Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,155,132 members, 7,825,554 topics. Date: Sunday, 12 May 2024 at 05:38 PM

I Want To Become A Lecturer, How Can I Develop My Career. - Education - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Education / I Want To Become A Lecturer, How Can I Develop My Career. (5153 Views)

Samuel Olorunfemi-Adams, UniAbuja Lecturer, Accused Of Victimization (pics) / How A Lecturer Punished A UNILORIN Final Year Student / Can A Lecturer Actually Do This? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

I Want To Become A Lecturer, How Can I Develop My Career. by kwaifa23(m): 11:13pm On May 25, 2015
I have a degree in accounting and I want to build my career in Computer Science /information technology as a lecturer.
My question is must I study PGD in Education to become a lecturer. or no need I can just go for my PGD in Computer Science then later Masters in Information Technology.

Is PGD in Education or Masters in Education important for my lecturing career.
Re: I Want To Become A Lecturer, How Can I Develop My Career. by jeebz: 11:44pm On May 25, 2015
You do not require a PGD or Masters in Education to become a lecturer/academic. Go ahead with your Master's programme and the your PhD. Remember you need to publish in top notch journals to be counted in your chosen career.

1 Like 1 Share

Re: I Want To Become A Lecturer, How Can I Develop My Career. by miccoy(m): 12:35am On May 26, 2015
You need PGD in Education to teach in any Nigerian universities or colleges.

2 Likes

Re: I Want To Become A Lecturer, How Can I Develop My Career. by jeebz: 1:31am On May 26, 2015
miccoy:
You need PGD in Education to teach in any Nigerian universities or colleges.
Check the advert placement for recruitment into any Tertiary Institution on Nigeria. None requires any degree in Education. It is only a position in the Faculty of Education that requires such a degree.