Stats: 3,153,771 members, 7,820,700 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 07:46 PM

Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning - Music/Radio - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Music/Radio / Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning (30509 Views)

Benjamin ‘Kokoro’ Aderounmu: The Real Life 'Drummer Boy' (pic + Sound) / Download Video: Dj Enimoney Ft. Olamide – Oya Dab / DOWNLOAD DJ Enimoney – “oya Dab” Ft. Olamide (2) (3) (4)

Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Firstb0rn(m): 9:07am On Jan 20, 2016
It's not upto 3 weeks YBNL released a track titled "Oya Dab" and this slang is going viral. Although people started saying things about it, some said it's a street slang, some said its cultists slang. Well, according to the dictionary, "dab" means covering your face with a towel. But with further digging, dab actually means covering your face with anything. So the "Oya" there is yoruba. Oya dab is simply a pose just like olamide's previous gunman pose... The Dab pose is trending already.

Check its meaning here, (verb)

https://en.m.wiktionary.org/wiki/dab

cc: Lalasticlala

Here's how its done @ pics below....

1 Share

Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Israelsaidu(m): 9:08am On Jan 20, 2016
Sure it was neva a cult slang....dats y we need an emoji for it...a black player did it recently in premerier league..i tink its allover
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Pheedow(m): 9:48am On Jan 20, 2016
Dab has been on for a while back nw. Last year a couple of us stars dropped songs on it. It's just now nigerians are relating to it. Btw Olamide wasn't d one dat brought d dance , plix ooooo

Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by kingDELE(m): 12:28am On Feb 18, 2016
Pheedow:
Dab has been on for a while back nw. Last year a couple of us stars dropped songs on it. It's just now nigerians are relating to it. Btw Olamide wasn't d one dat brought d dance , plix ooooo
its a pose not a dance.
he brought it to 9ja grin
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Pheedow(m): 10:38am On Feb 18, 2016
kingDELE:
its a post not a dance.
he brought it to 9ja grin
Post keh! U mean pose. He didn't bring it to naija , just made a song using d name oya dab. So many artist have been doing d dab on deir videos alrdy before d song. Ycee and co

Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by kingDELE(m): 11:14am On Feb 18, 2016
Pheedow:

Post keh! U mean pose. He didn't bring it to naija , just made a song using d name oya dab. So many artist have been doing d dab on deir videos alrdy before d song. Ycee and co
Ycee lol. tel me which video d pose started dis year. der advertise dat pose to the fullest b4 dropping d song and its video. so if yur Ycee and yur Co did d pose dis year, sorry, dey gad it frm YBNL. u can snd d title of d video to me .
mind u "last year"
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Pheedow(m): 7:40am On Feb 19, 2016
kingDELE:
Ycee lol. tel me which video d posted started dis year. der advertise dat post to the fullest b4 droping d song and its video. so if yur Ycee and yur Co did d post dis year, sorry, dey gad it frm YBNL. u can snd d title of d video to me .
mind u "last year"
U not making sense at all. Buh he did it for jagaban remix video. Last year. He did it at other appearances n performances even at olic2

Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Nobody: 9:31am On Feb 19, 2016
kingDELE:
Ycee lol. tel me which video d posted started dis year. der advertise dat post to the fullest b4 droping d song and its video. so if yur Ycee and yur Co did d post dis year, sorry, dey gad it frm YBNL. u can snd d title of d video to me .
mind u "last year"

Dude get it straight. Mind u 'dab' is a pose and nt post...Ycee dabs alot ,even in his videos he dabs, in his shows and live performances, he dabs...niqqa dabs long since b4 'oya dab' was published...The trend was copied from american stars . If u are current u would see most of 'em dabbin' on their videos long before the trend was imported to naija...hehe..ignorance sha....even me begin dey dab b4 dem YBNL publish dier own...

Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by kingDELE(m): 10:04am On Feb 19, 2016
Jacksonville:

Dude get it straight. Mind u 'dab' is a pose and nt post...Ycee dabs alot ,even in his videos he dabs, in his shows and live performances, he dabs...niqqa dabs long since b4 'oya dab' was published...The trend was copied from american stars . If u are current u would see most of 'em dabbin' on their videos long before the trend was imported to naija...hehe..ignorance sha....even me begin dey dab b4 dem YBNL publish dier own...
my post der is a mistake yuh should knw dat i meant pose. Btw, y is it hurting yuh so much dat i claim its frm YBNL u must b an enemy of progress. listen, if yuh like, show me yur Dad's pic in 1880 dabbing, i still stand dat YBNL brought it here. and if it pains you, go and hug a near by transformer. and if u cant do dat, get a life.

Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by kingDELE(m): 10:09am On Feb 19, 2016
Pheedow:

U not making sense at all. Buh he did it for jagaban remix video. Last year. He did it at other appearances n performances even at olic2
to me, YBNL brought it. must i bliv yuh if he dey pain u, bring yur own cum
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Nobody: 10:38am On Feb 19, 2016
kingDELE:
my post der is a mistake yuh should knw dat i meant pose. Btw, y is it hurting yuh so much dat i claim its frm YBNL u must b an enemy of progress. listen, if yuh like, show me yur Dad's pic in 1880 dabbing, i still stand dat YBNL brought it here. and if it pains you, go and hug a near by transformer. and if u cant do dat, get a life.

Ehya..i nono say e go pain u like dis sha.... No vex..

Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by kingDELE(m): 3:35pm On Feb 19, 2016
Jacksonville:

Ehya..i nono say e go pain u like dis sha.... No vex..
lol. pain me person wea i meet online no fit vex me.
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Nobody: 6:44pm On Feb 19, 2016
kingDELE:

Choi..u're still pained...i must have really hurted u...smh
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Nobody: 6:44pm On Feb 19, 2016
kingDELE:

Choi..u're still pained...i must have really hurted u...smh
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Ignyte(m): 12:13pm On Feb 21, 2016
kingDELE:

When you see a comment from someone that is not exposed

Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by fulfillbill(m): 2:18pm On Feb 21, 2016
Thats Jesse Lindgard's celebration in recent times na

In 2011 it was Planking, now this lol.
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Flashysounds: 10:38pm On Feb 22, 2016
Get your song recorded for as low as #10,000 which includes mixing and mastering with quality production guaranteed and get access to our free online promotion platform with hypes on facebook and twitter. You can also contact us for our cheap and affordable services like advert placements,logo/graphics design,website creation,jingle recordings,Mixing and Mastering,caller tune,radio/tv promotion,alaba mixtape/selection,online promotion,event packaging/shows,video editing,video shooting/coverage,voice overs, training on how to become a professional music producer, training on musical instruments of your choice, voice training and other Entertainment services. . . at cheaper and affordable fees you can't resist.

INTERESTED?
For bookings and enquiries,do Whatsapp 07032617747 Or Call 09098639991. We are here to render to you the best of quality service. Try us and you'll never regret you did.
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Nobody: 6:57pm On Apr 04, 2016
Migos formed the Dab dance and pose.. Though d word DAB z an old slang used even n naija.. Buh migos made it popular, everybody copied 4rm them.. Search google.. DAB or ..look at my DAB
DABBING is a way of fashion, instead of saying, oh boy! See swag, u can say oh boy! Feel ma DaB.
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Nobody: 7:01pm On Apr 04, 2016
kingDELE:

Migos formed the Dab dance and pose..
Though d word DAB z an old slang used even n naija..
Buh migos made it popular, everybody copied 4rm them..
Search google.. DAB
or ..look at my DAB

DABBING is a way of fashion, instead of saying, oh boy! See swag, u can say
oh boy! Feel ma DaB.
kingDELE:

Migos formed the Dab dance and pose..
Though d word DAB z an old slang used even n naija..
Buh migos made it popular, everybody copied 4rm them..
Search google.. DAB
or ..look at my DAB

DABBING is a way of fashion, instead of saying, oh boy! See swag, u can say
oh boy! Feel ma DaB.
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by Nobody: 12:00pm On Apr 05, 2016
fulfillbill:
Thats Jesse Lindgard's celebration in recent times na

In 2011 it was Planking, now this lol.
Even pogba, lebron james did the stuff sometime ago

leave this die-hard olamide fans alone, they know nothing.... Jay z did the dab at a concert I watched (not live tho) - can't remember the name but it had something to do with tidal..even 2chainz did a sweater with dabbers as it's inscription and made a fortune last xmas.. The stuff has been on since like 2011 and one olamide nerd is talking shit ..SMH
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by fulfillbill(m): 5:02pm On Apr 05, 2016
Jregz:

Even pogba, lebron james did the stuff sometime ago

leave this die-hard olamide fans alone, they know nothing.... Jay z did the dab at a concert I watched (not live tho) - can't remember the name but it had something to do with tidal..even 2chainz did a sweater with dabbers as it's inscription and made a fortune last xmas.. The stuff has been on since like 2011 and one olamide nerd is talking shit ..SMH

Yea, i think Olamide popularised it here...for some whatever he does is the new trend but we know better lol.
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by emylix: 9:27pm On Apr 06, 2016
Lol...olamide copies a lot of things...slangs especially...
I'm his fan though[color=#990000][/color]
Re: Oya Dab Is Not A Cult Slang, Here Is The Real Meaning by phatefulfa8: 11:59am On Apr 18, 2016
Let's settle this here: I would think everyone is close to the point here, I believe that dab dance has been in existence for a while now cos I've seen it in quite a whole lot of videos , foreign videos that existed before and after Enimoney and Olamide's Oya dab video, but most of us never really gave much attention to it, to is its jst normal gesticulation, but Olamide and co gave it a name, "dab", and gave it d popularity by dedicating a video to it, they deserve credit for making something outta nothing,......BT Ppl had been dabbing ever since, dats confirmed.

Davido Ft R. Kelly – If (remix) (audio) / What does Gongo Aso mean? / DOWNLOAD MP3: Zinoleesky - Joromi

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 52