Stats: 3,325,117 members, 8,420,434 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 07:31 PM

Spinna's Posts

Nairaland ForumSpinna's ProfileSpinna's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 (of 140 pages)

PoliticsRe: Port Harcourt Refinery To Commence Operations December — Tinubu by spinna: 6:28am On Aug 03, 2023
Godspeed
PoliticsRe: Festus Keyamo: Tinubu Is Very Unfair To This Man Who Did A Lot For Him by spinna: 6:21am On Aug 03, 2023
Keyamos overambitious nature is his problem he is so much of a turncoat that he can turn Judas anyday.. well it was to fill his pocket..but he had a good career before he started politics.

This was someone we thought would fill Ganis shoes at a time .
HealthRe: Vwaere Diaso: Lagos NMA Declares Indefinite Strike In 3 Govt Hospitals by spinna: 6:16am On Aug 03, 2023
What a beauty with brains gone just like that..yeah this will make them take safety of facilities more seriously
Foreign AffairsRe: Rumbles Of West African War As Nigeria Disconnects Nigers Electricity by spinna(op): 6:12am On Aug 03, 2023
BOSSkesh:
There will be no war
Stop wishing
No i don't wish for war but this is not looking good you must agree.. the coalition of hostile nations is unprecedented in w. Africa.. as is the influence of Russian mercenaries..and Nigeria cant just use Ogboju of big size in this situation..

I pray you are right
Christianity EtcRe: War As Signs Of End Time - Bible by spinna: 6:09am On Aug 03, 2023
Not only wars and rumours of wars .rapid increase in knowledge is another sign of the end time and today knowledge is moving faster than ever

God help us to get to heaven , forgive our sins 🙏
Foreign AffairsRe: Rumbles Of West African War As Nigeria Disconnects Nigers Electricity by spinna(op): 6:06am On Aug 03, 2023
On Wednesday, Defence Chiefs from ECOWAS member states met at the Nigerian capital, Abuja.

Defence Chiefs from Ghana, Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Senegal, The Gambia, Cote D’Ivoire, and Cape Verde are in attendance at the meeting, which took place at the Defence Headquarters in Abuja.

But Defence Chiefs for Mali, Niger, Guinea Bissau, Burkina Faso, and Guinea were absent.
Foreign AffairsRumbles Of West African War As Nigeria Disconnects Nigers Electricity by spinna(op): 6:05am On Aug 03, 2023
Niger: Nigeria cuts power supply, ECOWAS vows to confront junta
3rd August 2023
Bola-Tinubu
President Bola Ahmed Tinubu

Okechukwu Nnodim and Stephen Angbulu
Kindly share this story:

Power supply from Nigeria to the Republic of Niger was stopped on Wednesday, as sanctions against the neighbouring country by the Economic Community of West African States increases.

On Sunday, ECOWAS, led by Nigerian President Bola Tinubu, decided on sanctions against the military personnel in Niger who toppled President-elect Mohamed Bazoum’last week.

On July 26, officers of the Presidential Guard arrested Bazoum and declared him deposed.

In addition to a one-week ultimatum to restore constitutional order and the suspension of financial transactions with Niger, ECOWAS decreed the freezing of “all service transactions, including energy transactions.”

Impeccable sources in Nigeria’s power sector confirmed the development, while the AFP also reported on Wednesday that Nigeria had cut its electricity supply to Niger.

The international medium quoted a source close to the management of the Nigerien Electricity Company, popularly known as Nigelec, adding that the move was in line with the sanctions decided by ECOWAS.

However, industry experts called for caution and advised that the Federal Government should be diplomatic in handling the matter, as NIGELEC was under contract with a power firm in Nigeria, Mainstream Energy, for the supply of electricity.

Nigeria exports electricity to the Republics of Benin and Niger based on various Transaction Service Agreements.

In July, The PUNCH exclusively reported that Nigeria exported about N23.13bn worth of electricity to some neighbouring countries in 2022.

The report confirmed that Nigeria exported electricity to Transcorp-SBEE and Mainstream-NIGELEC.

SBEE is Société Beninoise d’Énergie Electrique, a Benin Republic power firm, while NIGELEC, which is Société Nigérienne d’Electricité or Nigerien Electricity Society, is a power utility firm in Niger Republic.

“Nigeria disconnected since yesterday (Tuesday) the high voltage line that carries electricity to Niger,” AFP quoted its source.

It stated that a NIGELEC agent, on his part, indicated that the capital, Niamey, was “supplied, thanks to local production.”

According to a report by NIGELEC, the neighbouring country’s sole supplier, in 2022, 70 per cent of Niger’s share of electricity came from purchases from the Nigerian company – Mainstream.

Electricity is produced by the Kainji Dam located in Nigeria.

However, to free itself from its strong energy dependence on neighbouring Nigeria, Niger is working to complete its first dam by 2025. Some 180km upstream from Niamey, the Kandadji dam should generate 629 gigawatt-hours of electricity annually.

Attempts to get confirmation from the Transmission Company of Nigeria were unsuccessful as its spokesman, Ndidi Mbah, neither picked up calls nor replied to a text message sent to her about the matter, on Wednesday.

However, the President, of Nigeria Consumer Protection Network, and Coordinator, of Power Sector Perspectives, Kunle Olubiyo, confirmed that ECOWAS would isolate Niger Republic from the electricity supply.

“About 60 per cent of power supply to Niger comes from Nigeria. Just like organised labour usually shuts down the national power grid as part of negotiations when all appeals might have failed to achieve results, Mr President (Tinubu) is the leader of ECOWAS at the moment.

“Disconnection of power supply is seen as a low-hanging fruit,” he stated.

ECOWAS Defence Chiefs meet

On Wednesday, Defence Chiefs from ECOWAS member states met at the Nigerian capital, Abuja.

Defence Chiefs from Ghana, Nigeria, Benin, Togo, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Senegal, The Gambia, Cote D’Ivoire, and Cape Verde are in attendance at the meeting, which took place at the Defence Headquarters in Abuja.

But Defence Chiefs for Mali, Niger, Guinea Bissau, Burkina Faso, and Guinea were absent.

The Nigerian Chief of Defence Staff and President of ECOWAS Committee of Chief of Defence Staff, Gen. Christopher Musa, said the Niger coup called for collective attention and a united response.

He added that ECOWAS frowned upon any form of illegal takeover of power, and entrenched it in the 2001 Protocol on Democracy and Good Governance.

Musa said, “We must face the challenges of restoring democratic governance in Niger head-on, drawing on our shared experiences, wisdom, and collective resolve.

Related News
Oyetola, Lalong, Bagudu, 16 others make second ministerial list
#Subsidyprotests: Banks, offices shut amid rallies, labour demands N200,000 wage
Meet Tinubu's cabinet of ex-govs
“Our decisions will have far-reaching implications for the ECOWAS region. ECOWAS’ strength lies in unity, shared values, and commitment to democracy, peace, and prosperity. In this regard, we are tasked with a mission to restore democracy in the Republic of Niger and preserve germane humanitarian principles across the region,” Musa said.

Sponsored Stories
If You Suffer From Knee and Hip Pain You Should Read This
Sponsored | news4ppl.com
He noted that the task of restoring democratic governance in Niger was not going to be a walkover.

Musa said, “We are not oblivious to the complex challenges that lie ahead. The task of restoring democratic governance in Niger is fraught with potential hurdles and complications. However, we cannot afford to be hamstrung by these challenges. Instead, we must confront them head-on, drawing upon our shared experiences, wisdom, and the strength of our collective resolve.”

ECOWAS Commissioner for Political Affairs, Peace and Security Amb. Abdel-Fatau Musah said there was a need to act on the coup in Niger to stop it from spreading to other countries in the region.

Musah said, “In the past three years or so, there are about eight to nine successful/unsuccessful coups in West Africa. Our organisation was exemplary in supporting the consolidation of democracy to the extent that just three years ago, all member states of ECOWAS were led by democratically elected Presidents. Today we are in reverse gear.

“We are not sure which country will be next if we do not arrest this situation West Africa is going to be a laughing stock of Africa and the world. Nigeria is a regional leader, there is no way this region can overcome these challenges without the leadership role of Nigeria.

“We are at an inflation point now, it seems like President Bola Tinubu is being challenged, soon after his declaration, we have this coup and the need to demonstrate that we can go beyond backing and bite.”

Meanwhile, a leaked viral memo from the Defence Headquarters revealed that an order had been given to the Navy, Army, and Air Force, saying: “Prepare to commence the movement of platforms to Sokoto and enforce a no-fly zone. The movement will be at short notice.”

“For the impending operations in Niger Rep Nigerian Army to provide two BN ( Battalion), the Nigerian Navy to provide One SPS COY ( Special Boat Service) and Nigerian Air Force to provide one REGT COY (Regiment personnel ). Prepare to commence the movement of platforms to Sokoto and enforce a no-fly zone,” the memo added.

However, The PUNCH could not independently verify the authenticity if the memo.

Response to an inquiry from the Director, Defence Information, Brig. Gen. Tukur Gusau, was still being awaited as of the time of filing this report.

UK backs ECOWAS

Meanwhile, the United Kingdom’s Foreign Secretary, James Cleverly, on Wednesday, said the UK aligned with the stance taken by ECOWAS on the military coup in Niger Republic, which ousted Mohamed Bazoum last week.

Briefing State House Correspondents shortly after an audience with President Tinubu, at the Aso Rock Villa, Cleverly said, “We touched briefly on the situation in Niger. I made the point that the UK very much welcomes ECOWAS and his (Tinubu’s) indeed decisive action, his strong commitment to democracy and the unambiguous message that violence is not the means to bring political change in any circumstance.

“And that the commitment to democracy in Nigeria and the region is unwavering.”

Last Sunday, the ECOWAS Authority of Heads of State and Government issued a seven-day ultimatum to Niger’s military to release and re-instate President Bazoum as the legitimate Head of State and Government of the landlocked state.

This formed part of the resolutions of an extraordinary meeting of the leaders at the Aso Rock Presidential Villa, Abuja, to discuss developments in Niger.

Citing ECOWAS’s response, Cleverly said, “This very much support the UK’s position. We wish to see peace and democracy restored in Niger.

“And we will, of course, continue to liaise with our strong friends in the region, membership of ECOWAS, of course, including Nigeria, as we seek to bring about stability, peace and democracy to Niger.”

Niger reopens borders

The News Agency of Nigeria reported on Wednesday that one week after the military coup in Niger, the new military government had reopened the country’s land borders and airspace with five neighbouring countries, a spokesman for the junta announced on television on Tuesday evening.

The border crossings to Mali, Burkina Faso, Algeria, Libya, and Chad were reopened, he said.

The junta also appointed new governors for the country’s eight regions.

The junta said Niger’s borders with Benin and Nigeria, both ECOWAS members, remained closed for the time being.

ECOWAS members – Burkina Faso and Mali, are already suspended after earlier military coups, and they had sided with Niger.

Meanwhile, France and Italy began evacuating their citizens and others, with two planes landing in France and one in Italy.

The French planes carried mainly French citizens but also Germans and several other EU nationals, some from the United States, Ethiopia, and elsewhere, according to French press reports and the French Foreign Ministry.
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 5:54am On Aug 03, 2023
123papas:
Buy three male local dogs from the same litter at less than 8 weeks, and castrate them at about 16weeks. They will help with security.
Thank you..dogs are a must.. i have a male and female adult Boerboels.. but for walking in the bush maybe the locals are better being more expendable and rugged..also i can leave them to roam off leash without fear of them attacking nyone or killing any livestock ( my female would def kill any animal she sees)

I think i will get 2 local females so maybe my male Boerboel can climb them then i would castrate all their male offspring

Thank you
CrimeRe: Surinamese Trafficking Cocaine In Latex Condoms Sentenced To Jail by spinna: 9:04pm On Aug 02, 2023
I guess he's one of the usual suspects but got a fake foreign identity hoping if he's nabbed he would be sent back there for a more civilized jailtime
TravelRe: Four Nigerians, Rescued In Brazil, Survived 14 Days On A Ship's Rudder by spinna: 7:11pm On Aug 02, 2023
Imagine all that stress for racist and violent Brazil.
FamilyRe: Need An Opinion.....just Got Out From Drug Addiction by spinna: 6:12pm On Aug 02, 2023
Try your best to be on good terms and focus in your self development..no excuse to go back.. Never touch meth again o no matter the stress
HealthRe: Just Got Over Drugs.....need An Opinion Please by spinna: 6:09pm On Aug 02, 2023
Just don't take his insults to mind..you have just achieved a great act by beating meth.. don't use his words as a reason to go back.. focus on your next move to develop yourself..
CrimeRe: Pos Staff On Training Disappears After 2 Days With Money And Items Worth N180k by spinna: 3:00pm On Aug 02, 2023
I look forward to seeing his pics when he is caught..this one fit kill person o.

He must be caught
FamilyRe: Among These Four Old Women, Who Has The Real Swag?(photo) by spinna: 2:55pm On Aug 02, 2023
Nasoo
AgricultureRe: The Legacy Of Animal-drawn Ploughs In Agriculture by spinna: 2:00pm On Aug 02, 2023
This and cattle are what is behind the myth that northerners can farm more rhan southerners.. northerners use oxen with plough but southerners don't..hence north farms more land traditionally
BusinessRe: If You Are Uber Partner In Lagos, Please Share Your Experience Here by spinna: 1:22pm On Aug 02, 2023
obinoral1179:
was just thanking God on that busy oba Akran road....God is good...
I saw the video..it missed a car by like a second..God really did well even those flying didn't die..To GOD be the glory
PoliticsRe: NAF Will Be Conducting Air Strikes In Niger Republic Soon by spinna: 1:19pm On Aug 02, 2023
MEEVEET:
Military way dey leak this kind documents na him won go lunch attack on a popular military of Niger

Weapons dont win war.. Dedication of the people win war
Exactly my thought.. sensitive war docs landing on nairaland is not a sign of good discipline and makes the enemy prepared for you
Car TalkRe: The All New 2024 Toyota Prado... What's Your Take? by spinna:
Matured.. somewhat like fj cruiser
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 1:10pm On Aug 02, 2023
I dunno if the wetlands can be used for rice? Wether it's fresh or saltwater there

I am also going to look into live capture traps so i can catch cane rats/grasscutters and start rearing them
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 12:56pm On Aug 02, 2023
RevenuesBoost:
Best crops to plant are:
Plantain
Banana &
Oil Palm

Meanwhile
👇👇👇
They say palm oil is N35,000 in Lagos, we can still supply you at N24,000

I'll always say that I'm not ready to snap 😂😂😂
I sha didn't plan on snapping but I can't say no to that handsome man in the photo 😄

Welcome to the month of sweetness and excess joy!

Someone asked me if I can't focus on one business, I answered, "Jack of all trade, master of none, is always better than a person staying idle or doing nothing"

As you see us so, na palm oil we wan go carry.
We supply palm oil in quantities.
They say palm oil is 35k in Lagos, we can still supply you at 24,000, Location Cross River State.

PICKUP PRICE:👇
A single quantity: N25,000
In bulk: N24,000

It can be way-billed to you
We're in alignment with Okeyson motors and ATL motors

Happy New Month Blessed People!!!
Well done and thank you..yes there is oil palm on the land too and even some palm processing facility.. i plan to do plantain as well.. i am thinking of starting with palm suckers to sell to other farmers but I don't have much experience with palm plant 🌴
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 12:52pm On Aug 02, 2023
AllenSpencer:
You are lucky to have such expanse of land around Lagos. With good planning, you can make good profit out of it.

Take your time to get all necessary informations and take all the time you need to plan.

Best of luck!

Tell me a little more? How was your cow farming business? I also have plans of setting up a ranch around that area, as that’s where I can vast expanse of land for Pennys.
Thank you sir,

My cow/dairy biz was the adventure of my lifetime.. i was 100% hands on..No fulani. I went from being scared and them kicking me to being able to milk them daily by myself. I learnt various ways to feed them and pasture establishment etc.. and even started selling grass seeds and suckers to other farmers.
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 12:45pm On Aug 02, 2023
TheeOracle:
Don’t feed animals plantain stems it adds no nutritional value to them except excess water ne lots of cows had died in the long run.
Thank you..I will be adding pasture grass and legume tree leaves to the ruminants diet and same with plantain stem chopped altogether for the pigs
AgricultureRe: My Journey Into Plantain Farming - Challenges, Cost And Profit by spinna: 1:09am On Aug 01, 2023
ijeezlux:
Nice thread..........large farming in Nigeria is really really capital intensive....... I have about 25 acres that am planting plantain on since last yr. It has not been easy.....money flying out of my pocket like there is a hole in my pocket.
Some of problem faced are:
No proper rainfall
Stunted growth
Weeding
Unserious and lazy yearly workers
Bush fire
Fulani issue
And also issue of the owner not being ground regularly. Cos the worker will take advantage of your absence.

Below is a picture of my generator burnt by bush fire
Chai how manage with the gen?. I've realised something about the workers of farm.. most if them they are not really wishing your success .they would want to frustrate you..

I think one needs to be on ground or have trusted persons on ground.

Also i feel some tools like slasher and power sprayer post hole digger can help so you use them instead of labor that won't do it well..eg post holes when i was doing my cow farm fence .they didn't dig holes deeply so the posts started falling down..would have been avoided if i had the auger machine

I am about to start plantain too..
AgricultureRe: What Type Of Animal Is This? by spinna: 1:03am On Aug 01, 2023
Civet?
AgricultureRe: Managing Common Pest And Disease To Protect Maize Yield by spinna: 12:58am On Aug 01, 2023
No mention of push pull techniques? If you plant some rich pasture grasses on the sides of the maize the evil insects will lay their eggs on the grass ..and their hatched offspring cant last on the grass.. affordable pest control
AgricultureRe: My Aproko Chicken by spinna: 12:55am On Aug 01, 2023
LikeAking:
That's their nature..

Never under estimate them.

They are also great excape artist..

They won't fly away and never come back, it's your bad neighbors who will kill and eat them, when they tresspass.

Keep an eye on them

Good luck.
Lol you just took me back to my childhood one xmas period when i was harrassing a turkey gifted to us and it ended up jumping the fence..it was eventually retrieved but fear wey catch me ehn.. can't remember if I was punished though lol
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 12:48am On Aug 01, 2023
CodeTemplar:
You are doing well. This is better than office hob that transport eats your salary.
Yes farming is very emotionally rewarding but na cashout be the coco not just fresh air and the beauty of the field..
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 12:46am On Aug 01, 2023
talented321:
8plot of land'' op with my two hectare
Ayam not understanding pls come again
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 12:44am On Aug 01, 2023
jmoore:
Dedicate I hectare for plantain.
Thank you.. i plan to do plantains because the land is good for it.. also the stem and leaves can be used to feed the livestock.. some say it's better to have corporate offtakers for plantain but i don't have
PoliticsRe: Full Speech Of President Tinubu by spinna: 7:36pm On Jul 31, 2023
Okay
AgricultureRe: Advice Me On My Farm Plans: several acres Of Coastal Forest Farm Land In Lagos by spinna(op): 7:13pm On Jul 31, 2023
I just saw something on Instagram..the more we seek security the less we have, but the more we seek opportunity, then the more security we have.

Life is either a daring adventure or nothing at all

Looking forward to catching bush meats

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 (of 140 pages)