Stats: 3,156,759 members, 7,831,445 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 06:46 PM

Wilife's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Wilife's Profile / Wilife's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (of 4 pages)

Career / Re: Welcome To My Office by Wilife: 7:45am On Feb 08, 2010
All,

This issue of technocrats in politics turns me nuts

What have the technocrats who had no previous political background done?

Charles Soludo almost ruined the banking industry and has now joined the bandwagon.

Dora, were it not for the sudden change of heart last week had already turned into something else,

'Babalola, the Minister of State for Finance seems hidden from the public view.

Babatunde Omotoba, the Minister of Aviation is a Civil Engineer who had done so well for himself in the private sector.

Odein Ajumogobia, a former attorney general of Rivers State,

I'm so tired of mentioning names,

I'm just trying to make sense of how easy it is for these people to do well in their personal callings and end up turning into something completely different when they get into the corridors of power.
Come to think of it, a fresh graduate who is passionate about the energy sector can define the problems in the energy sector with few lines,

It's so irritating,
Career / Re: Welcome To My Office by Wilife: 10:12am On Jan 24, 2010
Good day All,

This is probably the most sensible threads on NL besides my favorite property threads.

, Always checking to see if there is any new post.

U guys have not been too forthcoming lately though.

Well Tmoni's comments caught my interest,

I personally thought the other chap (Chika or so) who was close to Tony E was going to become the CEO, I think it was last reported he was heading to the States for some executive training or something last year.

Me think the greatest surprise was Femi Olaloku, I have watched that man's meteoric rise from the old Citi days,

Interesting,
Properties / Re: Urgent Advice Needed: Start Business Or Buy Land? by Wilife: 9:10am On Jan 24, 2010
Hello,

I see quite a number of pple have adviced you to consider going into partnerships.

Good idea but from experience, pple are so hard to trust everywhere.

Good men with the best intentions also do disappoint so be forewarned.

Please, document every verbal discussion and agreement and do not , I repeat do not go ahead with any of these business ideas without good legal documentation even if your blood relations are involved.

I can only but wish you the very best in your endeavors.

, Please, pray as you take the step(s) of faith.
Celebrities / Re: Pastor Taiwo Odukoya's Wedding Pix by Wilife: 6:52pm On Jan 23, 2010
Either way,

I am definitely going to be biased.

I really do admire Pastor Tee and Aunty Bimbo of blessed memory.

, Well, he's got to settle down again, painfully so,

I can't but wish them all the very best in their endeavours.

Must comment that their children (the 2 ladies and the guy) have really come out well.

Heard Pastor Ighodalo, the charming hubby of Ibidun, was also there!
Sports / Re: Nigeria Vs Benin At Nations Cup: 1 - 0 by Wilife: 5:33pm On Jan 16, 2010
At times like this,

You realise that Naija needs a natural striker in the like of Rasheed Yekini.

As far as I'm concerned, we are yet to find a natural stiker who is ever reliable in front of the post.
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Kpmg And Access Bank Test by Wilife: 7:56am On Jan 15, 2010
Good decision friend.

KPMG is sure a great place to start a career!

You would have realised that a lot of pple cross from there to the oil companies et al to collect hefty sums compared to their class mates who jumped on the 'bank' bandwagon from DAY 1 because of the pay difference.

Again, good decision.

It's one of the best places to start a career no doubt,

All the best,

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Pay Package For Stanbic Bank by Wilife: 5:49pm On Jan 13, 2010
Hi All,

Just a quick word,

I don't think this should generate into a shouting match.

The qq is simple and the answer does not need too much grammar.

You are either willing to provide an answer or not.

Me think providing a range for the salary band will not kill anyone,

Besides, don't these banks benchmark their selves with 2 or 3 peers in the industry?
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: I Need A System Audit Job by Wilife: 6:33am On Jan 10, 2010
Hello!

Make a push to one of the audit firms.

That's the best place to start a worthwhile career in IT and Systems Audit.

What's your background and what specific experience do u have?

I may be able to provide you with a couple of leads and contacts in '3' of the big '4' audit firms in Naija
Career / Re: How Important Is It To Be On Your Own? by Wilife: 6:21am On Jan 10, 2010
Okay…I just stumbled into the thread and frankly only waited to read because of the familiar names that makes NL a place to be all the time…

History has shown that the greatest business ideas were created in times of economic decline and recession…No wonder the popular saying that ‘necessity is the mother of invention’.

@Ajanlekoko…Sir…the reference is deliberate because I’m sure u are way older than me…All the same, look ‘he that is down needs fear no fall’ your friend had nothing to lose because he had nowhere to go to. Indeed, his choices were limited and he had to make sure things worked out for him.

The danger for us all is the tendency to stay in our ‘comfort zone’ and assume all will forever be well. ‘oyb’ mentioned the plans he had to write books in the past…Friend, you can still pursue those plans. It’s not too late…Chimamanda of the ‘Purple Hibiscus’ fame was set to become a medical doctor when she switched and decided to follow a passion in writing.

I have a friend who attended the same primary school with me who is now one of the largest suppliers of snails in Naija….She vowed not to work when she completed her university degree. The other day, she told me her Personal Assistant (PA) was resuming the week after…

To the friend who wants to be next to Bill Gates…I urge u to prepare ur mind for a new generation of work place that demands that you work as an entrepreneur. I know a lot of companies in the US now that have incorporated ‘entrepreneurial thinking’ into their performance appraisal yardsticks. The constant question is what value are u adding to the business…What do we lose if we allow u to go somewhere else?

Bottom line, we must resolve to pursue our dreams and not rely on the paid employment which may not be there tomorrow for all we know. (Case in point is the gale of bank sacking these past few months). I have always said this…Any banker who can meet his target of Bleep MM should be able to raise xx MM for his/her business idea.

For the friends who are looking for business ideas…I will turn a bit and ask that u go the divine way….Pray about this and then take a break to somewhere silent…A vacation to the ancient city of Ilorin or a drive down to Epe (I think there are still some quiet resorts there) will do it….Think through and determine where your strengths are…Think through a man’s life through each day…U wake up in the morning….have a bath (i.e. use water, soap and sponge), dress up wearing clothes and accessories such as ties and cuffs…Head out driving ur car or car pooling right….Get to work and take a cup of coffee or tea…buy a muffin or pastry brought in by Bleep caterers…Do your work using ur laptop, a computer, stationery etc…Call ur better half…Take lunch …and so on…,

If you catch my drift and complete the next sets of tasks till u go to bed at night…u would have identified 30 different business opportunities that you can go into…in Naija and make very good money….

Finally, do not give up…Follow through and be willing to learn…Successful entrepreneurs are celebrated but the challenges they faced and insults they received along the way are often relegated to the back burner. I hope this helps…
Properties / Re: Home Plans For Bungalows In Nigeria? by Wilife: 9:09am On Jan 09, 2010
Amazing thread,

Thanks for all the interesting contributions here.

Ignorance is indeed a disease.
I have some qq:

@Mahal
What does the size you menioned above mean (i.e. in plots), I hope the qq is not dumb, It just tells u I know little or nothing about these things and just trying to find my feet.

@Ajileko
I have seen a couple of your posts and I assume that u are a builder, Please, can u give me an estimate or range of how much it will cost to construct a 2 storey block of 4 apartments excluding land,

Thanks a lot
Career / Re: Self-employment Tips by Wilife: 3:30am On Jan 09, 2010
Okay,

I just stumbled into this thread and I think this is very important at times like this.

History has shown that great businesses have been formed and ideas generated in times of recession.

I can only encourage everyone to tow the same line.

I recently read a NYT article and came to a conclusion to constantly ask myself each day,

What would I say were my achievement(s) when I am eighty years old if the Lord tarries and if I tarry?

To the bankers who lost their jobs, If u can raise 100MM annual target for the banks, why can't u raise 2-5 MM to start that business idea,
Career / Re: Oceanic Bank Denies Sacking 1,200 More Workers, Slashes Salaries By 30% - Latest News by Wilife: 2:58am On Jan 09, 2010
Okay, I think I need to share a bit of my understanding on NL.

1) I read through the entire thread and worry that quite a number of us have not realized the failures of 'naked capitalism'. America is grappling with it's self made financial innovation today, Have you also wondered why countries you least expect such as China in the developing world and France and Germany in the developed world have turned the page and stopped the recession at least, Now, those are countries with varied forms of capitalism wrapped around socialist tendencies,

Read between the lines friends,

2) On the Nigerian banking debacle, This was a disaster waiting to happen, I know of one Nigerian bank that loudly touted its access to a number of foreign lines of credit, It turned out that the stupid bank did not hedge the drawn down credit against foreign exchange fluctuations. When the foreign banks came back for their money, the Nigerian bank had to pay x2 the amount it drew down because Naira had crashed at the time, October '08 to February '09, due to falling oil prices and oil export,

Just my thoughts, For fresh graduates or those still in school, I urge u to consider a career in Consulting rather than banking for a start, If you must do banking, u better target a specialized arm of banking such as M&A, Investment Banking , Specialized Finance et al,
Car Talk / Re: How Useful AreCar Navigation Systems On Nigerian Roads? by Wilife: 7:56pm On Jan 06, 2010
@labiyemmy, Does the 20k amount include all updates to the maps when they become available or we will need to make a new payment.

Thanks.

@George_D, Very thoughtful and useful post,

@naira-ner, Radnon's website looks good but they don't have their prices online,

We'll see, I will definitely go for the one with the best deal abi?
Car Talk / Re: How Useful AreCar Navigation Systems On Nigerian Roads? by Wilife: 7:10am On Jan 06, 2010
Quick qq Labiyemmy.

So, if I have the Garmin GPS, you can load all the maps for me for 20k right.

Is that what you are saying or is there any hidden charge?

Besides, what happens when there are updates to the maps?

Thanks.

Good thread I must say though,

Finally, how far did you go with the NTDC issue?
Computers / Research On Internet Usage In Nigeria And A Chance To Win N2,500 Recharge Card by Wilife: 7:48am On Sep 22, 2009
Good day Nairalanders!!!

There is a Survey Opportunity to assist Nigerian ISPs with their Quality of Service and product offering.

This five minute survey is to help with an educational research on the state of internet service provision in Nigeria. Your feedback will help us understand the business terrain and identify possible areas of improvement for the industry players. You have a chance to win N2,500 recharge card for use on the mobile or fixed wireless network operator of your choice. You are getting this invitation because your opinion matters to us. Your time and feedback is greatly appreciated!

Thanks…

http://www.incorporatenigeria.com/surveys

(1) (2) (3) (4) (of 4 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35