Stats: 3,148,899 members, 7,802,908 topics. Date: Saturday, 20 April 2024 at 03:01 AM

Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? - Religion (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? (20008 Views)

Was Judas Iscariot A Hero? / Did Judas Iscariot Betray Jesus Or Help Him Fulfill The Scripture? / Let's Stop Blaming Judas Iscariot, He Doesn't Deserve To Be Blame. (2) (3) (4)

Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by ensamy(m): 1:35pm On Apr 01, 2018
Judas Iscariot and Jesus were the only ones from Judea, the rest of the Apostles were Galileans. Judas fulfilled a mission Jesus ordered him to do as he gave Judas the sop Satan entered his body. Judas never believed any human can bind and crucify Jesus but he saw it and so the suicide.
Peter committed a greater sin than Jesus by denying him thrice. So Judas performed a role with the help of Satan that Jesus opened the door for him to possess Judas and then the betrayal. Hero then.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by jy2kbeyond(m): 1:37pm On Apr 01, 2018
ayofe72:
Judas betrayed Prophet Issa (A.S.W) Jesus. And he paid the supreme price of been nail on the cross and not Jesus. Allah took Jesus to heaven and put the image of Jesus on Judas.

I really wish many will understand the real story. Thumbs up man.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by Nobody: 1:38pm On Apr 01, 2018
Judas Iscariot is not a hero. He was destined to betray his master.

His doom wasn't because he betrayed his master. True, it was a great crime he committed by betraying his master, yet that wasn't what condemned him to hell.

Peter, denied Jesus 3times during the beginning of the end.

In my opinion, the sin of denial is even worse than that of betrayal.

Yet, one disciple went to hell, the other became the first head of the Church and is now a saint in heaven.

Here's the difference,

Peter was sorrowful that he denied his master and ASKED for forgiveness and mercy.

Judas on the other hand despaired and in his heart believed that he could never be forgiven because his sin was greater than God's mercy. So he killed himself.

If he had asked for forgiveness, he would have been forgiven, after all the good thief on the cross "stole" paradise with his remorseful words.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by OSUigbo: 1:39pm On Apr 01, 2018
lestat:

Exactly it seems even he didn't expect mankind to react they way they did by murdering him.. that was anplain murder orchestrated by the churches then

Same would.haooen today if he came.to Nigeria . Imagine a common dude preaching everyday in Abuja and all the church members from Christmas embassy , KICC, Catholic church, winners chapel, redeemed etc started going to hear him preach instead of going to their respective churches these same.men of God today would come together and go and meet buhari and say this man is trying to form buafra just so they don't loose the moneied they get from offering and pledges and if buhari happens to interview and tell them he finds no guilt in him they will tell osibanjo to tell him that if he doesn't crucify that man he will.loose the Christian support in coming elections and poor buhsti being a human and politician will have make a wrong choice of washing his hands and crucifying him

This was what before the son of God

He was murdered plain and simple and the churchodified the teachings to hide this crime to further there earthly claim to power and control by saying he came to die for you?

That's plain wrong

How can a perfect good who can.trun stones to humans send his son to commit suicide then it won't be wrong to take ones loved ones place in a court of law when one is to be sentenced to death! If man's laws that are no where near perfect will never permit this injustice is it God's laws that are perfection that would ?

Anyhow you've said....

I just believe the whole thing is a conspiracy.

A true God will punish anyone who disobeys his laws if he wants to.
It's senseless that God would need a blood sacrifice of his innocent son before he is appeased and before he can forgive human'sins. God shouldn't be a ritualist.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by UncleJudax(m): 1:40pm On Apr 01, 2018
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by kingBenedict: 1:43pm On Apr 01, 2018
Emmahunk:
As we celebrate the death and resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ, Christians all over the World are joyous because without His resurrection, our faith would have been in vain.
It is also pertinent to know that without the betrayal of Christ by one of the disciples, Judas, Christ would not have been killed and the resurrection would not have taken place. This automatically means that the SCRIPTURES would not have been fulfilled.
As crazy as it sounds, I have been wondering why the name of someone who played this vital role is today synonymous with leprosy. It's so bad that you hardly find people answering the name Judas.
Why is this the case? What do you really think is the reason for this?
Please men of God in the house, help me with answers.
Should Judas be seen truly as a traitor or hero? Or both?
1. Na mumu post be this 2. Everything worked according to God's plan, if he didn't use Judas then he would have used another person...scriptures had to be fulfilled 3. Judas also means Jude, He was called Judas Iscariot cos he was from Kerioth (a town in Judah)...Judas Iscariot simply means Jude, the man from Kerioth 4. Shey you go wan name your pikin Judas when you know wetin Judas be for everybody mind....
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by galileeteo(m): 1:48pm On Apr 01, 2018
Judas is carrot

Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by Nobody: 1:56pm On Apr 01, 2018
A lot of Nigerians are Judases. Religious and follow Christ about, but not true believers.

When Mary Magdalene broke the perfume alabaster box at the feet of Jesus, Judah's spoke up and said

'what a waste, shouldn't this perfume be sold and given to the poor'. Then Jesus replied dt the poor ull always have among you & they should allow the woman her act of worship.

Many Nigerians, just like oap freeze, make this same statement everyday. It's not because they love the poor, it's because they do not TRULY believe dt there is a God worth worshipping. And secretly wish all dt money was theirs. Sin comes very easily to pple like this, so not surprised he sold him for some coins.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by amnesty7: 1:56pm On Apr 01, 2018
Emmahunk:
As we celebrate the death and resurrection of our Lord Jesus Christ, Christians all over the World are joyous because without His resurrection, our faith would have been in vain.
It is also pertinent to know that without the betrayal of Christ by one of the disciples, Judas, Christ would not have been killed and the resurrection would not have taken place. This automatically means that the SCRIPTURES would not have been fulfilled.
As crazy as it sounds, I have been wondering why the name of someone who played this vital role is today synonymous with leprosy. It's so bad that you hardly find people answering the name Judas.
Why is this the case? What do you really think is the reason for this?
Please men of God in the house, help me with answers.
Should Judas be seen truly as a traitor or hero? Or both?
"...My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?"
Even Jesus didn't want to die for anybody's sins.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by MetalJigsaw(m): 1:57pm On Apr 01, 2018
stephleena:
Judas,is never a hero..but rather the seed of the serpent..now take a look @Genesis chapter 3:15.
I will put enmity between thy seed and the seed of the woman, it shall bruise thy head and thou shall bruise his heel..
The seed of the woman,eve was Jesus christ,and for that prophecy to come to pass,the seed of the woman and the seed of the serpent,(Judas)came into a final contest..though he disguised himself, but was later brought to light, in the book of john,chapter 13:vs 37.
and we all know,the seed of the woman ,Jesus triumphed,which has brought us all to grace
the serpent is always a traitor, and shall continue to be,he's always cunny and never straight,so are his seeds.. Judas the seed,is a traitor.
quite unfortunate most Christians don't understand the bible to the in depth part of it..and that's why we have so many misinterpretation of the word.. May God help us.
I'd like to discuss with you in private
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by ensamy(m): 1:57pm On Apr 01, 2018
ayofe72:
Judas betrayed Prophet Issa (A.S.W) Jesus. And he paid the supreme price of been nail on the cross and not Jesus. Allah took Jesus to heaven and put the image of Jesus on Judas.
My brother it was Jesus or prophet Issa as you call him that was crucified.
Evidence: When he was arrested at the garden the soldiers all fell on the ground when he identified himself
Secondly, he never cursed the people that crucified him but forgave them, that's power of forgiveness.
Thirdly, non of his bones were broken as it was the custom of the jews to not leave them on the cross on sabath day, on coming to him he was dead already.
and when he gave up the ghost the curtain of the Jewish temple was turned into two with earthquarkes that the spirits of many saints were seen.
Lastly, he died at his own will, because the bible says he bowed down his head and gave up the ghost. It's only dead that bow down the head, but when head is bowed before dead then it's him that died at his will. Remember he said I have the power to lay down my life and the power to take it up, no one can take it away from me.

Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by Nobody: 1:59pm On Apr 01, 2018
crownedprinz:

Not really.... At some point in Time he didn't might not have believed that Jesus would resurrect..He didn't ultimately believe in Jesus else he wouldn't have traded him for gold.......After everything happened.and he realized Jesus was truly King..it dawn on him and His doom fell on him

Contrary to your opinion, I think he knew how powerful Jesus was, but he thought Jesus would miraculously get away from the Roman army as always. But lo and behold it was the appointed time for the son of man to die.

Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by walls01: 2:00pm On Apr 01, 2018
OSUigbo:

This is so illogical and stupìd comprehend.
Why must Jesus Die for anyone's sin?
Must someone die before 'God' will be happy?

u dont understand the significant of his death. by dying he completed his mission on earth.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by karli4nia(m): 2:01pm On Apr 01, 2018
stephleena:
Judas,is never a hero..but rather the seed of the serpent..now take a look @Genesis chapter 3:15.
I will put enmity between thy seed and the seed of the woman, it shall bruise thy head and thou shall bruise his heel..
The seed of the woman,eve was Jesus christ,and for that prophecy to come to pass,the seed of the woman and the seed of the serpent,(Judas)came into a final contest..though he disguised himself, but was later brought to light, in the book of john,chapter 13:vs 37.
and we all know,the seed of the woman ,Jesus triumphed,which has brought us all to grace
the serpent is always a traitor, and shall continue to be,he's always cunny and never straight,so are his seeds.. Judas the seed,is a traitor.
quite unfortunate most Christians don't understand the bible to the in depth part of it..and that's why we have so many misinterpretation of the word.. May God help us.

And how do you uunderstand the bible if I may ask? What makes u think this sophism you just posted is correct...
There are Christian scriptures I believe u mayn't have even heard of let alone studied.. If not u won't come up with all this..
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by MetalJigsaw(m): 2:03pm On Apr 01, 2018
5thElement:
Judas Iscariot is not a hero. He was destined to betray his master.

His doom wasn't because he betrayed his master. True, it was a great crime he committed by betraying his master, yet that wasn't what condemned him to hell.

Peter, denied Jesus 3times during the beginning of the end.

In my opinion, the sin of denial is even worse than that of betrayal.

Yet, one disciple went to hell, the other became the first head of the Church and is now a saint in heaven.

Here's the difference,

Peter was sorrowful that he denied his master and ASKED for forgiveness and mercy.

Judas on the other hand despaired and in his heart believed that he could never be forgiven because his sin was greater than God's mercy. So he killed himself.

If he had asked for forgiveness, he would have been forgiven, after all the good thief on the cross "stole" paradise with his remorseful words.
There's no better way to put this. Your simply spot on.

Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by SweetJoystick(m): 2:04pm On Apr 01, 2018
stephleena:
Have you ever read Revelation 21, 10-14? If he was what you painted him to be, I don't think God will honor him in the verse quoted by having his name there
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by karli4nia(m): 2:05pm On Apr 01, 2018
JumpeStreeter:
A traitor by human actions, a Hero by God's plan

More like it. Judas was the most advanced disciple of Jesus the Christ. He was specially chosen to play the most difficult role in the drama of the christ.

Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by stephleena(f): 2:08pm On Apr 01, 2018
amnesty7:

"...My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?"
Even Jesus didn't want to die for anybody's sins.
Jesus,wept and broke down because he was still in the form of human..he felt the pains,Jesus didn't cry or made that statement, because he never wanted to die for humans,but due to the way the death came,the horrible pains and all..that's why Jesus totally understand how it feels to feel dejected, rejected and bruise,because he was once on this nature of ours..now do yourself good by reading Luke 23:46.and when Jesus had cried,with a loud voice the said,Father into thy hands I commend my spirit.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by adexpa(m): 2:08pm On Apr 01, 2018
Judas person was a vow disciple who devoted and dedicated his life to serve christ his master, but devil who came into his life for a short time and made him lover of money should be called betrayal. Judas was as good as other disciples, he committed to christ like others until when christ was due for cross. You will agree that the perpetration was carried out within few hours when devil was in charge, and judas regretted his action immediately. We can see that judas person does not like what he did, but he could not controlled it because he was under influence. Judas person was a disciple, but for fulfilment of law, he was made a betrayal.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by OSUigbo: 2:10pm On Apr 01, 2018
walls01:

u dont understand the significant of his death. by dying he completed his mission on earth.
Who told you that rubbish?
Did Èlíjà died (according to your bible)
Death doesn't have any significance. Some animals don't die... Some jellies...

The big question you have been hypocritically avoiding is;

WHY IS IT IMPORTANT THAT HE DIES BEFORE GOD CAN FORGIVE HUMANS SINS?

WHY SHOULD THE BLOOD OF AN INNOCENT NAN BE SHED BEFORE GOD IS APPEASED?

IS GOD A RITUALIST?
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by amnesty7: 2:11pm On Apr 01, 2018
stephleena:

Jesus,wept and broke down because he was still in the form of human..he felt the pains,Jesus didn't cry or made that statement, because he never wanted to die for humans,but due to the way the death came,the horrible pains and all..that's why Jesus totally understand how it feels to feel dejected, rejected and bruise,because he was once on this nature of ours..now do yourself good by reading Luke 23:46.and when Jesus had cried,with a loud voice the said,Father into thy hands I commend my spirit.
The number one hoax in history is this CruciFICTION. How could a player in the whole act suddenly complain of being forsaken and forget about his role in the drama?

Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by stephleena(f): 2:12pm On Apr 01, 2018
amnesty7:

The number one hoax in history is this CruciFICTION. His could a player in the whole act suddenly complain of being forsaken?
in as much,aso h
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by victorazyvictor(m): 2:12pm On Apr 01, 2018
TroubleMaker47:
How can he be a traitor when he was the only one brave enough to fulfill the prophecy? undecided

Son of man shall be killed BUT woe be unto him that his blood will be required from his hand.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by bezimo(m): 2:13pm On Apr 01, 2018
Judas is synonymous with betrayal..thats why it was prophesied about him who will be used to filfill that purpose.

Do you know it was Peter that was going to be used by the devil to betray Jesus..but Jesus stood in the gap for him and spoiled satans plan for peter....then Satan entered Judas as stated in the scriptures and moved him to betray Jesus.
Luke 22:3 Then entered Satan into Judas surnamed Iscariot, being of the number of the twelve.[i][/i]

The betrayal and death of Jesus was a clearly well ochestrated plan by satan and his demonic agenda to end Jesus ministry..but they didnt know how they were playing into Gods agenda for the redemption of mankind...thats why a regret statement was made saying if they had known..they wont have crucified him.

1cor2:8 Which none of the princes of this world knew: for had they known it, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by walls01: 2:15pm On Apr 01, 2018
OSUigbo:

Did Èlíjà died?

IS GOD A RITUALIST?

u clearly dont understand. he would have just died when he was born as a sacrifies for all. he came with a mission his death is a victory that he completed it
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by stephleena(f): 2:15pm On Apr 01, 2018
amnesty7:

The number one hoax in history is this CruciFICTION. How could a player in the whole act suddenly complain of being forsaken and forget about his role in the drama?
lol...u just cancelled itself by calling crucifixion hoax..I would rather use my precious time to devour this meat,down to its bones to arguing over "drama"..
have done this,long ago.
if u don't mind join me..
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by Nobody: 2:17pm On Apr 01, 2018
lestat:
I have asked several pastors this question, if indeed the son of God came to commit suicide then Judas act was not one of betrayal but fulfilment meaning he didn't commit a crime hence the guilt and his suicide wasn't necessary. He should be a saint then? Why then did Lord Jesus say father forgive them for they know not what they do? Why ask for forgiveness for mankind when indeed they fulfilled the prophesized suicide ?
you are derailed
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by lonikit: 2:25pm On Apr 01, 2018
abrahamadadhe:

This is where the problem of Freewill and Determinism comes
Are human action predestined or they have the freewill to control their actions?...
there is freewill sir. prophecy of death from God came to Hezekiah but he rejected it and so it was, same prophecy came to eli and he accepted it and so it was. God actually choosed Samson from the womb and yet he misbehaved and Hannah willingly offered Samuel and he abide in Gods temple till death. I believe in freewill sir.
I stand to be corrected.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by Nobody: 2:31pm On Apr 01, 2018
Gggg102:

and that another person would be condemned for fulfilling the prophecy.
sure. For fulfilling evil prophesy. There are so many evil prophesies in the Bible but no body name attached to them. Our choices and decisions in life would determine if we are gonna fulfill the good or evil prophecies. In the book of deuteronomy, God said gave them two options (life and death) but advised them to choose life.
According to John's account, Judas Iscariot has always been a covetous person and regularly stole from the purse. He went in and out with the other 11, heard all of Jesus sermon but never got rid of his covetousness and greed until he it led him to him destruction
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by brainhgeek(m): 2:34pm On Apr 01, 2018
What does Judas, Joseph's brother and Satan (in the life of Job) have in common?
They meant it for evil but God brought out the good in it.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by Nobody: 2:37pm On Apr 01, 2018
OSUigbo:

Did Èlíjà died (according to your bible)

IS GOD A RITUALIST?
human mind is too small to understand God's ways. Besides, Jesus only died for 3days and within those days he went to the realms of death and secure eternal salvation for mankind. The Jesus i serve is resurrected and glorified.
Re: Who Really Is Judas Iscariot: A Traitor Or Hero? by lonikit: 2:37pm On Apr 01, 2018
Lomprico2:

Are u calling judas satan?
no but he was used by Satan according to that scripture

Katsina Govt To Demolish 99 Year Old ECWA Church / ‘Sam Adeyemi And The Tithe’ by Deji Yesufu / Is It Wrong For A Christian To Obtain A Chieftaincy Title?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 73