Stats: 3,149,890 members, 7,806,590 topics. Date: Tuesday, 23 April 2024 at 06:43 PM

Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) (6468) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion (8656106 Views)

Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021 / Manchester United Fan Thread: Premier League Champions 2010/11 / Manchester United Fan thread: Forever Reds (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (6465) (6466) (6467) (6468) (6469) (6470) (6471) ... (14137) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by chrisley024(m): 11:23pm On Mar 13, 2019
ucsquare:
Abeg barca vs city or juve i don't want much stress..
Expect Barca vs Ajax/Porto
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Lana1(m): 11:30pm On Mar 13, 2019
Mystic1:
EPL teams knocked out all the 3 German teams that participated this year. grin

With aggregate goal 17-3

someone call Dayo
And German teams with 0 goals from open play

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Lana1(m): 11:31pm On Mar 13, 2019
UEFA will def give us an EPL team. I go prefer Spurs sha

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by kodded(m): 11:36pm On Mar 13, 2019
LoRdCaT:
It's like English is your problem. I didn't ask you which club is better currently, i asked which is bigger. If Eibar by some miracle wins the next 5 laliga, will you regard them as currently bigger than Real madrid? Bigger is different from better. Team A might currently have a better squad, results e.t.c than team B but that doesn't make them bigger, it only means team A is currently better than Team B. Like how Leicester was more or less better than every other team in the EPL when they won the league, did winning the league that year make leicester bigger that year?

I ask again, MAN CITY and ARSENAL, which is bigger? Please show your workings.

football nowadays deal with the present and not the past, that's why bookies give a team in top form lower odd

as at right now man city is bigger and better than man united + Chelsea + arsenal combined and nothing can change that
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by airmark(m): 12:27am On Mar 14, 2019
hensben:
Van Dijk scored and assisted at Allianz Arena.

Cc: Raumdeuter.

Raumdeuter is busy. cheesy cheesy
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by LoRdCaT(m): 1:42am On Mar 14, 2019
kodded:

football nowadays deal with the present and not the past, that's why bookies give a team in top form lower odd

as at right now man city is bigger and better than man united + Chelsea + arsenal combined and nothing can change that
This means that Tottenham is bigger than Arsenal. Yeah?
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by MorataFC: 5:29am On Mar 14, 2019
kodded:

bigger? lipsrsealed
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by hensben(m): 5:46am On Mar 14, 2019
airmark:

Raumdeuter is busy. cheesy cheesy
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by odizeey(m): 7:18am On Mar 14, 2019
kodded:

as at right now man city is bigger and better than Chelsea + arsenal + their fans and all that concerns them. combined and nothing can change that
I agree
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Neimar: 8:38am On Mar 14, 2019
Lana1:
UEFA will def give us an EPL team. I go prefer Spurs sha

una fit manage Liverpool, but city hehehehe
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by MRTA7: 8:41am On Mar 14, 2019
I want the hardest possible non premier league draw. Would rather go out fighting against Barca or Juve. We won't win the damn thing anyway.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nobody: 9:14am On Mar 14, 2019
For yall praying to meet barca i pity una
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by JeromeBlack: 9:20am On Mar 14, 2019
MRTA7:
I want the hardest possible non premier league draw. Would rather go out fighting against Barca or Juve. We won't win the damn thing anyway.

If you guys get Juve, I will support man utd.

I am an arsenal fan but i dislike ronaldo far more than man utd.

I'm still pained from when Ronaldo tore Ashley Cole's boxers-

[img]https:///media/7-23-2015/z6m_B3.gif[/img]

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by tenmariner: 9:55am On Mar 14, 2019
Frankly, aside Porto, we technically are the weakest team in the 1/4 finals. we can't stand that rampaging Ajax. Even spurs is not sure. We can only rely on luck, and luck is not a true test of reality.

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by tenmariner: 9:58am On Mar 14, 2019
My quarter finals fixtures

Juve vs Man united

Man city vs Porto

Liverpool vs Spurs

Ajax vs Barcelona
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Leyqute(m): 10:32am On Mar 14, 2019
tenmariner:
Frankly, aside Porto, we technically are the weakest team in the 1/4 finals. we can't stand that rampaging Ajax. Even spurs is not sure. We can only rely on luck, and luck is not a true test of reality.

"We went into the land to which you sent us, and it does flow with milk and honey! Here is its fruit. But the people who live there are very powerful, and the cities are fortified and very large. We even saw descendants of Anak there."

— Numbers, 13:27-28

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 10:50am On Mar 14, 2019
kodded:
man utd is considered as a bigger club to PSG yet the bookies gave them over 6+ odd to defeat PSG

.....yeye dey smell undecided
What was the odds for the first leg? By the time you are done answering, I'm sure you'll see how ridiculous your stance on this issue is.
Several factors are considered by the bookies, club form, availability of players etc. In the first leg, PSG had a high odd because Manchester United was flying and PSG was suffering from an injury crisis.
In the return leg, the suspension of Pogba and injuries to several key players meant Manchester United chances was slim hence the high odd. It's not that difficult to understand these things is it?

Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 10:54am On Mar 14, 2019
tenmariner:

Lol weakest how? We have the tools to down Ajax, Porto, Spurs and Liverpool. The only teams who are considerably better are Barcelona, Juventus and Man City and in a typical cup competition like the UCL, anything is possible.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by KGD10: 11:06am On Mar 14, 2019
A40:
Don't mind diadem10. When Lemar ends up in Changchun Yatai this thread will not contain the two of us

If Griezman, Atletico's main man was a no show, why dwell on Lemar's performance?

See your worldie below. Mbappe couldn't even control a Ball.

https://mobile.twitter.com/1103699287966392320/status/1103699287966392320
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by tenmariner: 11:14am On Mar 14, 2019
Leyqute:

"We went into the land to which you sent us, and it does flow with milk and honey! Here is its fruit. But the people who live there are very powerful, and the cities are fortified and very large. We even saw descendants of Anak there."

— Numbers, 13:27-28

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it. And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown. Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air. But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

1st Corinthian 9: 24-27

We need to step up our games.. UCL knockout stages is not milk and honey
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Lana1(m): 11:24am On Mar 14, 2019
KGD10:

If Griezman Atletico's main man was a no show, why dwell on Lemar?

See your worldie below. Mbappe couldn't even control a Ball.

https://mobile.twitter.com/1103699287966392320/status/1103699287966392320
Man. Our defence is so shìt. I know going on to score 3 goals no be beans but we were lucky coz Mbappe had a really poor game. Imagine Messi getting that much space to flex our defence plus that 1-on-1.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by kodded(m): 11:34am On Mar 14, 2019
LoRdCaT:
This means that Tottenham is bigger than Arsenal. Yeah?
at the moment yes
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by sod09(m): 11:39am On Mar 14, 2019
patrickmuf:
Lol weakest how? We have the tools to down Ajax, Porto, Spurs and Liverpool. The only teams who are considerably better are Barcelona, Juventus and Man City and in a typical cup competition like the UCL, anything is possible.
this was the mouth you all made until ordinary arsenal humbled you, always under rating other clubs
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by KGD10: 11:48am On Mar 14, 2019
A40:

Torres was also a popular player when he returned to Atletico. Problem is he was washed just like Costa and is busy accumulating yellows instead of goals.

Who is providing the creativity for Morata who has netted 3 goals since joining end of January. He should be on 5 goals but for VAR yet you are here releasing excuse after excuse. If the team is lacking creativity then that is also part of Lemar's brief which the stats clearly show he is failing woefully

Costa the one man MOPOL and battering ram? Whether Costa started out as an SS is immaterial. By 2013/2014 season he became the target man. Don't come here and serve us cool zobo! Some of us don tey pass Schnapps for this football game.

For the past 4-5 seasons Costa has been playing without any help at CF for club and country for at least 75% of his games. Try another excuse.

Why do you think Simeone signed Morata? If Costa does not shape up Morata will be his permanent replacement so if you like continue speaking country grammar

Torres had a severe injury and was already going downhill before his move to Chelsea. Besides, Chelsea was known to be a team whose style was centered around drogba's physique due to their love for making floating passes. We all know lampard was known for his goal scoring, not creativity. Most of lampard passes that led to goals were either crosses, simple passes whereas Liverpool had Gerard splitting passes which constantly released Torres at Liverpool.

Like I stated earlier, Morata's holdup playing style suits Atletico team than Costa. It's like you always fail to comprehend simple English. If Atletico wants to get the best out of Costa, he should be deployed in Griezman's position behind Morata like he was playing as a SS before his move to Chelsea. Or he should be deployed as the main striker without another forward like Griezman behind him.

A40:

The difference between a team like France and Atletico is merely speed merchants like Dembele, Lemar, Mbappe etc. Without those guys their personnel and M.O are essentially the same! The difference being Atleti lacking the personnel to transition from defense to attack quickly. Lemar is not a typical Simeone signing. He would rather buy LMs like Vitolo and co. Play a Koke who is more of a box to box mid on the wings than go out to buy an actual winger. Signing a guy like Lemar shows he wanted to try something different

Btw in what planet is Saul a DM? Looool.

Did you just say Saul isn't a DM? What are you? Are you 2 yrs old? That's why I said you should go learn more on football roles. Saul is a defensive box-box midfielder such like Ramirez, Khedira, Kante etc. Defensive midfield role can be either a defensive no 6 like we have Busquet, De Rossi, Declan Rice of Westham or a defensive box-box midfielder such as Kante, Khedira.

For an effective display coaches should always deploy a midfielder to complement whichever kind of defensive midfielder they employ in the midfield.

For example, Pirlo, a playmaking no 6 complemented a box-box defensive midfielder like Vidal. Busquet who is a defensive no 6 complemented Xavi, a box-box playmaker and so-on. While some coaches prefers to employ two playmakers who are defensively solid like Ancelotti had Alonso, a playmaking no 6 to complement Modric, a playmaking no 8 in his midfield because if one was to be manmarked, the other would take over.

You are really a neophyte when it comes to football roles. Position doesn't necessarily describe a player's role in a team. That was why I kept on hammering into you how Mathuidi was operating as a withdrawn midfielder on the wing for France at the world cup.

Anyway, the problem with Atletico is the coach who tends to deploys two defensive midfielders in the team. Rodri is a defensive no 6 as well as Saul who is a defensive box-box midfielder. There's no creative midfielder to release the wingers on the wing like we had Pogba with Mbappe at the world cup. Or like Scholes did with Giggs, Valencia and Nani for us. Not only this, Atletico don't have a ball playing defenders to help advance play like Rio Ferdinand did for us.

The Atletico's team is simply a one dimension pragmatic team that isn't flexible. If Mbappe played in such team, he would be a nonentity.

A40:

The same Atletico that scored 3 at Stamford Bridge? 4 against same Chelsea in the Supercup. Is it not the same Atletico that pumped 4 past Madrid in the Supercup? Stop chatting Dothraki. If you lose guard Atletico will pump goals pass you if need be. Their paucity of goals is more a personnel issue than anything else. Put guys like Mbappe in that squad and goals will flow. Not skirt man like Lemar with his 1 goals and 1 assists

Lol. Chelsea was Useless that season regardless of their lucky CL triumph. They were 6th that very season for crying out loud. Everyone and his dog knew Chelsea was there for the taking. Abeg goan siddon.

A40:

Abject Mbappe was France's best forward in 2 of France's 4 UNL games. The common denominator however is that your MCM Thomas Lemar did not play for even 5 seconds in France's 360minutes of that competition

That's where you got it wrong. Lemar played at the world cup unfortunately, the France team had no Pogba to release him with his long ball.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nobody: 11:51am On Mar 14, 2019
See as people dey apply bible to football....grin
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Leyqute(m): 11:51am On Mar 14, 2019
tenmariner:

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it. And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown. Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty. Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air. But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

1st Corinthian 9: 24-27

We need to step up our games.. UCL knockout stages is not milk and honey

All the teams in the Q/8 have the capacity to win the UCL. Of em all, City is the only team without a UCL trophy.

My aim was to tell you not to look down too much on your team but okay.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by Nobody: 12:17pm On Mar 14, 2019
tenmariner:
My quarter finals fixtures

Juve vs Man united

Man city vs Porto

Liverpool vs Spurs

Ajax vs Barcelona

We ain't getting Juve because we played already. Most likely going to be an EPL team.

Then City vs Barca
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by odizeey(m): 12:24pm On Mar 14, 2019
Leyqute:

All the teams in the Q/8 have the capacity to win the UCL. Of em all, City is the only team without a UCL trophy.

My aim was to tell you not to look down too much on your team but okay.
that's my thought too. This is football o. We are not as bad as we are making ourselves to be o. I no know weda na arsenal humbling dey cus am o
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by KGD10: 12:37pm On Mar 14, 2019
A40:

That's the point. Deschamps, Simeone, Jardim all shunted Lemar from his role. 3 coaches from different nationalities all decided Lemar is not good enough for his preferred role. Does that not tell you he is mediocre at it? Or is he simply cursed?

Everyone that watched Griezmann from his Sociedad days knew he was not a true winger. Don't tell me what I know already Captain Obvious

I don't have time for this your Dothraki. What we have seen from Thomas Lemar is indefensible mediocrity for club and country for the past two seasons no matter who played ahead, behind or beside him

Griezman played on the wing during his Sociedad days. He looked good on the wing because Sociedad plays a free flowing football unlike the compact Atletico team. However, when he was deployed on the same wing for Atletico, he looked shite and didn't suit Atletico's style of play. In the long run, he was moved inside to play as a SS.

This is similar to Lemar. He's obviously not a winger but with a creative midfield behind him, he's capable of looking his best on the wing like he did at Monaco but can't seem to operate at his best on the wing for a defensive team like Atletico.

A40:

Müller and Draxler's continued inclusion in that German National team is one of the biggest problems. Löw must summon courage to drop both players, possibly Reus as well as he is always injured and move forward with a completely different footballing philosophy

No doubt Muller needs to be binned. Draxler is manageable especially now that Ozil has retired but the problem is Draxler isn't as creativite and he's also useless in the defensive aspect of his game.

Germany team as whole is actually lacking in many areas, not just the attack. Their defence is rubbish with the likes of ageing Boateng and slow Hummel. Niklas Sule is simply not the answer because he's even more useless. Their attack as we all know need a quality striker which they don't seem to have. That was why I suggested a 352 setup to make Reus play closer to the goal and also enable Sane to have his left wing role as a left wingback.

Also they haven't replaced Bastian schweisteiger in the Germany team. Kroos isn't a no 6. Eventhough he's a playmaker like Bastian, his playmaking style is all about going box-box hence, he's a box-box playmaker, not a playmaking no 6.

Rudy would have been perfect for that no 6 role but he ruined his career by going to sit on the bench at Bayern for two years, especially after he had a promising performance at the confederation cup. I think Gundogan should be integrated into the team to take over Bastian schweisteiger role as the playmaking no 6. Lastly, I think a box-box defensive midfielder would also be needed to complement the two playmaking midfielders (Kroos and Gundogan)) in the midfield except if both aforementioned players could up their defensive contribution. Khedira is more or less useless as a defensive box-box nowadays. Maybe Goretzka would do better.

A lineup like the one below should be good.

352 set-up

Ginter - Hummel - Diallo (if Germany could snatch him off France);

Kimmich - Kroos - Gundogan - Goretzka - Sane;

Reus - Werner.

A40:

I hope you maintain this same energy when Thomas Lemar is on loan at Brighton or sold to Changchun Yatai

At least Lemar went out of the farmers league to test his strength unlike Mbappe who's still operating in a farmer's league. Yeye dey smell.
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by weedtaker: 12:37pm On Mar 14, 2019
odizeey:
that's my thought too. This is football o. We are not as bad as we are making ourselves to be o. I no know weda na arsenal humbling dey cus am o
some soccer fans the rate teams with their last result, we are one of the most inform team in the PL and just kicked out one of the CL favourites at their own backyard despite going down two goals to nill in the 1st leg and playing them with a bunch of kids, yet person de talk say totoyam go comot us, like wtf undecided
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by odizeey(m): 1:03pm On Mar 14, 2019
weedtaker:
some soccer fans the rate teams with their last result, we are one of the most inform team in the PL and just kicked out one of the CL favourites at their own backyard despite going down two goals to nill in the 1st leg and playing them with a bunch of kids, yet person de talk say totoyam go comot us, like wtf undecided
me I just weak o. I just weak
Re: Official Manchester United Fan Thread:''20 Times EPL Champion by patrickmuf(m): 1:13pm On Mar 14, 2019
sod09:
this was the mouth you all made until ordinary arsenal humbled you, always under rating other clubs
How is this making mouth, he said we are the weakest bar Porto, I said no, we can go toe to toe with Ajax, Liverpool and Spurs on a good day but you just want to be heard...

(1) (2) (3) ... (6465) (6466) (6467) (6468) (6469) (6470) (6471) ... (14137) (Reply)

Official Chelsea Fan Thread: Champions Of Europe 2021

Viewing this topic: Santos07

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 101