Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,150,853 members, 7,810,283 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 05:21 AM

Advice Needed Urgently! How Useful Is A Masters Degree? - Career - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Advice Needed Urgently! How Useful Is A Masters Degree? (1532 Views)

Advice Needed:a Masters Degree To Aid My 2.2 Or A Life-changing Trip To Italy? / GTBank Job Or Masters Degree? / How Much Do Human Resource Professionals With A Masters Degree Earn? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Advice Needed Urgently! How Useful Is A Masters Degree? by Obi1kenobi(m): 1:33am On Jul 28, 2013
I'm a graduate of Electrical Engineering from one of the Federal institutions and I just completed my service in June but I've been unemployed since and I'm not getting any good breaks in the labour market with my 2:2 degree. Pretty much all the multinationals and other top employers won't even shortlist me to have a chance of proving myself sadly.

How much would a Masters Degree abroad improve my prospects in the labour market? I ask this because I wouldn't want my retired sponsors wasting millions of naira on a venture that may not prove advantageous. If I applied to the likes of KPMG or Nestle or Mobil who ALWAYS demand a 2:1, would they even consider the Masters degree at all? Please, give it to me straight. I can handle the truth and move on. undecided

1 Like

Re: Advice Needed Urgently! How Useful Is A Masters Degree? by Obi1kenobi(m): 6:37pm On Jul 28, 2013
Please, guys, I need some pointers and a bit of guidance here. Could anyone kindly reply?
Re: Advice Needed Urgently! How Useful Is A Masters Degree? by basisop(m): 7:58pm On Jul 28, 2013
Guy jobs are much available for 2.2 graduates. Do your masters if you want to. Won't you have done your masters even if you graduated with a 1st class?
Re: Advice Needed Urgently! How Useful Is A Masters Degree? by Obi1kenobi(m): 10:17pm On Jul 28, 2013