Stats: 3,167,142 members, 7,867,320 topics. Date: Friday, 21 June 2024 at 01:49 PM

Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 - Travel (198) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 (1184406 Views)

Uk Student Visa/tier 4 Pbs - Your Questions Answered Part 6 / General German Student Visa Enquiries Part 6 / Canadian Express Entry/federal Skilled Workers Program- Connect Here Part 6 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (195) (196) (197) (198) (199) (200) (201) ... (453) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by dere5: 6:25am On Oct 07, 2018
Weperwema:
Hello Everyone,

Please I need clarifications on an issue bothering my mind.Is it a must that a baby born in the United States must be taken back within one year after being taken out to Naija after birth? The baby has 5yrs expiration on the American Passport .Thanks and God Bless

It is not a must for the baby to be taken back to the US after a year in naija. You don't even need to go to America to renew his/her passport after expiration, you can do that at the American embassy in Lagos or Abuja

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by ozymes: 10:46am On Oct 07, 2018
Location please?
curiouslearner:
Sorry about your visa being revoked.
My interview was on Wednesday 5th.
I had my doctors correspondence and Hospital correspondence from Dr Xydas and HNWMC.
The VO took time to look through each of them as well as my bank statements. Here is my transcript.
VO- Good Morning
Me- Good Morning
VO- May I have your passport please?
Passed it over to him.
VO - Why are you going to the US?
Me- I am going to the US to have my baby born there.
VO- Where are you planning to go?
Me - Houston Texas
VO- Y do you want to have your baby born there?
Me- I want to give my child the privilege of dual citizenship.
VO- What do you do?
Me - I am a ......
VO- Can you explain that?
Me - Explained further and he nodded his head.
VO- Are you married and do you have kids?
Me- Yes I am married and I have two kids. Gave their ages.
VO- Where does your husband work?
Me - He works with XYZ as a ......
VO- Have you got any doctors correspondence?
Me - Yes and hands them over and he also asked for my bank statements which I passed to him along with my budget sheet.
VO- Looks through Nd took a great deal of time checking through.
VO - Have you travelled before?
Me- No but my husband has travelled severally.
VO - Where has he been to?
Me- He had been to ...
The VO was really patient, he went through the statements and asked questions for bulk transfers. I answered honestly and after a while he hands Me the white paper.

I had initially applied with my family but we were denied on the grounds of no strong. So i applied alone and prayed like I have never done before.
The VO didn't ask y I was initially denied.I think in all God was truly involved. I am due in December. Thanks for your contributions.
I "d say don't give up because I almost did. I paid for Visa fee three times and got an agent to get me a close date.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by chibertha(f): 12:03pm On Oct 07, 2018
To get a closer date keep looking at the page especially after COB and early morning .

Maggie0133:
How do I get a closer interview date and how much does it cost

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Nobody: 12:25pm On Oct 07, 2018
dere5:

I don't know of any website for IDL. You get it from the Police and not from Road safety o. And if I might ask, why do you need it? If it is to use in America, I will advice against it, use your normal naija license, the one issued by Road safety and you'll be Ok. I know for sure that Police in Atlanta don't recognize the IDL, but they accept the normal naija one, that has a barcode at the back that they can swipe/scan on their machine and all your details will appear. Same thing too if you want to rent a car also.

Oooo okay thanks for this ; I’m going to Houston actually and I usually have both handy that’s why I was asking for the website
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by debopopson: 2:55pm On Oct 07, 2018
Hello House,
Good job going on here...I have been getting quotes from hospitals and surprisingly I don't seem to get anything close to the amounts mentioned here...e.g. oakbend sent me a quote of 5,450usd, JPS Network in Dallas forthworth sent an hospital bill of 9,000usd, Emory hospital, GA sent a bill of 9,888usd (all inclusive), etc

on Instagram I see people offering ridiculous offers in different states and they will tell u that payment will be made to the hospital and it sounds real.

I try to look for such discounts. ..where do I see them??
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by adycatus: 4:41pm On Oct 07, 2018
Good day gurus in the house.pls how can someone book an appointment for the embassy to Notorize baby's document frm Nigeria. I heard it's online now. Is it the same website we book for Visa appointment? How long does it take to get a date? Pls help a sister.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Seyeedat: 8:39pm On Oct 07, 2018
Hello house, is it necessary to go for the interview with host's statement of account since he/she isn't the one sponsoring the trip? what documents must the host provide aside from invitation letter? Help please.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Mamaiyanu: 8:07am On Oct 08, 2018
If you ask me, most of what those agents post are scams. When you get there, they would eventually keep asking for more money. Happened to someone I know. Best to do all your research and stuff yourself.

Oakbend used to be one of the cheapest but they recently increased their fees.

Hnwmc is now the cheapest in Houston , 2k for hospital, but apparently it's now being flagged by the visa officers, so you need to be really careful. There are also some hospitals in California that are quite cheap.

Truth is giving birth in us costs a lot of money, prepare your mind for a minimum of 10k all inclusive, but know that depending on your location, it can go to as high as 15k to 25k

debopopson:
Hello House,
Good job going on here...I have been getting quotes from hospitals and surprisingly I don't seem to get anything close to the amounts mentioned here...e.g. oakbend sent me a quote of 5,450usd, JPS Network in Dallas forthworth sent an hospital bill of 9,000usd, Emory hospital, GA sent a bill of 9,888usd (all inclusive), etc

on Instagram I see people offering ridiculous offers in different states and they will tell u that payment will be made to the hospital and it sounds real.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Mamaiyanu: 8:08am On Oct 08, 2018
https://ng.usembassy.gov/u-s-citizen-services/local-resources-of-u-s-citizens/notaries-public/

adycatus:
Good day gurus in the house.pls how can someone book an appointment for the embassy to Notorize baby's document frm Nigeria. I heard it's online now. Is it the same website we book for Visa appointment? How long does it take to get a date? Pls help a sister.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Mamaiyanu: 8:12am On Oct 08, 2018
Don't stress yourself out with getting documents. The visa officers hardly look at the piles of documents we bring because they believe we can forge them.

Focus on what you say with your mouth (the vo actually told my husband this).

The most important document for you is your bank statement, all other ones would likely not be looked at.

That said, me I still took everything I could just in case grin but it wasn't looked at.

You can get some documentation from your host for poe, but I don't think it's necessary for the interview. Just have general info about your host handy...address, what they do, their status etc

Seyeedat:
Hello house, is it necessary to go for the interview with host's statement of account since he/she isn't the one sponsoring the trip? what documents must the host provide aside from invitation letter? Help please.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by folmus: 9:48am On Oct 08, 2018
[quote author=Seyeedat post=71809499][/quote]
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Mycoffee: 11:39am On Oct 08, 2018
Hello House,

I am due in January and planning to go have my baby in Houston (WHMC).

Found an accommodation along Richmond avenue Westchase area( very close to the hospital) about 2mins.

The accommodation is for 6 months reduced rate as against the 3 months rate (which am interested in).

1. Please anyone going to Houston for delivery in February and looking for accommodation? Pls inbox me. We can meet in lagos mainland or island.

2. Or anyone already in Houston Richmond area with accommodation looking for someone to take up existing rent from November/December should please get in touch.

3. Any Info/assistance on how I can get a very affordable private accommodation around that area in November/December will also be most appreciated.

Seriously looking for someone to split apartment rent with to save cost.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Seyeedat: 1:09pm On Oct 08, 2018
Mamaiyanu:
Don't stress yourself out with getting documents. The visa officers hardly look at the piles of documents we bring because they believe we can forge them.

Focus on what you say with your mouth (the vo actually told my husband this).

The most important document for you is your bank statement, all other ones would likely not be looked at.

That said, me I still took everything I could just in case grin but it wasn't looked at.

You can get some documentation from your host for poe, but I don't think it's necessary for the interview. Just have general info about your host handy...address, what they do, their status etc

thanks a lot for your response.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Vgil100: 1:11pm On Oct 08, 2018
Vgil100:
Pls help oh! Can someone give me format for the change of Intent letter.Also pls the email address to send it.Thanks for the usual help!

Pls someone help oh!

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by ladeonas: 9:23am On Oct 09, 2018
curiouslearner:
Sorry about your visa being revoked.
My interview was on Wednesday 5th.
I had my doctors correspondence and Hospital correspondence from Dr Xydas and HNWMC.
The VO took time to look through each of them as well as my bank statements. Here is my transcript.
VO- Good Morning
Me- Good Morning
VO- May I have your passport please?
Passed it over to him.
VO - Why are you going to the US?
Me- I am going to the US to have my baby born there.
VO- Where are you planning to go?
Me - Houston Texas
VO- Y do you want to have your baby born there?
Me- I want to give my child the privilege of dual citizenship.
VO- What do you do?
Me - I am a ......
VO- Can you explain that?
Me - Explained further and he nodded his head.
VO- Are you married and do you have kids?
Me- Yes I am married and I have two kids. Gave their ages.
VO- Where does your husband work?
Me - He works with XYZ as a ......
VO- Have you got any doctors correspondence?
Me - Yes and hands them over and he also asked for my bank statements which I passed to him along with my budget sheet.
VO- Looks through Nd took a great deal of time checking through.
VO - Have you travelled before?
Me- No but my husband has travelled severally.
VO - Where has he been to?
Me- He had been to ...
The VO was really patient, he went through the statements and asked questions for bulk transfers. I answered honestly and after a while he hands Me the white paper.

I had initially applied with my family but we were denied on the grounds of no strong. So i applied alone and prayed like I have never done before.
The VO didn't ask y I was initially denied.I think in all God was truly involved. I am due in December. Thanks for your contributions.
I "d say don't give up because I almost did. I paid for Visa fee three times and got an agent to get me a close date.

wise decision applying alone. i wish you safe delivery.

enjoy your trip
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by ladeonas: 9:25am On Oct 09, 2018
DeeandGLady:
Congrats dear God favor and grace was yours, honestly I think male VO’s are just the best honestly they are so so patient. Am due early next year, I wish I have faith like you to keep trying but I have been heart broken about this issue and I just want to heal.

God would go before you, if you decide to re-apply and the visa process is psychology
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by ladeonas: 9:44am On Oct 09, 2018
DeeandGLady:
Hello All,
I feel a lot better now to talk about it so others can learn. My Visa was REVOKED recently on the day of my mums interview. If you recall my previous post, my mom was to have her interview although I wanted to change her interview date until am gone but there were no dates available before my delivery and I will be having a CS, so we prayed and trusted God that all will be fine with her interview, I even asked if ones visa could be revoked, Little did I know it would happen to me and things will turn out this way. I really can’t type the whole transcript of what happened, I might take almost 4 Pages here if I do that besides am saving my energy for child birth. grin

I tried to reapply after the VO revoked my visa cos her last words were Madam you can reapply, go and reapply, I have written it here that you can reapply, but to my greatest surprise I found myself In front of the same VO who revoked my visa on the day of my interview (Yes oo same VO) and her problem was how did I get an interview date, (note this was about a month difference in date from my moms interview) she said they are fully booked and waiting period is 4 months so how did I get date, una see me see Wahala ba smiley infact if you know how that day also went you will cry for me and this baby, the things our eyes have seen and ears heard. But in all am thankful to God and I find Peace staying back to have my baby here, as I don’t know God’s will and plans for me and this baby but to wait on his will. In God’s hands lies our destiny no one can change that fact. Try do your best and leave the rest to God.

Please note, I have been to the US several times and I have never committed any crime Ooo I had also written to the embassy of my plans and got a reply from them (check my previous post) Before my mums interview.
I renewed my visa when I was not pregnant via interview cos my previous visa wasn’t issued in Nigeria so I didn’t qualify for drop box, My first baby was born in US, I paid all my bills and have all receipts , itemized bill and Zero balance letters, so I came clean in everything guys.
I had way above 20k dols for the trip in my statement.

I was invited in for questioning on the day of my mums interview after I dropped her off, she had already been given the white paper and asked to come and call me I don’t know who that VO went to consult that changed everything by the time I got in, while I was with her she kept going in an coming out, infact make I stop here, I don’t want to break down again, am putting the past behind me.

My Advice:
Stay away from cheap hospitals, HNWMC has a red flag with US VO, the miracle moment package given to self pay patients has something to do with insurance, read in between the lines on the document usually sent. They have a list of hospitals with red flag.

Make sure you have your Nigeria address on your child/Children’s birth certificates.

If you did not get your visa for birthing, send your letter of intent quietly, carry your self go US go born your pikin. Am reading about one sister trying to apply for her sister Biko sister hold on. Ladies once you have your visa, I beg manage your husband will be fine, go born come home, don’t complicate issues cos theses people are making things difficult for Nigerians these days. I forgot to mention that in September they passed a document that will make it difficult for Nigerian to get US visa, wish I can screenshot and post here so please let’s be careful.

After your birthing experience, before another missionary journey try travel elsewhere so you have good travel history.

Never stop saying the truth, Prepare well and Pray very well before your interview, so your village people go miss road, dey no go find you reach US embassy gate grin

Ehen ooo those going to have baby or those who are planning to come back and can help a sister with about 3-5kg of some very important items please indicate or PM me God go bless you for me grin

Sorry for the long post so you see that if I have to type the whole transcript part 1 and 2 some people will beat me here smiley

Thanks for sharing.

God's Grace is upon your home
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by ladeonas: 9:49am On Oct 09, 2018
demiiii:
Hello Nairalanders, am planning to go. On my 2nd missionary journey.

congratulations, safe delivery.
i went for my 2nd and last one this year , because i had triplets

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by ladeonas: 9:55am On Oct 09, 2018
demiiii:
Hello Nairalanders, am planning to go. On another missionary journey.

I need help based on the following.
I have been to the US with my 1st child who was born in Nigeria, we went on vacation after which I had my 1st missionary baby. I notified the embassy by mail with the change by letter of intent.
During the last travel for the missionary journey, I went alone but my husband later joined me and we came home together with the zero balance letters. My 1st child has not travelled since the vacation and I really wish she goes on this one to boost her visa opportunities.

The issue is i am ready for another missionary baby, our visa were renewed via dropbox in 2016 but we were unable to travel on vacation and I have not notified the embassy of the change since I renewed via Dropbox. I intend to to write them a mail at the embassy stating change of intent, but this is solely based on your advise. Now am ready to go on vacation but am also pregnant. This time, am travelling with my kids while my husband joins us later. I will not be due till early march 2019 but since am having multiples and I have read that they come way earlier than the singles.

My problem is I will be travelling late November with my two kids 5 and 3 while my husband joins me later.
I got a ticket for a one month period because I was confused as to how long the period on the ticket should be. There's no one to keep my kids with while I will be away as I did during the last missionary journey. I intend to extend the period on the ticket, depending on when my babies come. I will be staying with a family member for the period of the journey.

The reason for my early travel in late November 2018
1. I intend to enjoy my vacation before the baby comes while am still strong.

2. The fear of the unknown as to when the babies will arrive.

3. Visas expires in June 2019 and we are yet to use it.
The story of entering the USA with a minimum of 6 month period before the visa expiration date.

Am worried as to what the CBP officers may ask

1. If the date on the ticket is too long- 3 -4 months period - why the kids are taken away for that long out of school.
2. If its too short e.g like a month period till late December. I may be asked why the short period on the ticket, since I am also birthing during the period.

Am so confused. I have made up my mind to say vacation only but what if am given a one month visa like they did to a francophone lady. I need your candid advise.

Kindly advise me on the next step to take as I have read all through but, no one has this same case as mine.

Am not ready to take the risk. Hence, my reason for being here.

Thanks NAIRALANDERS

i had multiples too, triplets the ticket i booked for 4months.

the VO at POE didnot have any issues with it. i landed in LA and the questions were not serious.

why you are here and how long.

i wish you all the best with the bills. please see everyone involved in the delivery.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by nana101: 10:42am On Oct 09, 2018
Hi house. Please what is the earliest I can get Birth certificate ready and the US passport. Can I get the 2 documents 3 weeks after delivery ND is it advisable to travel when baby is 3 weeks or 4 weeks old.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by dere5: 11:00am On Oct 09, 2018
nana101:
Hi house. Please what is the earliest I can get Birth certificate ready and the US passport. Can I get the 2 documents 3 weeks after delivery ND is it advisable to travel when baby is 3 weeks or 4 weeks old.
It is possible to get everything done in 3wks,but it all depends on the state you are going to,its faster in some states compared to others, everything depends on how fast you can get the birth certificate . And yes, you can travel back with a 4wks old baby.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by sherryz123: 11:20am On Oct 09, 2018
I was back in Nigeria within 3 weeks of having my baby last year.

uote author=nana101 post=71921029]Hi house. Please what is the earliest I can get Birth certificate ready and the US passport. Can I get the 2 documents 3 weeks after delivery ND is it advisable to travel when baby is 3 weeks or 4 weeks old.[/quote]
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by chibertha(f): 1:44pm On Oct 09, 2018
That's a very good location for that hospital and for going around for shopping and other amusement locations.
Ask the accommodation owner if there are furniture in it at all.
I had same experience
Mycoffee:
Hello House,

I am due in January and planning to go have my baby in Houston (WHMC).

Found an accommodation along Richmond avenue Westchase area( very close to the hospital) about 2mins.

The accommodation is for 6 months reduced rate as against the 3 months rate (which am interested in).

1. Please anyone going to Houston for delivery in February and looking for accommodation? Pls inbox me. We can meet in lagos mainland or island.

2. Or anyone already in Houston Richmond area with accommodation looking for someone to take up existing rent from November/December should please get in touch.

3. Any Info/assistance on how I can get a very affordable private accommodation around that area in November/December will also be most appreciated.

Seriously looking for someone to split apartment rent with to save cost.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Wumzybabe: 1:51pm On Oct 09, 2018
Please help a sister, I will be travelling to the US by February, 2019. Due date is April,2019. My US visa will be expiring by May, 2019. My Intl passport is still valid.My question is Will they still give me up to 6 months for the period of stay?
Or should I go ahead at apply for drop box to extend my us visa.
I will be willing to read your responses.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by chibertha(f): 3:47pm On Oct 09, 2018
You just heard from the horse's mouth why not take it, but no you are looking to get it from the tortoise.
Continue na here we go dey when e go happen

debopopson:
Hello House,

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by chibertha(f): 3:49pm On Oct 09, 2018
The maximum you are given at anyone time as visitor is six months irrespective of the fact that your visa will expire tomorrow if you land today.
Wumzybabe:
Please help a sister, I will be travelling to the US by February, 2019. Due date is April,2019. My US visa will be expiring by May, 2019. My Intl passport is still valid.My question is Will they still give me up to 6 months for the period of stay?
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Akorkor(f): 4:00pm On Oct 09, 2018
Wumzybabe:

They will give you six month stamp even if you enter 30th April. No need to use drop box.
Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Mycoffee: 4:47pm On Oct 09, 2018
Wumzybabe:

I would suggest you do drop box before you travel to avoid any doubts or issues at Poe or during renewal.

I know drop box allows you a year after expiration to renew thereby eliminating the stress of going for interviews or getting interview dates. If you don't renew before it expires, it means you may have to return to naija before it expires in May to avoid issues.

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by najalady86: 5:38pm On Oct 09, 2018
Hello all, please does anyone know of any agent that can help with closer interview date? Please help a friend. Thanks in advance.

PS. I had my baby two weeks today at HNWMC. Hospital stay was great but we need to demand for better service from Dr. Xydas group. They seem to have started taking us for granted. Their visit to me at the hospital was like breezing in to say hello and out almost immediately. Meanwhile the Dr. on call didn’t even attend to my delivery. She only came in after I had put to bed. I mean, we actually pay a lot. I only had two drs visit before baby came. My two cents..

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Mamaiyanu: 6:50pm On Oct 09, 2018
My sister I agree with you about Dr Xydas. I paid the same amount for hospital and doctor, and I got my money's worth from the hospital. Sadly can't say the same about the doctor. I also had my baby before the doctor on call came, and when I was to be discharged, they just asked me one or two questions and that was it.

I felt like I just threw 2k away. I got better service from my nigerian gynaecologist.

najalady86:
Hello all, please does anyone know of any agent that can help with closer interview date? Please help a friend. Thanks in advance.

PS. I had my baby two weeks today at HNWMC. Hospital stay was great but we need to demand for better service from Dr. Xydas group. They seem to have started taking us for granted. Their visit to me at the hospital was like breezing in to say hello and out almost immediately. Meanwhile the Dr. on call didn’t even attend to my delivery. She only came in after I had put to bed. I mean, we actually pay a lot. I only had two drs visit before baby came. My two cents..

Re: Give Birth In USA: Cost And Procedures Part 6 by Nobody: 7:21pm On Oct 09, 2018
Mycoffee:

I would suggest you do drop box before you travel to avoid any doubts or issues at Poe or during renewal.

I know drop box allows you a year after expiration to renew thereby eliminating the stress of going for interviews or getting interview dates. If you don't renew before it expires, it means you may have to return to naija before it expires in May to avoid issues.

no please ma......she does not need to return to Naija to renew the visa in May....provided visa is valid in Feb when she travels to the US......she should be ok

(1) (2) (3) ... (195) (196) (197) (198) (199) (200) (201) ... (453) (Reply)

USA Visit Visa Part 3 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 17 / General Guide To Australian Permanent Resident Visa Through Skilled Migration.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 114