Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,152,863 members, 7,817,549 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 02:13 PM

Interview With Oto; The Newest, Gospel Artiste - Music/Radio - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / Interview With Oto; The Newest, Gospel Artiste (1051 Views)

Top Gospel Artiste, Frank Edward & Don Moen Set To Release Collaborative Album / It's All About You- Newest Gospel Track / Latest Nigerian Gospel Artiste/trumpeter (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply)

Interview With Oto; The Newest, Gospel Artiste by ekaromail: 4:14pm On Aug 13, 2015
KSB: Please tell us a little about yourself
Oto: My name is Willie Otobong but my stage name is Oto. The name was taken from the first three letters of my surname. I'm a music graduate and I hail from Akwa-Ibom state.

KSB: Ok. So you are a musicologist and a musician. Impressive. How do you manage both?

Oto: A musicologist goes deep to the root of music because it does not study only the practical aspect but also studies it's theory. A musician on the other hand, dwells mainly on the practical aspect in most cases. I am able to manage both because I have studied both sides and merged them together. it's not just a passion for me, its also a career.

KSB: You sound very knowledgeable in the area of music. When did you first get introduced to it?

Oto: I got introduced to music when I was 7years old by my dad who was an organist.

KSB: So when did you decide to take it as a career?

Oto: I decided to take music as a career when I was through with my secondary school education. My decision was based on my passion.

KSB: Do you sing or do you play instruments?

Oto: I sing and play.

KSB: Which instruments do you play very well?

Oto: I play the piano and trombone.

KSB: Have you done any song or album?

Oto: I have a single. Its titled THIS KIND GOD. This is my first official music single.

KSB: Is the song pure gospel or partly gospel and partly secular?