Stats: 3,330,833 members, 8,447,286 topics. Date: Saturday, 18 July 2026 at 02:23 AM

Solbase10's Posts

Nairaland ForumSolbase10's ProfileSolbase10's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 (of 68 pages)

SportsOgu “grateful” For Making Super Eagles World Cup Squad, Vows To Work Hard by solbase10(op): 2:41pm On Jun 04, 2018
Nigeria midfielder John Ogu is delighted to be named in the country’s final 23-man squad to the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, reports [url]Completesportsnigeria. com[/url]

Ogu was among the players surprisingly dropped by former Super Eagles head coach, Stephen Keshi, from the squad that made it to the second round at the last World Cup in Brazil.

Barring injury or any unforseen circumstances, he will get the chance to make his first appearance at the mundial in Russia after he made the list released by Gernot Rohr on Sunday.

The Hapoel Be’er Sheva star also promised to give his all in Russia.

“Grateful to God to be in the 23 man list to represent my country in d World Cup. I want to use this medium to thank the @thenff and the Managers for their trust in me. And to all my brothers wishing me well out there. God bless you all. I promise you I will Fight for this Badge,” Ogu wrote on his Twitter handle.

The midfielder who impressed after coming in as a substitute at the start of the second half in Saturday’s 2-1 friendly defeat to England will look to further stake a claim for a starting berth in the team when they take on Czech Republic in another test game on Wednesday.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ogu-grateful-for-making-super-eagles-world-cup-squad-vows-to-work-hard/

SportsSuper Eagles Players Get World Cup Squad Numbers by solbase10(op): 12:38pm On Jun 04, 2018
The Super Eagles of Nigeria’s 23-man squad for the 2018 FIFA World Cup have been allocated jersey numbers, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

The number allocation was announced in a video clip published on the Super Eagles’ verified Twitter handle on Monday.

Skipper of the team Mikel Obi retains his number 10, Odion Ighalo kept his number nine jersey, Victor Moses was handed number 11 and Ahmed Musa number seven. Leon Balogun and William Troost-Ekong got number six and five respectively.

The number four jersey went to Wilfred Ndidi, John Ogu has number 19, the number three jersey was given to Elderson Echiejile, Shehu Abdullahi will wear number 12, Ogenyi Onazi, number 17 and Kelechi Iheanacho got number 14.

Other number allocations include Ikechukwu Ezenwa with jersey number one, Daniel Akpeyi with number 16, Francis Uzoho, number 23, Alex Iwobi has number 18, jersey number 21 will be worn by Tyronne Ebuehi, Oghenekaro Etebo, number eight, Bryan Idowu, number two, Chidozie Awaziem, number 20 and Simeon Nwankwo, number 13.

The Super Eagles are already in Vienna, Austria and will face Czech Republic on Wednesday before flying out to Russia for the World Cup.

Super Eagles squad numbers:

23 – Francis Uzoho

16 – Daniel Akpeyi

1 – Ikechukwu Ezenwa

5 – William Troost-Ekong

6 – Leon Balogun

12 – Shehu Abdullahi

2 – Bryan Idowu

21 – Tyronne Ebuehi

20 – Chidozie Awaziem

22 – Kenneth Omeruo

3 – Elderson Echiejile

17 – Ogenyi Onazi

4 – Wilfred Ndidi

19 – John Ogu

15 – Joel Obi

10 – John Mikel Obi

8 – Oghenekaro Etebo

18 – Alex Iwobi

14 – Kelechi Iheanacho

9 – Odion Ighalo

13 – Simeon Nwankwo

7 – Ahmed Musa

11 – Victor Moses

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/super-eagles-players-get-world-cup-squad-numbers/

SportsSuper Eagles Legend Kanu Robbed Of £8k In Russia by solbase10(op): 11:29am On Jun 04, 2018
Former Nigeria international Nwankwo Kanu was robbed of over £8,000 after arriving in Russia for a FIFA legends vs Russia legends game in Kaliningrad on Sunday.

According to The Mirror, Kanu, 41, reported the money missing when he reached Kaliningrad for the game organized by the world football ruling body.

Russian police said it was stolen by two loaders aged 30 and 36 at Moscow’s Sheremetyevo Airport. The pair face criminal investigation which could see them sent to jail for up to six years.

Reacting to the incident, Lieutenant Colonel Irina Volk, spokeswoman for the Russian Interior Ministry, said the loaders were dealing with the baggage from a London to Moscow flight.

“The stolen cash was removed (from the loaders) and will soon be returned to the owner,” she assured.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/super-eagles-legend-kanu-robbed-of-8k-in-russia/

SportsTroost-ekong: Criticism By Oliseh Helped Me Improve; England’s Kane Was Good To by solbase10(op): 3:40pm On Jun 01, 2018
Nigeria defender William Troost-Ekong says that criticisms from former Super Eagles coach, Sunday Oliseh shaped his questk to excel at the international level.

Troost-Ekong, 25, who scored his first international goal for Nigeria in Monday’s pre-World friendly against Democratic Republic of Congo gained recognition after impressing with the country’s U-23 team that won bronze in the football event of the Rio 2016 Olympic Games.

The centre-back and his central defence partner, Leon Balogun were impressive for the Super Eagles in the qualifiers for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Now a key member of the Super Eagles team, the Bursaspor of Turkey defender’s journey to international stardom has however not been a rosy one.

“My partner at centre-back (new Brighton signing Leon Balogun) is half-German, half-Nigerian, so he is the same as me,” Troost-Ekong stated in an interview with Telegraph.co.uk.

“After a game, he (Sunday Oliseh) said we were too soft to play against African players. That upset me, because one of my traits as a player is that I am someone who does not back away from anyone. I am not the most skilful, but I know what I am good at.

“I think that’s part of being from different countries, different cultures. It’s not nice when people try to use that against you. I identify myself as being Nigerian as well, and I feel at home in the team.

“Not once have I ever looked around and thought ‘this is not for me’. But it spurred me on. I have played against African strikers since then and no one has bullied me. I have proven my point.”

Troost-Ekong played for the Netherlands at junior levels but made his debut for the Super Eagles in 2015 after an impressive season on loan at Dutch side FC Dordrecht.

The duo of Victor Moses and Alex Iwobi could have played for England, but they chose to represent Nigeria instead and the rugged defender reckons that it is important for players to go where they are appreciated.

“You have to go where you are loved, where you are appreciated,” he insisted.

“It is more appealing for younger players. It is opening doors for foreign-born Nigerians, and I think there are going to be more to follow. Nigeria is a giant of African football.”

The Super Eagles will come up against England in a friendly game at the Wembley Stadium on Saturday which provides an opportunity for a reunion with Harry Kane, his former teammate at Tottenham Hotspur who once helped him fill out his registration form when he was a fresh-faced scholar at the club.

“He was one of the first guys that sat me down and helped me,” Troost-Ekong said of Kane.

“It’s amazing to see how well he has done.”

He recalls how left Tottenham Hotspur for Dutch club in 2013 following the appointment of Tim Sherwood as manager

“Me and Tim did not have the best rapport,” he stated.

“He did not really believe in me as a player.”

Troost-Ekong believes he has an unfinished business in the English Premier League and hopes to be back someday.

“I’ve taken a different route,” he added

“But if I can get to the Premier League, I will feel like I have achieved a lot.”

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/troost-ekong-criticism-by-oliseh-helped-my-improvement-englands-kane-was-good-to-me-kane/

SportsRohr: Super Eagles Will Score Many Goals At World Cup by solbase10(op): 2:52pm On Jun 01, 2018
Nigeria coach Gernot Rohr has assured that the lack of goals in the Super Eagles will be resolved before the start of the World Cup in Russia, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

The Super Eagles have scored only two goals in their last three friendlies against Poland, Serbia and Democratic Republic of Congo.

“I am not worried that the Super Eagles have not scored much in recent games because I know we have what it takes to score goals and I believe my players will score plenty of goals at the World Cup in Russia,” Rohr told Complete Sports.

“We are working very hard to get our attackers scoring goals again. It is not as if we can’t score goals, it is just that we were trying out new formations and trying out new players in different roles. “Now that we have pruned the team to a manageable size, it is time to perfect our strategy for the World Cup

“Nigerians should believe in this team to deliver at the World Cup. By the time we finished playing England and Czech Republic and go into our final camping for the World Cup, all the flaws will be corrected and we are ready to go.”

Nigeria are in the same World Cup group with Croatia, Argentina and Iceland.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/rohr-super-eagles-will-score-many-goals-at-world-cup/

SportsEagles’ Likely 1st, 2nd Eleven Tussle In First Training Ahead England Clash by solbase10(op): 12:55pm On Jun 01, 2018
The Super Eagles had their first training session on Thursday after arriving London ahead of Saturday’s high profile international friendly game against the Three Lions of England at Wembley Stadium, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

The team had their first training at The Hive Stadium, home ground of Barnet FC, who play in the English National League (fifth-tier).

Chelsea star, Victor Moses, who joined the team’s camp on Thursday morning was part of the training which started at 4:30pm.

Complete Sports’ Semiu Osho who witnessed the team’s training reports that the team was split into two groups comprising the possibles and the probables.

The possibles had Francis Uzoho in goal, Shehu Abdullahi, William Troost-Ekong, Leon Balogun and Bryan Idowu in defence, skipper John Mikel Obi, Ogenyi Onazi and Joel Obi in midfield and in the attack, Odion Ighalo, Moses and Alex Iwobi.

Ikechukwu Ezenwa was in goal for the probables with the defence comprising Tyronne Ebuehi who seems to have recovered from the cramps he suffered against DR Congo on Monday in Port Harcourt, Kenneth Omeruo, Chidozie Awaziem, Elderson Echiejile, John Ogu, Oghenekaro Etebo, Kelechi Iheanacho, Ahmed Musa and Crotone of Italy star Simeone Nwankwo.

Mikel,Abdulahi and Iwobi dazzled for the probables with the Arsenal player showing flashes of brilliance while for the probables new boy Nwankwo’s hold up play was impressive as he showed great strength on the ball.

Today (Friday), the team will hold their first official training inside the famous Wembley Stadium by 5pm.

The training will be preceded by a press conference also at Wembley Stadium at 4:15pm.

Eagles POSSIBLES In Thursday’s Training Session

Francis Uzoho
Leon Balogun
William Troost-Ekong
Sheu Abdulahi
Bryan Idowu
Ogenyi Onazi
Mikel Obi
Joel Obi
Victor Moses
Odion Ighalo
Alex Iwobi

Eagles’ PROBABLES In Thursday’s Training Session

Ikechukwu Ezenwa
Tyronne Ebuehi
Elderson Echiejile
Kenneth Omeruo
Chidozie Awaziem
John Ogu
Mikel Agu
Oghenekaro Etebo
Ahmed Musa
Kelechi Iheanacho
Simy Nwankwo

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/eagles-likely-1st-2nd-eleven-tussle-in-first-training-ahead-england-clash/

SportsEagles’ BEST Eleven Ahead Of World Cup Clashes In Russia by solbase10(op): 11:44am On Jun 01, 2018
The Super Eagles are 15 days away from their Russia 2018 FIFA World Cup first Group D match against Croatia in Kaliningrad. Gernot Rohr on Wednesday dropped four players from his 30-man provisional list, thus making his final 23 predictable. [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url]’s looks at the eleven players who fits Rohr’s likely 4-3-3 line-up formation for the game against Croatia on June 16, barring any last minute injury.

GOALKEEPER:

Francis Uzoho (Deportivo La Coruna)

Since his debut for Nigeria in the 4-2 international friendly win over Argentina last November, Francis Uzoho has continued to grow in confidence and composure in goal for Nigeria. Though he has kept only one clean sheet in three starts (four appearances in all) for Nigeria, Uzoho remains the best performing goalkeeper in the team at the moment. With Ikechukwu Ezenwa dropped and Daniel Akpeyi still not back to his very best, Uzoho remains a sure bet to be in goal for Nigeria in Russia.

It’s unfortunate that Francis Uzoho could only manage two appearances for the first team of Deportivo La Coruna before his move to the B team in the third tier division in Spain where he kept 15 clean sheets and conceded 17 goals in 26 appearances.

RIGHT-BACK:

Shehu Abdulahi (Bursaspor)

Shehu Abdullhi remains the best option for the Super Eagles at right-back. The duo of Ola Aina and Tyronne Ebuehi have not posted convincing performances to prove that they can dislodge him in that position. Since his move away from Anorthosis Famagusta of Cyprus, Abdullahi has improved with deliveries, and on his back-tracking as well.

LEFT-BACK:

Elderson Echiejile (Cercle Brugge)

AS Monaco defender, Echiejile, is not up to his best level but in terms of his experience, has an edge over Bryan Idowu and Ola Aina who are in competition for the two available spots at left back with him. The pair of Idowu and Aina lack experience at the biggest stage and both have not been convincing in the games they have played for the team.

The 30 year old defender made his most recent appearance for the Super Eagles in Monday’s 1-1 draw with DR Congo and was replaced at half time following his below par performance, but he remains the first choice pick.

CENTRE-BACKS:

Leon Balogun and William Troost Ekong

Fondly dubbed the Oyinbo wall, the duo of Leon Balogun and William Troost Ekong have formed a great partnership playing together in the heart of the Super Eagles defence. They look guaranteed as the first choice starters as he Super Eagles’ centre-backs in Russia. Ekong’s aerial prowess and pace have also been complemented with Balogun’s brilliance, ball-winning and passing skills.

MIDFIELDERS:

Ogenyi Onazi (Trabzonspor)

Since recovering from the hamstring injury he copped while playing for his club, Trabzonspor, Ogenyi Onazi is gradually getting back into good shape. His performance for his club towards the end of the 2017/18 campaign has seen him play his way back into Gernot Rohr’s plans for the World Cup.

Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City)

Ndidi enjoyed an outstanding season with Leicester City in the English Premier League season until he sustained an hamstring injury. The 21 year old midfielder was perhaps the most in-form Nigerian midfielder until his injury. He is expected to play a part in Saturday’s international friendly against England at Wembley.

Ndidi, who was voted Leicester City’s Young Player of the Year has flourished playing alongside Onazi in the defensive midfield role.

Mikel Obi (Tianjin TEDA)

Super Eagles captain, Mikel Obi brings the creative spark for the team going forward. His wealth of experience will be massively needed by the team to unlock tight defences. His guile and calmness on the ball helped the three-time African champions dictate the pace of the game during the qualifiers. If the Super Eagles are to shine in Russia, Mikel must be at his very best to help the team blossom.

RIGHT-WING:

Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow/ Leicester City)

Ahmed Musa’s scoring form improved when he joined CSKA Moscow on loan from Leicester City in January, and that also helped him play his way back into reckoning with the Super Eagles. Musa scored seven goals in 16 appearances for the Russian side after a miserable first half of the season with Leicester City, where he made only one appearance for the first team. On current form, Musa will be preferred to Alex Iwobi who has been inconsistent and Moses Simon who is currently nursing a thigh injury.

LEFT-WING:

Victor Moses (Chelsea)

Victor Moses had an outstanding season for Chelsea in the English Premier League as the dethroned champions salvaged their season by winning the Emirates FA Cup. Moses has been performing well at the l top level and his freshness heading into the World Cup will offer the Super Eagles another dimension in attack.

STRIKER:

Odion Ighalo (Changchun Yatai)

Odion Ighalo is certain to start games for Nigeria at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. He has shown that if he gets the creative support from the midfield, will deliver. The former Watford striker is capable of playing alone up front and will trouble defenders with his trickeries on the ball and pace. So far he has scored seven goals in 11 Chinese Super League games for his team, Changchun Yatai.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/eagles-best-eleven-ahead-of-world-cup-clashes-in-russia/

SportsUNBEATEN LIONS: Super Eagles Seek First African Win Vs England by solbase10(op): 11:04am On Jun 01, 2018
The Super Eagles will be guests to the Three Lions of England in a friendly game at Wembley Stadium on Saturday, June 2. Both countries are using the game as part of preparations for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia. Ahead of the game, [url]Completesportsnigeria. com[/url]’s examines England’s record against African countries…

ENGLAND Vs EGYPT (Friendlies: 1986, 2010 & World Cup 1990)

Egypt hosted England in Cairo in a friendly game in 1986. It was the first time ever England would face an African team

Also it was part of England’s preparations for the 1986 World Cup in Mexico as they were grouped with Morocco.

England spanked Egypt 4-0 right in front of their fans.

The 1990 FIFA World Cup saw England and Egypt drawn in the same group with Republic of Ireland and Netherlands.

After drawing against Netherlands and Republic of Ireland, England secured qualification into the round of 16 with a 1-0 win against Egypt in their last group game.

And in their last meeting which was in a friendly game in Wembley Stadium in 2010, England beat Egypt 3-1.

ENGLAND Vs NIGERIA (Friendly: 1994 & World Cup: 2002)
The Super Eagles of Nigeria and England have met two times with England securing a win, and the other game ending in a draw.

The first meeting between both countries was in 1994 – a friendly game played at Wembley Stadium which England won 1-0.

David Platt scored the only goal of the game with a header off a free-kick.

At the 2002 FIFA World Cup, Nigeria and England were drawn in the same group that also had Argentina and Sweden.

The game ended a 0-0 draw with England qualifying for the Round of 16 with Sweden, while the Eagles crashed out with Argentina.

ENGLAND Vs ALGERIA (World Cup: 2010)
The only time England and Algeria ever crossed path was in a group stage game at the 2010 FIFA World Cup in South Africa.

Algeria were able to hold a star-studded England side to a 0-0 draw.

ENGLAND Vs CAMEROON (World Cup: 1990 & Friendlies: 1991, 1997, 2002)

Both countries have clashed four times with England claiming three victories. The other match ended in a draw.

Their first encounter was in a dramatic quarter-final clash at the Italia 1990 World Cup which England won 3-2 after extra-time.

In 1991, the two countries met in a friendly game which England won 2-0.

In another friendly game in 1997, England once again triumphed 2-0.

Their last tie was also a friendly game which was played before the 2002 World Cup in Korea/Japan which ended 2-2.

ENGLAND Vs MOROCCO (World Cup: 1986 & Friendly: 1998)
Mexico 1986 World Cup was the first time England and Morocco played against each other with the game ending 0-0.

England and Morocco were drawn in the same group, with both countries advancing into the Round of 16.

Their last clash was in the King Hassan ll Cup in 1998 which England won 1-0.

ENGLAND Vs GHANA (Friendly: 2011)

The only encounter between England and Ghana was in a friendly at Wembley Stadium in 2011.

The game ended 1-1.
ENGLAND Vs SOUTH AFRICA (Friendlies: 1997 & 2003)

England and South Africa have met twice and both occasions were friendly games.

England won their two friendly encounters, 2-1 in 1997 and another 2-1 win in 2003.

ENGLAND Vs TUNISIA (Friendly: 1990 & World Cup 1998)

A friendly game in 1990 was the first time England and Tunisia clashed. The game which was played in Tunisia ended in 1-1 draw.

Their second meeting was in the group stage of the France 1998 World Cup which England won 2-0.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/unbeaten-lions-super-eagles-seek-first-african-win-vs-england/

SportsAjiboye: It’s Painful But No Ill-feelings Over Super Eagles Omission; I’ll Be Ba by solbase10(op): 3:21pm On May 31, 2018
Plateau United goalkeeper Dele Ajiboye says he has moved on from the disappointment of missing out on a place in Nigeria’s squad to the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia and believes he will still play a role for the team in future, reports [url]Completesportsnigeria. com[/url].

Ajiboye alongside three other players — Uche Agbo, Junior Lokosa and Stephen Eze — were dropped from the initial 30-man provisional list coach Gernot Rohr on Wednesday.

Rohr, as expected, settled for the trio of Francis Uzoho, Ikechukwu Ezenwa and Daniel Akpeyi for the goalkeeping position.

The former junior international is confident he will secure a place in the team in future despite his omission.

“It’s nothing to dwell too much on. The coach had to pick 23 players from a list 30, so it’s obvious that some people will be dropped at the end of the day,” Ajiboye told CSN.

“Unfortunately, I was one of those that won’t be in Russia. I must admit it was painful but there will always be another World Cup.

“The most important thing is to keep working hard and hope for a brighter future.

“I believe in myself and will keep working hard to get back into the team in future.”

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ajiboye-its-painful-but-no-ill-feelings-over-super-eagles-omission-ill-be-back/

SportsNdidi Focused On World Cup, Dismisses Liverpool, Arsenal Speculation by solbase10(op): 10:06am On May 31, 2018
Super Eagles midfield star Wilfred Ndidi has reiterated his determination to help Nigeria impress at the 2018 World Cup in Russia and will not be distracted by speculations surrounding his future at English Premier League club Leicester City, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

Ndidi, who was one of Leicester City’s top performers during the close season and voted the club’s Young Player of the Year, claims he is not thinking of anything beyond the national team’s participation at the World Cup.

“I’m currently in camp and preparing for the World Cup. I’m in high spirits and confident of being fully fit for my team. We want to do well at the World Cup and a win in our first game is key to how far we’ll go in the competition,” Ndidi told completesportsnigeria.com.

The former KRC Genk of Belgium player expressed satisfaction at the performance of his club last season and is upbeat they can build on it for next season.

“We (Leicester City) tried our best even though we didn’t start very brightly. However, at the end, I’m satisfied with what we achieved. We finished in ninth place and ended the season stronger than we started it despite the ups and downs that we went through,” he said.

Ndidi also doused speculations linking him with a move away from the King Power Stadium after he was heavily linked with Premier League heavyweights Liverpool and Arsenal.

He said: “Those are just speculations and I don’t pay heed to them. I have a contract with Leicester City and I intend to respect it. I’m a young player still learning and there’s a long way to go for me in the game so why should I be in a rush to leave. Everything has its time.”

After missing the friendly against Congo DR on Tuesday, Ndidi is expected to feature against England in Saturday’s friendly at Wembley Stadium for his 16th Super Eagles cap.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ndidi-focused-on-world-cup-dismisses-liverpool-arsenal-speculation/

SportsOkocha Named Best Dribbler In World Cup In 52 Years! by solbase10(op): 4:33pm On May 30, 2018
Legendary Nigeria midfielder Austin Okocha has been revealed as the player with the most dribbles in a FIFA World Cup match in 52 years.

The rating was done by sports facts and stats website Opta Sports on their verified Twitter handle Optajoe.

According to Opta, Okocha made 15 dribbles in the Super Eagles round of 16 clash against Italy at the 1994 World Cup.

It was the most made since the 1966 World Cup in England.

“Since 1966, the most dribbles completed in a World Cup match is 15, by Jay Jay Okocha for Nigeria against Italy in July 1994,” Opta tweeted on Wednesday.

Despite playing with 10 men following the sending off of Chelsea legend Gianfranco Zola, Italy came from 1-0 down to beat the Super Eagles 2-1.

Roberto Baggio scored both Italy goals after Emmanuel Amuneke had given the Eagles a first-half lead.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/okocha-named-best-dribbler-in-world-cup-in-52-years/

SportsNdidi: Great Coach Rohr Has Turned Super Eagles Into A Family by solbase10(op): 3:10pm On May 30, 2018
Leicester City midfielder Wilfred Ndidi has revealed that the strong bond created among Super Eagles players by head coach Gernot Rohr has been one of the key reasons for the team’s success on the pitch.

Since Rohr’s appointment as Super Eagles coach on August 2016, the team has been churning out impressive results.

The Eagles were the first African team to qualify for this year’s FIFA World Cup despite being drawn with Cameroon, Algeria and Zambia.

Rohr has some pedigree, having led French club Bordeaux to the final of the 1996 UEFA Cup (Europa League) where they lost 5-1 on aggregate against a star-studded Bayern Munich side coached by the legendary Franz Beckenbauer.

“He’s a great and wonderful coach,” Ndidi told cafonline.com.

“First thing (with him) is the solidarity of the group and that is really helping the team.

“I can see that everybody is trying to bond, you don’t just think about yourself, but the whole team. We are like a family.”

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ndidi-great-coach-rohr-has-turned-super-eagles-into-a-family/

SportsRohr Drops Agbo, Lokosa, Two Others; Simon To Travel To London by solbase10(op): 1:15pm On May 30, 2018
Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr has dropped four players from his World Cup-bound squad, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

However, Moses Simon is currently nursing a thigh injury and will be out of action for at least three weeks, will be travelling with the team, according to team sources.

Dropped from the squad are Standard Liege defender Uche Agbo, Bulgaria-based Stephen Eze, Dele Ajiboye of Plateau United and Nigerian Professional Football League top scorer, Junior Lokosa.

Lokosa made his international debut for the three-time African champions in Monday’s friendly against DR Congo.

CSN also gathered froma reliable source that Gent winger Simon will travel with the team to London for the proposed scan on his thigh injury.

Gernot Rohr and his team are sheduled to meet with President Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR) Wednesday morning before they fly to London aboard a chartered aircraft for another pre-World Cup friendly against England’s Three Lions at Wembley Stadium on Saturday.

After their game with England, the team will depart for Bad Tatzmannsdorf, a town in Austria, where they will spend eight days at the Avita Resort before flying to Russia.

They will play a final pre-World Cup friendly against the Czech Republic at the Rudolf Tonn Stadium on 6 June.​

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/rohr-drops-agbo-lokosa-two-others-simon-to-travel-to-london/

SportsEze “disappointed” To Be Dropped From Super Eagles World Cup Squad by solbase10(op): 12:04pm On May 30, 2018
Bulgaria-based defender Stephen Eze has expressed his disappointment after being dropped from the Super Eagles squad to the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

Eze, who was a member of the home-based Eagles squad that got to the final of the Africa Nations Championship (CHAN) in Morocco early this year, was among four players dropped by Super Eagles coach Gernot Rohr on Wednesday from the initial 30 invited for camping.

The three other players also dropped are Kano Pillars striker and Nigeria Professional Football League (NPFL) top scorer Junior Lokosa, Plateau United’s Dele Ajiboye and Standard Liege defender Uche Agbo.

“Sadly, my journey to World Cup ends here. I am disappointed to not make the final squad, but I want to thank our coach and management for the opportunity!” See tweeted moments news broke that he had been dropped.

“I wish my team the best and hope to join in celebrations when they bring the trophy home! Go Nigeria!”

The Super Eagles players and officials are scheduled to meet with President Muhammadu Buhari (GCFR) Wednesday morning before they fly to London aboard a chartered aircraft for another pre-World Cup friendly against England’s Three Lions at Wembley Stadium on Saturday.

After their game with England, the team will depart for Bad Tatzmannsdorf, a town in Austria, where they will spend eight days at the Avita Resort before flying to Russia.

They will play a final pre-World Cup friendly against the Czech Republic at the Rudolf Tonn Stadium on 6 June.​

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/eze-disappointed-to-be-dropped-from-super-eagles-world-cup-squad/

SportsLawal: Super Eagles World Cup Debutantes Will Be Highly Motivated In Russia by solbase10(op): 4:10pm On May 28, 2018
Former Super Eagles midfielder Garba Lawal is happy with the team’s preparation for the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia and has backed the side to make a huge impact at the competition, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

The three-time African champions started camping in Uyo for the competition last week before proceeding to Port Harcourt on Saturday, where will face Democratic Republic of Congo in a friendly game today.

All the 30 invited players except Chelsea winger, Victor Moses, who is expected to link up with the team in London, promptly reported to camp and have been fighting hard in training.

Lawal believes that with the hard work put in by the players in training, he is confident they will excel in Russia.

“I’m happy with our preparation for the World Cup. Everything has been going on smoothly since the players started camping in Uyo and we hope they will maintain that,” Lawal, who was part of the Super Eagles team to the 1998 World Cup in France, told CSN.

“When you prepare well for a big competition like the World Cup, then you have big hopes that the team will do well.

“It is also clear that the players are highly motivated too. Most of them will be playing at the World Cup for the first time which is a big incentive too.

“I believe we have a team that is good enough to do well in Russia.”

Gernot Rohr’s men will play in Group D at the World Cup with Argentina, Croatia and Iceland.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/lawal-super-eagles-world-cup-debutantes-will-be-highly-motivated-in-russia/

SportsAbdullahi Eager For Super Eagles Send-off “party” Vs DR Congo by solbase10(op): 2:30pm On May 28, 2018
Super Eagles defender Shehu Abdullahi is keen to see the team end their preparation for the 2018 World Cup in Russia on home soil with a win against Democratic Republic of Congo in Monday’s friendly fixture, reports [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url].

The encounter against the Leopards is billed for the Adokiye Amiesimaka Stadium, Port Harcourt.

It is the only friendly game lined up for the Super Eagles on Nigerian soil ahead of the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

“Matchday: Nigeria vs Congo. ⚽���. Let’s have this party before Russia.
“#SoarSuperEagles,” the Bursaspor of Turkey player tweeted on Monday.

Gernot Rohr’s men are expected to leave for London on Tuesday and will face the Three Lions of England in another preparatory game at the Wembley Stadium on Saturday.

Their final tune-up is against Czech Republic on June 6 in Vienna.

The Super Eagles will face Argentina, Croatia and Iceland in Group D in Russia 2018.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/abdullahi-eager-for-super-eagles-send-off-party-vs-dr-congo/

SportsEx-d’tigers Captain Oyedeji: Super Eagles Can Shock The World Like Ghana Did In by solbase10(op): 12:27pm On May 28, 2018
The former captain of Nigeria’s men’s basketball team Olumide Oyedeji believes the Super Eagles can cause major upsets at the Russia 2018 World Cup if they start strongly, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

The Nigerian side are the lowest-ranked in Group D where they face Croatia, Argentina and Iceland but Oyedeji is backing his compatriots to qualify from the pool and make further progress, provided they get their act right.

“One of the key things in sport is that opponents respect you more when they realise you are strong,” Oyedeji, who captained D’Tigers to the 2015 FIBA AfroBasket title, told CSN.

“If the Super Eagles beat Croatia in their opening game, then their confidence will grow and they will be able to face the other teams without fear. With the right amount of confidence – without being arrogant or cocky – the team will go places.
“As a sportsman of many years, I also know that dedication and discipline are key ingredients for success. As a matter of fact, I’d rather have a not-so-talented team of players totally dedicated to the cause than a talented group that lacks commitment and discipline.

“I hope the Super Eagles in Russia will be 23 focused, dedicated, determined soldiers willing to give their country their all. I also hope they have leaders in the team who will lead with humility and set examples for the others.”
Oyedeji started as a young footballer but reached the heights of his sporting career in basketball, playing in the NBA and several other big leagues in the world.

The former Seattle Supersonics centre believes the Super Eagles squad is the right blend of youth and experience who need the right direction to excel in Russia.

“I like the make-up of the squad,” he added. “It’s a young team with some players like Mikel Obi, Odion Ighalo and Ogenyi Onazi who have valuable experience. With proper coaching and tactical planning, they look capable of achieving big things. Let the technical crew break down the opponents’ strengths and weaknesses, settle on the best approach, work out how to stop the likes of Lionel Messi, Luka Modric, Angel Di Maria for instance, and we can shock the world.

“Never say never with this team. Afterall, who knew Ghana would be on the verge of the semi-finals in 2010? I’m sure nobody tipped them to go as far as they did, and the Super Eagles can go even farther.”

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ex-dtigers-captain-oyedeji-super-eagles-can-shock-the-world-like-ghana-did-in-2010/

SportsLaliga Celebrate Ohenhen, Eto’o, Adebayor, Mccarthy On Africa Day by solbase10(op): 4:03pm On May 25, 2018
Spanish LaLiga celebrated former Nigeria international Christopher Ohenhen and other African players past and present who are top scorers for their countries in the league on Africa Day celebration on Friday.

Africa Day (formerly African Freedom Day and African Liberation Day ) is the annual commemoration of the foundation of the Organisation of African Unity (OAU) (now known as the African Union ) on 25 May 1963.

It is celebrated in various countries on the African continent, as well as around the world.

Ohenhen joined Compostela from Real Madrid B in 1991 and scored 48 LaLaLiga liga goals, the most by any Nigerian player in the history of the league. He left Compostela in 2001.

Other African stars celebrated by LaLiga on Friday for being top scorers for their country in the league are former Cameroon and Barcelona striker Samuel Eto’o (162 goals), Frederic Kanoute of Mali who played for Sevilla (89 goals), Togo’s Emmanuel Adebayor who formerly played for Real Madrid (five goals), Ghana’s Thomas Partey who now plays for Atletico Madrid (10 goals) and former South Africa striker Benni McCarthy who plied his trade with Celta Vigo (10 goals).

Celebrating the Africa Day, LaLiga wrote on their verified Twitter handle: “The leading African scorers in LaLiga Santander from each country wish you a happy Africa Day!”

Ohenhen was a member of the Nigeria U-20 side, the Flying Eagles, that got to the final of the FIFA U-20 World Cup in 1989 in Saudi Arabia.

His only cap for the Super Eagles was in 1997 when he came on as a second half substitute and set up Wilson Oruma for Nigeria’s third goal in a 3-0 win against Kenya during the 1998 World Cup qualifiers.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/laliga-celebrate-ohenhen-etoo-adebayor-mccarthy-on-africa-day/

SportsJoshua Hints At Switching To MMA At The Right Time by solbase10(op): 3:06pm On May 25, 2018
British-born Nigerian world heavyweight boxing champion, Anthony Joshua, is considering a sensational switch to Mixed Martial Art (MMA).

Joshua, 28, who is undefeated in 21 professional fights, currently holds the International Boxing Federation (IBF), World Boxing Association (WBA), International Boxing Organization (IBO) and World Boxing Organization (WBO) titles.

Speaking to the US talk show host Conan O’Brien, monitored by The Sun, Joshua said he would only swap the ring for the octagon if his heart tells him to.

“It’s not just about the money. If people wanted it, and I felt in my heart it was the right decision, why not? It’s just another fight.

“I’d have to train, I wouldn’t just do it for a pay cheque because this combat sport is serious – concussions in the head and broken ribs.

“I’d have to take it serious.

“Why make the money if you can’t enjoy it? I would consider it if my heart told me it was the right thing for me.”

Joshua’s next fight could be a title unification showdown against World Boxing Council (WBC) champion, American Deontay Wilder.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/joshua-hints-at-switching-to-mma-at-the-right-time/

SportsMoses Simon Out, Troost-ekong Doubtful For DR Congo Clash by solbase10(op): 2:07pm On May 25, 2018
Monday’s friendly international between Nigeria and Democratic Republic of Congo has been hit by injuries with Belgium-based Moses Simon already ruled out of the tie while defence stalwart William Troost-Ekong is a big doubt, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

Simon sat out Friday morning’s training on the sidelines with a big ice pack on his thigh, as well as close attention from the medical staff.

Troost-Ekong also went under the Masseur’s treatment and it is not sure if he would be fit in time for the game billed for Port Harcourt.

Wilfred Ndidi continued his special training on the sidelines but participated in a light workout with the rest of the team later in the training session.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/moses-simon-out-troost-ekong-doubtful-for-dr-congo-clash/

SportsNigerian Striker Akinfenwa Nominated For PFA Player Of The Year Award by solbase10(op): 1:34pm On May 24, 2018
English-born Nigerian striker Adebayo Akinfenwa of Wycombe Wanderers has been nominated for the English League Two (Fourth division) Professional Football Association (PFA) Bristol Street Motors Fans’ Player of the Year Award.
The PFA made the announcement on their official website on Friday.

Akinfenwa, 36, popularly known as “The Beast”, who never featured for Nigeria or England at any international level, was nominated along with five other players.

He made 46 appearances in all competitions for Wycombe this season, scoring 18 goals with 14 assists.

His impressive showing for Wycombe led to their promotion to League One (English third division).

Commenting on Akinfenwa’s performance, the PFA wrote on their website: “The powerhouse of English football continued to deliver in 2017/18.

“Wycombe are on their way up to League One and their dominant forward has been key to that. 17 goals and 12 assists in the league is a very good return to say the least.”

Voting for the League Two PFA Bristol Street Motors Fans’ Player of the Year will end on May 25, 2018 at 8:am.

English League Two PFA Fans’ Player of The Year Nominees[b][/b]:

Adebayo Akinfenwa (Wycombe)

Sean McConville (Accrington Stanley)

Dany Hylton (Luton Town)

Billy Kee (Accrington Stanley)

Marc McNulty (Coventry City)

Dan Potts (Luton Town)

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/nigerian-striker-akinfenwa-nominated-for-pfa-player-of-the-year-award/

SportsEzeji: Super Eagles Should Take It Easy, Avoid Injuries Vs DR Congo by solbase10(op): 12:48pm On May 24, 2018
Former Enyimba and Sharks of Port Harcourt striker Victor Ezeji has advised the Super Eagles players to ensure they avoid unnecessary injuries when they host DR Congo in Monday’s pre-World Cup friendly billed to hold in Port Harcourt, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

Ezeji who is impressed with the response of the players coach Gernot Rohr has invited for the match said it should not be seen beyond the friendly tag.

“I am impressed with the report I am getting about our players and that shows they are ready for the World Cup,” Nigeria Professional Football League legend Ezeji, who is based in Port Harcourt, told Completesportsnigeria.com.

“This is a friendly match and it should not be seen beyond that. They should try as much as possible to avoid unnecessary injuries as they prepare for the World Cup in Russia.

“Personally, I don’t expect them to put themselves under any pressure because they want to impress the coach or Nigerians. We all know the qualities in the team and they should take things easy.”

The NPFL Ambassador said the City of Port Harcourt is eager to see the Super Eagles play after what they saw in the Eagles B team against Atletico Madrid at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium, Uyo on Tuesday.

“The city of Port Harcourt where I am based is eager to see the Super Eagles play, we were so excited with the Super Eagles B on Tuesday and we want to watch the main Eagles. We can’t just wait,” Ezeji, who spent most of his plus 20-year career playing for Port Harcourt clubs Sharks and Dolphins, told CSN.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/ezeji-super-eagles-should-take-it-easy-avoid-injuries-vs-dr-congo/

SportsMusa, Abdullahi Join Super Eagles Camp In Uyo by solbase10(op): 11:48am On May 24, 2018
CSKA Moscow of Russia forward Ahmed Musa and Bursaspor of Turkey defender Shehu Abdullahi have joined the Super Eagles pre-World Cup training camp in Uyo, reports [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url].

The duo’s arrival increased the number of players in the team’s camp to 27.

Earlier in the day, the trio of Odion Ighalo, Simy Nwankwo and Leon Balogun linked up with the rest of their colleagues in camp.

Only skipper of the side Mikel Obi, John Ogu and Victor Moses are still being expected in camp.

Gernot Rohr’s men will take on Democratic Republic of Congo in a friendly game in Port Harcourt next week Monday.

They will also face England and Czech Republic in other tune up games before the start of the World Cup in Russia.

The Super Eagles will face Argentina, Croatia and Iceland in Group D at the 2018 FIFA World Cup in Russia.

Their opening game is Croatia on June 16 in Kaliningrad.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/musa-abdullahi-join-super-eagles-camp-in-uyo/

SportsRomero’s Wife, Eliana: My Hubby’s Injury Not Serious, Was Forced Out Of Argentin by solbase10(op): 10:46am On May 24, 2018
Argentina goalkeeper, Sergio Romero’s wife Eliana Guercio says her husband’s knee injury is not serious and claims ‘there are many people that want him out’ of the Albiceleste squad for the World Cup in Russia.

Argentina’s team official Twitter account posted a statement on Tuesday, stating that Romero suffered a joint blockage in his right knee which automatically ruled him out of the World Cup.

However, speaking on the Los Angeles De La Manana TV show, Guercio insists that her husband could be ready for Argentina’s first game against Iceland on June 16.

“There’s nothing broken. It’s a piece of loose cartilage.

“The doctors told him he was OK for the World Cup.

“The recovery [from the injury] is two to three weeks maximum.

“But with how my husband is and the effort he puts in he could be ready for the first game.

“There are many people that want him out.

“They said it was broken to justify it. I’m tired of the lies.

“I don’t know if those that speak are inept, uninformed, cowardly or have personal interest, which in all cases would be the worst reasons.”

Romero was due first choice and due to be one of three keepers in Argentina’s squad alongside Chelsea’s Willy Caballero and Franco Armani.

He was in goal for Argentina at the 2010 and 2014 World Cups in South Africa and Brazil respectively.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/romeros-wife-eliana-my-hubbys-injury-not-serious-was-forced-out-of-argentina-w-cup-squad/

SportsMikel Opens Up On Nigeria’s World Cup Chances, Memorable Moments, Alternative Ca by solbase10(op): 5:19pm On May 23, 2018
Super Eagles captain Mikel Obi had a question and answer session with some of his fans on Twitter on Tuesday.

[url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url]’s monitored the session as Mikel answered questions about the Super Eagles and winning the 2018 FIFA World Cup, the friendly against England, his most memorable football moments, his teammates etc…

– Who was the funniest guy you shared a room with?

It has to be Salomon Kalou for me. He is a funny character. Sharing a dressing room with him was one of my best moments in Chelsea. He made me feel more comfortable going to training everyday because I know I was going to see him there and I was going to have a laugh.

He was so funny and things he does sometimes you think is he actually a player? He is so funny, cracks me up all the time, even in training pitch he does things that are really funny and I really enjoyed my time with him.

– What was your most memorable moment in football?(@lukbon)

My most memorable moment I think for me was when I won the Champions League. It was the best moment in my football career till date. Champions League is so special you don’t get to win it quite often and for us to win it and the manner we did it was spectacular.

And playing in Germany and against Bayern Munich made it even more special. That day and that night was really special for me.

– What is your take on the international friendly game between Nigeria and England and how will the Super Eagles approach the game?

England, Nigeria, that doesn’t come often. It’s going to be a very good test for us. I think for us it’s important to play this friendly against England. Such a great team and for us it’s going to be a big test. We have to make sure we play well, we want to win, we want to play well against such a great team.So we will see how well we are going to do in this game going to the World Cup, preparations and other stuff. This is going to help so we will see how its going to be.
mikel-

– What are your plans after retirement from football?

For me, it’s to spend more time with the kids, with the family. I think the Mrs has been on my neck that I don’t spend more time with the family. She understands. But I think after football, it’s going to be spending more time with the family, with the kids, for me it is more important and also think about what to do after football because I want to continue being involved in football.

It is something I really need to decide but at this minute I’m not thinking about it, there’s a lot of things to do after football but we will see what happens.

– Do you believe Nigeria can win the 2018 World Cup?

I think we can, why not? I think it’s possible, you never know. I think it’s important for us to come out in our group. We are in a very difficult group, we have lots of good teams in this group, it’s going to be interesting to see who comes out of this group.

Whoever comes out of this group is going to do well in the tournament. We have to make sure we play the three games well, come out of the group and think about the next game.

It is possible when you keep winning games. In tournament like this, you just have to take it one game at a time. So we believe we can, why not?

– If you were not playing football what other profession would you have delved into? (@jolarh)

That’s a tricky question. I think basketball or tennis. I love Roger Federer, so probably play tennis.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/mikel-opens-up-on-nigerias-world-cup-chances-memorable-moments-alternative-career-kalou-federer/

SportsIheanacho, Ebuehi, Ndidi, Omeruo Off To Super Eagles Camp by solbase10(op): 12:21pm On May 22, 2018
Five Super Eagles players are on their way to the camp of the team in Uyo ahead of next week’s international friendly against DR Congo in Port Harcourt, reports [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url].

The players Kenneth Omeruo, Tyronne Ebuehi, Kelechi Iheanacho, Chidozie Awaziem and Wilfred Ndidi were aboard an Air Peace plane from Owerri on Tuesday morning.

Omeruo posted a picture of the quintet on board to the Super Eagles camp on his Instagram page with an emoji” ✈ Uyo”.

Their arrival will swell the number of players in camp to 12.

The players already in camp are Nigeria Professional Football League top scorer with 18 goals Junior Lokosa, Elderson Echiejile, Ogenyi Onazi, Willian Troost-Ekong, Alex Iwobi, Ola Aina and Ikechukwu Ezenwa.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/iheanacho-ebuehi-ndidi-omeruo-off-to-super-eagles-camp/

SportsAtletico Madrid Arrive For Friendly Vs Super Eagles B by solbase10(op): 11:26am On May 22, 2018
Spanish LaLiga giants Atletico Madrid have arrived in Nigeria ahead of Tuesday’s friendly game against Super Eagles B side, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

Atletico’s arrival was confirmed in a 12 seconds video published on LaLiga’s verified Twitter handle.

The video had the players being cheered on arrival in Uyo by fans.

Thefriendly between Atletico and Super Eagles B comes up at the Godswill Akpabio Stadium in Uyo, Akwa Ibom State.

Atletico won the UEFA Europa League after defeating Marseille 3-0 in the Final last week.

They finished second in the just concluded LaLiga season.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/atletico-madrid-arrive-for-friendly-vs-super-eagles-b/

SportsPinnick Hails Emirates FA Cup Champion Moses, Other Triumphant Eagles At Club Le by solbase10(op): 10:51am On May 22, 2018
President of the Nigeria Football Federation, Mr. Amaju Pinnick, has praised Super Eagles winger, Victor Moses following his triumph in the Emirates FA Cup with Chelsea FC at the weekend.

Moses joined the elite list of Nigerian players to have won the Emirates FA Cup when he starred for Chelsea as they edged Manchester United 1-0 in the final on Saturday.

Other Nigerians who won the English FA Cup before Moses are John Fashanu, Daniel Amokachi, Nwankwo Kanu, John Utaka, Mikel John Obi and Alex Iwobi.

“I am happy for Victor Moses because this triumph sets him in a great mood and gives immense confidence for the FIFA World Cup in Russia,” Pinnick revealed in a media statement from the NFF on Monday.

“We have a number of friendly matches before the FIFA World Cup, but the big focus is on the finals starting next month.

“Victory in the FA Cup is good for Moses as he will come into camp buoyed in spirit, and that good feeling is bound to infect and affect the other players positively,” Pinnick said on Monday.

Pinnick also congratulated other Super Eagles’ players who finished the season on a high, and those who were instrumental to their clubs’ accomplishments during the season, stating that confidence is key to confronting the kind of opposition available at the FIFA World Cup.

The Chelsea wing-back will join his international team-mates in Uyo later this week, ahead of Monday’s international friendly against the Simba of the Democratic Republic of Congo in Port Harcourt.

The Super Eagles will then take on England at Wembley Stadium in London on 2nd June, before facing Czech Republic in Austria on 6th June in their final warm up game.

The team will camp for nine days at the Avita Resort in Bad Tatzmannsdorf, Austria before flying to their team base camp in Essentuki, Stavropol region of Russia on 11th June.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/pinnick-hails-emirates-fa-cup-champion-moses-other-triumphant-eagles-at-club-level/

SportsMourinho Assures No More Feud With Conte Ahead Man United Vs Chelsea FA Cup Fina by solbase10(op): 2:46pm On May 18, 2018
Manchester United boss Jose Mourinho says he has ended his war of words with Chelsea manager Antonio Conte ahead of Saturday’s Emirates FA Cup final.

Both Mourinho and Conte have been involved in a long-running feud which started last season. Both managers clashed after Chelsea’s 4-0 win over United at Stamford Bridge, and Mourinho later said that the Italian’s celebrations were “humiliating”.

This season Conte said Mourinho was suffering from senile dementia, and the Manchester United boss responding by pointing to Conte’s match-fixing suspension at his former club Siena, which he was later acquitted of.

But when asked lately about his relationship with Conte, Mourinho claimed the pair are now at peace.

“It’s okay. It’s okay,” he told Portuguese newspaper, Record

“He stretched out [to shake hands], I stretched out. We got bored.

“After the game in Manchester, I invited him to come to my office. We talked. Nothing’s wrong.”

Mourinho also went on to reveal he plans to replace departing assistant manager Rui Faria with a new coach whom he has worked with before.

He said: “It’s a person coming is one who worked with me before, but I can’t say the name because he’s still linked to another club.

“There are many good coaches, but I like to make my assistants. I do not like trained coaches, I like to shape them in my way of thinking and they grow with me and I also grow with them.”

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/mourinho-assures-no-more-feud-with-conte-ahead-man-united-vs-chelsea-fa-cup-final/

SportsNwakali: Super Eagles Will Shine At Russia 2018 World Cup by solbase10(op): 4:12pm On May 17, 2018
Nigeria international and Arsenal star, Kelechi Nwakali, has sent a goodwill message to the Super Eagles as they prepare to intensify training for the 2018 World Cup final in Russia, [url]Completesportsnigeria.com[/url] reports.

The former captain of the Golden Eaglets called on the players to ensure that Nigeria is well represented at the FIFA tournament.
He said despite the fact that the Eagles were grouped with tough opposition, the players are experienced enough to hold their own against any team.

According to the attacking midfielder, the results of Super Eagles in some of the friendly matches played recently should boost their morale on the task ahead.

“We should not be among the teams that would make up the numbers at the World Cup, instead we should be among the teams that will make it interesting because we have all it takes,” Nwakali told CSN.

He said a good result in the opening game against Croatia will help lift the confidence level of the team.
Speaking about his career, Nwakali said he is looking forward to playing regularly in the coming season for Arsenal after playing 18 games during the season on loan at MVV Maastricht in the Netherlands and scoring 4goals from his midfield position.

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/nwakali-super-eagles-will-shine-at-russia-2018-world-cup/

SportsWenger Backs Arteta To Succeed As Arsenal Manager by solbase10(op): 2:47pm On May 17, 2018
Arsene Wenger has stated that Manchester City assistant manager Mikel Arteta has the quality to succeed if given the Arsenal job.

Wenger ended his 22-year reign as Arsenal boss last season with a number of potential names being mentioned to succeed him among which include Arteta.

Arteta, who signed for Arsenal in 2011 from Everton, joined Pep Guardiola’s technical crew at Manchester City last season. City went on to win the Premier League and the Carabao Cup this season.

And Wenger believes the former Arsenal captain is a “leader” who has the right “passion” to coach the London club as they embark upon a new era.

“He (Arteta) has all the qualities to do the job, yes and I think as well he is one of the favourites,” Wenger told Bein Sports.

“He was a leader, and he has a good passion for the game and he knows the club well, he knows what is important at the club and he was captain of the club. Why Not?”

“I left a lot of experience behind me, people who were with me like Steve Bould who has six years experience, and Jens Lehmann too.

“Arteta has been an assistant of (City manager Pep) Guardiola as well, so overall I think he has the qualities.”

But Wenger also made it clear he was endorsing any prospective candidate.

“I don’t want to influence that publicly because for me I believe it is important that they make their choice in an objective way and after once they make a decision I will support them.”

Source:https://www.completesportsnigeria.com/wenger-backs-arteta-to-succeed-as-arsenal-manager/

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 (of 68 pages)