Stats: 3,152,452 members, 7,816,050 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 01:04 AM

I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher - Travel - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher (21909 Views)

I'm Planning On Moving To Gabon / Nigerian Man Reveals Why He Dumped His High Paying Job To Relocate To Canada / Which Country Can I Relocate To With 6million (2) (3) (4)

I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by mkbessman(m): 6:40am On Feb 23
Please I’ve been thinking about this since last year. I teach here In Nigeria. I can’t afford to go to the western or Asian countries but I think I can be able to save to move to Gabon to atleast teach.

I’ve checked their minimum wage, unemployment rate and their exchange rate snd I think it’s better off than Nigeria. Please advise me. I’m still single and in my mid 30s.

Is it worth taking a try? I know no one there.

I am willing to take the risk to go look for a job there with what I’ve saved so far. I’m projecting 500k.

Please I honestly and sincerely need your advice

27 Likes 1 Share

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by TANID(m): 6:50am On Feb 23

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by MASTERCHIEF0847(m): 6:53am On Feb 23
Do your research well, some African countries are hostile to Nigerians...for good reasons.
Also check Angola, Mauritius, Cape Verde. In Asia South Korea is a good destination for teachers and the pay is good, China too and Japan.
You apply for English Language teacher because English Language teachers stand a higher chance of getting a job.

69 Likes 5 Shares

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by jesmond3945: 7:40am On Feb 23
mkbessman:
Please I’ve been thinking about this since last year. I teach here In Nigeria. I can’t afford to go to the western or Asian countries but I think I can be able to save to move to Gabon to atleast teach.

I’ve checked their minimum wage, unemployment rate and their exchange rate snd I think it’s better off than Nigeria. Please advise me. I’m still single and in my mid 30s.

I am willing to take the risk to go look for a job there with what I’ve saved so far. I’m projecting 500k.

dont bother about hostility. The problem with nigerians is that we go to other countries and cause problems for them. We dont like integrating with their culture and climate. Always try to scam or out do them.

99 Likes 2 Shares

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by JungleJustice01: 9:22am On Feb 23
mkbessman:

Theres not much to lose. I would advise you do some preliminary findings though. Join gabonese groups on facebook and seek information. Check their job boards, check school websites and mail the proprietors or connect to them on linkedin. Ask to know what prospects you have with your qualifications and experience.

Look out for other nigerians in Gabon or anyone who can receive you and show you around town for your first few weeks. Look for churhces there as well and connect. Finally, you should definitely have an exit strategy if things do not work out as planned.

This way your risk is calculated. Good luck

112 Likes 7 Shares

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by mkbessman(m): 9:46am On Feb 23
JungleJustice01:

Theres not much to lose. I would advise you do some preliminary findings though. Join gabonese groups on facebook and seek information. Check their job boards, check school websites and mail the proprietors or connect to them on linkedin. Ask to know what prospects you have with your qualifications and experience.

Look out for other nigerians in Gabon or anyone who can receive you and show you around town for your first few weeks. Look for churhces there as well and connect. Finally, you should definitely have an exit strategy if things do not work out as planned.

This way your risk is calculated. Good luck

Thank you do much. I appreciate. This will work for me. Especially the church

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by mkbessman(m): 10:33am On Feb 23
jesmond3945:
dont bother about hostility. The problem with nigerians is that we go to other countries and cause problems for them. We dont like integrating with their culture and climate. Always try to scam or out do them.

You’re correct. But I think I have no such things in mind. I’m a very well behaved individual. I’m an introvert so I’d always mind my business

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Marjoribanks: 3:22pm On Feb 23
Exchange rate is not a good judgement of a country's economy.

Nigeria is still the cheapest country to live in, in Sub Saharan Africa.

You won't appreciate Nigeria until you go to other African countries.

Use that money to start a business or go to school of nursing or masters and apply to teach in their Universities! It is better than going to any African country to teach secondary school students.
mkbessman:

36 Likes 4 Shares

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by mkbessman(m): 6:39pm On Feb 23
Marjoribanks:

Use that money to start a business or go to school of nursing or masters and apply to teach in their Universities! It is better than going to any African country to teach secondary school students.

Thanks for your input. Actually I’m a male. I studied mechanical engineering

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by mkbessman(m): 12:09pm On Feb 24
Marjoribanks:

I don’t want to do business in Nigeria. I just want to shift and change my environment. It helps in healing a lot of psychological problems. Everything is not business. I just want peace of mind and a happy life.

78 Likes 7 Shares

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Yomkris(m): 2:05pm On Feb 24
@op.
i will advise you follow your heart by trying another land. all you need is to do your research well.

since you are a graduate of mech Engine, you should be very good in teaching mathematics or physics. the teachers of science subjectsi are hot cakes in some African countries.

I'm presently in Cote D'Ivoire though not for teaching jobs.
kindly contact me via my signature. God will help us

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Marjoribanks: 2:51pm On Feb 24
I understand you, my brother!
Who knows maybe your movement to one of this Francophone countries will ease your movement to France/Belgium.
Make sure you take French classes online/youtube before going!
Also as a mechanical engineer, please make sure you know how to physically repair cars. Such skills comes handy in most African countries. You might just be one of Gabon greatest resource (Car dealership and University Professor). Our certificate comes in high regard in those countries!

I wish you well, my brother!
mkbessman:

I don’t want to do business in Nigeria. I just want to shift and change my environment. It helps in healing a lot of psychological problems. Everything is not business. I just want peace of mind and a happy life.

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Marjoribanks: 2:57pm On Feb 24
If you get a good private school teaching job in Nigeria or Federal teaching job you don't need slaving yourself in any African country. It does not worth it.
Europe/Canada/Australia/US! It is for me!
Yomkris:
@op.
i will advise you follow your heart by trying another land. all you need is to do your research well.

since you are a graduate of mech Engine, you should be very good in teaching mathematics or physics. the teachers of science subjectsi are hot cakes in some African countries.

I'm presently in Cote D'Ivoire though not for teaching jobs.
kindly contact me via my signature. God will help us

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by mkbessman(m): 3:47pm On Feb 24
Marjoribanks:
I understand you, my brother!
Who knows maybe your movement to one of this Francophone countries will ease your movement to France/Belgium.
Make sure you take French classes online/youtube before going!
Also as a mechanical engineer, please make sure you know how to physically repair cars. Such skills comes handy in most African countries. You might just be one of Gabon greatest resource (Car dealership and University Professor). Our certificate comes in high regard in those countries!

I wish you well, my brother!

Thanks. I’d take the French class serious
Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Kelvinofficial: 3:39pm On Feb 26
Godspeed ⚡️⚡️

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Kingpele(m): 3:40pm On Feb 26
Chai Gabon of all places...for whatever reason don't go to Gabon..u will suffer...I have travelled to Europe and gambia and I know that exchange rate is not much factor....look at China yuan the currency exchange rate is way less than dollar but their economy is doing better than USA ...population is key...I have a guy who travelled to Gabon for so many years..we all thought he was doing great only for him to return last year with nothing much..no wife no children and he's older than me by 3years ..now he's learning a trade in ogbete main market enugu..make japa no carry us to where we will suffer more

27 Likes 5 Shares

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Jewessgratitud3: 3:40pm On Feb 26
Wetin dey happen for there?
Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by ideatoprince18(m): 3:40pm On Feb 26
Nn
Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Parydelegate: 3:41pm On Feb 26
Y Garbon?
Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Charmingrascal(m): 3:42pm On Feb 26
jesmond3945:

I am not trying to be tribalistic but we all know the set of Nigerians who cause problems for their hosts.

If you have made your research well and you can take the risk then go ahead with it.
I believe there are Nigerians there and life itself is a risk.
I will only advise you to save more money that can take you there and bring you back home Incase your plan don't go well, you will at least be able to come back home.
Good luck to you

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Sultty(m): 3:42pm On Feb 26
mkbessman:

why not invest, play bet or something to increase your money so as to travel to us

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by money121(m): 3:42pm On Feb 26
Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Jennyclay(f): 3:42pm On Feb 26
Nigeria is far better than Gabon undecided

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Rebuker(m): 3:42pm On Feb 26
Hope this teacher has done his research about Gabon very well.

This is the new update:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hJEzEvf_95Q

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by We4all: 3:43pm On Feb 26
Huh? Since you have chosen teaching as your career, why not apply to top private schools in Abuja or Lagos? I doubt if you will be paid better in a country like Gabon.

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by STEWpid(f): 3:44pm On Feb 26
Chai..

What about language barrier?

They speak Francais.

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by AllenSpencer: 3:45pm On Feb 26
Gabon is a beautiful place!

Sane and organized. Good people with very simple orientation about life.

The city could be expensive, but if you find a good gig, you will be at peace.

Comes with steady electricity.

With your naija sense, it is an investment destination cos they not yet exposed.

Wildlife is rich and beautiful. The rain forest is amazing.

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by Sirseedorf(m): 3:45pm On Feb 26
Speechless

Re: I Want To Relocate To Gabon. Advice Me. I’m A Teacher by tiswell(m): 3:45pm On Feb 26
The Gambia will favour you more, especially as a teacher.

Teaching pays wella in Gambia

PHOTOS: Tragic Accident In Abakaliki, Ebonyi State / Crashes: Air Peace Says No Plan To Cancel Order For 10 B737 MAX Aircraft / Dana Air-crash Memorial Arcade (Pictures)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 41