Stats: 3,151,615 members, 7,813,020 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 04:23 AM

Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past - Culture (10) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past (69171 Views)

Pictures From The Boat Regatta Held For Lagos@50 / Pictures From Obodoukwu Festival Held In Imo State / Pictures From Omabe Festival In Nsukka, Enugu State. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by MzJackBaueress(f): 7:29pm On May 14, 2015
Ihuomadinihu:
@Op,you pulled these pictures from a Facebook page,am very sure of that. Nice effort.
Yes i did. where else would i have pulled the pictures from?

most people on this forum haven't seen the pictures before including me,so i decided to share.

Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Ihuomadinihu: 7:31pm On May 14, 2015
MzJackBaueress:

most people on this forum haven't seen the pictures before including me,so i decided to share.
Am only commending you. Don't get so serious over a little observation.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by juman(m): 7:34pm On May 14, 2015
Good pictures.

nigeria is moving backward not forward.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Ihuomadinihu: 7:34pm On May 14, 2015
Asuokaa:

i thought jaja of opobo was ijaw niger delta does that make him ibo...no offense and no insults just a question
No he was Igbo but an accultured ijaw who dominated the people that bought him.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Eluala(m): 7:35pm On May 14, 2015
Asuokaa:

i thought jaja of opobo was ijaw niger delta does that make him ibo...no offense and no insults just a question

Jaja was an Igbo boy from a place called Amaigbo in the present day Imo State. Back then there was a constant trading relationship between Igbos from the hinterland and the Ijaws, Ibibios, Ibanis, Efiks etc towards the coast.

He was sold as a slave at age 9 to Ibani buyers and he ended up working his way up the social ladder by first paying for his own freedom and subsequently became so powerful as to dominate even the people that bought him. As the conflict increased, he decided to leave Ibani (Bonny) and moved away to occupy the place called Opobo today. Of course he moved with his household, slaves and army to establish Opobo. So judge for yourself if he is still Igbo or Ijaw.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Nobody: 7:50pm On May 14, 2015
ujoinme:

It would be better to leave out insults and just present the facts, so some others will learn. Arguments are won by facts not name calling.
Sometimes you need to be harsh with Nigerians. Many are thick-skulled. He started abusing my parents because I told him the truth. You often need to drive out a nail with another nail. grin Those who want to learn will learn. We're not kids here.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Octaves(m): 8:07pm On May 14, 2015
ujoinme:

You dont need to trade insults Rossike is right Nigeria has been better under indigenous rule than under the colonial administration, despite the challenges of leadership by Nigerians which are really signs of growing pains that will begin to wane as we bend the learning curve.

If you do and empirical comparison the colonial Administration 1897 to 1960 = 63yrs
and the indigenous Nigerian Government Administration from 1960 to 2015=55yr which to be honest the military years should not count because it was a period of unmitigated "lootocracy" - stealing without any record or citizen challenge as opposed to stealing under the civilian govt which the records are easily accessible but we only lack the political will to apply the rule of law on the culprits.

You would Agree that Nigeria despite its leadership challenges has impacted the lives of ordinary Nigerians better within a period of 55yrs than the british ever did within the 63yrs they ruled Nigeria.

If you compare the colonial Administration advances and commitment to development of 63yrs of colonial rule in Nigeria with advances made at the same period of time to colonial rule in South Africa or Hong kong where the colonial imperialist were really interested in developing and had intention of settling there, you would agree that their policy and administration of Nigeria was not far from criminal.
at least you have some manners. Rossike is an animal from a zoo.
Actually, what i'm saying is that things were more organized, not that they affected more lives. The various arms and ministries of the govt were effective in their work. For eg. My dad lived in PH at the time, and the road from PH to Onitsha was always good. There was an agency in charge of road maintainance and they were always examining the roads for damages and repairing them. PH city had pipe borne water then, these things were standard then. Now Amaechi wanted how many million naira loan for PH water scheme yet he didnt do it. If you went to sec schools then, they were of the same standard with schls. in the UK.
Now the indegenous govt may have done a better job in affecting ordinary Nigerians. But there are some things we had good back then that have deteriorated due to ineffective administration.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Octaves(m): 8:21pm On May 14, 2015
Go Bleep your self
ROSSIKE:

You support and praise 0 universities in 63 years (by white rulers) as ''progress'' while insulting 200 universities in 55 years (by black rulers) as ''mediocrity''. Doesn't that show your head is upside down? Your parents gave birth to a DONKEY thinking they gave birth to a human being.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by lmuhopeful: 8:23pm On May 14, 2015
MzJackBaueress:
HRH Oba Adeyinka Okupe. Father of Dr. Doyin Okupe

So Doyin Okupe is not a bastard! Great news
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Nobody: 8:45pm On May 14, 2015
Octaves:
at least you have some manners. Rossike is an animal from a zoo.
Actually, what i'm saying is that things were more organized, not that they affected more lives. The various arms and ministries of the govt were effective in their work. For eg. My dad lived in PH at the time, and the road from PH to Onitsha was always good. There was an agency in charge of road maintainance and they were always examining the roads for damages and repairing them. PH city had pipe borne water then, these things were standard then. Now Amaechi wanted how many million naira loan for PH water scheme yet he didnt do it. If you went to sec schools then, they were of the same standard with schls. in the UK.
Now the indegenous govt may have done a better job in affecting ordinary Nigerians. But there are some things we had good back then that have deteriorated due to ineffective administration.

Can you people see what I'm talking about? ''It was good for ME and MY FAMILY. My daddy was in Port Harcourt. Never mind the 90% of people who were impoverished village farmers, hunters, palm wine tappers, tailors, and carpenters. MY family were cool, so NIGERIA was much better.''

Selfishness personified.

Things were ''more organized''. Why would it not be easy to be ''organized'' when you are catering to only 2% of the population while ignoring the other 98%?

Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by wroskian(m): 8:45pm On May 14, 2015
MzJackBaueress:

You're really educating me with these pictures. Sent you a PM, will like to have those pictures in a file for a publication for young kids. Thanks in advance.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Octaves(m): 8:49pm On May 14, 2015
Fvck ya. The thunder wey go fire u if u quote me again. Oh i c ur papa was still running naked in one bush village, that's why u mad. Foøl
ROSSIKE:

Can you people see what I'm talking about? ''It was good for ME and MY FAMILY. My daddy was in Port Harcourt. Never mind the 90% of people who were impoverished village farmers, hunters and palm wine tappers. MY family were cool, so NIGERIA was much better.''

Selfishness personified.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Nobody: 8:55pm On May 14, 2015
Octaves:
Fvck ya. The thunder wey go fire u if u quote me again. Oh i c ur papa was still running naked in one bush village, that's why u mad. Foøl
Actually that was my grand dad. Your colonial master neglected him like most of the population. But you were the house slave so u were alright.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Octaves(m): 8:57pm On May 14, 2015
If you had behaved your self, we would have had a civil discussion but you started the insult because u want me to accept your viewpoint without question. Dem no born u well. What arogant cvnt
ROSSIKE:
Sometimes you need to be harsh with Nigerians. Many are thick-skulled. He started abusing my parents because I told him the truth. You often need to drive out a nail with another nail. grin Those who want to learn will learn. We're not kids here.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Nobody: 9:01pm On May 14, 2015
Octaves:
If you had behaved your self, we would have had a civil discussion but you started the insult because u want me to accept your viewpoint without question. Dem no born u well. What arogant cvnt

I don't have a ''viewpoint''. I have FACTS. You are a slave who cannot stand the truth that his white masters were FAILURES. You came here lying about how they provided jobs for graduates. I asked you what graduates from what universities when they was ZERO university built by them. You then began abusing my parents. Go and clear your head of mental slavery to whites. That is your biggest problem.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Octaves(m): 9:12pm On May 14, 2015
Na you be slave. Bye bye.
ROSSIKE:

I don't have a ''viewpoint''. I have FACTS. You are a slave who cannot stand the truth that his white masters were FAILURES. You came here lying about how they provided jobs for graduates. I asked you what graduates from what universities when they was ZERO university built by them. You then began abusing my parents. Go and clear your head of mental slavery to whites. That is your biggest problem.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by MzJackBaueress(f): 9:14pm On May 14, 2015
wroskian:

You're really educating me with these pictures. Sent you a PM, will like to have those pictures in a file for a publication for young kids. Thanks in advance.
I replied your mail. Thanks!

Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by wheezyoung(m): 9:16pm On May 14, 2015
KingTom:
Gen. Muhammadu Buhari grin grin grin

Ishilove, any thoughts? grin
buhari na fine man sha
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by blackprowler: 9:18pm On May 14, 2015
ROSSIKE:
More self delusion. The colonialists siphoned over 90% of annual export earnings which was why Nigeria was underdeveloped with not a single university or expressway after 63 years of uninterrupted colonial rule. So corruption actually reduced following independence.

That's veeeeeeery interesting. Can you forward me the bibliography to support this?
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by adexsimply(m): 9:19pm On May 14, 2015
Enoquin:

You do know it's a hot day, why you dey call my name? undecided
I didn't call your name, I typed "enoquin" angry
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by daxlasaint(m): 9:23pm On May 14, 2015
ROSSIKE:
What is so special about these pics? Nigeria was very underdeveloped when all those pics were taken. Most people were malnourished, lived in neglected villages with no electricity or running water. Cars were only for the super rich. Roads were virtually non existent. Illiteracy was the order of the day. Op please stop romanticising misery and deprivation. LIFE IS MUCH BETTER TODAY FOR NIGERIANS.

And where oh pls did the op state that things were better tthen than they are now... if u do not understand where you are coming from how do you decide where you are going or how far down the road to your desire you have travelled. The past wasnt glorious, yes... but it is important to stay intouch with our history
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Nobody: 9:23pm On May 14, 2015
blackprowler:

That's veeeeeeery interesting. Can you forward me the bibliography to support this?

What bibliography? You don't need any bibliography to know that Nigeria was an undeveloped wasteland at independence. Go anywhere in the country now, point at any infrastructure and ask the locals when it was built? None was built before independence. What we see around us is what we, the Africans built. So you don't need any bibliography. All you need is a bit of common sense, and lack of colonial mentality.
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by blackprowler: 9:25pm On May 14, 2015
dre11:
Do you guys still remember this currency notes used in the 1970s

50kobo
1naira
5 naira
10naira

I still have the 50k N1 and the recent N5 and N10. The former since '91 when we last spent it. I'm not yet married o
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Enoquin(f): 9:29pm On May 14, 2015
adexsimply:

I didn't call your name, I typed "enoquin" angry

So, the typing wasn't a call out? undecided
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Lagusta(m): 9:37pm On May 14, 2015
lazsnaira:

You're the one who need tutorials on the art of communication.

I raised a subtle observation & rather than you taking your corrections like we all must do sometimes when we err on matters we're unfamiliar with, you resulted to vitriols.

So you shut up & do something else.

You are the one who uses insults to correct someone, which is bad....

Let's learn how to converse with decorum, and argue constructively, that's all....

One love bro
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Nobody: 9:40pm On May 14, 2015
MzJackBaueress:
A group of kids climb over a downed plane at Uli air strip Owerri in 1970

Uli airstrip owerri??
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by robosky02(m): 9:40pm On May 14, 2015
pls enjoy the tread and dont derail it with insults. thanks
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by adexsimply(m): 9:40pm On May 14, 2015
Enoquin:

So, the typing wasn't a call out? undecided
Nope!!! It wasn't a call out... It was a angry angry angry
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by bogolobango(m): 9:41pm On May 14, 2015
Dis show lagos na 100% yoruba land nt a no mans land lagooners hope una dey see am
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by Nobody: 9:42pm On May 14, 2015
Demdem:

Chai, Ojukwus nemesis.

I'd really love to learn the connection between this guy and ojukwu, I already looked him up and didn't find any. Could you elaborate this nemesis??
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by bogolobango(m): 9:43pm On May 14, 2015
Lagooners una dey see tinubu square abi lagos developer
Re: Amazing Pictures From Nigeria's Past by MzJackBaueress(f): 9:47pm On May 14, 2015
engrkenny:

Uli airstrip owerri??
there was nothing like Anambra state in 1970. It was called "Eastern Region" with the capital at Enugu. So Uli was part of Owerri which was another popular town in the Eastern region.

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (Reply)

Facts About The Yoruba Enclave In The Heart Of Aniocha In Delta State / BBC's Documentary On The 'Bronze Cast Head Of The Ife King' / Oba Elegushi’s 2nd Wife, Hadiza Steps Into The Palace 6 Months After Wedding

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 61