Stats: 3,330,746 members, 8,446,913 topics. Date: Friday, 17 July 2026 at 11:25 AM

Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day - Politics (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland ForumNairaland GeneralPoliticsBorder Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day (35228 Views)

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply (Go Down)

Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by BuhariAdvocate: 9:29am On Oct 03, 2019
God bless buhari.
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Foxman19: 9:30am On Oct 03, 2019
Believe this at your own risk pure propaganda. Tomorrow he will denounce the statement.
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by SenecaTheYonger: 9:32am On Oct 03, 2019
slimthugchimee2:
So Russia that actually has communism isint white abi?
Russian under communist rule was a 1 BILLION TIMES better than Nigeria under 100% democracy. These days they're a mix of the two.
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Zubi10(m): 9:33am On Oct 03, 2019
cyrilamx:
The comptroller general of the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS), Hameed Ali, says the recent border closure is a blessing for the state

- Ali says while the country made N9.2 billion in just one day, it has continued to rake in money in billions

- The customs boss recalls being scared when the implementation of the policy on border closure was to be implemented

Colonel Hameed Ali, comptroller general of the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS), has revealed that the policy on border closure is assisting in the revenue generation bid of the agency.

According to Ali, who said this while speaking with a joint National Assembly committee on finance in Abuja, the agency, at one time, made N9.2 billion in one day

He further said that the agency now makes at least N5 billion to N 6 billion on a daily basis.

Ali noted that since the closure of the borders, most cargoes now berth in Nigeria instead of Benin Republic as was the case in the past.

"When we closed the border my fear was that our revenue is going to drop. To be honest our revenue kept increasing.

“There was a day in September that we collected N9.2 billion in one day. It has never happened before.

“This is after the closure of the border and since then, we have maintained an average of about N4.7 billion to N5.8 billion on a daily basis which is far more than we used to collect," he said.

Legit.ng earlier reported that the comptroller-general of the Nigerian Customs Service (NCS), Hameed Ali, recently disclosed the unwillingness of the federal government to change its stand on the closure of borders anytime soon.

Ali, who spoke at Idiroko, Ogun state, said the federal government is not ready to open the borders as the country continues to check the trends of smuggling.

https://www.legit.ng/amp/1262616-border-closure-customs-recorded-n92bn-revenue-a-day---hameed-ali.html?__twitter_impression=true
Rubbish!! making the money for yourselves..ordinary Nigerians don't enjoy anything from the money... abeg open border...
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Ayintabazin2(m): 9:33am On Oct 03, 2019
Lies. we love manipulating figures ba.
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by rhythyson: 9:33am On Oct 03, 2019
hisexcellency34:
With all these money, why are they returning toll gates?
Its not the Custom that returns the Toll gate

Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by ajl: 9:36am On Oct 03, 2019
Dreal1247:
Battling Igbo businessmen and businesswomen. Trust them. They will always survive and succeed.
Na only Igbo people dey Nija? Except if you agree that Igbos are masterminds of smugglers. Get off importation syndrome.
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Gideoniteprime4: 9:37am On Oct 03, 2019
SenecaTheYonger:
mumu, this is communism. You don't have any freedom. You speak out, you end up in jail like Sowore. You look a certain way, and you get arrested. You own a laptop and you find yourself in jail. Wake up, this is communism. If you want to see true democracy, go to a white country. Democracy is not for blacks.
mumu?
okay lets see who`s the mumu here
china that we are using to compare nigeria based on development is what?
communist right
it took just less than 70 years to build a nation such as china using communism
okay lets forget communism first
democracy is goo abi
how come your democratic country still allows the arrest of people with out offense calling them yahoo boys
how about the money been looted by your democratic leaders?
what punishment do they receive?
oh wait
its a democratic government
corruption and communism is like water and fire
a government where everything belongs to everyone is better than a government where everything can be LOOTED by one person
full stop
MUMU!!!!!!!

Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Nobody: 9:39am On Oct 03, 2019
Ishilove, is this possible?
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by SenecaTheYonger: 9:40am On Oct 03, 2019
Gideoniteprime4:
mumu?
communist right
democracy is goo abi
how come your democratic country still allows the arrest of people with out offense calling them yahoo boys
oh wait
a government where everything belongs to everyone is better than a government where everything can be LOOTED by one person
full stop
MUMU!!!!!!!
I don't understand your post. It's seems like you're agreeing with me but are too angry to see it huh

Also, don't blame chinese progress on communism. They have a collective IQ that is even higher than white people's
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by millhouse: 9:41am On Oct 03, 2019
Lol .... Audio money !
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by semyman: 9:42am On Oct 03, 2019
SouthSouth1914:
Talk is cheap! Pure propaganda! I am not saying closure of the border isn’t good.. but this is totally juicy from this guy..

If any government body makes more money regarding turnover, very difficult for them to say it on paper! Don’t believe this.
Pervert
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Jabioro: 9:43am On Oct 03, 2019
What happened to bad road lead to all port in Lagos..do right thing no one would take his or her cargo neighboring country..
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Asifiwe(m): 9:43am On Oct 03, 2019
Ask them what they did with the money, It ended up in the pockets of corrupt politician after corrupt customs officers have diverted some of this amounts mentioned
This money is enough to construct rail lines that will reach all parts of the country
It is enough to start the construction of Rail line through Badagry expressway to Abidjan and beyond to open free trade in Africa
But these guys are clueless and they have no vision for the advance society
They mention huge monies that will find its way into the hands corrupt Politician who Have not read Ecclesiastes to know the vanity of Life
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Dabson360: 9:44am On Oct 03, 2019
In RudeBoy's Voice...Audio money ft Shatta Banddle
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by realbest(m): 9:45am On Oct 03, 2019
OhiOfIhima:
So the revenue generated is more concern than the wellbeing of Nigerians..

Bring the price of the commodities down to where you n your APC govt met it.. Rice den was going for 7-9k/50kg while now is 17-20k. A kilo of chick den was #650 and now #1200.

Your income doesn't put food to our table...
The last time I checked before military hand over to PDP .A bag of rice is 2200-2500 naira,a dollar is 22 naira and a litre of petrol is 18 naira.So howc come APC meet rice @7-9 k ?
Go buy sense if you don't know how Nigeria and Nigerians arrived at this junction .
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Nobody: 9:45am On Oct 03, 2019
Jabioro:
What happened to bad road lead to all port in Lagos..do right thing no one would take his or her cargo neighboring country..
Na bad road dey make people import goods via other countries?
Dull thing! grin
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by fecoleef123(m): 9:49am On Oct 03, 2019
Na audio money
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Quincykay: 9:50am On Oct 03, 2019
MYGRATEskillz:
From the over 1600 unmanned border posts...

A moment of silence for this dead joke
Read the article again...
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Gideoniteprime4: 9:51am On Oct 03, 2019
SenecaTheYonger:
I don't understand your post. It's seems like you're agreeing with me but are too angry to see it huh

Also, don't blame chinese progress on communism. They have a collective IQ that is even higher than white people's
look bro
what i`m trying to say is that i dislike democracy because it gives way for corruption
and based on the type of leaders we have, democracy is certainly not the right system of government for Nigeria
on the other hand communism is a system of Government that allows assets to be owned by the people
meaning that what is yours is mine and what is mine is yours
this kind of government does not allow corruption
communism or Marxism is very good when it comes to corruption control
cheers to a politically strong country!!

Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Ishilove: 9:51am On Oct 03, 2019
ornicus:
Ishilove, is this possible?
Very possible. Crazy people
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by tragergeorge(m): 9:52am On Oct 03, 2019
OhiOfIhima:
So the revenue generated is more concern than the wellbeing of Nigerians..

Bring the price of the commodities down to where you n your APC govt met it.. Rice den was going for 7-9k/50kg while now is 17-20k. A kilo of chick den was #650 and now #1200.

Your income doesn't put food to our table...
kilo of chicken 650?? Lies ,,,, the lowest half kilo was sold before border closer is 550
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Nobody: 9:52am On Oct 03, 2019
Ishilove:
How so?
Can you enlighten us?
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by bigiyaro(m): 9:53am On Oct 03, 2019
making money is not Nigeria's problem, a country that has its fair share of every useful natural resources on earth and more than 120 million hustlers, will not have any problem making money. The problem is how our fvcking leaders loot the money. So Mr custom boss, after u tell us how much comes in, go ahead n finish d job by telling us, what d money did.
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by SenecaTheYonger: 9:53am On Oct 03, 2019
Gideoniteprime4:
mumu?
communist right
democracy is goo abi
oh wait
full stop
MUMU!!!!!!!

Also don't blame China's development on communism. They have IQ higher than even white people. They only started becoming a threat, economic wise, recently. Guess what? They now practice 60% democracy, especially with biz and trade. They were shiit under communism.
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by King44(m): 9:54am On Oct 03, 2019
Gideoniteprime4:
these people crazy
okay fine you guys made billions in a day
but we nor they see wetin they dey take the money do
it is only God that can strike the person that invented democracy
communist 4 life
some pple would come here to say closing of border is this is that for me I am down with the policy from day one, I am also down with his agricultural policies but the rest are sometimes else
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Onyi90(m): 9:55am On Oct 03, 2019
So why the proposed tax with all these funds recovered
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by ada9ja(f): 9:55am On Oct 03, 2019
Gideoniteprime4:
so all the money we have been generating for 59 years is not enough for development shebi?
what is wrong if we build a bridge in one day?
na bad thing say our LEADERS utilize fresh revenues for infrastructural growth?
if i reason you!
The topic says since border closure and your comment refers to ...since border closure

So I replied base on that but if you want it from 1960 then u re ungrateful

It might not be much but there are development
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Nobody: 9:58am On Oct 03, 2019
Ishilove:
Is it a bad thing?
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by onyxo76(m): 9:59am On Oct 03, 2019
clap for yourself, good job, but we don't see the impact of all these billions being made ..
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Onyi90(m): 9:59am On Oct 03, 2019
Do why the proposed tax if they are recovering these amount of money daily. Useless leaders
Re: Border Closure: Hameed Ali Reveals How Customs Made N9.2bn In Just One Day by Gideoniteprime4: 9:59am On Oct 03, 2019
ada9ja:
The topic says since border closure and your comment refers to ...since border closure

So I replied base on that but if you want it from 1960 then u re ungrateful

It might not be much but there are development
cry cry cry cry
wow your post actually melted my heart cry cry cry cry cry

hahahahahahaha
buhari people *spits*

1 2 3 4 5 6 Reply

Hameed Ali Marries Zainab Abdullahi As New Wife (Photos)Ministries, Departments, Agencies In Secret Recruitments To Cover N9.2bn FraudCustoms Officer Promotes Self To CG, Asks Hameed Ali To Hand Over234

Senator Dino Melaye To Wed ‘Soon’Tinubu Reshuffles Cabinet, Sacks Wale Edun, DangiwaS-east Govs Divided Over Pro-biafra Struggle - Vanguard