Stats: 3,150,561 members, 7,809,046 topics. Date: Thursday, 25 April 2024 at 09:47 PM

No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? - Religion - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? (28327 Views)

We Are Not Under The Laws But Are Expected To Obey The Law / Are We Truly Not To Obey The Old Testament Laws Anymore? / There Will Be No Christians In Nigeria In Next 25 Years – NCEF Warns (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply) (Go Down)

No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by goldcoinhub: 7:32pm On Jun 04, 2019
Social media entrepreneur and activist Michael Nwanator Jr. has once again asked a crucial question on religion. He wants to know whey Christians are being 'forced' to obey the laws in old testament, despite the fact that there were none at the time.

Taking to his Facebook page, he argued that the Bible stated that the laws of the old testament are obsolete, so modern day Christians are not supposed to live by those laws.

No Christians in old testament, why are they forcing the laws on us

Read his post:

There was no Christian in the old testament, why are they making us practice the laws in the old testament?

Hebrew 8 vs 13
13 By calling this covenant “new,” he has made the first one obsolete; and what is obsolete and outdated will soon disappear.

The only thing we should emulate from Abraham is his faith. Any other thing is irrelevant, or should we also have side chics and go to war, use part of the war loot and give to a priest as tithe and later return the loots to the owners?

Christianity began after Christ came, you have no business practicing the law that bring a curse.

Galatians 3 vs 10 - 13
10 For all who rely on the works of the laware under a curse, as it is written: “Cursed is everyone who does not continue to do everything written in the Book of the Law.”[e]11 Clearly no one who relies on the law is justified before God, because “the righteous will live by faith.”[f] 12 The law is not based on faith; on the contrary, it says, “The person who does these things will live by them.”[g] 13 Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a pole.”

God was not talking to Christians in the old testament.

You will FOREVER be ignorant and slave to some people until you start reading the scriptures by yourself.

https://lailasnews.com/no-christians-in-old-testament-why-are-they-forcing-the-laws-on-us/

lalasticlala

31 Likes 5 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by alBHAGDADI: 8:38pm On Jun 04, 2019
I find it funny how people who aren't even saved are now positioning themselves as Bible teachers. They think the Bible is some novel anybody can pick up, read and understand. They don't know that it is a spiritual book meant for those with the spirit of God in them. See what Jesus said about the Bible:

John 6:63 (KJV)
It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

You can't understand them unless you are born of water and of spirit which means you are born again. Till then, you are just a natural man who will always misuse the word of God or find it foolish.

1 Corinthians 2:14 (KJV)
But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

It's just like a Yoruba man complaining that he doesn't understand Chinese language. But a baby born to Chinese parents will understand it easily. Once you have the Holy Spirit, you will understand God's word which is Spirit and life.

Why did I go into the above details? The man in the OP believes he understands the Bible verses he quoted which speak of the law. The natural man he is sees the verses as saying the law has been done away it and has been thrown in the trash can, never to be followed or obeyed again. That's how a natural man reads the Bible.

Before I show you how a man with the Spirit of God reads the Bible, let's first of all expose the foolishness in the natural man's understanding of the verses he quoted.

According to him, the law has been thrown in the trash can because Jesus came, died and resurrected. If the law has been thrown in the garbage, kindly tell him to break the laws in Leviticus 18, which are mostly against having sex with one's close kin e.g mother, sister, father, brother, aunt etc.

Romans 4:15 (KJV)
for where no law is, there is no transgression.

Since he says the law is no more, isn't that also saying that it is not a sin to do those things? Let him go ahead and do them.

He quoted the below passage.

Galatians 3 vs 10 - 13
10 For all who rely on the works of the laware under a curse, as it is written: “Cursed is everyone who does not continue to do everything written in the Book of the Law.”[e]11 Clearly no one who relies on the law is justified before God, because “the righteous will live by faith.”[f] 12 The law is not based on faith; on the contrary, it says, “The person who does these things will live by them.”[g] 13 Christ redeemed us from the curse of the law by becoming a curse for us, for it is written: “Cursed is everyone who is hung on a pole.”

Clearly, he doesn't know what the passage is saying at all. To him, the passage means if we obey the laws, we would be cursed.

One thing I would want you all to know is that the passage is talking about those relying on the works of the law as a means of eternal salvation. Paul is clearly saying that if you are depending on your ability to obey the law as a means of making heaven, then you are cursed. You are cursed because you can never continue in the entire laws without breaking one. You can't at all. See what Paul said:

James 2:10
For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all.

As seen above, Paul revealed that even if you keep the whole law and failed at just one, you will become guilty of even the ones you succeeded at. That is the curse of the law Paul was talking about. That's why he made it clear that depending on the law as a means to salvation is like cursing yourself to eternal damnation.

So what's the way to avoid depending on the law? The way is Jesus Christ who is the Way the Truth and the Life. You have to have faith in him to be saved. That way, there won't be any need to depend on the works of the law. As seen below, Paul said we are saved by Grace through faith, not by our ability to do the works of the law.

Ephesians 2:8-9 (KJV)
For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:
Not of works, lest any man should boast.

So far so good, we have seen that we Christians are to obey the laws of God unless in cases where they've been specifically changed in the New Testament e.g dietary laws washing, worship, animal sacrifice etc. The anti-tithing can't show where the law on tithing has been specifically changed in the New Testament.

We obey the laws to live right on Earth. The laws have made us realise that it is sinful to sleep with one's next of kin, have tattoos, be homosexual etc.

But when it comes to salvation, we don't depend on the law because Jesus has come to save us from the curse of the law which hits us when we fail one despite passing the rest.

Find a Once Saved Always Saved Church today for more knowledge.

139 Likes 19 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Nobody: 9:55pm On Jun 04, 2019
Whoever quotes any laws for you to obey now as a Christian is NOT a TRUE believer! Romans 10:2-4
TRUE Christian have just one law which is the law of Christ, meaning we're to make Jesus our role model. Imitate him in Thoughts, Words and Actions. That's all! Hebrew 12:2

35 Likes 2 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by newsynews: 10:11pm On Jun 04, 2019
Maximus69:
Whoever quotes any laws for you to obey now as a Christian is NOT a TRUE believer! Romans 10:2-4
TRUE Christian have just one law which is the law of Christ, meaning we're to make Jesus our role model. Imitate him in Thoughts, Words and Actions. That's all! Hebrew 12:2

This lying Jehovah's witness man says we shouldn't obey any of the laws, yet his Watchtower satanic organization prevents it's members from blood transfusion, which is a distortion of the law of God against eating blood, not transfusing it.

Ask him why he feels we shouldn't take blood, he will say because the New Testament upholds it, even though the new testament was never talking g about blood transfusion but eating blood as it was written in the Old Testament.

Shouldn't it be clear on that basis to him that laws which God wants us to continue with, he mentioned them in the New Testament. The ones he didn't want us to continue with, he also mentioned them in that regard. The ones he didn't mention at all in the New Testament means they still stand. It means whatever he said in the past remains the same till he says otherwise

14 Likes 1 Share

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Nobody: 7:48am On Jun 05, 2019
newsynews:

This lying Jehovah's witness man says we shouldn't obey any of the laws, yet his Watchtower satanic organization prevents it's members from blood transfusion, which is a distortion of the law of God against eating blood, not transfusing it.

Ask him why he feels we shouldn't take blood, he will say because the New Testament upholds it, even though the new testament was never talking g about blood transfusion but eating blood as it was written in the Old Testament.

Shouldn't it be clear on that basis to him that laws which God wants us to continue with, he mentioned them in the New Testament. The ones he didn't want us to continue with, he also mentioned them in that regard. The ones he didn't mention at all in the New Testament means they still stand. It means whatever he said in the past remains the same till he says otherwise
You talk too much Sir and that doesn't show any sign of wisdom in you! Proverbs 15:2
Why not just go straight to your point just like any other participants does?
Why must you attribute the speech of a commentator to particular GROUP?
Are you saying that you know of a global unique group whose line of thought is ONE? 1Corinthians 1:10, Philippians 2:2, Ephesians 4:3
Knowledge is the 'accumulation of useful information' we know you all have it! But
Wisdom is the 'practical applications of accumulated information for lasting benefits' this is what eludes the intellect of most people!
For your information, abstaining from blood was not just a law but a compulsion for health benefits! Act 15:28-29 compared to Isaiah 48:17-18

27 Likes 3 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by newsynews: 12:53pm On Jun 05, 2019
Maximus69:
You talk too much Sir and that doesn't show any sign of wisdom in you! Proverbs 15:2
Why not just go straight to your point just like any other participants does?
Why must you attribute the speech of a commentator to particular GROUP?
Are you saying that you know of a global unique group whose line of thought is ONE? 1Corinthians 1:10, Philippians 2:2, Ephesians 4:3
Knowledge is the 'accumulation of useful information' we know you all have it! But
Wisdom is the 'practical applications of accumulated information for lasting benefits' this is what eludes the intellect of most people!
For your information, abstaining from blood was not just a law but a compulsion for health benefits! Act 15:28-29 compared to Isaiah 48:17-18

you know so we'll that if you actually post the scriptures which links you posted, it will be obvious to all that you are waiting then wrongly. But to deceive people into thinking you made biblical sense, you decided to throw in some scriptural links knowing fully well that people won't open their Bible to verify.

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Nobody: 1:19pm On Jun 05, 2019
newsynews:

you know so we'll that if you actually post the scriptures which links you posted, it will be obvious to all that you are waiting then wrongly. But to deceive people into thinking you made biblical sense, you decided to throw in some scriptural links knowing fully well that people won't open their Bible to verify.
The scripture is available for all Sir.
So why not try throwing some scriptural links too to help followers know the spirit behind your mindset? Isaiah 54:17 wink

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by LifestyleTonite: 7:16am On Jun 09, 2019
Maximus69:

The scripture is available for all Sir.
So why not try throwing some scriptural links too to help followers know the spirit behind your mindset? Isaiah 54:17 wink

Shut up Mr Jehovah's witness who deny Jesus Christ is God. They say he was just a mere angel who never resurrected bodily.

What a shame.

Everyone should take a look at the verse he quoted

Isaiah 54:17 King James Version (KJV)
17 No weapon that is formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgment thou shalt condemn. This is the heritage of the servants of the Lord, and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord.

In what way does this support his write up? But he just dropped the link to the verse so that gullible people who don't have time to open their Bible will think he made sense and spoke truth once they see a Bible link in his post. They won't know it has no correlation with his post.

31 Likes 1 Share

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by tunjijones(m): 8:49am On Jun 09, 2019
Those two guys above me shd jst shut the hell up. U guys are disgracing urselves.

There was no where in the new testament that talked about paying tithe and yet these pastors wld keep saying if you dnt pay tithe u wld go to hell. Well I still don't understand dis. But pastors won't mention the part that says women shd not preach in church... This passage is even in new testament o...

41 Likes 1 Share

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by kaen1317: 8:50am On Jun 09, 2019
Every Tom, Dick and Harry is free to comment on christian related thread but when its an islamic thread nairaland will ask you to swear heaven and earth.. Every religion should be treated equally. It is very wrong to be one-sided

55 Likes 5 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by driand(m): 8:51am On Jun 09, 2019

alBHAGDADI:
I find it funny how people who aren't even saved are now positioning themselves as Bible teachers. They think the Bible is some novel anybody can pick up, read and understand. They don't know that it is a spiritual book meant for those with the spirit of God in them. See what Jesus said about the Bible:

It is the spirit that quickeneth; the flesh profiteth nothing: the words that I speak unto you, they are spirit, and they are life.

You can't understand them unless you are born of water and of spirit which means you are born again. Till then, you are just a natural man who will always misuse the word of God or find it foolish.

But the natural man receiveth not the things of the Spirit of God: for they are foolishness unto him: neither can he know them, because they are spiritually discerned.

It's just like a Yoruba man complaining that he doesn't understand Chinese language. But a baby born to Chinese parents will understand it easily. Once you have the Holy Spirit, you will understand God's word which is Spirit and life.

Why did I go into the above details? The man in the OP believes he understands the Bible verses he quoted which speak of the law. The natural man he is sees the verses as saying the law has been done away it and has been thrown in the trash can, never to be followed or obeyed again. That's how a natural man reads the Bible.

Before I show you how a man with the Spirit of God reads the Bible, let's first of all expose the foolishness in the natural man's understanding of the verses he quoted.

According to him, the law has been thrown in the trash can because Jesus came, died and resurrected. If the law has been thrown in the garbage, kindly tell him to break the laws in Leviticus 18, which are mostly against having sex with one's close kin e.g mother, sister, father, brother, aunt etc.

Since he says the law is no more, isn't that also saying that it is not a sin to do those things? Let him go ahead and do them.

Galatians 3 vs 10 - 13

Clearly, he doesn't know what the passage is saying at all. To him, the passage means if we obey the laws, we would be cursed.

One thing I would want you all to know is that the passage is talking about those relying on the works of the law as a means of eternal salvation. Paul is clearly saying that if you are depending on your ability to obey the law as a means of making heaven, then you are cursed. You are cursed because you can never continue in the entire laws without breaking one. You can't at all. See what Paul said:

For whosoever shall keep the whole law, and yet offend in one point, he is guilty of all.

As seen above, Paul revealed that even if you keep the whole law and failed at just one, you will become guilty of even the ones you succeeded at. That is the curse of the law Paul was talking about. That's why he made it clear that depending on the law as a means to salvation is like cursing yourself to eternal damnation.

So what's the way to avoid depending on the law? The way is Jesus Christ who is the Way the Truth and the Life. You have to have faith in him to be saved. That way, there won't be any need to depend on the works of the law. As seen below, Paul said we are saved by Grace through faith, not by our ability to do the works of the law.

For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God:

So far so good, we have seen that we Christians are to obey the laws of God unless in cases where they've been specifically changed in the New Testament e.g dietary laws washing, worship, animal sacrifice etc. The anti-tithing can't show where the law on tithing has been specifically changed in the New Testament.

We obey the laws to live right on Earth. The laws have made us realise that it is sinful to sleep with one's next of kin, have tattoos, be homosexual etc.

But when it comes to salvation, we don't depend on the law because Jesus has come to save us from the curse of the law which hits us when we fail one despite passing the rest.

Continue deceiving yourself, Na you Sabi bible pass...

Simple question, were there Christians at the time of the old testament?

The religion the law was meant for(Judaism) is it no longer there?

In Christianity who are the Levites? And who made them them so? when and where were they made so?

These things of the spirit you speak of as if you know what they are, believe me you don't know anything about them...

If you can't answer my questions and I hear you talk about this of the spirit on this forum again angry I will just....

41 Likes 1 Share

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by slimderek(m): 8:51am On Jun 09, 2019
Ahh,
Christians and Fallacies

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Nobody: 8:52am On Jun 09, 2019
Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Uyi168: 8:52am On Jun 09, 2019
alBHAGDADI:

Galatians 3 vs 10 - 13

Once saved,always save..
And u think u are saved??

16 Likes 2 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Lovelyn451(f): 8:54am On Jun 09, 2019
just do the right thing

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Nobody: 8:54am On Jun 09, 2019
See supposed believers as dem dey use abusive language. Lol.... Nawao

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by JJOF(m): 8:55am On Jun 09, 2019
Thank you Father for rendering the law ineffective through the sacrifice of Christ Jesus.

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by iammo(m): 8:56am On Jun 09, 2019

“Do not think that I have come to abolish the law or the prophets. I have come not to abolish but to fulfill. Amen, I say to you, until heaven and earth pass away, not the smallest part or the smallest part of a letter will pass from the law, until all things have taken place.” (Matthew 5:17)

“For truly, I say to you, till heaven and earth pass away, not an iota, not a dot, will pass the law until all is accomplished. Whoever then relaxes one of the least of these commandments and teaches men so, shall be called least in the kingdom of heaven; but he who does them and teaches them shall be called great in the kingdom of heaven.” — Matthew 5:18-19

Incase you find yourself in hell due to your Pastors foolishness.

Old testament was written by the only true Prophet of Gods like moses and abraham(jews and arab), which God appeared or sent angel gabriel to them on instructions of what to write.

While new testament was written by Freinds and disciple of Jesus christ without instruction from God or Jesus or even Angel Gabriel but wrote their own contradictory words.

For you to understand these disciples, you should know they were fishermen, tax collector , physician and others who later openly denied Jesus till he died and later compiled their own writtens with the help of Roman Europeans Emperiors and Decendants of Cesar whose governor crucified Jesus, since Jesus later resurrected they all came back after denying him

11 Likes 4 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by ifeanyija(m): 8:56am On Jun 09, 2019
Really
Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by RDPMAN: 8:56am On Jun 09, 2019
Too many Bible scholars here ... I will keep my opinion to myself

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Seetto: 8:56am On Jun 09, 2019
Jesus the son of Mary is only a messenger of GOD the messenger of whom has passed away and his mother is a Godly woman and they both use to eat earthly food, see how we make the revelation clear to them , see how they turned away...

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Grupo(m): 8:56am On Jun 09, 2019
The Bible is nothing more than a story book that should be read by children and women.

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Nobody: 8:57am On Jun 09, 2019
How many self proclaimed Christians even believe in the teachings of Christ?

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Nobody: 8:58am On Jun 09, 2019
many religious leaders will always attempt to disregard the old testament but when it comes to tithe, they look for every scripture to increase collection

20 Likes 1 Share

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Topmaike007(m): 8:58am On Jun 09, 2019
kaen1317:
Every Tom, Dick and Harry is free to comment on christian related thread but when its an islamic thread nairaland will ask you to swear heaven and earth.. Every religion should be treated equally. It is very wrong to be one-sided
Seun is too dumb to have done such,and when you look at him he was Born to a Christian home,May God not allow us to give birth to Children that will grow up and turn to Atheist,cos I can't bear the shame to tell God that I am sorry for not grooming my kids well

18 Likes 5 Shares

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Topmaike007(m): 8:59am On Jun 09, 2019
Mk93:
many religious leaders will always attempt to disregard the old testament but when it comes to tithe, they look for every scripture to increase collection
all what I know is that From Genesis to revelation all talked about Jesus

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by helinues: 8:59am On Jun 09, 2019
Forcing how?
Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by alBHAGDADI: 8:59am On Jun 09, 2019
Uyi168:
Once saved,always save..
And u think u are saved??

Yes, because Jesus is not Intercontinental Bank to lose what he saved. You all have called Jesus a weak person who can't keep what he saved.

Re: No Christians In Old Testament, Why Are They Forcing The Laws On Us? by Nobody: 8:59am On Jun 09, 2019
JJOF:
Thank you Father for rendering the law ineffective through the sacrifice of Christ Jesus.
but the law is still being used in tithe collection

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (Reply)

What Does The Bible Call People Who Sleep With Sex Dolls? / Pray For My Death If I Am Guilty of Demonic Consultation - Pastor Adeboye / Do You Believe There's Curse Of The First Born

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 101