Stats: 3,151,875 members, 7,813,982 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 11:20 PM

Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? - Food (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Food / Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? (41624 Views)

Unboxing Of A 3million Naira Alcoholic Drink (pics/video) / NAFDAC Bans Alcoholic Drinks In Sachets, Small Volume PET / Coca-Cola Launches First Alcoholic Drink (Photo) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by dotun4luv(m): 6:31pm On Dec 08, 2019
This same question came up sometimes in 2016 but there was no valid response.

https://www.nairaland.com/3117392/milk-stout-milk-malt-nutritional
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by Enwhen(m): 6:32pm On Dec 08, 2019
hisgrace090:
It reduces nothing.

It will reduce it... That's what is called Neutralization... Some even do thesame for coker cola , to reduce the amount of sugar...and they do the mixing , glass cup by glass cup ensured proper Neutralization.
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by darling4real1: 6:34pm On Dec 08, 2019
It is called dilution of the alcoholic content through chemical reactions . Hence, it reduces d effect of the alcohol. Thank me later.

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by pek(m): 6:34pm On Dec 08, 2019
rayobaba:
It has effect by simply deceiving or making the drinker belief it reduces the effect of d alcohol in d body system. U know dt kind belief na, whatever you believe in.
*believe*
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by tfelicityk(m): 6:34pm On Dec 08, 2019
People with concoction ideology Sha... The beer itself is sugar...
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by Enwhen(m): 6:34pm On Dec 08, 2019
Johnpaul01:
So I was chilling in one beer parlour today when two guys came in for drinks, one of them ordered for a bottle of Goldberg while the other ordered for a bottle of Stout. While the girl was about going to bring the drinks, the stout guy asked "Do you have nutri milk?", she replied with a yes and he asked her to bring it, explaining to his friend that it reduce the effect of the alcohol in the stout and the guy just nodded, but I was thinking of how that would be possible when the full bottle of stout will get into your body system with extra sugar from the nutri milk, and I felt it should be more damaging but I decided to mind my business and bring it here. Doctors in the house, is the guy correct with his ideology?.

It will reduce the alcoholic contents... It is known as Neutralization process... Some also does same for coker cola to reduce the sugar contents .

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by tinz: 6:34pm On Dec 08, 2019
There's a difference btwn concentration and dilution. You are only diluting the alcohol but not reducing the molecules of the alcohol

Johnpaul01:
So I was chilling in one beer parlour today when two guys came in for drinks, one of them ordered for a bottle of Goldberg while the other ordered for a bottle of Stout. While the girl was about going to bring the drinks, the stout guy asked "Do you have nutri milk?", she replied with a yes and he asked her to bring it, explaining to his friend that it reduce the effect of the alcohol in the stout and the guy just nodded, but I was thinking of how that would be possible when the full bottle of stout will get into your body system with extra sugar from the nutri milk, and I felt it should be more damaging but I decided to mind my business and bring it here. Doctors in the house, is the guy correct with his ideology?.

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by Nobody: 6:35pm On Dec 08, 2019
Lol. It's not about experience. It's just like adding sugar to your Lipton. it makes it easier to drink
Ijaya123:

Veteran. Too much experience.

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by DMerciful(m): 6:35pm On Dec 08, 2019
The alcoholic % is a volumetric one. Meaning, 10% alcoholic content means that 1 part out of 10 parts by volume is pure alcohol. So by adding the nutrimilk, the volume has increased without additional increases in alcohol so there is dilution. Secondly, because the consumer is not taking it instantaneously, it will take him more time to consume the alchohol in the beer giving the body more time to neutralize the effect. Also the quantity of alcohol he will consume overall will reduce because he has a limit interms of volume he can drink which is already diluted.
For example, if you put 1kg of powdered detergent in small water, it will be effective, but if you add more water, even though the detergent remains thesame, the detergent will be diluted and unable to wash the cloth.

27 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by UncleJudax(m): 6:36pm On Dec 08, 2019
Yes. it is called dilution. The concentration with respect to volume is reduced, thus more volume is needed to saturate the brain.

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by helinues: 6:36pm On Dec 08, 2019
In chemistry, concentration is different from dilution cos the effects are different
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by ityP(m): 6:37pm On Dec 08, 2019
Milk actually neutralises the effects of alcohol.
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by varmint: 6:37pm On Dec 08, 2019
Jh0wsef:
Nope. if you mix 30% alcoholic drink in a full pepsi bottle. It only changes the taste, but the Alcohol level still remains 30%.

So let us not deceive ourselves and face reality jehjeh.
Great hypothetical situation but weak mathematics
Let's assume the drink was 100ml to begin with, 30% alcohol means you have 30ml alcohol in the drink. When you add a non alcoholic beverage say another 100ml, you have a 200ml drink with only 30ml alcohol. This reduces the alcoholic content to 30/200 now which is 15%.
So in way, it reduces the alcoholic percentage of the drink while the alcoholic volume remains constant.

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by airminem(f): 6:37pm On Dec 08, 2019
wink
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by zicoraads: 6:37pm On Dec 08, 2019
Mine is just for the bitter taste. But if I'm taking any of these Irish creams, I don't mix it. Or even American Honey.
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by ityP(m): 6:37pm On Dec 08, 2019
Enwhen:

It will reduce the alcoholic contents... It is known as Neutralization process... Some also does same for coker cola to reduce the sugar contents .

Thank you. You know chemistry
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by ityP(m): 6:38pm On Dec 08, 2019
Enwhen:

It will reduce it... That's what is called Neutralization... Some even do thesame for coker cola , to reduce the amount of sugar...and they do the mixing , glass cup by glass cup ensured proper Neutralization.

You know chemistry
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by fergie001: 6:38pm On Dec 08, 2019
zekepio:
Yes and it's simple science expressed by the formula
C1V1 = C2V2

C= Concentration
V=Volume

So if you add a non-alcoholic drink to an Alcoholic drink there will be an increased new Volume (V2) while the new Concentration(C2) will decrease.

Proudly a science student cheesy
Boyle's law don scatter ya head

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by jaxxy(m): 6:39pm On Dec 08, 2019
Johnpaul01:

Ok it doesn’t reduce it bt it dilutes it. The effect is reduced, same quantity bt different concentration. Hope that helps

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by pocohantas(f): 6:39pm On Dec 08, 2019
zicoraads:
Mine is just for the bitter taste. But if I'm taking any of these Irish creams, I don't mix it. Or even American Honey.

Drunkards done show undecided

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by chukzyfcbb: 6:40pm On Dec 08, 2019
If you drink just a bottle of alcohol, the alochokic content in the blood will be neutral based on the amount drank.

However if you add something else like nutri milk or bottle water, it will reduce the alcoholic content in the blood. As your blood will now have a ratio of alcohol:Milk inside of it.

Having a bottle of water by your side, is usually the best as alcoholo causes dryness. So as you drink a glass, you complement it with water so your blood doesn't get too conxerntrated.

it's when you take bottles upon bottles that your blood will become too conxerntrated with Shayo. Always ask for a bottle of water if you find yourself in such scenario, make u for no kill yourself

Trust me it works!!!

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by Xpol: 6:40pm On Dec 08, 2019
Do you know about conc acid? How active and damaging is it? Do you also know about diluted acid? Compare the two together then you get ur answer

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by 2019elections: 6:42pm On Dec 08, 2019
Enwhen:

Its is nt neutralization process. It's dilution. Neutralization is when acid and base react to form salt and water only.

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by Kingluqman(m): 6:42pm On Dec 08, 2019
englishmart:
Last Sunday I took only Henesey about 33 cl. I was inebriated to the extent that I removed my clothes before sleeping in a hot weather. I tried the same quantity of Henesey with a bottle of la casera, it's my little sister that's typing right now.
grin cheesy grin grin grin grin
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by panmunium(m): 6:43pm On Dec 08, 2019
The non alcoholic drink will only increase the volume and the time of reaction will be longer but the alcoholic concentrate is still intact
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by UncleJudax(m): 6:43pm On Dec 08, 2019
helinues:
In chemistry, concentration is different from dilution cos the effects are different
If you take a 20% alc.100ml vodka without mixing it with a non alcoholic beverage, you would knock off way sooner than someone who diluted it. Diluted alcohol has a less dramatic effect on the body, especially in the short run.

Dilution is the reduction of concentration.

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by Jh0wsef(m): 6:44pm On Dec 08, 2019
varmint:

Let's assume the drink was 100ml to begin with, 30% alcohol means you have 30ml alcohol in the drink. When you add a non alcoholic beverage say another 100ml, you have a 200ml drink with only 30ml alcohol. This reduces the alcoholic content to 30/200 now which is 15%.
So in way, it reduces the alcoholic percentage of the drink while the alcoholic volume remains constant.

Perfect.
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by Hoodbilonia: 6:44pm On Dec 08, 2019
Depends if a adulterated drink u dey take cos 80% of what is sold in malls,supermarkets are adulterated alcohol
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by UncleJudax(m): 6:45pm On Dec 08, 2019
RichDad1:
It changed nothing in the alcoholic content.
It only makes it easier to drink.
It reduces the effect of the alcohol with time. So takes longer time to get high.
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by majamajic(m): 6:46pm On Dec 08, 2019
yes
Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by shakaZuIlu: 6:47pm On Dec 08, 2019
itsme01:
smiley

slows down the effect, by diluting alchohol you would take less alchohol overall before you get filled up compared to taking just alchohol

This is why Cognacs like Henessy with little or no water has alcholic content of 45% while Beer has 5% with plenty of water in it, same has red wine with 12% alc ..

so 3 shorts of spirit or a tumbler is the same thing has drinking like two bottles of beer or s glass of red wine

P.S: if you must mix your Alchohol use water or fruit juice(never use Diet coke or coke), because alchohol dehydrates you by making you sweat and pee so you need water and vitamins from juice, mixing soft drink and alchohol is like mixing diabetis with liver problem

wait ooo i taught you're a muslim?

Re: Does Mixing Alcoholic Drinks With Non-Alcoholic Drinks Reduce Effect? by 2019elections: 6:47pm On Dec 08, 2019
varmint:

Mathematically
C1 = 30% = 0.3
V1 = 100ml
V2 = 100ml + 100ml( beverage of zero conc.) = 200ml
C2 = ?

Solution:
C1V1 = C2V2
0.3× 100 = C2 × 200
C2 = 0.3×100÷ 200
C2 = 0.15= 15%

Therefore, the alcoholic concentration has reduced by half upon addition of a 100ml beverage of zero concentration.

Is This The Most Underrated Grain In Nigeria? See Pic / Lady Orders Cake for her Baby's Birthday Online, But See What was Delivered. PIX / Party Guests Served Food From A Hot Stove In Nigeria (Video)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 41