Stats: 3,153,696 members, 7,820,432 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 02:41 PM

Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks - Science/Technology - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks (21817 Views)

Importance Of Inverter Cables: Minimize fires And Improve Battery Performance !! / Ios 7 Blocking Fake/not Original Charging Cables (and How To Get Around It) / Why Birds Don't Get Electrocuted When They Climb Electric Cables (2) (3) (4)

Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Itulah(m): 10:50am On Aug 21, 2014
I have a very annoying cat who likes to chew on thin cables. So far, it managed to destroy a couple of headsets, several phone chargers and the chord that went into my Wii's sensor. Since all my friends make fun of me on this subject, you can imagine how thrilled I was when I heard that other people have even bigger issues with cables that are being normed.

Recently, Google decided to invest $300 million in a fiber-optic system situated under the ocean, which is designed to speed up the Internet in Asian countries. However, the system called FASTER has a major flaw: sharks find its cables irresistibly delicious.

Yup, you heard it right. Apparently the sharks had no problem with the copper cables that were on the ocean floor, but the optical fiber is just yummy. While researchers can't make up their minds if the sharks bite the cables simply because they are curious or because the current flowing through them makes the predators think that they encountered a living creature, Google has to react.

This is why Google's Product Manager Dan Belcher announced that the multinational company is wrapping the Internet cable in a material that is similar to Kevlar to ensure that the sharks can't damage the line. FASTER is the 3rd project of this kind for Google who currently owns more than 100,000 miles of fiber optic on the ocean floor. Besides sharks, the Internet line must also withstand other possible dangers such as earthquakes or anchors or ships.

Source:http://www.forbes.com/sites/amitchowdhry/2014/08/15/how-google-stops-sharks-from-eating-undersea-cables/

17 Likes

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by uken73(m): 4:24am On Aug 23, 2014
wow. Nature is fighting back.

And now this project's cost is going to exceed budget.

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Nobody: 4:26am On Aug 23, 2014
And who are the sharks?
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Nobody: 4:26am On Aug 23, 2014
i thought sharks are attracted to blood, but i nor say wire dey attract them too

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by ebukaresources: 4:26am On Aug 23, 2014
3rd in like not too shabby for my 3rd week on nairaland
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Nobody: 4:27am On Aug 23, 2014
uken73: wow

wetin dey wow there? na to report you give seun remain

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Nobody: 4:28am On Aug 23, 2014
Hmmm interesting
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by McLove(m): 4:28am On Aug 23, 2014
Good move
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by uken73(m): 4:29am On Aug 23, 2014
donnypool: .
What is this?
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Nobody: 4:29am On Aug 23, 2014
uken73:
What is this?

i dey observe your movement

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Davijunson: 4:30am On Aug 23, 2014
Hehehem...wat a diet. I tot it was rats dat do eat cables. Sharks too seem to av found a new recipe... How interesting.
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by shadowwalker101: 4:30am On Aug 23, 2014
so the cables are under water hmmm
[img]http://www.?aff=391[/img]
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by uken73(m): 4:32am On Aug 23, 2014
donnypool:

wetin dey wow there? na to report you give seun remain
Wow is an exclamation.
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by shorxynla(m): 4:32am On Aug 23, 2014
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Daniel058(m): 4:36am On Aug 23, 2014
Now we must first report any abusive coment before we are given opportunity to coment...
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by borlarge(m): 4:38am On Aug 23, 2014
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by kulobyno: 4:38am On Aug 23, 2014
Space booked
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by globatop: 4:39am On Aug 23, 2014
Wonders shall never cease
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by NaLaugh: 4:39am On Aug 23, 2014
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Nobody: 4:43am On Aug 23, 2014
[img]https://www.nairaland.com/attachments/1643135_shark2-665x_jpegab9e190d7e88f4191ed201c8d4c532e2[/img]
Man, I love the faces of those sharks! Are they smiling on those sharp teeth?

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by mrarranger: 4:45am On Aug 23, 2014
Me think its because of the current dat pass tru d wire.

Meanwhile the sharks dey smile sef grin

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by mencade5(m): 4:48am On Aug 23, 2014
google dey battle shark wey dey chop their cable.

Me i dey kill cockroaches wey dey chop my book.

Google expend much, while i spend zero kobo.

Anyho anyhow, all enemies of success must die!

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Nobody: 4:50am On Aug 23, 2014
However, the system called
FASTER has a major flaw: sharks find its cables
irresistibly delicious.
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by ceospecial(m): 4:50am On Aug 23, 2014
grin I shall wan comment, that's all. I don't H̳̿A̳̿V̳̿E̳̿ any meaningful thing to contribute, sowie.
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by mrking3(m): 4:50am On Aug 23, 2014
Ok noted
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Impulse80(m): 5:05am On Aug 23, 2014
donnypool: i thought sharks are attracted to blood, but i nor say wire dey attract them too
Sharks can sense electric pulse. They use it to locate prey, so as long as you have a heart (or current in the case of those cables) you are food

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by ugoezeik(m): 5:06am On Aug 23, 2014
au google take put d wire under water go reach asian country, who swim put d wire, shey d wire reach bermuda triangle? did d wire pas tru atlantic ocean, india and malaysian ocean? And d last, wat is d NAME of d shark and d yr wey dem born d shark. Dis r d answer i want someone to giv me bf i blv

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by holyboss: 5:09am On Aug 23, 2014
Google shocked wht is googu grin

Insult me nd I will curse u

Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by alaladakosta(f): 5:11am On Aug 23, 2014
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Seemyfather(m): 5:12am On Aug 23, 2014
Chai! Am I at liberty to drop my comments here as well?
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Nobody: 5:16am On Aug 23, 2014
Impulse80: Sharks can sense electric pulse. They use it to locate prey, so as long as you have a heart (or current in the case of those cables) you are food

aha thank God say i nor sabi swim, so i nor dey near even swimingpool
Re: Google Defending Its Cables From Sharks by Jarchi(m): 5:21am On Aug 23, 2014
Next pls

Nubrella: Hands-free Umbrella / NiMet Warns Of Thermal Discomfort As Temperature Rises Above 40 Degrees / Why Is There Sun In The Space And The Space Is Still Very Dark

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 21