestures with no ulterior motives attached and shun evil.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by lolu2019: 4:02pm On Jul 18, 2023
yarimo:
and you forget to add everything was free for you, and you were giving job after you have served. Please modify and include it in your comment
must I worked there.do u know my choice.stop all dis hatred.my first work in Lagos,the company was owned by an Igbo man from Abia state.he is the second in command to Adenuga.ask anybody that knows Globacom.My second job at ExxonMobil Akwa Ibom was given to me by an Igbo man from Anambra state.he is my Dad friend.i was employed with zero experience.no interviews in both jobs.it was even my fellow Yoruba people that was looking for my downfall.because I was collecting the same fat salaries with them.Grace wey I carry pass their own.one of the reasons y the HR considered me was because I served in Abia state.she felt that I was already exposed to the same kind of environment.Akwa Ibom and Abia state share borders.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by achimendy(m): 4:06pm On Jul 18, 2023
kenbee:
Honestly, Nigerians are loving people generally until seed of ethnic and religious sentiments was planted in us just to divide us.

Exactly.
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by danilho(m): 4:18pm On Jul 18, 2023
Promicah:
I feel overwhelmed by what just happened.

A little background information: I lived and studied in Ogun precisely before my called-up letter came. I saw Abia in my call-up letter and the next thought that crowded my mind was the hatred projected during the just concluded election.

Since I had no connection, I chose my fate and had to skip my reporting date to camp. After losing every hope of redeployment, I decided to follow the next batch.

Our driver stopped in Lokoja and we rested before we continue the next day to Abia.

I had to make a plan that when I have money, I will buy their native wear to disguise myself. Immediately I stopped at the Abia park, I entered the next bus to the orientation camp.

After our three weeks in camp, I reported to my PPA.

Yesterday, I wanted to get a recharge card from a kiosk beside the road and I met an Igbo man. He looked at me and immediately fear gripped me.

He asked me whether I was new in the area, I wanted to lie and say "no". But my mouth betrayed me.

He smiled and bought the item in the attached picture below.

What happened to us? I had to repent. Truly Nigerians are loving people. I couldn't contain my joy.

This is my first time in the southeast and just this singular act from yesterday has changed a lot about how I see Nigerians.

I know there are a lot of agitations but yesterday a Nigerian showed kindness to a Nigerian. It's officially my 1 month and 15 days in Abia.

Sir Nlfpm.od. This is my latest experience.
You said it is “officially your 1 month and 15 day in Abia”. It implies that you arrived camp on 02/06/2023. Corpers in the house, did any batch arrive camp on 02/06/2023.
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by okoloto: 4:22pm On Jul 18, 2023
Yoluba and their nieve sense. They don hit Igbos finish during the election.and destroyed their properties in intimidation and now turn back to be creating sponsored threads to make you feel all is one. When election reach again, they will tell you that you are dragging land with them and you should go. Hypocrisy

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Mrnairalandd: 4:28pm On Jul 18, 2023
All these Igbos born and bred in South West pretending to be what they are not. The Igbos are terrible human beings, run for your life.

If you like, make these animals your friends, they ll eventually sell you out.

History has taught me not to trust those evils called Igbos.

Go and ask Sir Ahmad’ Bello who raised an Igbo boy who later joined Nigeria Army, the only way this Igbo boy paid him and his wife back was through gun, he killed them both during d Igbo coup of 1966.

Go and check what happen to Banjo who chose to fight on the side of the Igbos instead of his country. Today, the same Igbos rubbish his name and praised their Igbo brother who killed him.

Go and ask Fajuyi who was protecting Aguyi Ironi but got killed in d process

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by danilho(m): 4:30pm On Jul 18, 2023
okoloto:
Yoluba and their nieve sense. They don hit Igbos finish during the election.and destroyed their properties in intimidation and now turn back to be creating sponsored threads to make you feel all is one. When election reach again, they will tell you that you are dragging land with them and you should go. Hypocrisy
Stop all these intimidation or whatever. The guy just cooked up lies

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Electorate: 4:32pm On Jul 18, 2023
yarimo:
IPOB terrorists creating useless thread claiming to be corper from Ogun state

Every comment was intelligent until a lunati.c entered the group chat.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Jeffy1206(m): 4:33pm On Jul 18, 2023
Promicah:

A little background information: I lived and studied in Ogun precisely before my called-up letter came. I saw Abia in my call-up letter and the next thought that crowded my mind was the hatred projected during the just concluded election.

Since I had no connection, I chose my fate and had to skip my reporting date to camp. After losing every hope of redeployment, I decided to follow the next batch.

Our driver stopped in Lokoja and we rested before we continue the next day to Abia.

I had to make a plan that when I have money, I will buy their native wear to disguise myself. Immediately I stopped at the Abia park, I entered the next bus to the orientation camp.

Yesterday, I wanted to get a recharge card from a kiosk beside the road and I met an Igbo man. He looked at me and immediately fear gripped me.

He asked me whether I was new in the area, I wanted to lie and say "no". But my mouth betrayed me.

What happened to us? I had to repent. Truly Nigerians are loving people. I couldn't contain my joy.

This is my first time in the southeast and just this singular act from yesterday has changed a lot about how I see Nigerians.

I know there are a lot of agitations but yesterday a Nigerian showed kindness to a Nigerian. It's officially my 1 month and 15 days in Abia.

I served in Abia too but unfortunately that was during the reign of that wicked governor ipeazu 🫤. Abia have really suffered. They deserve what they are getting now from the new government.
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Nobody: 4:47pm On Jul 18, 2023
I can say for sure that I have lived in the North, East, South and now in the West. Nigerians are great people. It's only in Nigeria that your neighbours will have issues with you because you don't mingle or fraternise with them.

I used to wonder why. But lately, I hav3 come to understand that it is because they care. 3ven though some people want to associate with you for other selfish reasons, but Nigerians are great people.

Happy people! Happy Nation. It's our politicians and religious leaders that are trying to divide us for their selfish reasons.

And that's the honest truth.

I could recall that in my younger days as a farm boy that we used to go the Fulani cattle settlement to drink nunu, buy butter, masa, meat and pack cows dungs.

Their women were beautiful and neat while the men were kinda accommodating. But that's not the case today today. They also bought farm produce from us and won't steal from our farms.

What happend and what changed?

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Itzallison(m): 4:52pm On Jul 18, 2023
Promicah:

I serve there last year and it wasn’t funny at all
Hope you will survive there
With the rate of hardship in this country
During my time last year
All the Yoruba they posted there did redeployment and I was so foolish for not taking there steps but I thank God I can put strong
Which local government were you posted to
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Zeezenho: 4:56pm On Jul 18, 2023
Lovalovaphunmz:
that was how my landlords fiancé frustrated my life the very moment i got to their house. i was posted to umuahia for my youth service, the house i rented had like 2 two rooms specifically for corpers that my landlord used to rent out to corpers... this yeye woman wanted to kill me simply because the husband saw that i am a small statured girl and i wont be able to push truck they used to buy water. the man out of pity of seeing me go thru stress anytime i fetch water decided to run bore hole water from the neighbor to our house with the agreement that i will be paying a particular amount for the water, this woman challenged the husband that why would he because of one person run water in the house, and that was why this woman decided to frustrate my life, each time my friends come to greet me, na war. there was this day the second coper in the house which is a guy called to tell me that he heard the woman trying to plan some things for me, I ran to inform the police, they called her husband who is a soldier and told him to caution his wife, it was a very rough experience. After the husband cautioned her, this woman said me i want to cause separation between her and her husband, this woman started using juju for me. it took Gods grace that i didnt die in that house before my mom came to withdraw me from the house. na Jesus corpers lodge i go stay till i finish the service.... infact, i used to love Igbo pple a lot that i determined to marry from the igbo tribe but when i saw that experience, i changed my mind totally..... if u are a lady, pls don't move or relate too much with ur landlady's husband and if u are a man, pls be careful with their daughters, they are dangerously dangerous when it comes to matters like this.

Igbo man take because of you run water to his house for you not to suffer stress. Isn't God too wonderful? what did you pay him with? Hate "oh I use to love them but not any more"

This remind me of "igbos no they build bridges" the one wey we build never do? If our bridges are not good enough. you guys too should build some. Bridged to compliment the ones wey igbos built.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Davidtalo121: 5:03pm On Jul 18, 2023
Know this and know peace

Nigerians online are different from the real Nigerians even among us here in naira land
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Zeezenho: 5:08pm On Jul 18, 2023
haslaw:

I would advice you to tread with absolute caution and also beware of Greek gifts

My elder sister did her NYSC in the Abia State, During her time in that state, a medical Doctor from South West was lured, killed and eaten by the locals because cannibalism is still being secretly practiced in those places.

Ask anyone you trust to tell you about isiala ngwa

Just yesterday your sister and her son with a cherubim and seraphim pastor killed and eat a pregnant girl in lagos and were sentenced to death.they graduated from skull minding to eating fetus .

There is no evil vice west side dont champion.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by marvellous2222: 5:11pm On Jul 18, 2023
jmoore:
Abia is safer than Lagos.

If you allow the online propaganda to deceive you, na you sabi.

I know some Yoruba families in our street in Aba. Forget the online banters.

When did you hear a Yoruba man was attacked in southeast because he is Yoruba?
what's about ritual?
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by jmoore(m): 5:13pm On Jul 18, 2023
marvellous2222:
what's about ritual?
Ritual of what?
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by yarimo(m): 5:13pm On Jul 18, 2023
You must work there since they are nice people as you claim
lolu2019:
must I worked there.do u know my choice.stop all dis hatred.my first work in Lagos,the company was owned by an Igbo man from Abia state.he is the second in command to Adenuga.ask anybody that knows Globacom.My second job at ExxonMobil Akwa Ibom was given to me by an Igbo man from Anambra state.he is my Dad friend.i was employed with zero experience.no interviews in both jobs.it was even my fellow Yoruba people that was looking for my downfall.because I was collecting the same fat salaries with them.Grace wey I carry pass their own.one of the reasons y the HR considered me was because I served in Abia state.she felt that I was already exposed to the same kind of environment.Akwa Ibom and Abia state share borders.
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Xkale1996(m): 5:32pm On Jul 18, 2023
jmoore:
Abia is safer than Lagos.

If you allow the online propaganda to deceive you, na you sabi.

I know some Yoruba families in our street in Aba. Forget the online banters.

When did you hear a Yoruba man was attacked in southeast because he is Yoruba?
but you attack Hausa people abi
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by 004gist: 5:34pm On Jul 18, 2023
JealousCobra:
😎

Op, if you're jovial they go kill you with enjoyments.

That's Igbo man's tender and caring nature for you be that. But could turn to a lion when deliberately provoked!!

SE is the the safest place to live and do business regardless of what haters are spewing.

South Easterns (igbos) won't kill u or beat u even if u insulted their god, papa or mama.
don't mind anything u see on Internet about igbos. igbos are friendly and only mind their business.

But don't try to steal....else they roast u alive.

more also the sit at home.. every Monday... u can move out especially in the afternoon and evening . but morning just stay in the street.

no threat or whatsoever.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by sowilli: 5:39pm On Jul 18, 2023
The good Igbos have the best heart ooo. They are down to earth people.

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by lolu2019: 5:40pm On Jul 18, 2023
yarimo:
You must work there since they are nice people as you claim
haha,lol.
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Gentlerespect76: 5:52pm On Jul 18, 2023
Promicah:

Bush Boy,
Probably you even voted for Tinubu because the provincial souls around you have told you all you needed to know about the Igbo. May your coming of age continue. One Ronu soul has seen the light. Praise the Lord.
Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by TheGiftedOne(m): 6:09pm On Jul 18, 2023
yarimo:
IPOB terrorists creating useless thread claiming to be corper from Ogun state

The most useless human I've ever seen in this forum, always sounding stupid. I just wanted to inform and not further engage you cos you aren't worth it. So expect no further reply since I can't go into the mud with you. Spits!

Re: NYSC: My First Encounter In South-East As A Corper by Josephkabila12: 6:36pm On Jul 18, 2023
Hahahaha 🤣 ibo say him dey leave for Ogun state hahaha 🤣 say him go NYSC camp for abia passing through kogi from Ogun state hahaha.......... Linus mba

Rivers Female Corper Helps Boy Who Hawks Vegetables On The Streets (Photos) / "3 Weeks Terminal Leave" On PPA Letter - What Does It Mean? / Female Corps Member In Shock As Her PPA Sold Before Her Arrival (photo)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 95