Stats: 3,158,297 members, 7,836,299 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 03:47 AM

General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 - Travel (311) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 (1538422 Views)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 / General German Visa Enquiries Part 3 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (308) (309) (310) (311) (312) (313) (314) ... (674) (Go Down)

Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Nobody: 2:22am On Aug 24, 2017
graceode:
Thanks themusketeer. Please can I get That same Ikeja bus from Berger?
Berger is d best of of option cos its closer to ikeja

Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by luvhenry(m): 5:46am On Aug 24, 2017
Pls what number can i call to confirm what is going on since July 10 till date still waiting for passport.nawA!!!
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by irenmwinfo(m): 6:45am On Aug 24, 2017
irenmwinfo:
Please house I just want to start first by processing my passport. This is my first time. How much can I secure passport 32pages and 64 pages respectively in Benin city Edo state immigration office ? What documents is required to go along with for processing ?

Another question I need answer to is What documents do I need to prepare for processing of UKVI ?
Someone should help me with this questions above, it's so important.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by irenmwinfo(m): 6:46am On Aug 24, 2017
luvhenry:
Pls what number can i call to confirm what is going on since July 10 till date still waiting for passport.nawA!!!
. How much does it cost you when u applied then and what were the necessary documents needed for processing ? Thanks
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by elabogado: 6:56am On Aug 24, 2017
graceode:
Good evening house. Please how can I get to TLS office in Ikeja from Ibadan. Thanks

From Iwo or Challenge, take a car going to Maryland, tell the driver u want to drop at on Maryland/ Mr Biggs. Walk towards the filling station(Mobil I think/Mr Biggs take a bus going to Ikeja, tell the bus driver you want to drop at Ebietet house or you can take a drop from Maryland to Ebietet house, it should not be more than 600 max. Or in the alternative you can ask if the driver from Ibadan if it's a car can drop you there for a added fee
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by mokikeoj: 7:22am On Aug 24, 2017
Hi ddonsly, what other steps are you trying to make/making. Currently in a similar situation. I have sent an application to withdraw and need my passport ASAP.
ddonsly:
Dear Nairalanders,

I'm really at my wit's end with these UKVI people. I applied since June 23rd, and after several calls and escalations, still no decision as at Friday afternoon. So I jejely asked to withdraw (Cancel) my application and have my passport returned to me ASAP as I have an impending trip by mid next week. The lady categorically confirmed that my passport should be back by end of this week (It should be simple now, just close my file and return my passport). So as e don reach dis afternoon and I haven't got an email to confirm that my application has been cancelled or my passport on it's way back, I decided to call them just to double check things. And to my utter amazement, this new person now says that I have to wait for 10 working days. Okay. Then I enquired about the status of my application and they said it is still awaiting decision. I was like, but I CANCELLED my application ALREADY! I just want my passport back.. She then said if I want to complain I need to call another number. I called the number and the person that picked said that they can only talk about UK citizens and dependants and nothing else.

Please has anyone had any such experience as this? Any reason why after 3-4 days of withdrawing/cancelling, my application is still awaiting a decision? And please, what do you advise I do next? I need my passport back ASAP. Not being able to travel to the UK due to this delay has cost me a lot already. I can't afford to miss my next journey.

Kindly advise. Many thanks
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Stormyweather(m): 7:47am On Aug 24, 2017
Good morning guys, I'm new here. Please can the gurus answer this question. My mum got an invite from her nephew to come to the UK. My question is, what does she need and how much should be in her account? Like how much is she supposed to have in order to be granted visa? Thanks for this in advance.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Brightingsus: 8:32am On Aug 24, 2017
Stormyweather:
Good morning guys, I'm new here. Please can the gurus answer this question. My mum got an invite from her nephew to come to the UK. My question is, what does she need and how much should be in her account? Like how much is she supposed to have in order to be granted visa? Thanks for this in advance.

Depends on who is sponsoring the trip and where she would stay in the UK
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Stormyweather(m): 8:35am On Aug 24, 2017
Brightingsus:

Depends on who is sponsoring the trip and where she would stay in the UK
she would stay with the person. He is married with kids and I think he is doing well. Please some light on it depends on the person
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by missoredipe(f): 9:35am On Aug 24, 2017
Dear Ekpotek and Justwise,

Thank you once again for all the three Uk visas I applied for in the past and all the three were successful. Please I need your help for one of my good friends she contacted me that her mum's visa has been denied 3 different times. Her husband is British and she is on spouse visa too. Could you please kindly advise us on what to do. Please find the three refusal letters attached. I would be awaiting your response and other people can contribute too. We are hoping to apply for her Mum by the end of the year and we don't want to make the same mistake again. Thank you all.

Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Brightingsus: 10:11am On Aug 24, 2017
Stormyweather:
she would stay with the person. He is married with kids and I think he is doing well. Please some light on it depends on the person

If the applicant would be staying with the UK sponsor who has a legal status, then the burden of accommodation and the cost towards it would have been taken care of.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Iolo(m): 10:25am On Aug 24, 2017
Hi All,

Kindly advise.

Is it advisable to apply for a UK visa for my wife and I with her passport still bearing her maiden name?

We have kicked-off the process for change of name on her passport, however, I'm not getting any guarantees as to when the passport can be ready.

Do we just apply for the visa like that or keep waiting till the passport is out.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Brightingsus: 11:01am On Aug 24, 2017
Iolo:
Hi All,

Kindly advise.

Is it advisable to apply for a UK visa for my wife and I with her passport still bearing her maiden name?

We have kicked-off the process for change of name on her passport, however, I'm not getting any guarantees as to when the passport can be ready.

Do we just apply for the visa like that or keep waiting till the passport is out.

It is not a must you do the change of name. In fact in the UK ladies don't really do change of name unless when their husbands are late and they want to revert back to their maiden name.

When my wife joined me her passport was in her maiden name and the visa was stamped on it. Then, her passport only had like one year validity left. So as the passport expired we renewed the passport but filled her surname as my surname with a copy of our marriage certificate. The new passport has her surname changed to mine, we did not do anything called 'change of name'.

As long as you include your marriage certificate, which bears your wife's maiden name and your name; her passport can still be in her maiden name whilst you two apply for your visas. But keep an eye on the passport numbers you use and don't complicate things.

Nonetheless, if you are not in a hurry and can wait, then you could still change the passport prior to applying.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by blessedgeorgeus(m): 11:53am On Aug 24, 2017
irenmwinfo:
Please house I just want to start first by processing my passport. This is my first time. How much can I secure passport 32pages and 64 pages respectively in Benin city Edo state immigration office ? What documents is required to go along with for processing ?

Another question I need answer to is What documents do I need to prepare for processing of UKVI ?

What type of Visa to you intend to Process?

Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Stormyweather(m): 11:58am On Aug 24, 2017
Brightingsus:

If the applicant would be staying with the UK sponsor who has a legal status, then the burden of accommodation and the cost towards it would have been taken care of.
yes sir, she would be staying with the sponsor and he is also a citizen. In the form printed out, sge I asked how much is her earning, how much her husband would provide etc. Please what's the best way to handle this? Do they need her bank statement of account? What's the best way to achieve all of these. Thanks a lot sir
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by blessedgeorgeus(m): 11:59am On Aug 24, 2017
Iolo:
Hi All,

Kindly advise.

irenmwinfo:
. How much does it cost you when u applied then and what were the necessary documents needed for processing ? Thanks

It is better to wait and change it before you apply....... If you can not wait ....then you need to back it up with other document such as marriage certificate ....etc
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Brightingsus: 12:02pm On Aug 24, 2017
missoredipe:

Thank you once again for all the three Uk visas I applied for in the past and all the three were successful. Please I need your help for one of my good friends she contacted me that her mum's visa has been denied 3 different times. Her husband is British and she is on spouse visa too. Could you please kindly advise us on what to do. Please find the three refusal letters attached. I would be awaiting your response and other people can contribute too. We are hoping to apply for her Mum by the end of the year and we don't want to make the same mistake again. Thank you all.

First of all, how old is this applicant?(though age doesn't really account for much here)

What is the space in time between these applications and refusals?

Stating she would spend over 4 months in the Uk was a red flag as that's potential for overstaying but the refusal could have been avoided if the applicant provided evidence of their personal and financial circumstances in Nigeria. Also the closing balance from first application was low and the ECO was unsure of the applicant's maintenance and livelihood.

'Personal circumstances' entails an applicant's family ties and whether the family members are resident in Nigeria, the applicant's living (where they live and the circumstances around ownership or rent of the house), how the applicant feeds (from employment or support from family), any savings or investments which give an applicant strong connections to their home country.

Sadly the applicant chose the wrong way of correcting the first refusal by inflating sums they couldn't defend as income. To correct the first refusal they could have given it ample time before reapplying. Then the family members would pay her maintenance money steadily for 6 months into her account to support the claim she's supported by family (that's if the claim of self emplyment is untrue). Furthermore the applicant quoted she was self employed earning £224 monthly and then £904 within a short period. Ah Ah!!! What a boom in business It is gonna be difficult correcting this impression now. Iif you make a claim you earn a certain amount and your bank statement does not reflect this, it is automatic refusal unless you can prove otherwise.

I would advise the applicant gives it some time before reapplying. Also reduce the amount of time to spend in the UK.

My final questions for now are:
1. Is the claim of £904 monthly earnings true?
2. Did the applicant's son inlaw (sponsor) receive any calls from the ECO throughout the applications?
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Brightingsus: 12:12pm On Aug 24, 2017
Stormyweather:
yes sir, she would be staying with the sponsor and he is also a citizen. In the form printed out, sge I asked how much is her earning, how much her husband would provide etc. Please what's the best way to handle this? Do they need her bank statement of account? What's the best way to achieve all of these. Thanks a lot sir

Well, in that case the UK sponsor/host needs to provide their passport, proof of accommodation like utility bill, etc; bank statements and payslips, proof of relationship with the applicant amongst other things.

Yes, the applicant must provide their bank statement as this is ticking one of the boxes of their ties to Nigeria.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Stormyweather(m): 12:16pm On Aug 24, 2017
Brightingsus:

Well, in that case the UK sponsor/host needs to provide their passport, proof of accommodation like utility bill, etc; bank statements and payslips, proof of relationship with the applicant amongst other things.

Yes, the applicant must provide their bank statement as this is ticking one of the boxes of their ties to Nigeria.
thanks a lot sir. Who will the sponsor submit all of these to? And us there a minimum amount advised of the applicant to own?
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Brightingsus: 12:36pm On Aug 24, 2017
Stormyweather:
thanks a lot sir. Who will the sponsor submit all of these to? And us there a minimum amount advised of the applicant to own?

The sponsor needs to send the documents to the applicant well in time before their appointment. The applicant would then combine those with their own documents to make an application pack. Mind you, the documents would be scanned at the appointment and given back to the applicant. Only scanned copies are sent to Sheffield by TLS.

There is no minimum requirement an applicant must have in their account, but the ECO would weigh the applicant's circumstances to ascertain if it's reasonably logical or logically reasonable. First find out how much the trip would cost in pounds and who would be paying what towards it, usually between the applicant and the sponsor.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Solatium(m): 12:42pm On Aug 24, 2017
missoredipe:

I strongly suspect this applications are packaged by Different agents or same agent who thinks the computing systems forgets.

This is going to be a tough one to address,3 refusals all within months I guess.....The ECO knew there had been some figure falsification just like the first respondent pointed out,and they will hold on to that till eternity,another thing that might have counted against is the response that there is no dependant(which is like a home tie) as it was quoted in the second refusal letter,it simply indicates she can choose not to come home again.I will advise the applicant to forget about UK visa application for at least a year to build a solid account turn over and healthy balance,if truly she trades,she should make sure she gathered invoices and receipts from where she buys her supplies (Reputable shops and suppliers) she can then give it a go after a year....but for now nothing will change
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Stormyweather(m): 12:45pm On Aug 24, 2017
Brightingsus:

The sponsor needs to send the documents to the applicant well in time before their appointment. The applicant would then combine those with their own documents to make an application pack. Mind you, the documents would be scanned at the appointment and given back to the applicant. Only scanned copies are sent to Sheffield by TLS.

There is no minimum requirement an applicant must have in their account, but the ECO would weigh the applicant's circumstances to ascertain if it's reasonably logical or logically reasonable. First find out how much the trip would cost in pounds and who would be paying what towards it, usually between the applicant and the sponsor.
thanks this is enlightening. The sponsor is paying everything. As far as the flight fare. How does she maintain regularity in the application? What's the best chance to increase it?
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Brightingsus: 12:51pm On Aug 24, 2017
Stormyweather:
thanks this is enlightening. The sponsor is paying everything. As far as the flight fare. How does she maintain regularity in the application? What's the best chance to increase it?

I do not understand what u mean by regularity in the application and chance of increase

The fact that the UK sponsor would pay for everything does not mean the applicant would not have funds in their account. Do not make that mistake pls.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by McGibson(m): 1:22pm On Aug 24, 2017
Justwise brightingsus Ekpotek tatpat

I was denied visa. the reason is this
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Kramamosha(m): 1:31pm On Aug 24, 2017
I just want to thank you all for helping me by advice on my Visa application! Today I collected my passport and I have been issued a VISA of 8 months as Tier 5 TW(Charity)! Here are summary;

Visa application : 31 July
Biometrics taken: 2nd Aug
Decision made: 16 Aug
Passport collection : 24 Aug

I juss want to ask one question because I am a first timer, I am on progress of booking Airline ticket. Will I face any obstacles at the Airport if I book One way ticket? Because my sponsor told me they will offer me a return ticket! I will appreciate your answers!
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Solatium(m): 1:42pm On Aug 24, 2017
Kramamosha:
I just want to thank you all for helping me by advice on my Visa application! Today I collected my passport and I have been issued a VISA of 8 months as Tier 5 TW(Charity)! Here are summary;

Visa application : 31 July
Biometrics taken: 2nd Aug
Decision made: 16 Aug
Passport collection : 24 Aug

I juss want to ask one question because I am a first timer, I am on progress of booking Airline ticket. Will I face any obstacles at the Airport if I book One way ticket? Because my sponsor told me they will offer me a return ticket! I will appreciate your answers!

One way ticket ke? Instant deportation on the next available flight niyen....When your sponsor said return ticket it means a ticket to take from Lagos to Uk and back to Lagos..Inform your sponsor through the same medium of communication u have been using in the past that your VISA has been granted,they can then forward you your ticket as agreed
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by missoredipe(f): 2:03pm On Aug 24, 2017
Brightingsus:

First of all, how old is this applicant?(though age doesn't really account for much here)

What is the space in time between these applications and refusals?

Stating she would spend over 4 months in the Uk was a red flag as that's potential for overstaying but the refusal could have been avoided if the applicant provided evidence of their personal and financial circumstances in Nigeria. Also the closing balance from first application was low and the ECO was unsure of the applicant's maintenance and livelihood.

'Personal circumstances' entails an applicant's family ties and whether the family members are resident in Nigeria, the applicant's living (where they live and the circumstances around ownership or rent of the house), how the applicant feeds (from employment or support from family), any savings or investments which give an applicant strong connections to their home country.

Sadly the applicant chose the wrong way of correcting the first refusal by inflating sums they couldn't defend as income. To correct the first refusal they could have given it ample time before reapplying. Then the family members would pay her maintenance money steadily for 6 months into her account to support the claim she's supported by family (that's if the claim of self emplyment is untrue). Furthermore the applicant quoted she was self employed earning £224 monthly and then £904 within a short period. Ah Ah!!! What a boom in business It is gonna be difficult correcting this impression now. Iif you make a claim you earn a certain amount and your bank statement does not reflect this, it is automatic refusal unless you can prove otherwise.

I would advise the applicant gives it some time before reapplying. Also reduce the amount of time to spend in the UK.

My final questions for now are:
1. Is the claim of £904 monthly earnings true? Not True - she is a petty trader and her yearly approximate profit was written instead.
2. Did the applicant's son inlaw (sponsor) receive any calls from the ECO throughout the applications? - Yes they called them

Questions answered above
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by missoredipe(f): 2:06pm On Aug 24, 2017
Solatium:

I strongly suspect this applications are packaged by Different agents or same agent who thinks the computing systems forgets.

This is going to be a tough one to address,3 refusals all within months I guess.....The ECO knew there had been some figure falsification just like the first respondent pointed out,and they will hold on to that till eternity,another thing that might have counted against is the response that there is no dependant(which is like a home tie) as it was quoted in the second refusal letter,it simply indicates she can choose not to come home again.I will advise the applicant to forget about UK visa application for at least a year to build a solid account turn over and healthy balance,if truly she trades,she should make sure she gathered invoices and receipts from where she buys her supplies (Reputable shops and suppliers) she can then give it a go after a year....but for now nothing will change

Thank you Solatium...They would proceed as advised.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Stormyweather(m): 2:34pm On Aug 24, 2017
Brightingsus:

I do not understand what u mean by regularity in the application and chance of increase

The fact that the UK sponsor would pay for everything does not mean the applicant would not have funds in their account. Do not make that mistake pls.
thanks what I meant was, how to increase one's chance of getting the visa. The applicant has funds tho. The regularity i meant was in documents submitted. I knew someone who was denied for irregularities or something like that
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by Brightingsus: 2:38pm On Aug 24, 2017
McGibson:
Justwise brightingsus Ekpotek tatpat

I was denied visa. the reason is this

I would say rather sad, but what does the refusal letter say?
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by fakmurphy(m): 2:42pm On Aug 24, 2017
Thanks everyone for contributing to this great institution because for me nairaland is more than a forum. Today i got back my 2 kids passports with their visa while waiting for my wife's own.
Biometrics was done 2.8.17 at ikeja got Sheffield email on 15th decided on 20th on ukvi. tls update on 21 and 22 no mail regarding the wife's own but decided same day.
Re: General UK Visa Enquiries - Part 3 by irenmwinfo(m): 3:06pm On Aug 24, 2017
blessedgeorgeus:

What type of Visa to you intend to Process?
actually am so naive about this but it's an invitation. So tell me the types of visa you are talking about. Thanks and waiting for your response

(1) (2) (3) ... (308) (309) (310) (311) (312) (313) (314) ... (674)

USA Visit Visa Part 2 / Nairobi Photos (kenya): A Beautiful East African City / General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16

Viewing this topic: 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 80