Stats: 3,162,808 members, 7,851,714 topics. Date: Thursday, 06 June 2024 at 06:14 AM

Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 - Travel (182) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 (1042222 Views)

Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 / General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 16 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 17 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (179) (180) (181) (182) (183) (184) (185) ... (644) (Go Down)

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Masterariyo(m): 9:11pm On Aug 02, 2019
Good evening all, please, how do i link my application online? I've only been checking on VSF tracking site but still showing "Is being Processed" Kindly help
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by sashaa(f): 9:19pm On Aug 02, 2019
Regina3:
Hi guys, been a silent reader here following all your advice, been a big source of encouragement & reference for me.
I got my approval yesterday.

First Application.
Applied online : June 22, 2019
Biometrics: June 26, 2019
Medical: July 17, 2019
Passed: July 20, 2019
Approval/Correspondence :August 1, 2019

Just want to say, I was really worried as all the documents I submitted for proof of financial ability were much and after managing to compress to 3.9MB, the documents didn't look to sharp, I thought that it would be an issue but I thank God, for favour. I will suggest if you are having same challenges as I did, you can use CamScanner on Android play store, I found out about it after submitting mine with poor resolutions.
Thanks.
Wow...congrats sis!

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by 4evaco: 9:54pm On Aug 02, 2019
Josade69:
Congratulations, the joy that comes with getting admitted to McMaster is huge especially because of the competition involved. PS: I'm also a prospective student in your faculty, still waiting on my visa.

Wow, that's good to know. I wish you success in your visa application.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Pekun210(m): 9:55pm On Aug 02, 2019
4evaco:
Come and join me sing Alleluia,
Jehovah Jireh has done me well (2ce)

O Mama carry us dey go (2ce)
Wherever better dey carry us dey go(2ce)

Approval Alert

Stay tuned for details.

Congrats

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Higihaga: 10:43pm On Aug 02, 2019
Hello , I greet everyone in the house
Please I need your urgent advise on this

I booked medical appointment with IOM during the middle of last month July, they gave me appointment date on August 5th which is this coming Monday
I just booked the appointment in the hope that CIC would have send me Medical Request as it can faster my application because class start on the 3rd of September
My application is 8 Weeks old now and I haven't received any message from CIC
I don't want to miss this appointment on Monday and I don't know what I can do about it
Should I go there and do upfront ??
If I have to do the upfront medical, what are the stuff should i bring along when going for the upfront medical ??
Moreso, Is it advisable to do upfront as there is no enough time again ?? Or I should wait till CIC request for the medical .
Also if I do the upfront medical, how would they send results to CIC on behalf of my application
Please I'm confused cry cry , I need your advice and opinion on this , kindly assist please cry

PS: I don't have know my application number,but only UCI number I know because my application is reapplication paper route.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by sashaa(f): 11:25pm On Aug 02, 2019
Higihaga:

I booked medical appointment with IOM during the middle of last month July, they gave me appointment date on August 5th which is this coming Monday
I just booked the appointment in the hope that CIC would have send me Medical Request as it can faster my application because class start on the 3rd of September
I don't want to miss this appointment on Monday and I don't know what I can do about it
If I have to do the upfront medical, what are the stuff should i bring along when going for the upfront medical ??
Moreso, Is it advisable to do upfront as there is no enough time again ?? Or I should wait till CIC request for the medical .
Also if I do the upfront medical, how would they send results to CIC on behalf of my application
Please I'm confused cry cry , I need your advice and opinion on this , kindly assist please cry

PS: I don't have know my application number,but only UCI number I know because my application is reapplication paper route.
Just go with your passport and do the medicals.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by easywork2019: 12:10am On Aug 03, 2019
PM me same thing here.
JudithPeter:
Pls everyone I require your help.
I paid my application fees for memorial University of Newfoundland using my masters card through the university website.
After 2 unsuccessful trials I noticed that the money had already been deducted from my account but I noticed that my payment didn't reflect on my profile and I also didn't receive a notification from the school stating that my payment was successful.
I went to my bank and was told that the payment went through.
It's almost a week and still nothing from the school
I'm also aware that memorial doesn't reply mails and will appreciate any suggestions from this forum on what to do.
Attached is a debit alert showing i made the payment.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Nobody: 12:10am On Aug 03, 2019
Did you apply online or Paper?
Higihaga:

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Obehi44: 12:12am On Aug 03, 2019
Regina3:
Hi guys, been a silent reader here following all your advice, been a big source of encouragement & reference for me.

First Application.

Just want to say, I was really worried as all the documents I submitted for proof of financial ability were much and after managing to compress to 3.9MB, the documents didn't look to sharp, I thought that it would be an issue but I thank God, for favour. I will suggest if you are having same challenges as I did, you can use CamScanner on Android play store, I found out about it after submitting mine with poor resolutions.
Thanks.
Congratulations oh I am so happy so for you.
Please which program, course and which school?

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Obehi44: 12:30am On Aug 03, 2019
Higihaga:

True your app is about the processing time, but your faith made you book a medical appointment, now are you doubting your faith?
Please hold strong to your believe in faith that your application is a success and go do what is right.
Hold your money and passport and any info concerning your app and go for your medicals on Monday. When it's done, send the slip giving to you via webform to cic and also send it in an email with a note I guess.
Note: medicals I hear it's still valid for some months (someone else can confirm how long).
It will end in praise

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Higihaga: 12:37am On Aug 03, 2019
sashaa:

Just go with your passport and do the medicals.
Thanks for the Response, please check your PM
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Higihaga: 12:37am On Aug 03, 2019
Chosenone31:
Did you apply online or Paper?

Paper
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Higihaga: 12:55am On Aug 03, 2019
Obehi44:

True your app is about the processing time, but your faith made you book a medical appointment, now are you doubting your faith?
Please hold strong to your believe in faith that your application is a success and go do what is right.
Hold your money and passport and any info concerning your app and go for your medicals on Monday. When it's done, send the slip giving to you via webform to cic and also send it in an email with a note I guess.
Note: medicals I hear it's still valid for some months (someone else can confirm how long).
It will end in praise

Wow thanks you so much for the response, I truly appreciate
Like what are the info should I bring along
I have my UCI number, is that enough ??
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by clemsclef: 1:33am On Aug 03, 2019
[quote author=Ebiwalo101 post=80843108]GOOD DAY HOW DO ONE KNOW THE STAGE AT WHICH THIS PEOPLE ARE. I SUBMITTED MINE FOR OVER 10 WEEKS NOW CAN SOMEONE EXPLAIN THIS FOR ME
Details about your application status

When we get your application, there are a series of steps it may go through before we make a decision. Use the following table to find out the current status of each application step.
Review of eligibility Help - Review of eligibility

Your application is in progress. We will send you a message when we start reviewing your eligibility.

Review of medical results Help - Review of medical results

You do not need a medical exam. We will send you a message if this changes.

Review of additional documents Help - Review of additional documents

We do not need additional documents.

Interview Help - Interview

You do not need an interview. We will send you a message if this changes.

Biometrics Help - Biometrics

We do not need your fingerprints. We will send you a message if this changes.

Background check Help - Background check

We are processing your background check. We will send you a message if we need more information.

Final decision Help - Final decision

Your application is in progress. We will send you a message once the final decision has been
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by clemsclef: 1:43am On Aug 03, 2019
AgroNACT:
LONG POST ALERT! All to the Glory of My Lord Jesus Christ!

SECOND APPLICATION TIMELINE
Second Application submitted online: 13th June
Background check started almost immediately.
Eligibility Review started: 12th July
Medical request: 12th July
Medical done (IOM): 18th July
Medical updated to pass: 23rd July
PPR/Approval/BVL: 1st August

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED
SOP (5pages)
LOE (4pages)
All IMM forms
International Passport
Police clearance
Birth Attestation
Passport size photo

EDUCATION
Degree Certificate
Degree Transcript
NECO Certificate
Letter of recommendation from my UnderG supervisor
Research publication (Front Page)
MSc Admission letter
MSc Acceptance Letter

FINANCIAL DOCUMENTS
1st Scholarship Letter ( 23400Cad)
2nd Scholarship Letter ( 16000Cad)
(I later got 3rd Scholarship of 2000Cad -came in after i submitted my application, so i could add it.
My supervisors recommendation letter (Adding 5000K, funding my research and acknowledging my fundings)
My personal SOA (Current employment) with (N1.1M)
My NYSC SOA (Zero account)

EMPLOYMENT
NYSC Call up letter (I later passed out 25th July)
Official letter of acceptance from My PPA
Official Letter from my PPA confirming my current and future role when i come back (Written by me, stamped and signed by the company HRM)
Picture of me at work and at my CDS
NYSC ID Card

HOME TIE & PERSONAL ASSET
My wedding certificate
My Wife's birth certificates
My siblings' birth certificate
My Own Land Property docs (Power of Attorney and survey plan)
Pictures of My paintings
(Artworks)
My late fathers house and land properties (I explained I inherited them and i showed his death certificate)

TESTIMONY
I filed this application one month after i was refused with 4 refusal reasons.
I just want to thank God almighty who made it possible. I thank everyone in thread 15 for their invaluable advice at that time i was refused. Special thanks to @frankrobbn1, @Schonebaby and @Dera12345 who personally took it upon themselves to join me in re-strategizing for the the second app. They were always on phone with me, going through my letters, brainstorming on documents i should/shouldn't get. @stonecoldsteve, i can't forget you also. God bless you guys beyond measure.

It was not by my power, neither was it by any tight application, It was simply by the GRACE of my Lord Jesus Christ. I praised him exclusively and he answered by fire.

PRAISE THE LORD!

pls Hw did u get the scholarship did u applied for it or Hw ??
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by 4evaco: 4:23am On Aug 03, 2019
Higihaga:

Go ahead and do your medicals. I did mine a month after submission because I didn't have much time left. I think it facilitated the decision on my application. Go with your Intl passport data page and you can log onto your GCkey account to get your application information. IOM called me the following day to inform me that my result has been sent, so I didn't bother sending the medical slip to CIC, even when I emailed them to update my profile in the 7th week of my application.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Higihaga: 5:02am On Aug 03, 2019
4evaco:

Go ahead and do your medicals. I did mine a month after submission because I didn't have much time left. I think it facilitated the decision on my application. Go with your Intl passport data page and you can log onto your GCkey account to get your application information. IOM called me the following day to inform me that my result has been sent, so I didn't bother sending the medical slip to CIC, even when I emailed them to update my profile in the 7th week of my application.

Thank you so much Bro
I really appreciate
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Regina3(f): 5:09am On Aug 03, 2019
mzjokky16:
i have submitted since june 18th and nothing yet, nawa o
congratulations dear, mine will also end in praise

I hope so. Keep faith
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Regina3(f): 5:10am On Aug 03, 2019
Josade69:
Was this with an upfront medical and which Visa office handled your application?

No, I did my medicals after my biometrics in Abuja.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Regina3(f): 5:11am On Aug 03, 2019
mzjokky16:
how do people get medical request, is it from your email or on your cic page
You get an email asking you to log into your cicc account. You download the pdf file

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Regina3(f): 5:16am On Aug 03, 2019
JudithPeter:
Pls everyone I require your help.
I paid my application fees for memorial University of Newfoundland using my masters card through the university website.
After 2 unsuccessful trials I noticed that the money had already been deducted from my account but I noticed that my payment didn't reflect on my profile and I also didn't receive a notification from the school stating that my payment was successful.
I went to my bank and was told that the payment went through.
It's almost a week and still nothing from the school
I'm also aware that memorial doesn't reply mails and will appreciate any suggestions from this forum on what to do.
Attached is a debit alert showing i made the payment.

Took mine about 2days to resolve. Hold your bank responsible. They should refund or sort it out.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by RAY12345(m): 5:53am On Aug 03, 2019
AgroNACT:
LONG POST ALERT! All to the Glory of My Lord Jesus Christ!

SECOND APPLICATION TIMELINE
Second Application submitted online: 13th June
Background check started almost immediately.
Eligibility Review started: 12th July
Medical request: 12th July
Medical done (IOM): 18th July
Medical updated to pass: 23rd July
PPR/Approval/BVL: 1st August

DOCUMENTS SUBMITTED
SOP (5pages)
LOE (4pages)
All IMM forms
International Passport
Police clearance
Birth Attestation
Passport size photo

EDUCATION
Degree Certificate
Degree Transcript
NECO Certificate
Letter of recommendation from my UnderG supervisor
Research publication (Front Page)
MSc Admission letter
MSc Acceptance Letter

FINANCIAL DOCUMENTS
1st Scholarship Letter ( 23400Cad)
2nd Scholarship Letter ( 16000Cad)
(I later got 3rd Scholarship of 2000Cad -came in after i submitted my application, so i could add it.
My supervisors recommendation letter (Adding 5000K, funding my research and acknowledging my fundings)
My personal SOA (Current employment) with (N1.1M)
My NYSC SOA (Zero account)

EMPLOYMENT
NYSC Call up letter (I later passed out 25th July)
Official letter of acceptance from My PPA
Official Letter from my PPA confirming my current and future role when i come back (Written by me, stamped and signed by the company HRM)
Picture of me at work and at my CDS
NYSC ID Card

HOME TIE & PERSONAL ASSET
My wedding certificate
My Wife's birth certificates
My siblings' birth certificate
My Own Land Property docs (Power of Attorney and survey plan)
Pictures of My paintings
(Artworks)
My late fathers house and land properties (I explained I inherited them and i showed his death certificate)

TESTIMONY
I filed this application one month after i was refused with 4 refusal reasons.
I just want to thank God almighty who made it possible. I thank everyone in thread 15 for their invaluable advice at that time i was refused. Special thanks to @frankrobbn1, @Schonebaby and @Dera12345 who personally took it upon themselves to join me in re-strategizing for the the second app. They were always on phone with me, going through my letters, brainstorming on documents i should/shouldn't get. @stonecoldsteve, i can't forget you also. God bless you guys beyond measure.

It was not by my power, neither was it by any tight application, It was simply by the GRACE of my Lord Jesus Christ. I praised him exclusively and he answered by fire.

PRAISE THE LORD!

Congrats
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by RAY12345(m): 5:54am On Aug 03, 2019
Congrats to you!!!

4evaco:
MY TESTIMONY

All glory to God, honour to my Mother Mary!

First Time Applicant
Type: Paper
Date submitted: June 6, 2019
Linked online: June 9, 2019
Background check start date: June 9, 2019 ( noticed it had started when I linked my application online)
Background check end date: June 6, 2019 (surprisingly that was what was stated in the final update on my profile when it was approved)
Eligibility review start date: Between July 29, 2019 and August 1, 2019 (not sure when it started because I didn't check my profile that period until August 1st when I checked and noticed it had started)
Eligibility review end date: August 1, 2019
Upfront medicals: July 8, 2019 (done about a month after submission)
Medicals updated to passed: August 1, 2019
Approval update: August 2, 2019.

My Background
Bachelors: Microbiology 2009
Masters: Public Health 2013
Intended program: PhD Health Research Methodology (Fully funded)
School: McMaster University

Documents submitted

Personal
-All CIC forms
-4-paged SOP
-My Intl passport data page
-Travel stamps and visas to 6 countries
-BSc certificate
-Masters certificate
-NYSC certificate
-Marriage certificate
-Birth certificate
-Change of name documents
-Front pages of 7 publications (4 journal articles and 3 conference abstracts)
-CAC documents of NGO I cofounded
-Pictures of NGO activities from facebook and other sites
-French A2 level certificate
-Awards and professional certificatons
-Employment letters from a previous job
-Recommendations from past and future research collaborators
-Email exchange between me and a renowned indigenous research institute for possible research collaboration during my PhD
-Email exchange between me and my potential supervisor
-Email evidence of daycare spot secured for my daughter
-Email evidence from Lagos CIC indicating that my daughter does not require a visa

Sponsors
-Parents Intl passport data page
-Parents joint account statement
-Marriage certificate
-Birth certificate
-Affidavit of support
-Letter of support
-Pension documents
-Company documents
-One family picture
-Certificate of Ownership of 4 lands

Family
-Spouse Intl passport data page
-Daughter's Intl passport data page
-Birth certificates
-2 family pictures
Company document
-Survey plan and power of attorney of 2 lands co-owned with my husband
-Letter of support from my husband for my daughter's upkeep and visa application expenses
-Affidavit of consent to travel with my daughter

Uniqueness of My Profile
-Haven't worked for about 18 months. Only been doing volunteer academic manuscript writing and related research work.
-No money in my account because I hadnt earned in a while only been spending. But my parents and husband had to make lump sum transfers of 3m and 2m respectively, so I had 5m in my account which I explained in my SOP)
-Travelling with a toddler who's a US citizen ( I was initially confused about how to include her in my application)

Now My Story
I made the decision to go back to school last year September while on maternity break. Then I had only 6 weeks to the admission application deadline. I had not gotten a supervisor yet. So, night after night (because I'm nocturnal), I went through hundreds of profiles of potential supervisors until I came across an exceptional one whose interests aligned with mine. I dug deep into his profile and research history to learn more about him. Then, I wrote a well-written, succinct email to him. In my mind, if this man replies me within two weeks then I must apply. I sent the email at 8:30am (Canadian time) so that it will be one of the first emails he reads when he logs in. He replied in less than 2 hours that he would be happy to supervise me. Then the application process began.

My program required IELTS so I had to write it but that was done after the application deadline. I was lucky to get an extension for that. I submitted the application an hour to the deadline while caring for my sick child in the hospital. I was so stressed that period so I couldn't package the application well enough, as a result, I almost didn't want to submit. The program is competitve and I also needed funding. Then I remembered that my potential supervisor would be expecting my application, so I went ahead to submit it like that. It was the only school and program I applied to so that meant all my eggs were in one basket.

Having started 2019 with a serious challenge, I got the happiest news of the year in March that my application was successful. It took me about 2 months to gather the requisite supporting documents for my application. When I got confused about how to package my application, I resorted to this Nairaland platform which had helped me in the past. I met two amazing persons here who assisted me through it all. Shout out to the Jays - @justmellow and @juleskiki. These people were very instrumental to the success of my application. They were my support system throughout the 8weeks of silence from CIC. I'm sorry for all the rants guys. Massive gratitude to you. I owe you @juleskiki a lot in addition to a good pot of soup in Ontario, just name the soup and it will be done. @Justmellow, I no wan give you an open cheque before you go name the kind things wey dem dey use bury Benin monarchs. But any which way we go still settle.

In all, my application took 8 weeks during which there was no update until the day that marked the 8th week. It was a very trying period for me. Sometimes, I had doubts about it scaling through, however, I learnt a lesson of patience. Prayers, prayers, prayers, need I say more? I even embarked on a spiritual program (July 6th - 31st) not just for this but to get to know God more. At the end of it all, I have become a better person.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by Coast2Coast: 6:02am On Aug 03, 2019
Hi guys,
All the best
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by abusmanlouis: 7:33am On Aug 03, 2019
Regina3:

First Application.

Thanks.

Big congratulation ooo
I am next in line to testify ooo

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by benjamin2222: 7:47am On Aug 03, 2019
AgroNACT:

I am sorry about this setback. However, the person should worry less, s/he should expend energy on how to restrategize and get it right in next app. And approval will surely follow by special grace of God.
Goodmorning every1 am new here I submitted my paper application June 14th with no reply at all... I tried tracking it but to no useful information.... any1 here with same issues.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by benjamin2222: 7:58am On Aug 03, 2019
mzjokky16:
i have submitted since june 18th and nothing yet, nawa o
congratulations dear, mine will also end in praise

did you submit online or paper
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by abusmanlouis: 8:07am On Aug 03, 2019
benjamin2222:
Goodmorning every1 am new here I submitted my paper application June 14th with no reply at all... I tried tracking it but to no useful information.... any1 here with same issues.

Try link your application online. You can always track through ur online account.
Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by benque: 8:43am On Aug 03, 2019
Alleluia! Amen, congratulations to u

4evaco:
Come and join me sing Alleluia,
Jehovah Jireh has done me well (2ce)

O Mama carry us dey go (2ce)
Wherever better dey carry us dey go(2ce)

Approval Alert

Stay tuned for details.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by toffytee: 9:12am On Aug 03, 2019
Regina3:

First Application.

Thanks.
Congratulations sister pls can u share with us the document you submitted please.

Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 16 by gr8full2God: 9:19am On Aug 03, 2019
Good day all
Am about to submit my application online but my question is, Do I group all the supporting document in one pdf and upload? For example Proof of means of financial support I will add all the document in one pdf and upload am I right?

(1) (2) (3) ... (179) (180) (181) (182) (183) (184) (185) ... (644)

UK Spouse Visa/Appeal Process-part2 / Travelling To Canada Part 9 / General Australian student Visa Enquiries Part 2

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 114