Stats: 3,159,333 members, 7,839,593 topics. Date: Saturday, 25 May 2024 at 12:16 AM

The NBA Begins - Sports (2202) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / The NBA Begins (1646477 Views)

Two Nigerian Players In The NBA Finals / Miami Heats Wins The NBA Final / Unbelievable! Kobe Bryant The Nba Player Of The Decade: (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (2199) (2200) (2201) (2202) (2203) (2204) (2205) ... (2235) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The NBA Begins by etidy: 9:12am On Apr 27
One thing this playoffs highlights once again is that " the young dogs have taken over" there is changing of the guards.

Which is why the warriors refusing to hand the keys to kuminga and moody all season was infuriating. Those guys deserved to play more than the washed Klay and cp3.

Secondly, this playoffs also teaches that except you have super longevity like lebron and to all lesser extent Steph , the window of opportunity to win a title in the NBA is often very short (2-4 years max) .

Once you are not serious enough to grab that opportunity, while in your prime by either chasing stats (harden) or money (lillard, Bradley beal) or choking when it matters (Booker,Cp3, Paul George) , an unexpected upstart can come from no where to usurp you.
3 years ago, the nuggets where just also rans, and the phoenix suns where supposed to dominate thr western conference after the decline of the warriors, suns wasted their chances,and out of no where, the nuggets have become a juggernaut.
Same happened to lob city when they jonz and the warriors came out of no where to become a terror.

Now the wolves and okc are also emerging.
It's already looking like PG, Harden, CP3, Lillard , Westbrook, Devin booker will never win a title.

This is why players like Tatum ,Zion Williamson and Morant need to get serious fast.

Lastly, the NBA finally have their new faces of the league emerging in this playoffs.

Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 10:48am On Apr 27
greypencils:
Remind him o. Like Denver won anything when Murray was injured. Even the Shai he is talking about is Bradley Beal without Chet Holmgren. Because OKC got 1st seed, Shai done turn superstar. Replace him with DeAaron Fox at OKC and watch Fox elevate his stats. Isn't that what Maxey is benefitting from? Would he score 50 if Harden was still in Philly?
Leave them they like being passionately wrong.

The best player in the league won just 1 playoff series without Murray, they were swept in the other vs Booker and CP3. Didn't even put up a fight, and niggas is here trying to downplay Murray over a guy with no playoff stripes

They're pretending a team wasn't built around SGA. Like Giddey, Jalen Williams and Chet Holmgren are bums.

OKC are only first seed cos Murray played 59 games and even then they had the exact same record with the Nuggets

If Jalen Brunson can shine as #1 option on the Knicks anyone with even basic ball knowledge would know Murray will easily do so
Re: The NBA Begins by kendrick9(m): 10:56am On Apr 27
A40:
You watched Jalen Brunson lead the Knicks to the #2 seed with Josh Hart and Donte Divincenzo and swear Jamal Murray with a 19-4-4 guy in Jalen Williams and Chet Holmgren would be a play in team.

This Igbeaux una dey smoke abeg pass am to the left hand side

Denver would be as good or better? Based on what evidence. What is SGA's playoff resume to make such false claim? That's not even considering the fit and how well he's game will mesh with Joker never mind performances in the clutch and how busy can you get without the refs being involved

This nigga turning 26 just entering his first playoff series as a factor and we no go hear word. Mind you Luka is younger than him oh. In his 4th playoffs

SGA making his first playoffs at 26, Murray champion at 26 doing 32 and 10 in the WCF. They are not the same

SGA would fit in that Denver team like a glove.
There's absolutely nothing Jamal does better than Shai.
SGA is a better defender, one of the best defensive guards in the league, has the most steals
More consistent scorer.
SGA was one of the most clutch players in the regular season, he should have won over Curry.

There's absolutely nothing Murray has over SGA if we judging players by their quality.

How many players won titles when they were 26? Jordan didn't , Lebron didn't, Jokic didn't.
Jordan and Lebron were losers till they got adequate teams.
So it doesn't mean anything.
It's not by how you start but how it ends

Re: The NBA Begins by kendrick9(m): 10:59am On Apr 27
Khanben:

I still don't understand why when people compare players they don't take into account the specific situations. I love Jamal murray, but he is not the in the same ballpark as SGA. One is a bona-fide 1st option on a one seed while the other is the 2nd option to the very best player in the league. If we swapped both guys, Denver would be just as good if not better, while the Thunder with Murray as the number 1 will probably be a playin team
Like how can Murray be better than SGA(top 3 MVP) when he's not even a top 10 player in the league?
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 11:07am On Apr 27
etidy:
One thing this playoffs highlights once again is that " the young dogs have taken over" there is changing of the guards.

Which is why the warriors refusing to hand the keys to kuminga and moody all season was infuriating. Those guys deserved to play more than the washed Klay and cp3.

Secondly, this playoffs also teaches that except you have super longevity like lebron and to all lesser extent Steph , the window of opportunity to win a title in the NBA is often very short (2-4 years max) .

Once you are not serious enough to grab that opportunity, while in your prime by either chasing stats (harden) or money (lillard, Bradley beal) or choking when it matters (Booker,Cp3, Paul George) , an unexpected upstart can come from no where to usurp you.
3 years ago, the nuggets where just also rans, and the phoenix suns where supposed to dominate thr western conference after the decline of the warriors, suns wasted their chances,and out of no where, the nuggets have become a juggernaut.
Same happened to lob city when they jonz and the warriors came out of no where to become a terror.

It's already looking like PG, Harden, CP3, Lillard , Westbrook, Devin booker will never win a title.

This is why players like Tatum ,Zion Williamson and Morant need to get serious fast.

Lastly, the NBA finally have their new faces of the league emerging in this playoffs.
This is 100% facts

I feel bad for the Clippers, Suns and Warriors who will trick themselves again next season that they still have one more run in them

Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 11:47am On Apr 27
kendrick9:
SGA would fit in that Denver team like a glove.
There's absolutely nothing Jamal does better than Shai.
SGA is a better defender, one of the best defensive guards in the league, has the most steals
More consistent scorer.
SGA was one of the most clutch players in the regular season, he should have won over Curry.

There's absolutely nothing Murray has over SGA if we judging players by their quality.

How many players won titles when they were 26? Jordan didn't , Lebron didn't, Jokic didn't.
Jordan and Lebron were losers till they got adequate teams.
So it doesn't mean anything.
It's not by how you start but how it ends
This is 1million percent cap.

He takes 4 more shots per game. And gets foul calls 6 more times per game than Murray I'd hope he scores more

SGA is ball dominant and will have serious problems playing off the ball with Jokic, he's Harden on a budget without the triple doubles

As far as defense and since you're an awards merchant I'd have you know SGA has zero defensive awards to his name so far

Hahaha. You're a funny individual so SGA should have won the Clutch award over Curry but it still has not clicked to you yet that Jamal Murray should have Allstar or All NBA recognition. I know what you are

I will give SGA credit for not being a 3pt spammer but give me a break with this nigga. His first Allstar appearance was last season. He's not anywhere near the level you lot are putting him, he doesn't have that body of work yet either at regular season or playoff level. This is just his second season of relevance. Pump the brakes

Re: The NBA Begins by birdman(m): 1:45pm On Apr 27
Roland17:
Some of these GMs actually need to be flogged in public and James Jones is one of them. I mean, how do you look at this team on the floor and think this was ever going to work out?

None of Beal/ Booker and KD are PGs, they are all over the court with bad spacing. All 3 are poor perimeter and point defenders, especially Beal, yet all 3 are starters?

Frank Vogel should get some of the blame for not having the courage to bench Beal and tinkering the lineup to find some spark from the bench. This has to be the worst defensive team in the playoffs this season.

How you gon blame d coach. Dude is just an employee, and it cant be easy tending the egos of superstars who dont know their season is past
Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 2:02pm On Apr 27
birdman:

How you gon blame d coach. Dude is just an employee, and it cant be easy tending the egos of superstars who dont know their season is past

I agree with you and I am not too hard on Vogel in this instance but he doesn’t look like he is coaching for his job. I don’t see him tinkering his lineup or bench calls to find a spark. He has to bench one of Beal or Booker because they are both scoring guards who lack the ability to coordinate offense. They are also lazy and don’t want the smoke.

Re: The NBA Begins by BlueMann: 4:06pm On Apr 27
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 8:52pm On Apr 27
This CJ McCollum na certified brick machine. My goodness 0/7 first quarter

Re: The NBA Begins by greypencils: 9:58pm On Apr 27
etidy:

Nothing more to add. It's funny how for a season Ja Morant was on top of the world and was confident enough to say he was good in the West. One injury here, one indiscretion there and they are at the very bottom of the rung. Ja now has Wolves & Denver, problems bigger than GSW to contend with.

Re: The NBA Begins by joshboo(m): 10:40pm On Apr 27
steady986:
Nobody is sha beating this Denver. We might as well give them the title now grin

Story. Wolves should down them

Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 10:43pm On Apr 27
joshboo:

Story. Wolves should down them
Would be a tight series for sure. I still like the Nuggets cos their best players can go Supernova.

They're not gonna be able to stop. MPJ, Jokic and Murray at the same time for 4 games
Re: The NBA Begins by larride(m): 11:24pm On Apr 27
Heats and Boston shooting Bricks in the first quarter.

Heats in a 17.8% FG. Wtf
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 11:34pm On Apr 27
Magic tied their series. I'm super impressed

Re: The NBA Begins by Roland17(m): 12:02am On Apr 28
Am I and other Celtics faithful supposed to be impressed? There is only one goal, get back to the championship!
Re: The NBA Begins by BlueMann: 12:04am On Apr 28
Orlando Magic's defense is frighteningly good. Held the Cavs to under 100 points this series, and have been the no.1 rated defense since the all star break. Jonathan Isaac is healthy now too.
Re: The NBA Begins by kendrick9(m): 12:31am On Apr 28
A40:
This is 1million percent cap.

He takes 4 more shots per game. And gets foul calls 6 more times per game than Murray I'd hope he scores more

SGA is ball dominant and will have serious problems playing off the ball with Jokic, he's Harden on a budget without the triple doubles

As far as defense and since you're an awards merchant I'd have you know SGA has zero defensive awards to his name so far

Hahaha. You're a funny individual so SGA should have won the Clutch award over Curry but it still has not clicked to you yet that Jamal Murray should have Allstar or All NBA recognition. I know what you are

I will give SGA credit for not being a 3pt spammer but give me a break with this nigga. His first Allstar appearance was last season. He's not anywhere near the level you lot are putting him, he doesn't have that body of work yet either at regular season or playoff level. This is just his second season of relevance. Pump the brakes
This man comparing SGA to Harden who can't defend. grin
I mean c'mon

Meanwhile SGA with 24 PTS 5 REB 8 AST 4 STL performance
Re: The NBA Begins by FBS: 12:42am On Apr 28
Celtics not smiling at all
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 12:49am On Apr 28
kendrick9:
This man comparing SGA to Harden who can't defend. grin
I mean c'mon

Meanwhile SGA with 24 PTS 5 REB 8 AST 4 STL performance
I notice you didn't include the 8/20 shooting undecided

Meanwhile Jalen Williams 21-9-5

Josh Giddey 21-8-6

On much higher efficiency, both of them. They didn't even need anything from Chet

This is the support cast Khanben claims Jamal will go to play-in with. What a joke!!

Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 2:15am On Apr 28
Truth be told Lakers probably beat any other team in the West barring maybe the Mavs or Clippers

I know they're sick and deep down wishing they ducked the Nuggets. They would surely make the WCF cos guys like Reaves and Russell would 100% cook. They allowed pundits and charlatans gas them. Smh
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 2:26am On Apr 28
Austin Reaves is snapping
Re: The NBA Begins by A40(m): 2:39am On Apr 28
Lakers will win this game. I just feel it. This level of fight down 3-0 is highly commendable

AD and Reaves have been phenomenal
Re: The NBA Begins by larride(m): 2:40am On Apr 28
The Nuggets cant keep getting away with starting the game very slowly.

Down 13pts by the end of the half.
Re: The NBA Begins by larride(m): 2:41am On Apr 28
A40:
Lakers will win this game. I just feel it. This level of fight down 3-0 is highly commendable

AD and Reaves have been phenomenal

3rd quarter has always been Lakers antidote. Let's hope they dont flatter again tonight.
Re: The NBA Begins by Honlucas: 2:41am On Apr 28
Can Lakers take this game and game 5?

If yes Denver's mentality will be bleeped up.
It's better Denver win this game

Re: The NBA Begins by larride(m): 2:46am On Apr 28
Honlucas:
Can Lakers take this game and game 5?

If yes Denver's mentality will be bleeped up.
It's better Denver win this game

Let them take this one first before you start thinking of game 5.
Re: The NBA Begins by Honlucas: 3:01am On Apr 28
larride:

Let them take this one first before you start thinking of game 5.
tonight will be different
Re: The NBA Begins by larride(m): 3:01am On Apr 28
Honlucas:
tonight will be different

Yeah. Nuggets bricking shots tonight.
Re: The NBA Begins by larride(m): 3:11am On Apr 28
Lakers need to maintain the double digit leads into the 4th quarter, else they will get jittery in the 4th.
Re: The NBA Begins by Honlucas: 3:18am On Apr 28
Lakers will win this
Re: The NBA Begins by larride(m): 3:24am On Apr 28
Lakers bench helping them get through this.

Nice.

(1) (2) (3) ... (2199) (2200) (2201) (2202) (2203) (2204) (2205) ... (2235) (Reply)

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 51