Stats: 3,161,985 members, 7,848,961 topics. Date: Monday, 03 June 2024 at 12:35 PM

Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? - Travel (7) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? (52469 Views)

Why Do Nigerians Become Less Religious When They Travel Abroad? / What Do Nigerians Do For A Living When They Travel Abroad? / Response To The Thread: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (24) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Nobody: 9:10pm On Dec 09, 2018
thebosstrevor:

i didnt come here to bash people but to ask questions. Since you callf me an hypocrite, i been abroad many times after i finish what i came to do i packed my load and move back home and i dont regret it. My idea of life is that i can make it in nigeria.

Story, ,,,tell us say na student visa u apply for

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by bayocanny: 9:11pm On Dec 09, 2018
wickyyolo:
The only reason I get back to naija is because of Power
I love political power more than money. I have set all necessary foundation, just waiting for my turn.
lol you sef wan chop from the national cake abi, you go meet me at the polling boot
Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by codemaniacs: 9:11pm On Dec 09, 2018
zz
Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Nobody: 9:11pm On Dec 09, 2018
1kingwriter:
I laugh in Swahili!

A friend of mine, a nurse moved to USA 5 months ago. She got her first pay check last week having worked for a month. As a starter in nursing, she earns $15 hourly and works on the average 16 hours : 15×16 = 240
Daily earning - $240
Monthly earnings - $6000
$6000 × N365 = N2,190, 000.00

Here in Nigeria she earns about N48, 000 monthly as a nurse here before moving to US.

If you divide her monthly earning in the US with what she earned monthly while here in Nigeria, that will be about 4 years earnings.

With the above picture, going abroad has it.

is she spending that salary in nigeria

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by bluefilm: 9:12pm On Dec 09, 2018
Ugosample:

does the country look like some thing that can be built?

As long as you keep thinking or believing it can't be built, it shall remain so.

Reason why?

Of course, as a man thinketh, so is he.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Nobody: 9:15pm On Dec 09, 2018
Contumely:

So you just converted dirham to naira and assumed you earn your 1 year alawee in a month?

Do you do expenses in naira?

Do you know economics at all?

Oga na ur abroad?
He said he is doing better than before
Y u day vex?

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by OlaPhils(m): 9:16pm On Dec 09, 2018
JUST BECAUSE THINGS WORKS WELL IN ABROAD.
JUST CHECK THE SKIN OF A TAXI DRIVER ABROAD AND COMPARE IT TO THAT OF A NIGERIAN

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by bluefilm: 9:16pm On Dec 09, 2018
thebosstrevor:

Good question.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by sirhamilton(m): 9:16pm On Dec 09, 2018
JustSomeDude:
Oga quiet. A large percentage of Nigerians have no idea about credits cards. Stop saying that shit just because you want to seem intelligent

What's your definition of a comfortable life?

* How many Nigerians come home from work each day hoping there's going to be electricity but end up going to barber shops to charge their phones
* A vast percentage of Nigerians have zero idea of what it feels like to turn on the tap in their bathrooms and have warm water on a daily basis.

*How about Paved roads, free education, free meals at school, scholarships to promising students,

I know several individuals who are just highschool leavers but they have jobs with which they can take care of their families ; Now mind you it's going to be a struggle in most cases. In Nigeria Msc degree holders are jobless.
I could go on and on. Not everyone who leaves Nigeria wants to be rich, they want have a better quality of life, give their kids (born or unborn) a better shot at having a comfortable life and help their family and loved ones back in Nigeria.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by mayze: 9:19pm On Dec 09, 2018
sirhamilton:

NGN300k / month VS USD500/ WEEK
Anyone who feels Nigeria is good enough for them to lead a successful life either comes from a wealthy background or do not care much for money or for their future
Keep deceiving urself..500usd a week indeed.how may people r making that kind of money over dia.I laff.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by sirhamilton(m): 9:20pm On Dec 09, 2018

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Phred1717: 9:21pm On Dec 09, 2018
The environment is better in abroad, the government even encourage small businesses, the people patronize their goods and services. Compare to what we have here... government is ready to frustrate the living day out of you..the people are praying you fail because they don't want you to be better than them..etc

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by hector: 9:21pm On Dec 09, 2018
thebosstrevor:
The only thing i read here is excuses. Many people just listing excuses and complains.

Some are scared to lose their I AM ABROAD EGO.

Stop the excuses and build your own country and stop adding to pains of so called developed countries.

May God almighty punish u severely. You are a wicked soul

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by kingkuntaval: 9:21pm On Dec 09, 2018
Nigeria is blessed in both human and material capital, but corruption won't allow our BASTARD leaders see the bigger picture to let it trickle it down to the every nigerian. By his grace , I know I'll be out this SHITHOLE in 2019. Baba God go come thru for him favourite pikin..

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by sweetmelanin(f): 9:22pm On Dec 09, 2018
thebosstrevor:

what is this one saying. Talking trash. YOU are just a capitalist slave trying to pay back uncle sam.soon you whole generation will be on debt.

Your melted brain will not allow you reason properly.
A well do to, intelligent and mature person can never speak the way you do.

It's people like you that come online to talk trash but if given legit papers to leave that hellhole, you will take it without question. Hypocrite!

Going and coming back from Nigeria as one pleases is a luxury those with foreign passports enjoy; in addition to travelling visa-free to most parts of the world... and I'm so sorry you will NEVER have such luxury kiss

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by mayze: 9:23pm On Dec 09, 2018
thebosstrevor:

They r still not getting your point.don't mind em.how many of em r really successful over dia.they can buy a brand new car with the money they make,can't buy a house,they can only send the money down here.if dollar to naira conversion changes to 1naira to a dollar..what ll be their fate.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by bujebudanu1(m): 9:24pm On Dec 09, 2018
Mad People everywhere.abroad is bad.abroad isn't easy but they won't come back.

Is my bro I will swear for next if he should ask me wat am coming to do in abroad

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by sweetmelanin(f): 9:27pm On Dec 09, 2018
6digitscomrade:
sharrap and stop trying so hard to be clever...I have been reading all your nonsense...You and your would be boss were just benefitting from our failed system which places high and ridiculous value on self confessed expatriates rather than employ same indegenously with the same qualification and knowledge of the terrain...

Internalize your frustrations or so called contentment...Let people chase their dreams wherever and however...

You sound like a person who would rather watch someone suffer in penury and ignore them only to appear later to come and interrogate their success..

Dont mind him... very bitter soul.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by naunasabi: 9:28pm On Dec 09, 2018
mayze:

Keep deceiving urself..500usd a week indeed.how may people r making that kind of money over dia.I laff.

That is 2k a month less than 2k euros which is about the average salary of BSc holders in Western Europe plus or minus depending on the country. Bros I know there are guys on the street but also there are people from Nigeria doing better jobs with better pay.

But money aside, whether you make more or less you live with dignity and your life has value. Valued by the society and respected by the law. Some of you will be quick to shout what about racism well in every human society there are shit heads that will always hate people for no reason. In the same vane I think the worse form of discrimination is the one you face in your own country.

Nigerians suffer more discrimination in Nigeria than elsewhere. Nigerians that are not from the North can't even live peacefully there without being discriminate against or treated different likewise those from the North coming to the South. What form of discrimination is worst than that which you encounter in your own country? You are being treated differently by the rich, being treated differently by the politician and on top of that being treated differently by foreigners running their businesses in Nigeria. The law enforcement agency that were supposed to protect you treat you differently based on your language or how much you'v got.

Bros Nigeria sucks!

12 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by sirhamilton(m): 9:28pm On Dec 09, 2018

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by sweetmelanin(f): 9:30pm On Dec 09, 2018
mayze:

They r still not getting your point.don't mind em.how many of em r really successful over dia.they can buy a brand new car with the money they make,can't buy a house,they can only send the money down here.if dollar to naira conversion changes to 1naira to a dollar..what ll be their fate .

I know that's what your jealous soul wishes but that will Never happen okay smiley Nigeria will forever remain in a perpetual state of rot.
Those who can leave should do so now before its too late.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by naunasabi: 9:31pm On Dec 09, 2018
mayze:

They r still not getting your point.don't mind em.how many of em r really successful over dia.they can buy a brand new car with the money they make,can't buy a house,they can only send the money down here.if dollar to naira conversion changes to 1naira to a dollar..what ll be their fate.

Bros are those things you typed up the definition of success to you? Have you ever considered that being successful means different thing to different people and painting it with a single stroke is a sign of faulty reasoning?

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by sweetmelanin(f): 9:33pm On Dec 09, 2018
hector:

May God almighty punish u severely. You are a wicked soul

Amen! He is already being punished sef.
By his posts you can sense the furstration.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Ugosample(m): 9:37pm On Dec 09, 2018
bluefilm:

As long as you keep thinking or believing it can't be built, it shall remain so.

Reason why?

Of course, as a man thinketh, so is he.

oga

most Nigerians are dead wood economically and mentally

There is a small pool of millennial Nigerians trying to help out in the country

But they are being stifled by the larger society of dead weight useless citizens

I'll tell you the honest truth

Except a progressive group in the form of say the Chinese communist party seizes power, suspends democratic elections and uses an iron fist to mould this country, put most crimes at the penalty of death and force development, Nigeria will remain a $hithole because most of its citizens are just a little above animals

selling their votes to the highest bidder and voting out of ethnic and religious sentiment

How can the democracy work in this system

my earlier proposition of force is the only thing that can save that $hithole country

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by sweetmelanin(f): 9:38pm On Dec 09, 2018
CaseSensitive:
Different strokes for different folks. I was in my early twenties when my life got filled with a lot of uncertainties as to where I'm gearing towards in life. I didn't think I was going to make it abroad, I just didn't see any prospect in sight back home in Nigeria. Dropped out of Uni because I was studying a course I had no ounce of interest in, which I had to or stay at home under my parents roof. Opportunity arrived to move to the UK and I didn't give it a second thought.

I came with dreams and hopes which is paying off. Now in my final year in University and course of choice while working part time for a mobile phone retailer company with a good chance of moving up the ladder.
I have friends who are happy with their security jobs and also have friends who have masters degree working in notable firms, from multinational engineering company to the NHS. I'm not here to tell a success story but considering I am literally a "nobody" back home where favouritism and nepotism has eaten deep into the system. I have no chance of attaining this achievements if I'm still in Nigeria.
Bottom line is, the system works here and everyone is given a fair chance. The system simply doesn't work in Nigeria. (If we have one in the first place)

Thanks for sharing. Some people will never understand.
Comfort and basic peace of mind is something all the money in the world cannot buy in Nigeria. God bless you.

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Nobody: 9:39pm On Dec 09, 2018
thebosstrevor:

in nigeria there people living comfortable lives. The reality is we are obessed with western materialism, credit cards and easy loan.

you call regular supply of light,good roads,working govt and security western materialism
wow.....

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Ugosample(m): 9:40pm On Dec 09, 2018
Saintp:

Bros, most Nigerians want a second option or country for themselves and their kids. Having Nigeria as your one and only country you have access to is one of the biggest risk you can ever take. People like us in the middle class left Nigeria not actually because we want to "make" it but because we want our children to live where things work and get a second passport.

If the likes of Saraki, Tinubu, Ben Bruce, Rochas etc and even "integrity " Buhari children have citizenship or access to other countries even with their wealth and influence here why will an average Nigerian get stuck in the shithole? Or you want to tell me that you are more patriotic than them?

good question

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Nobody: 9:42pm On Dec 09, 2018
naunasabi:
@op why do Nigerians think it is all about money?

What about quality of life? Last time I checked the life expectancy in that shit-hole is around 50 years. Moving to country like Germany automatically increases your life expectancy by about 30 years on the average.

What about opportunity? Yes you can make money in Nigeria but then how much are we talking about? Being a middle class doesn't spare your children the horror of everyday life in Nigerian or how uncertain the future look. Unless you are among the top earners in Nigeria which will afford you the means to ship your children abroad for a better life. Which brings me back to the question if Nigeria is that great after making the money since that is your sole indicator of a wonderful life why don't you leave your kids in Nigeria instead of carting them away?

To the average man on the street, Nigeria is one of the worse place to be born and to live in. Go to the west the average man on the street has a prospect if they work towards it. In Nigeria working hard towards your goal doesn't cut it, you have to be very lucky and know people. I know that there are group of people that will counter this point but my question to those people is to compare the number of those that did it without knowing anyone with those that knew someone. While when you look at the west the element of luck and knowing someone is insignificant on how your life turns out.

@op you won't know the quality of life until you get home from work, flip the switch and there is power. Step into your tube and take a warm bath thereafter relax in your sofa without any worries of whether the power will be on when you wake up in the morning or if the tap will be running in the morning. You wont known the quality of life or what it really means to make it until you have emergency medical condition and all you need to do is dial emergency services and their will be medical personnel right there at your home to save your life.

Even in your so called money haven- even if you managed to amass a lot of money when you have medical emergency the service you will get is a far cry from a decent one. I forgot all your billionaires are still running abroad for medical checkup.

As for the poor man he is on his own!

Yes to me making it, is living in a society where everyone has equal or at least near equal opportunity of charting the course of their lives.

Making it to me is living in a society where I don't have to worry about the mundane things of life like security, health , education, human right, job security etc. You can be making money but mine and I can speak for most people is living in a decent society.

To us that is what making it is all about!
You said it all
Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Ugosample(m): 9:42pm On Dec 09, 2018
BOOMnaija:
I am a nigerian and i am proud to be nigerian..i stay in nigeria and i work hard everyday to get better and better...i am happy to say i'm making it right here in naija and i dont need to move to any other country to make it...i dont even want to live elsewhere apart from nigeria.

Goid for you

unfortunately, not everyone share that sentiment
Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Nobody: 9:44pm On Dec 09, 2018
bluefilm:
I think it's simply because Nigerians, most especially their youths, too like already-made things.

It is in their blood.

For instance, their young women want already-made husbands.

When it comes to earning money, most of their youth will go for already-made jobs rather than starting their own business.

So it shouldn't surprise anyone when these youths head for abroad to 'make it' there in an already-made flourishing and buoyant economy rather than making their own economy to become vibrant.

No wonder one wise king once termed them ''lazy youths''.
Is that why many doctors and nurses are moving out of the country
Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Nobody: 9:47pm On Dec 09, 2018
mayze:

if a house is the definition of success to you,i rest my case...
get it straight through your skulls....Nigerians do not leave Nigeria for money,they leave for a better life and an opportunity to slave out themselves so they can take care of leaches like you in Nigeria who runs to banks every time to collect money from their relatives abroad...was in Nigeria about 2 years ago and wow...the most minute basic necessities are not present and you wonder why people leave...My brother had 2 generators and some batteries which he used to power his home at night and that was in lekki,nice lil neighborhood with very expensive homes...messed up roads,non stop blaring of generators......

Re: Why Do Nigerians Think That They Can Only Make It Abroad? by Delivar(m): 9:52pm On Dec 09, 2018
codemaniacs:

moving out of Nigeria exposes the nigerian to how things work in other countries and gives them access to jobs that will pay them a higher currency.

one of the many ways to succeed is by having constant cashflow, Nigerians can succeed in Nigeria.

it will continue as long as foreigners are allowed to dominate businesses that Nigerians are meant to dominate.

they can't bar Nigerians due to diplomacy and Nigeria's position in Africa. the worst they can do is to dis-respect Nigerians.

we can help ourselves but the people that should help are helping foreigners. the other people that can help are not helping.
If you think the way out is by running away then Nigeria will never get developed. Selfishness is part of what is killing us in Nigeria. Whenever the average Nigerian gets an education he begins to feel too big to live in Nigeria. He starts to have this feeling of self-righteousness believing he is a good person while the rest of Nigerians are bad that he can't live with them. Then the next thing on his mind is running away from Nigeria.

The ROOT problem in Nigeria is lack of education. Majority of the citizens have an uneducated mindset. If 70% of Nigerians have an educated mindset many of these problems will go away and we will always elect and have the best rulers governing us. These Nigerians who run away from Nigeria are also part of the problem because if they had stayed back it would help sustain an increase in the number of educated and enlightened citizens which is the foundation of development. As folks like you get an education and keep running away how much educated workforce will be left in Nigeria to lead the nation to advancement? Those countries you are running to fixed their own countries so why can't we fix ours? If every Nigerian has a chance to emigrate to a foreign country don't you think they will also destroy the country with the same uneducated mindset they have?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (24) (Reply)

Another Military Aircraft Crashes In Kaduna / Update Pictures Of My ROADSIDE Trip From California to Las Vegas / List Of States Where Okada And Keke Are Banned Or Restricted

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 69