Stats: 3,143,339 members, 7,780,895 topics. Date: Friday, 29 March 2024 at 03:18 AM

Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown (47809 Views)

FG Asks All Account Holders In Financial Institutions To Re-Register Despite BVN / Governor Ayade Exempts The Poor From Taxes / Kaduna Realises N1.9m From Lockdown Violators In 2 Days (2) (3) (4)

Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by tunene66: 11:04am On Mar 30, 2020
The Minister of Finance and the Governor of the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) have secured approval from President Muhammadu Buhari to exempt key players in the financial services sector from COVID- 19 movement restrictions.

A statement jointly issued by the Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning, Mrs. Zainab Ahmed and Central Bank governor, Godwin Emefiele on Monday appealed to President Buhari to enable the financial services sector particularly banks render skeletal services.

President Muhammadu Buhari, on Sunday in his nationwide broadcast, imposed a total lockdown restricting movements in Lagos, Ogun and Abuja.

Addressing Nigerians, the President said: “based on the advice of the Federal Ministry of Health and the NCDC, I am directing the cessation of all movements in Lagos and the FCT for an initial period of 14 days with effect from 11pm on Monday, 30th March 2020.

“This restriction will also apply to Ogun State due to its close proximity to Lagos and the high traffic between the two States.”

In a jointly issued statement Monday by the Minister of Finance, Budget and National Planning and CBN governor, entitled: ‘ Notice to affected stakeholders and general public regarding COVID-19 and restrictions in movement of persons”, they applauded and appreciated the appropriate and proactive restrictions in personal and vehicular movement imposed by President Muhammadu Buhari in his speech of Sunday 29 March 2020.

However, the minister and CBN governor noted: ” To ensure that Nigerians can still perform online transactions and use ATMs whilst observing these restrictions, we will like to inform the general public and all affected stakeholders that we have obtained exemptions from the President to allow very skeletal operations in the Financial System and Money Markets in order to keep the system in light operations during this time”.

They added: “All relevant staff of affected outfits and agencies should look out for further instructions from their immediate bosses”.
https://thenationonlineng.net/buhari-exempts-banks-others-from-lockdown/

7 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by GamalNasser: 11:10am On Mar 30, 2020
Someone had to remind Dullard he didn't know what he was doing causing a stampede on banking deposit which can collapse the banking sector if care is not taken ..I hate dull people with low IQ

171 Likes 10 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Manuel69: 11:10am On Mar 30, 2020
Na who get money de use account at this period

20 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by NaijaRoyalty(m): 11:13am On Mar 30, 2020
GamalNasser:
Someone had to remind Dullard he didn't know what he was doing causing a stampede in banking deposit ..I hate dull people with low IQ

The man No know Wetin him dey do

His english pronunciation sucks

79 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Salvador1: 11:20am On Mar 30, 2020
That buhari speech is as confused as him

Why the total lock down when banks will be allow to work .

64 Likes 1 Share

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by OYIBOplayer: 11:23am On Mar 30, 2020
Fellow Nairalanders,

please help me with anything make i use survive during this dry period. anything will do for me abeg

6320004695 fidelity bank

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by GamalNasser: 11:24am On Mar 30, 2020
Buhari the dullard still doesn't know how banking is sustained cheesy. When I say he didn't consult with Economic crisis prevention experts before reeling out his mindless lock down I know what i am saying ..his thoughtless announcement put pressure on banking deposit a d could have caused the banks to be distressed by the end of today if Banks were not exempted

50 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Anacondaprick: 11:24am On Mar 30, 2020
Thank God ooooh @least my client go fit pay this week

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by princeade86(m): 11:29am On Mar 30, 2020
Ok. Why even lock down when will can just take 50ml of vodka and be OK

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Eriggs: 11:29am On Mar 30, 2020
Nice one from Baba. Those are essential businesses.

11 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Eriggs: 11:30am On Mar 30, 2020
GamalNasser:
Buhari the dullard still doesn't know how banking is sustained cheesy. When I say he didn't consult with Economic crisis prevention experts before reeling out his mindless lock down I know what i am saying ..his thoughtless announcement put pressure on banking deposit a d could have caused the banks to be distressed by the end of today if Banks were not exempted
Shut up. Your wailing is even annoying to your fellow wailers now. It's becoming boring. You never see anything good in your life. Haba! Na swear?
You have been poisoned with hate
Fed with irrational objectives
And injected with a syringe of pain.

If u neva wail on anythin in one day, ur body go dey do one kin one kin like snake wey swallow the 3 heads of Dino and FFK and Omokiri! grin

KINGJAJA888:

undecided U just can't please everyone especially Nigerians. If you like cut your head for them dey go still complain
Don't mind the wailer, if Buhari closed the banks also, they will be the first homosapiens to start wailing that how do the President expect them to withdraw their last 1500 in their account. Wailing zombies they are.

70 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Sirmuel1(m): 11:30am On Mar 30, 2020
Shit is getting scary!!! I need Sanitizers!!!! Someone help!! I'm stucked in the village and I can't get it around here. I've been using Dettol, but I don't trust it.

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by ecolime(m): 11:30am On Mar 30, 2020
Better
Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Candycrushy(f): 11:30am On Mar 30, 2020
Nice one
Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by GamalNasser: 11:30am On Mar 30, 2020
Eriggs:
Shut up

Poor man keep quiet

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by blinking001(m): 11:30am On Mar 30, 2020
This man keeps winning my heart on daily basis. A very thoughtful decision coming from our darling president.

7 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Nobody: 11:31am On Mar 30, 2020
Any1 shld try to help me out even if its to eat plz, Gtb 01.244613,99 Abuba k,ar Abdul.r ah.man, u wil never. beg to eat in ur entire lifetime amen.

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by GeneralPula: 11:31am On Mar 30, 2020
Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by LaIabobo: 11:31am On Mar 30, 2020
Salvador1:
That buhari speech is as confused as him

Why the total lock down when banks will be allow to work .

I'm sure the exemption is for ATMs, and other 24/7 bank operations like internet transfer support team and customer service.

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Eriggs: 11:31am On Mar 30, 2020
GamalNasser:
Someone had to remind Dullard he didn't know what he was doing ....I hate dull people with low IQ
Poor wailer. they just don't want to see anything good from the President
They have been poisoned with hate
Fed with irrational objectives
And injected with a syringe of pain.
Just becareful make coro no catch u for yansh soon.

12 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Homers123(m): 11:31am On Mar 30, 2020
Bubu Bubu himself.
Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by israelmao(m): 11:31am On Mar 30, 2020
It's quite vital to them keep operating so that people will not be stranded.
Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Nobody: 11:32am On Mar 30, 2020
Buhari is a figurehead Leader/Ruler!

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by Lanre4uonly(m): 11:32am On Mar 30, 2020
Ok. It is noted.
Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by PHijo(m): 11:32am On Mar 30, 2020
GamalNasser:
Someone had to remind Dullard he didn't know what he was doing causing a stampede on banking deposit which can collapse the banking sector if care is not taken ..I hate dull people with low IQ

Coupled with that, what do people need cash for if they can't shop?

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by JOHNSONSOLAFUNMI(m): 11:32am On Mar 30, 2020
Thank God, he’s responding to us even though this should have been done in the past weeks

Netflix subscription for lil amount +1.97,8 7;09/ 12.56
Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by KINGJAJA888(m): 11:33am On Mar 30, 2020
GamalNasser:
undecided U just can't please everyone especially Nigerians. If you like cut your head for them dey go still complain

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by seedsower(m): 11:33am On Mar 30, 2020
so more virus sharing in banks

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by dayorich: 11:33am On Mar 30, 2020
Did he not meet or consult with his cabinet members before recording his broadcast?
And how are we sure he won't still allow many other exemptions to the lockdown?

Re: Buhari Exempts Banks And Other Financial Institutions From Lockdown by ignis: 11:33am On Mar 30, 2020
Penny wise pound foolish.

Nightmares On Benin-ore Road Before Goodluck's Tenure; See What GEJ Has Done! / Kate Owoko Builds Floating Toilet In Bayelsa. Invites Press To Commission It / Aisha Buhari Returns To Nigeria After Six Months In Dubai