Stats: 3,143,309 members, 7,780,730 topics. Date: Thursday, 28 March 2024 at 08:55 PM

The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes - Religion (37) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes (208048 Views)

Poll: Tithe-paying is

An old-testament law: 55% (74 votes)
A new-testament requirement too: 44% (60 votes)
This poll has ended

Imagine You Own This Ride And Your Pastor Asked You To Sow A Seed With It / The Truth Your Pastor Would Not Tell You About Tithes: Tithing Is Unscriptural U / What Apostle Paul Had To Say About Tithes And Other Heretic Teachings (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (34) (35) (36) (37) (38) (39) (40) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by petra1(m): 11:39am On Sep 13, 2018
OkaiCorne:

Can you give examples of gentiles who God also asked to tithe?

Does God need to his them special instruction ? There was a structure of how to worship God. Even for proselytes

Exodus 12:49
49 One law shall be to him that is homeborn, and unto the stranger that sojourneth among you.

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by OkaiCorne(m): 12:19pm On Sep 13, 2018
petra1:

Does God need to his them special instruction ? There was a structure of how to worship God. Even for proselytes

Exodus 12:49
49 One law shall be to him that is homeborn, and unto the stranger that sojourneth among you.

Did the gentiles tithe? Yes or no

Look at the key word in the verse you posted there "SOUJOURNETH AMONG YOU"

Doesn't it tell you that gentiles were never any under obligation to tithe as well? ... Unless of course you (as a gentile) were resident in Israel as a farmer or cattle rearer

This law you're talking of...does it apply to Christians too?

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by OkaiCorne(m): 12:28pm On Sep 13, 2018
petra1:

great is thy wisdom. ko ni tan mbe.

That means one has to obey all of the Laws either the weightier parts or less weightier parts isn't it?

Later you all say you are no longer under the Law...

Self contradiction...

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by petra1(m): 2:39pm On Sep 13, 2018
OkaiCorne:

That means one has to obey all of the Laws either the weightier parts or less weightier parts isn't it?

Later you all say you are no longer under the Law...

Self contradiction...

i consented to the inteligent question he asked you. i am not an advocate of the law. my position has always been that tithes ,offerings,worship,fasting,intercession etc are principles in the kingdom of God just like any other kingdom principles. They transcend dispensations except issues where higher laws were given . eg animal blood vs blood of christ

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by OkaiCorne(m): 3:27pm On Sep 13, 2018
petra1:

i consented to the inteligent question he asked you. i am not an advocate of the law. my position has always been that tithes ,offerings,worship,fasting,intercession etc are principles in the kingdom of God just like any other kingdom principles. They transcend dispensations except issues where higher laws were given . eg animal blood vs blood of christ

You're not an advocate of the law....but you missed the part of the question where image123 mentioned WEIGHTIER MATTER OF THE LAW & LESS WEIGHTIER MATTER OF THE LAW... and you still see that as an intelligent question? And yet you are not an advocate of the Law?

How is tithing a principle in the kingdom of God?

Was this what Paul and the Apostles taught the early church? I know of freewill giving... But tithing?

If tithing was an eternal principle... can you point out any of the early Christians (both Jewish and Gentile) that gave tithes either in the Bible or church history?

Image123 is yet to give evidence of any of the Apostles or early church leaders preaching about tithing or collecting tithes from the early Christians... Do you have proof that tithing was practiced in the early church?

It is very clear that the Roman Catholic church smuggled in tithing... Sufficient historical evidence abounds to support this...
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by OkaiCorne(m): 6:59pm On Sep 13, 2018
mobiyina537:
your tithes.There's no need to beat around the bush.Hebrews compares
Christ to Melchizedek and says he is greater than the Levites
.So today we pay
our tithes to Christ and don't have to send it to Shiloh temple or to some
Isreali rabbi.

A few questions... did the Apostles collect tithes on behalf of Christ in the early church?

Did they mention Christians (both Jewish and Gentiles) have to tithe?

Any evidence from the Bible or from Church History?

I am wondering why this was addressed to the Hebrews alone...and not also to the gentile Christians in Corinth, Galatia, Rome, Thessalonica, Ephesus, Colossia e.t.c.

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by Nobody: 8:41pm On Sep 13, 2018
Image123:

The JUST shall live by faith. Giving is part of my life, and whatever i give is by faith. Everything one gives is a percentage of something, isn't it?

Yap, but not all percentage is necessarily 10. Shey?

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 7:25am On Sep 14, 2018
The Word say's it clearly, the tenth of the spoils of stolen goods..So if I was to win a war and retrieved everything that didn't belong to me, isn't right for me to give it back to it's rightful owner.
Abraham done just that, and you call it a gentile tithe..
Image123:

Oga, get a Bible and stop all these poster color nonsense.
Heb_7:2  To whom also Abraham gave a tenth part of all; first being by interpretation King of righteousness, and after that also King of Salem, which is, King of peace;
Heb_7:4  Now consider how great this man was, unto whom even the patriarch Abraham gave the tenth of the spoils.

A tenth is 10%, there is no way you can or should twist it to 100%

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 7:31am On Sep 14, 2018
Abraham gave tithes because it was a custom to tithe-he gave because he didn't need stolen goods, he was to honest enough to return it, and to repay his respects, he gave to their custom..
Which you don't, you give to receive back, your giving is not from the desires of your heart, you have made it into your own law, that Gentile's should tithe..
Which isn't God's law.
Image123:

i did my research. Guess what? i found out that Abraham gave tithes before the law. He gave a tenth before any early church doctrine. He is referred to by Paul as the father of them that believe. There is no sin in emulating his beautiful example. The faith walk is a personal walk based on God and His Word, and not based on academic research so called.

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 7:42am On Sep 14, 2018
It must be hard to "Lie" in wait-when lying about tithes..Did Melchizedek heal the sick, did he save the world, did he die for us-Melchizedek gathered tithes, Christ gathered none-tithers believe Melchizedek is Christ-do we pray to Melchizedek or do we pray to Christ?
I suppose more tithes to Melchizedek are more blessings, if you don't tithe to Melchizedek this week do it double the next week!
Jesus said: give to your brother in need, I just can't find the verse to say give to your RICH PASTORS..
{Deuteronomy 15:7-11}
“If among you, one of your brothers should become poor, in any of your towns within your land that the Lord your God is giving you, you shall not harden your heart or shut your hand against your poor brother, but you shall open your hand to him and lend him sufficient for his need, whatever it may be. Take care lest there be an unworthy thought in your heart and you say, ‘The seventh year, the year of release is near,’ and your eye look grudgingly on your poor brother, and you give him nothing, and he cry to the Lord against you, and you be guilty of sin. You shall give to him freely, and your heart shall not be grudging when you give to him, because for this the Lord your God will bless you in all your work and in all that you undertake. For there will never cease to be poor in the land. Therefore I command you, ‘You shall open wide your hand to your brother, to the needy and to the poor, in your land.’
So if tithing is giving, then give it to the poor, that is what giving is all about isn't it? Giving: to God's people, not actually trying to create a giving tactic to give to a rich Pastor who feeds of your tithes in the proceeds. Claiming he/she stands for God.
We all stand for God-where's my wager-born again Christians come in one accord with different gifts, preaching the same Gospel!
But if your heart is elsewhere and the gospel of prosperity of riches is on your heart then the gospel you preach is not the gospel in the bible..

{Matthew 6:1-4}
“Beware of practicing your righteousness before other people in order to be seen by them, for then you will have no reward from your Father who is in heaven. “Thus, when you give to the needy, sound no trumpet before you, as the hypocrites do in the synagogues and in the streets, that they may be praised by others. Truly, I say to you, they have received their reward. But when you give to the needy, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, so that your giving may be in secret. And your Father who sees in secret will reward you.
And yet tithers sound a trumpet, they let the people know they are coming to tithe..
mobiyina537:
your tithes.There's no need to beat around the bush.Hebrews compares
Christ to Melchizedek and says he is greater than the Levites.So today we pay
our tithes to Christ and don't have to send it to Shiloh temple or to some
Isreali rabbi.

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 8:51am On Sep 14, 2018
petra1: Is Catholic, they don't call their giving a tithe, because there main focus is on purgatory and indulgence, they believe paying into there treasury, saves them abundantly, it's a get out of Hell card, it saves them from burning.
But I suppose tithers, believe tithing blesses them, the more they tithe, God's building their mansions in heaven..
OkaiCorne:

You're not an advocate of the law....but you missed the part of the question where image123 mentioned WEIGHTIER MATTER OF THE LAW & LESS WEIGHTIER MATTER OF THE LAW... and you still see that as an intelligent question? And yet you are not an advocate of the Law?

How is tithing a principle in the kingdom of God?

Was this what Paul and the Apostles taught the early church? I know of freewill giving... But tithing?

If tithing was an eternal principle... can you point out any of the early Christians (both Jewish and Gentile) that gave tithes either in the Bible or church history?

Image123 is yet to give evidence of any of the Apostles or early church leaders preaching about tithing or collecting tithes from the early Christians... Do you have proof that tithing was practiced in the early church?

It is very clear that the Roman Catholic church smuggled in tithing... Sufficient historical evidence abounds to support this...

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by Ubenedictus(m): 9:12am On Sep 14, 2018
brocab:
petra1: Is Catholic, they don't call their giving a tithe, because there main focus is on purgatory and indulgence, they believe paying into there treasury, saves them abundantly, it's a get out of Hell card, it saves them from burning.
But I suppose tithers, believe tithing blesses them, the more they tithe, God's building their mansions in heaven..
Catholics don't pay for indulgence no more. you guys show correct your own shit
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by Image123(m): 9:40am On Sep 14, 2018
JMAN05:

Yap, but not all percentage is necessarily 10. Shey?

Good. Seeing you agree that everything one gives is a percentage of something, we should all give our percentages in peace and faith, shouldn't we?
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 3:40pm On Sep 14, 2018
Maybe you don't believe-but if indulgence doesn't exist, then Wikipedia must be lying to the public. Selling Forgiveness: How Money Sparked the Protestant Reformation-if indulgence doesn't exist then this video of a priest below is lying to the public..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YxWzxnk1KY
It's the money that had destroyed the kingdom of God, "man would love Mammon more then they Love God..Why do we have so many verses in the bible that was against Mammon, Satan said: bow down before me, and I will give you everything you ask..
Ubenedictus:
Catholics don't pay for indulgence no more. you guys show correct your own shit
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 4:02pm On Sep 14, 2018
I couldn't live with myself, if I had to give God such a small percentage, I couldn't live with myself if I had to convince myself that tithing is biblical.
Image123:

Good. Seeing you agree that everything one gives is a percentage of something, we should all give our percentages in peace and faith, shouldn't we?
I couldn't live with myself, if I lied to God about your message above, It's even more difficult if I had to stand on a pulpit, lying to the Church, how God expects them to pay the Pastor a rich salary every week, while the poor retrieves none.
How do I live with myself if I had told the Church, the more they tithe abundantly to God, the more blessings they receive-God blesses only those who pay tithes. I couldn't live with myself, if I had told the Church God blesses some 30 fold, some 60 fold, and a 100 fold money back guarantee.

Image123:

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by Image123(m): 4:11pm On Sep 14, 2018
brocab:
I couldn't live with myself, if I had to give God such a small percentage, I couldn't live with myself if I had to convince myself that tithing is biblical. I couldn't live with myself, if I lied to God about tithing, It's even more difficult if I had to stand on a pulpit, lying to the Church-how God expects them to pay the Pastor a rich salary every week, how God blesses more of those who tithe more abundantly.
I couldn't live with myself, if I had told the Church God blesses some 30 fold, some 60 fold, and a 100 fold money back guarantee.

Eeyah, sorry about that. Me, I'm already dead. You should try to be.
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 4:15pm On Sep 14, 2018
The Spirit that is in me, is alive and well! Since you believe you are dead-try asking God, for the same Spirit..
Image123:

Eeyah, sorry about that. Me, I'm already dead. You should try to be.
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by Image123(m): 4:26pm On Sep 14, 2018
brocab:
The Spirit that is in me, is alive and well! Since you believe you are dead-try asking God, for the same Spirit..

Listen very carefully. I am dead, I don't need to live with myself. You should try it.
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by plainbibletruth: 6:33pm On Sep 14, 2018
Topic: Is Tithing Relevant to Christian Age?
By Tim Iwe (Evang) 07038669369

Introduction
It is quite a blessing to have the privilege of writing an article like this at a time that this subject is in the airwave. There may not have been a best time to discuss this than now. My appreciation goes to Lusada congregation for creating the platform to share this special information so that many will not be ignorant of the will of God (1Thess.4:13). It is said that if you are not informed, you will be deformed. Christianity is an area that many are deformed from time to time due to acceptability of different personality as authority instead of looking for that which is right from the Holy book. The Pharisees asked Jesus “…by what authority do you do these things and who gave you that authority” (Matt.21:32) There is need to find out the source of authority of your action especially on matters of faith for false teachers are in the field deceiving many.
The subject of tithe paying have been a heated argument in the Christian faith from time to time. I call your attention to some reasons in the written word of God concerning this subject. I plead with you to examine the reasons stated below so that you can know that you are obeying God when you pay tithe or not. An action comes from faith in God when it is according the will of God (Heb.11:6) and the will of God is written in the book of life.

Origin of tithe in Ancient Palestine

In the first place, where did Abram who first gave tithe to Melchizedek (Gen.14) got the idea from? There was no law given to our Patriarchal fathers like Adam, Noah, Abram, Isaac and even Jacob to pay tithe. According to the work of Let Us Reason Together, (2009) “Giving a tithe (a portion) was not just a practice by Israel, in ancient history it was practiced throughout the Middle East. It was income for the king and his kingdom, like a tax. It may be regular, voluntary or prescribed by law of a certain country. The Egyptians were required to give a fifth part of their crops to Pharaoh (Gen. 47:24). Abraham, Jacob and others were familiar with this principle being in foreign lands; however, it was not yet given as a command for their nation.

How and Why did Abraham and Jacob paid tithe?
Let us now call attention to one misconception about Abram and tithe paying. There are many who make reference to Abraham today when they want to pay tithe. Paul made it clear that we are children of Abraham by faith (Rom.4:1) Let me shock you first by opening your eye to this truth that reading well about the first tithe recoded in the Bible, you will understand that Abraham did not even give tithe from his possession. Read the statement again. I mean it and that is the truth. He paid tithe only once in his life time. It was not commanded but incidental. He gave tithe from the spoils that he brought back with him from a war (Gen.14:1-18). He gave away ten percent of other people’s captured commodities (Heb.7:4) Note that verse 4 of Hebrews chapter 11 calls it “spoils” Let me also make you to understand that Abraham did not even take any part of what he used in paying that tithe home (Gen.14:21-24) You can now see that Abraham did not became rich because he paid tithe. He was rich before paying tithe once for life which was not from his possession. The tithe Abraham paid is NOT by command but a free will offering. Abraham was never taught or instructed by God to give a tenth, nor did he discover the law of tithing.
As recorded in Genesis 28: 20: ”And Jacob vowed a vow, saying, If God will be with me, and will keep me in this way that I go, and will give me bread to eat, and raiment to put on, So that I come again to my father’s house in peace; then shall the LORD be my God: And this stone, which I have set for a pillar, shall be God’s house: and of all that thou shalt give me I will surely give the tenth unto thee.” This second case recorded before the law of Moses was done once too. Why take a command from what these men decided to do on their own not commanded by God?

Law of tithe among the Jews

Let us now look briefly into the law of tithe given to the children of Israel and see if it is the same with what is going on in so called godly assembly today. Because of space, it will be in an outline format here but it will be understandable too. Akpobọmẹ (2018) in his work on tithe classified the OT tithe into 4.
1. The Main Tithe: all Israelites were commanded to pay this to the Levitical priests (Num.18:19-32; Mal. 3:7-10). See also Deut.18:3-8; Neh. 13:10-12).
2. Yearly Tithe: every Jewish family is expected to celebrate once every year with their families in Jerusalem or a selected location by God (Deut.14:22-27; 2Ch.6:6).
3. The Third Year Tithe: This was a communal fellowship for the poor, the widows, and the strangers, which was celebrated before God once every three years. It was equally important under the Law of Moses just like the other tithes (Deut. 14:28, 29).
4. The Tithe of Tithes: This was the tithe to be given by the Levitical priests to God from the tithe they collected from the Israelites (Num.18:25-28).

It is Disobedience to Pay tithe with Money
There is another important eye opener we want to show you now. Are you ready for the shocker? It is act of disobedience to God for a Priest to collect tithe from a fellow Priest (Num.18:21,24,26) for the Levites were not allowed to have inheritance. It is also showing a high level of disrespect to the grace of God today to pay tithe with money. Yes, the reason is that such kills the purpose of the tithe (Deut.14:24-26) God did not ask Israel to give their money but to give food items. It seems to me that you are saying in your mind that is what I have today. If God is omniscient, then He knows that you have money today but did not ask you to pay money as tithe. The Jews had money then too but God asked for products from them not money (Deut 26:13)

The Change of Priesthood and its Implication
It is painful that the most confusion that exist in Christian faith today is as a result of many not accepting that God has done away with the laws of Moses. It is not a challenge that stated today, even the Jews find it very difficult to accept that simple truth. That was the war between them and Paul in his earthly ministry. The author of the Book of Hebrews in Chapter 7 gave a analysis that concluded in verse 12 with this statement “For the priesthood being changed, of necessity there is also a change of the law” Why are many people fighting God today who made it clear that He had done away with the first covenant upon which the law was set. He has done away with the Levitical priesthood upon which tithe was set. Please, can take a break and read the bible passages below and your eye of understanding will open to these simple truth. (2Cor.3:6-12;Heb.10:9,10;Rom. 7:1-7; Col. 2:14,16; Gal. 3:24,25)

Divine law of Giving in Christianity
You then may be wondering how will the church care for her workers and meet her daily needs and mission projects. Like most other organizations, the church needs financial income to accomplish her work. Knowing this, God has authorized churches to raise funds by taking up collections from the members (1 Cor. 16:1,2; 2 Cor. 8 & 9; Acts 4:32-5:11; 11:27-30; 2:44,45). However, the principle guiding collection by Christians is different from the one guiding the payment of tithe.
Let Us First Give Our Lives to God’s work freely today
Our lives presented as holy offering on the water of baptism for the remission of sins is what is most important to God (Acts.2:36-42) The kingdom of God on earth in a composition of those who have given their lives to be guided by the doctrine of the Apostles (Acts 2:42) They are saints whose minds are going through transformation daily till it gets to perfection (Rom. 12:1-2) These are disciples who have been taught and determined to give according to their ability.. (See also 2 Cor. 8:12; Mark 12:41-44; Matt. 25:14-30.)

Conclusion
The law of old was interested in the physical or the man while the law of liberty in Christ is interested in the heart of man and why you do what you are doing. Giving is one way you show your service to God and it must be done as you propose in your heart, cheerfully and not by compulsion. Tithe is of compulsion and therefore is a cause in this dispensation to any to pay it and fail in other laws (Gal.3:10) God loves a cheerful giver.

Work Cited

1. Diffrẹ-Odiete Akpobọmẹ New Testament Christianity
and Payment of Tithe (2018)

2. http://www.letusreason.org/doct54.htm

3. Wiersbe , Warren W. The Bible Exposition Commentary: Old Testament © 2001-2004 by All rights reserved

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by MuttleyLaff: 6:53pm On Sep 14, 2018
plainbibletruth:

Introduction
It is quite a blessing to have the privilege of writing an article like this at a time that this subject is in the airwave. There may not have been a best time to discuss this than now. My appreciation goes to Lusada congregation for creating the platform to share this special information so that many will not be ignorant of the will of God (1Thess.4:13). It is said that if you are not informed, you will be deformed. Christianity is an area that many are deformed from time to time due to acceptability of different personality as authority instead of looking for that which is right from the Holy book. The Pharisees asked Jesus “…by what authority do you do these things and who gave you that authority” (Matt.21:32) There is need to find out the source of authority of your action especially on matters of faith for false teachers are in the field deceiving many.
The subject of tithe paying have been a heated argument in the Christian faith from time to time. I call your attention to some reasons in the written word of God concerning this subject. I plead with you to examine the reasons stated below so that you can know that you are obeying God when you pay tithe or not. An action comes from faith in God when it is according the will of God (Heb.11:6) and the will of God is written in the book of life.

In the first place, where did Abram who first gave tithe to Melchizedek (Gen.14) got the idea from?
There was no law given to our Patriarchal fathers like Adam, Noah, Abram, Isaac and even Jacob to pay tithe.
According to the work of Let Us Reason Together, (2009) “Giving a tithe (a portion) was not just a practice by Israel, in ancient history it was practiced throughout the Middle East.

It was income for the king and his kingdom, like a tax.
It may be regular, voluntary or prescribed by law of a certain country.
The Egyptians were required to give a fifth part of their crops to Pharaoh (Gen. 47:24).
Abraham, Jacob and others were familiar with this principle being in foreign lands;
however, it was not yet given as a command for their nation.

Let us now call attention to one misconception about Abram and tithe paying. There are many who make reference to Abraham today when they want to pay tithe. Paul made it clear that we are children of Abraham by faith (Rom.4:1) Let me shock you first by opening your eye to this truth that reading well about the first tithe recoded in the Bible, you will understand that Abraham did not even give tithe from his possession. Read the statement again. I mean it and that is the truth. He paid tithe only once in his life time. It was not commanded but incidental. He gave tithe from the spoils that he brought back with him from a war (Gen.14:1-18). He gave away ten percent of other people’s captured commodities (Heb.7:4) Note that verse 4 of Hebrews chapter 11 calls it “spoils” Let me also make you to understand that Abraham did not even take any part of what he used in paying that tithe home (Gen.14:21-24)

You can now see that Abraham did not became rich because he paid tithe.
He was rich before paying tithe once for life which was not from his possession.
The tithe Abraham paid is NOT by command but a free will offering.
Abraham was never taught or instructed by God to give a tenth, nor did he discover the law of tithing.

As recorded in Genesis 28: 20: ”And Jacob vowed a vow, saying, If God will be with me, and will keep me in this way that I go, and will give me bread to eat, and raiment to put on, So that I come again to my father’s house in peace; then shall the LORD be my God: And this stone, which I have set for a pillar, shall be God’s house: and of all that thou shalt give me I will surely give the tenth unto thee.”
This second case recorded before the law of Moses was done once too.
Why take a command from what these men decided to do on their own not commanded by God?

Let us now look briefly into the law of tithe given to the children of Israel and see if it is the same with what is going on in so called godly assembly today. Because of space, it will be in an outline format here but it will be understandable too. Akpobọmẹ (2018) in his work on tithe classified the OT tithe into 4.
1. The Main Tithe: all Israelites were commanded to pay this to the Levitical priests (Num.18:19-32; Mal. 3:7-10). See also Deut.18:3-8; Neh. 13:10-12).
2. Yearly Tithe: every Jewish family is expected to celebrate once every year with their families in Jerusalem or a selected location by God (Deut.14:22-27; 2Ch.6:6).
3. The Third Year Tithe: This was a communal fellowship for the poor, the widows, and the strangers, which was celebrated before God once every three years. It was equally important under the Law of Moses just like the other tithes (Deut. 14:28, 29).
4. The Tithe of Tithes: This was the tithe to be given by the Levitical priests to God from the tithe they collected from the Israelites (Num.18:25-28).

There is another important eye opener we want to show you now. Are you ready for the shocker? It is act of disobedience to God for a Priest to collect tithe from a fellow Priest (Num.18:21,24,26) for the Levites were not allowed to have inheritance. It is also showing a high level of disrespect to the grace of God today to pay tithe with money. Yes, the reason is that such kills the purpose of the tithe (Deut.14:24-26) God did not ask Israel to give their money but to give food items. It seems to me that you are saying in your mind that is what I have today. If God is omniscient, then He knows that you have money today but did not ask you to pay money as tithe. The Jews had money then too but God asked for products from them not money (Deut 26:13)

It is painful that the most confusion that exist in Christian faith today is as a result of many not accepting that God has done away with the laws of Moses. It is not a challenge that stated today, even the Jews find it very difficult to accept that simple truth. That was the war between them and Paul in his earthly ministry. The author of the Book of Hebrews in Chapter 7 gave a analysis that concluded in verse 12 with this statement “For the priesthood being changed, of necessity there is also a change of the law” Why are many people fighting God today who made it clear that He had done away with the first covenant upon which the law was set. He has done away with the Levitical priesthood upon which tithe was set. Please, can take a break and read the bible passages below and your eye of understanding will open to these simple truth. (2Cor.3:6-12;Heb.10:9,10;Rom. 7:1-7; Col. 2:14,16; Gal. 3:24,25)

You then may be wondering how will the church care for her workers and meet her daily needs and mission projects. Like most other organizations, the church needs financial income to accomplish her work. Knowing this, God has authorized churches to raise funds by taking up collections from the members (1 Cor. 16:1,2; 2 Cor. 8 & 9; Acts 4:32-5:11; 11:27-30; 2:44,45). However, the principle guiding collection by Christians is different from the one guiding the payment of tithe.
Our lives presented as holy offering on the water of baptism for the remission of sins is what is most important to God (Acts.2:36-42) The kingdom of God on earth in a composition of those who have given their lives to be guided by the doctrine of the Apostles (Acts 2:42) They are saints whose minds are going through transformation daily till it gets to perfection (Rom. 12:1-2) These are disciples who have been taught and determined to give according to their ability.. (See also 2 Cor. 8:12; Mark 12:41-44; Matt. 25:14-30.)

Conclusion
The law of old was interested in the physical or the man while the law of liberty in Christ is interested in the heart of man and why you do what you are doing. Giving is one way you show your service to God and it must be done as you propose in your heart, cheerfully and not by compulsion. Tithe is of compulsion and therefore is a cause in this dispensation to any to pay it and fail in other laws (Gal.3:10) God loves a cheerful giver.

Work Cited

3. Wiersbe , Warren W. The Bible Exposition Commentary: Old Testament © 2001-2004 by All rights reserved

MuttleyLaff:
Abraham tithing wasnt even voluntary and discretionary

Abraham, simply was following a customary practice that needed to be carried after successful win(s) of fighting a battle or war.

Abraham gave tithe under a custom law of that prevailing society setting,
this compelled him to give a tenth of war spoils to a king cum priest of considerable or worthwhile repute

The first appearance of tithing, in the bible, does get a first mention between Melchizedek and Abraham
however, the truth is, neither Melchizedek and Abraham started the 10% giving otherwise known as tithing,
As a matter of fact, tithing was a prevailing practice in the secular world of the Mesopotamia bible day times of that era

Abraham didnt take up arms and go into battle again, so there was no reason for Abraham to tithe again,
and so no reason to tithe to Melchizedek or to any other local ruler cum priest worthy of consideration

This is why there is not another mention of Abraham repeating an act of giving tithe again

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by Ubenedictus(m): 6:57pm On Sep 14, 2018
brocab:
Maybe you don't believe-but if indulgence doesn't exist, then Wikipedia must be lying to the public. Selling Forgiveness: How Money Sparked the Protestant Reformation-if indulgence doesn't exist then this video of a priest below is lying to the public..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1YxWzxnk1KY
It's the money that had destroyed the kingdom of God, "man would love Mammon more then they Love God..Why do we have so many verses in the bible that was against Mammon, Satan said: bow down before me, and I will give you everything you ask..
I didn't say there are no indulgence, I said Catholics pay for indulgence no more. some bishops were using it to make money. the church reform such practices and made sure nobody was made to pay for indulgence.

as I said it is time you guys handle your own poo.
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by MuttleyLaff: 7:02pm On Sep 14, 2018
Ubenedictus:
I didn't say there are no indulgence, I said Catholics pay for indulgence no more.
some bishops were using it to make money. the church reform such practices and made sure nobody was made to pay for indulgence
Examples. Like what?

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by OkaiCorne(m): 7:55pm On Sep 14, 2018
plainbibletruth:

Introduction

In the first place, where did Abram who first gave tithe to Melchizedek (Gen.14) got the idea from? There was no law given to our Patriarchal fathers like Adam, Noah, Abram, Isaac and even Jacob to pay tithe. According to the work of Let Us Reason Together, (2009) “Giving a tithe (a portion) was not just a practice by Israel, in ancient history it was practiced throughout the Middle East. It was income for the king and his kingdom, like a tax. It may be regular, voluntary or prescribed by law of a certain country. The Egyptians were required to give a fifth part of their crops to Pharaoh (Gen. 47:24). Abraham, Jacob and others were familiar with this principle being in foreign lands; however, it was not yet given as a command for their nation.

Let us now call attention to one misconception about Abram and tithe paying. There are many who make reference to Abraham today when they want to pay tithe. Paul made it clear that we are children of Abraham by faith (Rom.4:1) Let me shock you first by opening your eye to this truth that reading well about the first tithe recoded in the Bible, you will understand that Abraham did not even give tithe from his possession. Read the statement again. I mean it and that is the truth. He paid tithe only once in his life time. It was not commanded but incidental. He gave tithe from the spoils that he brought back with him from a war (Gen.14:1-18). He gave away ten percent of other people’s captured commodities (Heb.7:4) Note that verse 4 of Hebrews chapter 11 calls it “spoils” Let me also make you to understand that Abraham did not even take any part of what he used in paying that tithe home (Gen.14:21-24) You can now see that Abraham did not became rich because he paid tithe. He was rich before paying tithe once for life which was not from his possession. The tithe Abraham paid is NOT by command but a free will offering. Abraham was never taught or instructed by God to give a tenth, nor did he discover the law of tithing.
As recorded in Genesis 28: 20: ”And Jacob vowed a vow, saying, If God will be with me, and will keep me in this way that I go, and will give me bread to eat, and raiment to put on, So that I come again to my father’s house in peace; then shall the LORD be my God: And this stone, which I have set for a pillar, shall be God’s house: and of all that thou shalt give me I will surely give the tenth unto thee.” This second case recorded before the law of Moses was done once too. Why take a command from what these men decided to do on their own not commanded by God?

Conclusion

Work Cited

Cc: image123. I hope you can see the obvious facts on tithing here.

I'll be waiting for you to use Matthew 23 v 23 to defend yourself... and then later on claim that you are no longer under the Mosaic Law...

Tithing was not practiced in the early church...the Roman Catholic church smuggled it in with one of their synods.

Also...God never asked for tithe to be given monetarily. If you want to tithe, do it as God instructed it...

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by OkaiCorne(m): 9:00pm On Sep 14, 2018
brocab:

It's nauseating how people tell lies and twist the scriptures just for money...

1) They'll say Abraham is their role model on tithing ...but they downplay the part where Abram tithed only once in his lifetime, which was from the spoils of war.

2) Then they try to refer to Matthew 23 v 23 as their shield of defense ... but will never agree that Jesus was referring to tithing done in line with the Mosaic Laws... When you ask if they as Christians are under the Mosaic Law...then they say they're no longer under the Law, but yet still insist tithing ought to be done undecided

up till now... they have not shown any evidence from the Bible or church history where the Apostles and early church leaders asked the Christians to tithe...

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 10:45pm On Sep 14, 2018
Really it doesn't matter-Uben again you are flying of the handle-indulgence purgatory, is the same as tithing, it's about the Church needing more money every week, and what better way is to lie' that money can save lives? Catholic's believed Indulgence can stop you from burning in hell for eternity, it is good news to hear the Catholic's had stop portraying lies for the Money-but the damage had already began, it will take years before the Catholic's would know any truth-most Catholic's haven't seen a bible, let alone reading one!
I don't believe the Church would back down if someone confessed there sins to a priest, and paid: that extra cash of indulgence and purgatory. The priest would accept it with flying colours-he wouldn't even mention it, he would keep his mouth shut-instead of saying-keep your money the Church was wrong for teaching that lie, he would put your money into the treasury and your sins are forgiven..
Ubenedictus:
I didn't say there are no indulgence, I said Catholics pay for indulgence no more. some bishops were using it to make money. the church reform such practices and made sure nobody was made to pay for indulgence.

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 10:46pm On Sep 14, 2018
Thanks bro, l see things-about man a little different then some, "Man is, by nature, a depraved being who does not seek God in any way.
Until his heart is changed by the Spirit of God, he will not seek God, nor can he. God’s Word is incomprehensible to him.
{I always wondered how does one choose to stay off track, when God had called him/her into His kingdom, does this mean a tithers heart has not been changed in the Spirit to even try to understand the Spirit of God is trying to teach them scripture?}
It is a knowing fact that the unregenerate man is unrighteous, worthless, and deceitful. His heart and mind-his mouth is full of bitterness and cursing, his heart is inclined toward bloodshed, he has no peace, and there is no “fear of God before his eyes” {Romans 3:10-18}.
It is only after he has been made a new creation in Christ that his heart and mind are changed toward God, man now sees truth and understands spiritual things. {1 Corinthians 2:14; 2 Corinthians 5:17}.
{"Not God-but Man decides-a tithing system to gain what is unbiblical" Is it worth the risk-is this man' a man of God-does this mean corruption begins at the door of man.}
OkaiCorne:

It's nauseating how people tell lies and twist the scriptures just for money...

1) They'll say Abraham is their role model on tithing ...but they downplay the part where Abram tithed only once in his lifetime, which was from the spoils of war.

2) Then they try to refer to Matthew 23 v 23 as their shield of defense ... but will never agree that Jesus was referring to tithing done in line with the Mosaic Laws... When you ask if they as Christians are under the Mosaic Law...then they say they're no longer under the Law, but yet still insist tithing ought to be done undecided

up till now... they have not shown any evidence from the Bible or church history where the Apostles and early church leaders asked the Christians to tithe...

Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by MuttleyLaff: 10:49pm On Sep 14, 2018
brocab:
petra1: Is Catholic, they don't call their giving a tithe,
because there main focus is on purgatory and indulgence, they believe paying into there treasury, saves them abundantly,
it's a get out of Hell card, it saves them from burning.

petra1: Is Christ Embassy and not Catholic brocab

Ubenedictus who quoted your comment is a self-proclaimed Catholic
and reason why he responded to your post with:
"Catholics don't pay for indulgence no more. you guys show correct your own poo"

I've asked Ubenedictus, for examples, of the sh!t, he knows, that should be corrected
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 11:06pm On Sep 14, 2018
Thank's-so petra1 is a Christ Embassy-I had always believed he was Catholic "right" another megachurch that's found by pastor Chris Oyakhilome then what's all the big fuss about tithing-the tithing system should be common to him..
MuttleyLaff:
petra1: Is Christ Embassy and not Catholic brocab

Ubenedictus who quoted your comment is a self-proclaimed Catholic
and reason why he responded to your post with:
"Catholics don't pay for indulgence no more. you guys show correct your own poo"

I've asked Ubenedictus, for examples, of the sh!t, he knows, that should be corrected
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by MuttleyLaff: 11:54pm On Sep 14, 2018
brocab:
Thank's
- so petra1 is a Christ Embassy
- I had always believed he was Catholic
"right" another megachurch that's found by pastor Chris Oyakhilome then what's all the big fuss about tithing
- the tithing system should be common to him.
Thats the thing, Petra1 is a staunch advocate of tithing
and he is one for that matter, who strongly supports & endorses monetary/monetized tithing up to the hilt
He regularly remits accrued tithes to Christ Embassy Headquarters at Oregun, in Lagos.
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by brocab: 2:47am On Sep 15, 2018
Ok thanks for the input-next time I will read his pages more clearly-interesting, thanks-another one on the hit list, well by his photo's he isn't one that carries a pocket full of money. So if tithing isn't really working for anybody then they need to stop tithing!.
Looking at petra1 photo he doesn't look like a rich man, if tithing is his main goals, then he needs to prove this by his structure 'looking at him he smiles like a poor man-his cheap clothing tells the story!
Have you ever seen a rich man's structure, everything about a rich man, his pride, a rich man is all about money, and what fits in with money "Everything without God..
This is one of the reasons I know tithing doesn't support a poor man's theories.
We see rich men and women always, and we see the middle class men and women always-but sadly tithing had made Petro1 to poor to recognise he even exist.
MuttleyLaff:
Thats the thing, Petra1 is a staunch advocate of tithing
and he is one for that matter, who strongly supports & endorses monetary/monetized tithing up to the hilt
He regularly remits accrued tithes to Christ Embassy Headquarters at Oregun, in Lagos.
Re: The truth your pastor would not tell you about tithes by MuttleyLaff: 6:01am On Sep 15, 2018
brocab:
Ok thanks for the input
- next time I will read his pages more clearly
- interesting, thanks
- another one on the hit list, well by his photo's he isn't one that carries a pocket full of money.
So if tithing isn't really working for anybody then they need to stop tithing!.

Looking at petra1 photo he doesn't look like a rich man,
if tithing is his main goals, then he needs to prove this
by his structure 'looking at him he smiles like a poor man-his cheap clothing tells the story!
Have you ever seen a rich man's structure, everything about a rich man, his pride, a rich man is all about money,
and what fits in with money "Everything without God..

This is one of the reasons I know tithing doesn't support a poor man's theories.
We see rich men and women always, and we see the middle class men and women always
- but sadly tithing had made Petro1 to poor to recognise he even exist.
Looks can be deceiving.

Were you expecting him putting on draping and flowing agbada or babaringa?

Nothing in the pic tells a hardship or poverty story
He looked every inch rich, clean and well groomed to me in the pic.
He had neat hair, chic clothes on, as in the high street branded pair of jeans and jacket, that fitted him well.
The beaming smile on his face showed, a satisfied and contented person, at peace with himself and God.

Petra1 will be LOL reading your comments
He'll probably admit to the "I am a Small structure, with a big God" sanitised version expression.
Some might look small, but dont be deceived by that structure or appearance,
because unbeknownst to you, they're actually are big in terms of financial power and philanthropy

(1) (2) (3) ... (34) (35) (36) (37) (38) (39) (40) (Reply)

The Doctrine Of The Ufos / Must Read!!why And How I Became A Satanist / Post Yoruba Christian Hymns Here

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 166