Stats: 3,331,321 members, 8,449,746 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 July 2026 at 09:55 AM

Thedon22's Posts

Nairaland ForumThedon22's ProfileThedon22's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (of 42 pages)

PoliticsRe: Questions & Answers On The New Nigeria Tax Law by Thedon22: 12:22am On Jan 03
SixSeven:
I just need to break this down here because what you don't understand you will keep being misled.

A tax is money the government collects from people, businesses, or things you buy, to pay for public services like roads, schools, hospitals, and electricity.

Many Nigerians think only people with salaries pay tax because income tax (PAYE) is very visible, it comes straight off your paycheck. But in reality, everyone pays indirect taxes whenever they buy goods, fuel, food, use electricity, phone, or travel. The “hypocrisy” comes from the fact that government talks about income tax more because it’s easy to track, while indirect taxes are hidden in prices, so it feels like the poor or informal workers aren’t paying anything when they actually are.

What annoys me is the japa people that go abroad and yap about taxes. They want Nigeria to have the same western style. If you play with taxes abroad, you'll be shown the way out in the next election and you should also understand the white man and why he does things in a way. When you understand their history, you'll know why we are not the same.

Some countries really do not charge personal income tax at all meaning residents don’t file annual income tax returns like in the UK/US and don’t pay tax on their salaries. Examples include United Arab Emirates (UAE), Saudi Arabia, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain, Bahamas, Cayman Islands, Monaco, Brunei and Vanuatu, among others. These countries still get money for government services through oil, trade, fees, or other taxes, not by taxing individual salaries. Do the maths and tell me one thing in common Nigeria has that some of these countries have. These countries fund government spending through other sources such as oil and gas revenues, corporate taxes, import duties, fees, tourism income or VAT/sales taxes, instead of taxing people’s income directly.

You need to get off this obsession with the west and trying to be like who you are not. This is the miseducation of the average African. Don't forget that in Aba and Ogun State, Women fought the imposition of taxes by the British. Many Nigerians don't even study their history. You should go and read why they didn't want the colonial government collecting taxes from them.

Historically, Western heavy taxation grew partly from scarcity and because they needed money to fund armies, wars, infrastructure, and administrative systems. Land and resources were limited, populations were growing, and scarcity of money made taxes necessary. Scarcity also came from their harsh climates, poor harvests, and limited technology, so the state had to extract more from people to survive and provide basic service, sunlike in some African systems, where wealth was shared communally rather than extracted as formal taxes. When you look at it today, the concept of Black Tax is because in Africa, we share the resources with the rest of us Ubuntu style. Learn why things are the way they are. Today, I see people teaching financial wealth and I laugh when they want us to copy westerners and their form of selfish indiduvual finance.

The day Nigerians wake up to know their rights and why the government cannot just squander their money, they will wake up.
I have one question for you. Those countries you listed above that don't pay tax like Saudi Arabia, UAE, Quatar etc, how much is there population? How many of them have half Nigerias population ? What is there revenue divided by their population like? E.g. Saudi Arabia is 37m, comparable to only Lagos and Ogun State in Nigeria. Please compare and contrast with Nigeria, so that you can prove your theory.
PoliticsRe: Peter Obi Is Nigeria's Best Chance To Good Governance by Thedon22: 10:51pm On Jan 02
May Obi never happen to anyone!
PoliticsRe: NNPP Dissolves Kano Executive Ahead Of Governor's Defection by Thedon22: 10:19pm On Jan 02
I don't blame the governors defecting. Who will leave a performing president that has enabled state allocations to more than triple, and then go and join looters and incompetent leaders ? Which girl will leave a boyfriend that is meeting up with his obligations and go for unsure, uncertain and incompetent leaders? We are talking of excellent leadership one of them is talking about washing a dirty toilet. Nah toilet washing you go use pay govs state allocations? Instead of showing us pictures of his achievements as Anambra governor he was engaging in infantile rhetorics. How many toilets did the best leaders like Obama, Reagan, Xi, Putin wash to lead their people? And some people follow him.
PoliticsRe: Ibadan Explosion: Return FG’s N30 Billion With Interest – Fayose To Makinde by Thedon22: 6:28pm On Jan 02
AMINDA:
Tell Lagos state to first return the 150 billion they got from Tinubu in the first tranche. Did the federal government announce the donation when it was being given? Nigerians only got to know through a leaked memo after Makinde came for Tinubu. This was how Tinubu quietly disbursed the subsidy savings to settle political favours and subsidize the Southwestern states while borrowing astronomically. The next cash cow they are selling is taxation.
Can you provide the receipt of the #150B given to Lagos same way provided Fayose provided that of Oyo State. Proof yourself or better still let Makinde use his connection as gov to do so.
PoliticsRe: Gumi Breaks Silence On Peter Obi’s Defection To ADC Ahead Of 2027 Election by Thedon22: 1:00pm On Jan 02
Switruth:
If Obi were to be the president,these terrorists won't dare show their ugly head.... Gumi knows that.
Prove to me that Obi has what it takes to handle terrorists. Someone who keeps running away from primaries and fights. Terrorists sponsors would just be pushing him right and left. Compare him to Wike. It's obvious no - one can mess with Wike. Obi was impeached twice by his House of Assembly in Anambra.
PoliticsRe: No One Above 70 Should Be President, Governor – Pat Utomi by Thedon22: 12:46pm On Jan 02
Heffalump:
I strongly support Utomi on this one. If the retirement age in the federal civil service is 60years what should someone over 70 be doing as president?

Stiff age restriction should be included in our constitution for political offices as president, governor, senate, and rep.

I could vividly recall, Buhari at 72 was visibly crying that age was failing him. Most elderly people at 70 and over have a myriad of protracted illnesses. It's purely a liability on national budget having such individuals as presidents. Again, the most dangerous one is that most critical decisions, either good or bad are often influenced by the croonies surrounding the president, who is aged and cannot act fast with alacrity. His mental dependency level increases.

Age restrictions should be ensured to keep old brains away from active politics and go into permanent retirement.
How old were the last and current American presidents? How old were some of the best leaders worldwide. Ronald Reagan, George Bush, Joe Biden, Trump etc. Even now Trump wants to go a third term. Then in U.K the longest , strongest Prime Minister in contemporary times was Margaret Thatcher. Age has nothing to do with performance. Is Yaya Bello up to 70? Those calling for 70 have their own selfish agenda.
PoliticsRe: APC States Near 30 by Thedon22: 7:41am On Jan 02
While online Obidients propagandists are online to blackmail Tinubus achievements in 3 years those that are most politically enlightened and know the genius of Tinubus presidency are daily endeared to him and defecting. 30 and counting. The gov know Atiku and Obi are mouth-makers that can't achieve half of what Tinubu has done in 3 years. So, when he becomes VP he will be washing toilets to feed over 220m people. Jokers!
PoliticsRe: Can Someone Show Us The Ambulances Tinubu Bought For Lagos As Governor? by Thedon22: 7:27am On Jan 02
obonujoker:
Oga post pictures of Tinubu Ambulance
Tinubu was the first time start LASAMBUS in the country. He upgraded many Teaching hospitals also. Hospitals were subsidized also by the Lag govt. I might not have the pictures but some people witnessed it. Like the school issue, your body will calm down by the time Reno come in to post pictures and compare.
TravelRe: Lagos-Ibadan Expressway Crash On New Year Day: Passengers Trapped, Feared Dead by Thedon22: 12:50am On Jan 02
Melagros:
COMRADES, and the politicians don't care about ugly situations like this, what they are after is how rig their way in 2027
Stop all these hypocrisy and go straight to the point to blame Tinubu for all accidents. Hope Obi was able to eliminate accidents in Anambra when he was gov? Everyone is talking about over speeding of drivers on that road but all you want to deceive with is politicians. Is it Tinubu that will tell drivers not to overspeed in the roads? Obi and Obidients have nothing tangible to offer the country other than gibberish. So, its Trump that regulates drivers speeds on American highways? Obi is a failure.
PoliticsRe: New Tax Laws: Has Your Bank Account Been Restricted? by Thedon22: 10:30pm On Jan 01
OlujobaSamuel:
Where you hear Sey dem go restrict your account because of tax
Like the other man, he got his advice from the madman at Upper Iweka now. He is not the only one. When a blind man follows another blind man they both end up in the ditch.
PoliticsRe: The Real Reason Governors Are Running To APC. It’s Not About Tinubu by Thedon22: 6:05pm On Jan 01
You go explain tire, no evidence!
SportsRe: Police Detain Anthony Joshua’s Driver Over Fatal Crash That Claimed Two Lives by Thedon22: 6:03pm On Jan 01
quadraheem:
Unfortunately, a lot of Nigerians are ignorant and don't know how it's been done even in the developed countries.
It is within the mandate of the Nigerian police to arrest the driver and carry out necessary investigation in order to ascertain if he was not culpable directly or indirectly.
So, it's now they know to apply how it's being done abroad?; So, why don't they apply the same rules when it concerns ordinary citizens? One standard for the poor, and another for the rich.
PoliticsRe: We Need To Join ADC With Peter Obi by Thedon22: 9:17am On Jan 01
Obidients are now subservient to politicians they once derided in ADC. May we not be the dog that went back to his vomit. In the end they would bow down to Atikus ambition.
PoliticsRe: Can Someone Show Us The Ambulances Tinubu Bought For Lagos As Governor? by Thedon22: 10:20pm On Dec 31, 2025
obonujoker:
Some people have started castigating Peter Obi again because he gave his voice regarding the accident that happened with Anthony Joshua.

Now, can anyone show us Tinubu with evidences like this...

NOTE: DONT POST FASHOLA ACHIEVEMENTS

THIS IS ANOTHER REASON IM VOTING PETER OBI ... WORKINGS DEY.
Some of you are ignorant of what Tinubus antecedents are. If Reno come into the issue now and releases picture you will find out you just open your candidate 's backside. You want to disgrace Obi totally. Tinubu is light years ahead of Obi in governance and politics.
PoliticsRe: Peter Obi / Aminu Tambuwal 2027 by Thedon22: 10:09pm On Dec 31, 2025
Keep deceiving yourself. Atiku will never give up.
PoliticsRe: 2027: Bayo Onanuga Reacts To Peter Obi's Defection To ADC by Thedon22: 10:02pm On Dec 31, 2025
Streetinvestor2:
Would u have preferred him to be SW president shoes
He should be his own man. Everybody knows Atiku will finish him in the primaries.
PoliticsRe: 2027: Bayo Onanuga Reacts To Peter Obi's Defection To ADC by Thedon22: 7:28pm On Dec 31, 2025
Finally confirmed. Obi is Atikus footmat any day or night.
PoliticsRe: 2027: We will resist any plot to rig elections - Peter Obi by Thedon22: 2:39pm On Dec 31, 2025
Atiku is already speaking through Obi. The mouth of Obi but the voice of Atiku. Happy servitude to Atiku. Finally, all obidients will now be slaves to the structures of criminality they once derided through their Messiah. May we not be a dog that goes back to his vomit. May my Messiah never give his soul to the devil to deputize for him. I pity Obidients !
PoliticsRe: Aminu Tambuwal In Enugu For Peter Obi’s Defection. A Statement? by Thedon22: 2:34pm On Dec 31, 2025
LtCZAR:
The same serial betrayer Tambuwal that betrayed Wike.
And openly said he trust Atiku Abubakar as a true leader. Obi watch Ur back sha.
Sure Serial betrayal. Same thing he did with Gbajabiamila in the House of Reps. Any Southerner that trusts that guy will have himself to blame. Very selfish politician !
PoliticsRe: Peter Obi Reacts To Anthony Joshua's Road Accident, Laments Emergency Response by Thedon22: 2:26pm On Dec 31, 2025
Elusive001:
Since according to you, Peter Obi did not provide ambulances to his state as the governor, continue to bask in lies as usual.
If you think I am telling lies, then show us pictures of Obis ambulances and schools built. Pictures don't lie.
PoliticsRe: Peter Obi Reacts To Anthony Joshua's Road Accident, Laments Emergency Response by Thedon22: 9:21am On Dec 31, 2025
Elusive001:
Go and check how many ambulances Peter Obi bought and compare with your god who has lagos coffers in his pocket.
I have checked and found out he bought nothing. Same way he did not build a single school while gov. Small time now he would start complaining how A/Cs are not in public schools, even though he didn't even build any with ordinary fan. Greatest hypocrite !
PoliticsRe: Tinubu Names Rotimi Oyedepo As Director Of Public Prosecutions by Thedon22: 7:11am On Dec 31, 2025
allthingsgood:
He's not only unqualified, he is not even in civil service. They are giving him direct appointment on level 17, for someone who has never been in service.
The FBI director was a tv host when he was appointed FBi director, yet he was approved by Congress. Olubunmi Ojo never worked in Interior Ministry yet has done better than career appointees. The president that appointed Oyedepo knew his capacity and the inadequacy in the office and what he wants to achieve. The president has made his choice. When it's your turn appoint an incompetent Civil Servant. Obis supporters and cho, cho, cho.
PoliticsRe: Tinubu Names Rotimi Oyedepo As Director Of Public Prosecutions by Thedon22: 6:12am On Dec 31, 2025
Is he qualified for the position or not? If he is, what fuss? We need people that can change Nigeria for good and not my ethnic people.
PoliticsRe: I Once Clean The Toilet Of An Aircraft As A Sitting Governor - Peter Obi by Thedon22: 5:58am On Dec 31, 2025
Me too. Me, I once swept the dirty garage for 12 months, does that not qualify me to be made president?
PoliticsRe: Labour Party Brought Me To Power, I’m Not Defecting — Otti Declares (Video) by Thedon22: 5:48am On Dec 31, 2025
Any party that does not believe in rotating power between the North and South has no good intentions for the country. Why should Otti port? Some politicians believe that power is their inheritance whether they are competent or not. Anybody joining a party that has already secretly zoned their nomination to a particular politician needs to have his brain checked. Those joining are 2nd fiddle there Primaries there are a formality. They can as well announce their candidate today without any primaries - the party is some people's perpetual SPV.
PoliticsRe: Federal High Court In Abuja Orders Remand Of Malami, Son In Kuje Prison by Thedon22: 10:07pm On Dec 30, 2025
joelbooks:
Lienus should not forget to visit his Friend in Prison
So, Obi is now fraternizing with all the axis of criminalities. Very funny guy!

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 (of 42 pages)