Stats: 3,140,533 members, 7,770,383 topics. Date: Tuesday, 19 March 2024 at 10:09 AM

The Xiaomi Thread. - Phones - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Phones / The Xiaomi Thread. (9020616 Views)

My Thoughts On The Xiaomi Redmi 5plus After 3 Weeks Use / Disadvantages Of The Xiaomi Redmi Note 4x / I've Got The Xiaomi 20000mah Powerbank. Any Question? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (9302) (Reply) (Go Down)

The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 9:32am On May 08, 2016
This is the first time I'd be using a Xiaomi device(Redmi 3 Pro). It's cool and kind of odd when people ask you the kind of phone you Use and you say Xiaomi (most people do not know jack about it).
I just want we using this device regardless the model to meet here and share tips on how to get the best out of it eg. Rooting, unlocking, flashing, Upgrading, etc.
Please lets make this work and Shout out to @elijahdre for getting me this wonderful device.

And most of your questions can be answered on the threads below

https://www.nairaland.com/post/84015340]
Xiaomi Compilation Thread

https://www.nairaland.com/Post/70563946]
Xiaomi Phones Tweaking Thread

https://www.nairaland.com/3880817/
Xiaomi-Thread-Store

73 Likes 11 Shares

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by jayhk(m): 11:29am On May 08, 2016
yes bro.. i use a redmi note 3 and am enjoying my phone to the fullest.. Xiaomi users are increasing in the country tho..

25 Likes 6 Shares

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by adamix(m): 12:01pm On May 08, 2016
how much did you get the redmi 3 pro... im focused on buying the redmi 3...not the pro version

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 2:50pm On May 08, 2016
adamix:
how much did you get the redmi 3 pro...
im focused on buying the redmi 3...not the pro version
Got mine from elijahdre for 58K, go for the Redmi 3 as you have said, because It has more custom ROMS than the Pro

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by TheLoneCitizen(m): 2:59pm On May 08, 2016
Anyone who uses the Redmi Note 2,I wanna know if it supports External storage,how is the battery life and general performance
Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by adamix(m): 3:14pm On May 08, 2016
ibawon:

Got mine from elijahdre for 58K, go for the Redmi 3 as you have said, because I had more custom ROMS than the Pro
you were using the redmi 3 before going for the pro version?

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ironheart(m): 4:36pm On May 08, 2016
I am using xiaomi mi4 n its the best phone i can tell you. The camera is awsome, though its just 16gig of internal memory. What i do is that i synch my photos to cloud. The products are awsome and updates comes every two weeks on global rom MIUI7 6.4.14. Stock rom drains battery n makes the phone heat up.

The 6.4.14 means android 6, the 4 means the month of release n 14 means the date it was releases

MIUI 8 WILL BE LAUNCHED ON THE 10TH OF MAY.

11 Likes 3 Shares

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 4:58pm On May 08, 2016
adamix:

you were using the redmi 3 before going for the pro version?
no I was using Sam S6 edge and M8 just wanted to drop them and use something totally different.
and I will say the fingerprint scanner is quite OK unlike the one on my S6 edge with is really shocking
Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 5:01pm On May 08, 2016
TheLoneCitizen:
Anyone who uses the Redmi Note 2,I wanna know if it supports External storage,how is the battery life and general performance
Yes Bro. It has a memory card Slot

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 5:05pm On May 08, 2016
ironheart:
I am using xiaomi mi4 n its the best phone i can tell you. The camera is awsome, though its just 16gig of internal memory. What i do is that i synch my photos to cloud. The products are awsome and updates comes every two weeks on global rom MIUI7 6.4.14. Stock rom drains battery n makes the phone heat up.

The 6.4.14 means android 6, the 4 means the month of release n 14 means the date it was releases

MIUI 8 WILL BE LAUNCHED ON THE 10TH OF MAY.
Bro where have you been all this while. Please shed more light on Xiaomi devices for us o because the Lil you put there means a lot for a novice like me and how did you root your phone if you have, and is it even advisable

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by Spolymer(f): 5:29pm On May 08, 2016
ibawon:

Bro where have you been all this while. Please shed more light on Xiaomi devices for us o because the Lil you put there means a lot for a novice like me and how did you root your phone if you have, and is it even advisable

Latest version of kingroot easily root xiaomi devices with mtk chipset. I am using redmi note 2 running the developer miui rom.
You can read more about xiaomi @ http://www.techgists.com/2016/05/xiaomi-smartphones-and-miui-rom-review.html

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by TheLoneCitizen(m): 5:34pm On May 08, 2016
ibawon:

Yes Bro. It has a memory card Slot
Thanks what of battery life and general performance? Redmi Note 2
Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ironheart(m): 5:35pm On May 08, 2016
ibawon:

hahahahaha the beauty about xiaomi is that you dont need special skills to tweek your phone. Just go to en.miui.com and you have all you need. There are two type of 4 main types of xiaomi roms.

These are
Chines stable rom
Chines developers rom
Global stable rom
Global developers rom

I prefere the global developers rom. Its all in english
Though the chines roms gets updated faster but you have to deal with chines specific apps and there is no google apps n stores installed by default. Though there are tutorials on how to get them on your chines rom

But i will advice everyone to use the global developers rom

All you need to do is

1 Download the latest MIUI ROM for your device from http://en.miui.com/download.html

2 Connect your device to the Windows PC/laptop via a micro USB cable, and copy the ROM file downloaded in Step 1 into the folder ‘downloaded_rom’ in the internal storage of your device.

NOTE YOU CAN DOWNLOAD USING YOUR PHONE AS WELL N USING FILE EXPLORER TO MOVE THE ROM TO ‘downloaded_rom’

3 Launch ‘Updater' app on your device:
MIUI 6:Click the ‘…’ icon at the top-right corner, select ‘Choose update package’, and choose the ROM file you’ve put in ‘downloaded_rom’ in Step 2.

Press the Menu button, select ‘Choose update package’, and choose the ROM file you’ve put in ‘downloaded_rom’ in Step 2.

After choosing the right ROM file, your device will begin upgrading. Your device should automatically boot to the new version when the update is completed.

Its simple and advisable. Xiaomi allows its devices to be rooted

My mi4 is simple, no finger scanner but i enjoy the infrared remote.

I use it to control AC, cd player, tv, rechargeable fan and its cool. My remove is busy gathering dust.

20 Likes 4 Shares

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by Spolymer(f): 5:36pm On May 08, 2016
TheLoneCitizen:

Mine use to be 8 hrs screen on time on heavy usage, but now after 6 months of using it, I hardly get 6 hrs.

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ironheart(m): 5:44pm On May 08, 2016
TheLoneCitizen:
bro stop living in the stone ages. There are cloud computing now. You can store your files online n never bert an eye or care about currupt memory cards. Xiaomi has mi cloud that stores your photo onlines n leave optimised version on ur phone. For example my pictures i take are about 3 to 6mbs in size. It will upload the file to mi cloud n leave you wit the same picture but a sixe of say 200kb. When you need the full size, all u need do is to download it

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by vanchi(m): 6:37pm On May 08, 2016
So who actually sells xiaomi phones here besides kulimart

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by abogjohn(m): 6:52pm On May 08, 2016
ironheart:
hahahahaha the beauty about xiaomi is that you dont need special skills to tweek your phone. Just go to en.miui.com and you have all you need. There are two type of 4 main types of xiaomi roms.

These are
Chines stable rom
Chines developers rom
Global stable rom
Global developers rom

I prefere the global developers rom. Its all in english
Though the chines roms gets updated faster but you have to deal with chines specific apps and there is no google apps n stores installed by default. Though there are tutorials on how to get them on your chines rom

But i will advice everyone to use the global developers rom

All you need to do is

1 Download the latest MIUI ROM for your device from http://en.miui.com/download.html

2 Connect your device to the Windows PC/laptop via a micro USB cable, and copy the ROM file downloaded in Step 1 into the folder ‘downloaded_rom’ in the internal storage of your device.

NOTE YOU CAN DOWNLOAD USING YOUR PHONE AS WELL N USING FILE EXPLORER TO MOVE THE ROM TO ‘downloaded_rom’

3 Launch ‘Updater' app on your device:
MIUI 6:Click the ‘…’ icon at the top-right corner, select ‘Choose update package’, and choose the ROM file you’ve put in ‘downloaded_rom’ in Step 2.

Press the Menu button, select ‘Choose update package’, and choose the ROM file you’ve put in ‘downloaded_rom’ in Step 2.

After choosing the right ROM file, your device will begin upgrading. Your device should automatically boot to the new version when the update is completed.

Its simple and advisable. Xiaomi allows its devices to be rooted

My mi4 is simple, no finger scanner but i enjoy the infrared remote.

I use it to control AC, cd player, tv, rechargeable fan and its cool. My remove is busy gathering dust.

how much is the MI 4 now and how much is MI 5?
Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by TheLoneCitizen(m): 7:03pm On May 08, 2016
ironheart:
bro stop living in the stone ages. There are cloud computing now. You can store your files online n never bert an eye or care about currupt memory cards. Xiaomi has mi cloud that stores your photo onlines n leave optimised version on ur phone. For example my pictures i take are about 3 to 6mbs in size. It will upload the file to mi cloud n leave you wit the same picture but a sixe of say 200kb. When you need the full size, all u need do is to download it
What of general performance? Is it a gaming device? Games like Asphalt 8 and FIFA 16, my Hot note can handle both. I guess the battery is the only downside, Ironheart.

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 7:40pm On May 08, 2016
Spolymer:

Latest version of kingroot easily root xiaomi devices with mtk chipset. I am using redmi note 2 running the developer miui rom.
You can read more about xiaomi @ http://www.techgists.com/2016/05/xiaomi-smartphones-and-miui-rom-review.html
Well thankks for the opinion. I downloaded the latest version of Kingroot but it's not working and for the info my own device runs a Snapdragon Chipset
Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 10:28pm On May 08, 2016
vanchi:
elijahdre. Check out his thread in the Technology Forum. Tested and trusted
Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by Gloryboy(m): 10:52pm On May 08, 2016
ibawon:

Got mine from elijahdre for 58K, go for the Redmi 3 as you have said, because It has more custom ROMS than the Pro
You got Redimi Note 3 Pro for 58k?

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 11:10pm On May 08, 2016
Gloryboy:
You got Redimi Note 3 Pro for 58k?
No I mean Redmi 3 Pro.
Redmi 3, Redmi 3 Pro, Redmi 3 note and Redmi note 3 Pro are all different devices but have almost the same Function but with different specs. Google more about them

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by Gloryboy(m): 11:15pm On May 08, 2016
ibawon:

No I mean Redmi 3 Pro.
Redmi 3, Redmi 3 Pro, Redmi 3 note and Redmi note 3 Pro are all different devices but have almost the same Function but with different specs. Google more about them
Okay, how about the camera? Cos am kinda photo freak ooh... I love good camera phones. How is the camera compare with phones like iPhone, LG, Samsung and others?
Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ironheart(m): 6:17am On May 09, 2016
TheLoneCitizen:

What of general performance? Is it a gaming device? Games like Asphalt 8 and FIFA 16, my Hot note can handle both. I guess the battery is the only downside, Ironheart.
it handles games very well, battery is pretty good compared to other phones n you know battery life is a function of multiple variables

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ironheart(m): 6:19am On May 09, 2016
ibawon:

Well thankks for the opinion. I downloaded the latest version of Kingroot but it's not working and for the info my own device runs a Snapdragon Chipset
you dont need king root. Download the MIUI developers rom. Its already rooted

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ironheart(m): 6:21am On May 09, 2016
abogjohn:
how much is the MI 4 now and how much is MI 5?
i got mi4 from slot Lagos for 55k but i dont know about mi5

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ibawon(m): 6:42am On May 09, 2016
ironheart:
you dont need king root. Download the MIUI developers rom. Its already rooted
Thanks Bro, to find a ROM for Redmi 3 pro na wahala because all I keep seeing is just Redmi 3 only

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by KuliMart: 6:51am On May 09, 2016
vanchi:

When you purchase from us, you will be given tempered glass and a case.

Also after sales service. There are many benefits of purchasing from us.

We've got you covered.

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by KuliMart: 6:56am On May 09, 2016
TheLoneCitizen:

This is one of the best device from Xioami. The performance is superB

It has dual sim, helio x10 and also memory card slot.

We have Xiaomi Redmi Note 2 prime in stock.
Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by ironheart(m): 7:29am On May 09, 2016
ibawon:
Thanks Bro, to find a ROM for Redmi 3 pro na wahala because all I keep seeing is just Redmi 3 only
read about the chipset n memory partition. If they are thesame, then it should work. But u just have to edit the built.prop

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by aieromon(m): 7:50am On May 09, 2016
TheLoneCitizen:

The Redmi Note 2 supports microSD and OTG devices.

Re: The Xiaomi Thread. by aieromon(m): 7:51am On May 09, 2016
ironheart:

6.4.14 means the ROM was released on the 14th of April 2016.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (9302) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: Malaymoney(m) and 5 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46