Stats: 3,153,707 members, 7,820,487 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 03:40 PM

What You Need To Know About Your Eye Colour - Health - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Health / What You Need To Know About Your Eye Colour (6260 Views)

Fix Your Eye Conditions With A 3-month Procedure / Why You Should Pay Attention To Your Urine Colour / What Your Eye Colour Says About You (2) (3) (4)

What You Need To Know About Your Eye Colour by Nobody: 3:30pm On Jan 04, 2016
Eye colour is an important feauture of your anatomy. Your eye colour can add to your beauty and people can even recognise you by your eye colour.

Different people have different eye colour which could be amber, black, blue, brown, gray, green, hazel or violet.

The part of your eye that that gives it its colour is the iris. The iris is often refered to as 'the black' of the eye(in people with black eyes). When you observe your eye while looking at a mirror, that round coloured part with a circular aperture in the middle is your iris. The circular aperture in the middle of your iris is your pupil. Your pupil appears dark because light rays entering your eye through your pupil are mostly absorbed by the ocular tissues. We all know that when light is absorbed completely, none is left to be reflected and if nothing is reflected then the body that absorbs the light will be black in appearance hence, staring at a pupil is same as staring through a hole into a dark room. Irregular reflections also occur after light enters your eyes through your pupil. Irregular reflection is a type of reflection that occurs when light rays strike a rough or uneven surface. The light rays are reflected in irregular patterns and in the case of the eye, most of them miss leaving the eye through the pupil. This is another reason why the pupil looks dark.

Your iris is coloured because of the presence of melanin, a protein pigment that is also largely responsible for our skin and hair colour. The pigmentation in humans varies and differences in the level, properties, and distribution of this pigment determines your eye colour. The properties exhibited by the melanin pigment is controlled by genes transferred to you by your parents. These genes can mix to give you a unique eye colour at birth. Eye colour is therefore said to be a genetic trait.

Your iris evolved to be coloured and opaque because it functions to regulate the amount of light entering your eye through the pupillary aperture. This is acheived by the iris muscles; the sphincter and dilator muscles which reduce or increase the diameter or size of your pupil to allow less or more light to enter your eye. The sphincter muscles decreases the size of your pupillary aperture while the dilator muscles increases the size of your pupillary aperture. In order not to defeat the purpose of regulating the amount of light entering your eye, the iris has to be coloured and opaque so that light would only pass through the pupil to enter the eye.

Most babies have blue eyes which darkens with age due to development of melanin in the child usually within the first 3 years of birth. Some children are born with iris that have different colours. This condition is known as Heterochromia Iridis. It is usually not connected with any adverse health condition.

Your eye colour can change temporary sometimes due to certain factors such as strong emotion, age or even disease. Certain diseases(both ocular and systemic) can cause abnormal changes in your pupillary response to ligth. Normally, your pupils shrink(constricts) when exposed to so much light and expands(dilates) when exposed to little light or when your are in a dark place to enable the right amount of light to get into your eye. Also, both eyes respond to illumination(light) levels even when only one eye is exposed to light. This is called consensual light reflex. In abnormal conditions, the reverse is usually case in a variety of ways. Make sure you visit an eye doctor when yo notice any abnormal pupillary reaction.

We can change our eye colour by putting on contact lenses. Contact lenses come in a variety of colours and styles. They were originally made for correcting refractive errors and treating other ocular conditions. However like spectacle glasses, there use today is increasingly changing to satisfy cosmetic needs. Irrespective of this, it should be noted that contact lenses are prescription medical devices and their use must be authorised and monitored by a qualified personnel.

Hope this article is useful.?

Source: http://thehealthyeye..com.ng/2015/12/what-you-need-to-know-about-your-eye.html

IT gurus in the house, abeg help me analyse my blog. I want to make it better.
Thanks.

Brain Worm From Poorly Cooked Pork And Unclean Handling / Is There Any Cure For Menstrual Pain / GENERAL BODY MASSAGE AT THE COMFORT OF YOUR HOME.

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 19