Stats: 3,160,580 members, 7,843,811 topics. Date: Wednesday, 29 May 2024 at 11:24 AM

I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari - Politics (22) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari (82248 Views)

Buhari Never Promised APC To Make Naira Equal To Dollar – APC / I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari / I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) ... (29) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by babaagba1000: 8:55am On Mar 24, 2015
fallout87:
That is one of the stupidest utterances in this election if it is true.

Does this Buhari not understand inflation? He obviously doesn't understand a thing about GDP or the economy...
The guy is Brainless...still has spirit of dictatorship in him...thinks everything is by force...see statement of a so called democrat...lwkmd grin grin grin grin grin grin grin

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Demdem(m): 8:56am On Mar 24, 2015
barcanista:
So did he achieve it before he left office as CBN Gov? See how you betray yourself. Soludo, a CBN boss "said" but he never did anything.

Dont be ridicoulous. tell me just one person that enters office and does all what he promises or stated he/she will do.
Besides, if the powers that be especially the president at that time doesnt agree to it, there is no way the CBN would have gone ahead.
he said it and the soludo i know wont say if he doent mean business.

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Nobody: 8:57am On Mar 24, 2015
cheesy cheesy
barcanista:
When he becomes President of Chatham House

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by TheGoodJoe(m): 8:58am On Mar 24, 2015
barcanista:
So did he achieve it before he left office as CBN Gov? See how you betray yourself. Soludo, a CBN boss "said" but he never did anything. See achieving appreciation of a country's currency has to do with many factors most especially the demand for that currency. You also have to work on inflation, strenghten local production on goods and services to rely, Export more and reduction of import, fiscal and monetary policies and several others. Don't forget attitude of the citizens on the naira and kobo plays a lot. It is not achieved via magic but via process. For Buhari to say what he said means something is wrong.

Why are you talking like this?

The reason Prof. Soludo's plan did not work was because Justice Minister Aondoakaa stopped it. Not that it was not doable. It was a project in motion.

For Gen. Buhari to say it, it shows someone is thinking of how to fix our deplorable economy. Not like GEJ who is breaking all records in corruption.

Please, tell GEJ to make the PWC Audit of the NNPC public before the election

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Nobody: 8:59am On Mar 24, 2015
barcanista:
For Buhari to say what he said means something is wrong.

Can u show me in quote, where Buhari said it? That he'll make naira and dollar equal in value. Do not show me where they said he said because they couldn't quote him on that.
Why are u pple just arguing over a non-existent statement? Mtcheeew!
Btw, u're smarter than this. But what the heck! Money talks
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Owliver(m): 9:01am On Mar 24, 2015
openmine:

just saw it...u r wicked ohhh grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin #lfc4life
he looks like someone who wrote the last jamb. I can't be arguing with such na. Its degrading
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Nobody: 9:01am On Mar 24, 2015
egift:

@ibietela2:
Will you shut that hole in your face. How does the quote below imply making Naira=Dollar?

This is exactly the sharia propaganda and PDP believe that repeating it will make it truthful. As 2015 Failure slap Jonathan down to Bayelsa, your desperation is overflowing its bounds.
I wonder why these people keep fabricating lies. Unfortunately for them, its too late; the general is the odds on favorite to win saturday's poll. If they like, let them keep manufacturing lies everyday, we have decided! Sai baba!

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Nobody: 9:01am On Mar 24, 2015
[quote author=PapaBrowne post=31930454]

Are you serious Your speech just gave you off as someone who lacks complete understanding of Economics>

Illiteracy no be moi moi oh!! Ha! So if someone tells you he will equate the value to the dollar you would just swallow it hook line and sinker??
What were you doing when others were attending Economics class??

He was busy reading "Novels'
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Anuoluwap(m): 9:04am On Mar 24, 2015
bdidi:

But he never said he was a politician......He said he was a civil servant.

That is what is in the INEC form he filled....That is why he feels he can achieve it.

Meanwhile his case is in the court
he only calls himself a civil servant for pple to believe he has changed.
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by optimusprimer(m): 9:05am On Mar 24, 2015
zendy:

Don't mind Buhari. The man has no agender for Nigeria. He thinks the Nigerian economy is the same as rearing cattle? Will he wave a magic wand and command the Dollar to be at per with the Naira? Does Buhari realise the seismic shift needed in economic policy to peg a countries currency one to one with the Dollar? This is a man who only talks about what he will do when he comes to office but not how he will do it. These are not military times and Buhari is an outdated specie.

Aswear d way u anti Buhari fellas talk ehn, makes me rest assured that something is very very wrong with you guys. You keep ranting about Buhari not able to change anything if elected and stuff, my question is this would u now prefer to go ahead with the present government who brought us into this mess in the first place? What future do u see for Nigeria u guys?
Everything left by d previous presidents have been squandered or stollen and GEJ has no scape goat to show for it.
Do you guys know how powerful and transparent EFCC n ICPC were bfr Now? Where are dey now, who have dey prosecuted?
Befr GEJ there were the upper class, middle class and low class when we spoke about wealth in Nigeria... Now all there is is d very high class and d low class. D rich getting richer and d poor, we'll u know d rest.
I personally think anyone against Buhari is just selfish and does not have d good of Nigeria at heart.

I indulge all of us to remb our national Anthem and pledge.... Arise o compatriots, Nigeria is calling us right now, let us obey the voice of change.

God bless Nigeria.
#IHaveDecided
#saybuhari
#saymaigida

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Realist2: 9:05am On Mar 24, 2015
[quote
author=wakacome post=31930527][b]In the land of "Jon" located at the
city of "athan"so much people suffered from a disease called "corr"which
broke out from the river called river "uption"this disease killed so
many people living in that city but their king called king "stea"L of
the "ing"kingdom do not even know what to do but he had to consult a
friend of his who is also a king of another city called "clue"from the
tribes of "less",he told his friend the problem he is facing in his own
city and his friend told him that they should consult the gods of "bu"in
the "hari"shrine ,"bu"revealed to them that they can stop the disease
of"corr"which was caused by river"uption" he said they need to perform a
sacrifice of "dis"to the tribes of "ci" in lake "pline","bu"also
revealed to them that they should consult a spiritual priest named
"inte"who hails from the city of "grity"he said the priest is the one to
do the rituals, the king obeyed the instructions and there after all
the people of the land of "jon"in the city of "athan finally"got saved
after "Bu"of the greatest "hari"answered their prayers,...everyone in
that city was happy that they were saved from the disease of
"corr"caused by the river "uption"...so that was how the people of the
city of "athan"choosed the gods of "Bu"and decided to worship at the
"hari"shrine so that they can continue to have a better life,even the
king worshipped "bu"of the "hari"kingdom and begged him to take control
of the city so that they can continue to live a very better life.....

Wakacome[/b][/quote]
Big TRASH

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Nobody: 9:06am On Mar 24, 2015
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by openmine(m): 9:06am On Mar 24, 2015
Owliver:
he looks like someone who wrote the last jamb. I can't be arguing with such na. Its degrading
grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin grin

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by ladygold555(f): 9:06am On Mar 24, 2015
Sweet lie...
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by chinex276(m): 9:07am On Mar 24, 2015
Dis clueless old man, does he think he will do it through decree or wat
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by HirstMOG(m): 9:09am On Mar 24, 2015
Can someone please tell me between GMB and GEJ who is the clueless one?

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by theoctopus: 9:11am On Mar 24, 2015
optimusprimer:

Aswear d way u anti Buhari fellas talk ehn, makes me rest assured that something is very very wrong with you guys. You keep ranting about Buhari not able to change anything if elected and stuff, my question is this would u now prefer to go ahead with the present government who brought us into this mess in the first place? What future do u see for Nigeria u guys?
Everything left by d previous presidents have been squandered or stollen and GEJ has no scape goat to show for it.
Do you guys know how powerful and transparent EFCC n ICPC were bfr Now? Where are dey now, who have dey prosecuted?
Befr GEJ there were the upper class, middle class and low class when we spoke about wealth in Nigeria... Now all there is is d very high class and d low class. D rich getting richer and d poor, we'll u know d rest.
I personally think anyone against Buhari is just selfish and does not have d good of Nigeria at heart.

I indulge all of us to remb our national Anthem and pledge.... Arise o compatriots, Nigeria is calling us right now, let us obey the voice of change.

God bless Nigeria.
#IHaveDecided
#saybuhari
#saymaigida

Which mess did the present government bring you into? Were you born yesterday? Did Nigeria just become bad? Some of you talk too much nonsense, Are you ok? grin grin grin

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Nobody: 9:11am On Mar 24, 2015
Kokopos:
Please no one should give the General mic again until elections are over

Wicked Generation.

GEJ come saturday!
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Nobody: 9:12am On Mar 24, 2015
TheGoodJoe:

Why are you talking like this?

The reason Prof. Soludo's plan did not work was because Justice Aondoakaa stopped it. Not that it was not doable. It was a project in motion.

For Gen. Buhari to say it, it shows someone is thinking of how to fix our deplorable economy. Not like GEJ who is breaking all records in corruption.

Please, tell GEJ to make the PWC Audit of the NNPC public before the election
Firstly, Aadonakaa was the "Justice Minister", a lawyer and not a Justice or Judge. Secondly, Soludo was CBN Boss between 2004 and 2009. Aaondokaa was Justice Minister between 2007 to 2010 February. That means he only became Minister 3years after Soludo was appointed CBN boss. So what magic did Soludo do under Obj? In fact, do you know the level of damage that Soludo did to our Financial and Banking/Insurance Sector? You guys should stop thinking we are fools.

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by peedeeasobie(m): 9:13am On Mar 24, 2015
dustydee:

Good one. I am impressed. There are people who still read and strive to get facts before jumping to conclusion.

When it comes to PDP propaganda, APC wants fairness and truth but what about APC?

'PDP plans to arrest tinubu', 'PDP plans to remove jega', 'PDP wants to assassinate GMB', 'PDP plans to form an interim government',.... source? none! These are all APC propaganda and lies.

This is politics, my friend, propaganda is the game of the day! If APC can't stand the heat, they should get out of the kitchen!
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by putin3: 9:14am On Mar 24, 2015
Manifesto of an illiterate
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by 49cents(m): 9:16am On Mar 24, 2015
PapaBrowne:

Are you serious Your speech just gave you off as someone who lacks complete understanding of Economics>

Illiteracy no be moi moi oh!! Ha! So if someone tells you he will equate the value to the dollar you would just swallow it hook line and sinker??
What were you doing when others were attending Economics class??

For the Naira to be equal to the dollar, you would need to see our dollar reserve rate go to something like a trillion dollars!! Even with 20 years of 20% economic growth rate, we would probably not be there!!

Now the bigger lesson for you is that a very strong Naira is not good for our country especially if you want to produce goods and export competitively..
Now let me explain that to you:
A bag of Dangote cement sells for 1500 Naira.
When the dollar was 160 Naira, that bag of cement was equal to $9.
At the new rate of 215 Naira, that same bag of cement is now equal to $7.
That means if Dangote wants to sell his cement in Albania, he has a better price point than he would have had 5 months ago.

Now imagine the Naira is exchanging at 5 Naira to a dollar.
That same bag of cement would now be equal to $300. Where on planet earth would he be able to sell his bag of cement at that price??

Any country that desires to produce and export to the rest of the globe, prays for a weaker currency to allow its goods better pricing amongst competitors. If Buhari understands economics, he will never pray for a very strong Naira except of course he wants us to keep importing everything!!

Thank you for taking time to deviate the topic to economics so that we all can rub minds and assess what the people who want to lead this country are saying

i am pro-GEJ yet i think there are some oversight in your economic analysis of Naira value and its consequences

Firstly i think Gen Buharis target to reduce the dollar value is out of the question as a strong value of naira against dollar is not a sign of economic achievement rather curbing inflation

as Naira looses its value cost of production for products whose raw materials or machinery are sourced outside the country will shoot up decreasing the purchasing value of the naira; this will spell hardship for Nigerians if their incomes do not go up proportionally

iRight now if Dangote keeps the price of his cement same as it was when dollar traded for N160 he will be having lower profits, with an increasing overheads because the value has to match the new value of the naira

the main issues should be how to boost local productivty which is key to checking inflation

Gen Buhari should appreciate that the dollar could trade for N900 without Nigerians feeling any economic hardship as long as they are earning value for their products and services

What Nigerians should appreciate too is that when in 1980s when dollar was equal to One Naira was there not still poverty and under development in Nigeria? then a brand new car sold for like N5000 did it make it easy for everyone to own to own a car

In Kenya and Uganda for instance local farmers who cultivate tea get well paid because they have a good market for their tea leaves in western markets; same also for their flowers

Once we can curb great wastages of our dollar reserves,from importation of stuff like food(GEJ, through his Hardworking Minister has done well here) that we can grow here and clothes when we can grow cotton then our economy......in other words when we have less need for imports of products and services and do more of exports of what we can produce the value of the naira will be optimized in value for the nations economy and it really can be any figure

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Capitano1(m): 9:17am On Mar 24, 2015
Mods pardon me na me take dey chop lol

[size=18pt]SWEAT TOO MUCH
Visit Us[/size]
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by optimusprimer(m): 9:17am On Mar 24, 2015
theoctopus:

Which mess did the present government bring you into? Were you born yesterday? Did Nigeria just become bad? Some of you talk too much nonsense, Are you ok? grin grin grin

O GEJ has done very well
May your life be ruled the way GEJ has ruled Nigeria.
#shikena
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Nobody: 9:18am On Mar 24, 2015
Princecalm:
This is someone that understands the economy speaking and not the clueless one who keeps Naira unstable.

You and all those that liked and shared this silly comment of yours are just as dumb as your master. Epic stupidity!
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by Hawlahscho(m): 9:18am On Mar 24, 2015
wakacome:
Yes as boring as your common sense.

I won't argue provided;
1. you can describe a common sense that is not boring (IN DETAILS)
2. you can tell me the matured moral or meaning to d jargons you typed up there.
3. you can why it was typed.
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:20am On Mar 24, 2015
barcanista:
Firstly, Aadonakaa was the "Justice Minister", a lawyer and not a Justice or Judge. Secondly, Soludo was CBN Boss between 2004 and 2009. Aaondokaa was Justice Minister between 2007 to 2010 February. That means he only became Minister 3years after Soludo was appointed CBN boss. So what magic did Soludo do under Obj? In fact, do you know the level of damage that Soludo did to our Financial and Banking/Insurance Sector? You guys should stop thinking we are fools.

Naira Re-Denomination: Suspended

The Justice Minister made the annoucement, according to Reuters, I expect them to iron out their disagreement in due course.

Yar'Adua may be planning to sideline or remove Soludo, but he have to be careful and not listen to bad advice.
https://www.nairaland.com/74769/naira-re-denomination-suspended#1429582

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by egift(m): 9:22am On Mar 24, 2015
ibietela2:

Do not talk to me like a bushman

I frown at deliberate falsehood. I have no problem with people picking on me, mocking or jesting. But when people deliberately lie and try to pass it on as the truth, then I have issues with that.

Anyway, I had no intention insulting you, but wish to call you out on the lies you are spreading against Buhari.
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by PointB: 9:22am On Mar 24, 2015
Buhari keeps exhibiting his toxic level of cluelessness each time he's exposed to a microphone! grin grin cheesy cheesy

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by fosign(f): 9:23am On Mar 24, 2015
Demdem:

Dont be ridicoulous. tell me just one person that enters office and does all what he promises or stated he/she will do.
Besides, if the powers that be especially the president at that time doesnt agree to it, there is no way the CBN would have gone ahead.
he said it and the soludo i know wont say if he doent mean business.

''tell me just one person that enters office and does all what he promises or stated he/she will do''

Yet u complain that GEJ made promises and did not fulfill them.

Bravo.

Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by zendy: 9:23am On Mar 24, 2015
optimusprimer:

God bless Nigeria.
#IHaveDecided
#saybuhari
#saymaigida

Oh yes we are going to continue with present Government because voting in Buhari is like jumping from the frying pan into hell fire
Re: I’ll Make Naira Equal In Value To Dollar, Says Buhari by TheGoodJoe(m): 9:24am On Mar 24, 2015
barcanista:

No matter how you guys try to bury your heads behind the facts, redenomination of currencies is a common project that has been carried out by many countries.

So most of you guys calling Gen. Buhari an illiterate on this issue are so wrong and backwards in your thoughts. It is possible and feasible. It would have been done by Soludo if the government did not stop him.

Please tell GEJ to publish the PWC report. What are you guys hiding?

(1) (2) (3) ... (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) ... (29) (Reply)

Remi Tinubu Says: 'Igbo, We No Dey Trust Una Again'. Nigerians React / Buhari's Consensus Candidate: See The Man Who Meets All The Requirements / Oshiomhole & Wife, Iara At Hosa Okunbo's Service Of Songs In The UK (Pictures)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 88