Stats: 3,153,339 members, 7,819,192 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 12:29 PM

Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) - Car Talk (10) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) (119335 Views)

5 Things To Avoid Doing With An Automatic Transmission Car / Mistakes To Avoid When Driving An Automatic Transmission Car / Woman Pours Washer Fluid Instead Of Oil Into Engine, See What Happened (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) ... (35) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 1:51pm On May 25, 2018
Almaiga:

I must commend u for a job well done.
What gear oil will you recommend for a BMW 2003 model?

Apologies for the late reply. Nairaland has not been allowing me reply messages.

Please specify which model of BMW. Thanks
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 1:52pm On May 25, 2018
etebefia:
Please recommend Engine and transmission oil for Hyundai sonata 2011. I used mobile super the last time (first oil change upon arrival).

Apologies for the late reply. Nairaland has not been allowing me reply messages.

Please use the recommended Hyndai/Kia SPI-IV for your vehicle. This is a modified version of the previous SP-III oil.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by udy4real(m): 3:51pm On May 25, 2018
Please what oil do i use for Toyota land cruiser 1996 model transmission?my car uses 6 litre of oil and I want to buy the Castrol Gtx but its only comes in 5 litre gallons,can I use another oil to make up the 1 litre difference since I can't buy 2 gallon for oil change?
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by Almaiga: 6:10pm On May 25, 2018
ebuks4ever:

Please specify which model of BMW. Thanks
E46
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by radautoworks: 10:08am On May 27, 2018
udy4real:
Please what oil do i use for Toyota land cruiser 1996 model transmission?my car uses 6 litre of oil and I want to buy the Castrol Gtx but its only comes in 5 litre gallons,can I use another oil to make up the 1 litre difference since I can't buy 2 gallon for oil change?

NO!

But FYI, we sell all types of ATF by the liter.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by udy4real(m): 12:08pm On May 27, 2018
radautoworks:

NO!

But FYI, we sell all types of ATF by the liter.

Please I was talking about the engine service in the second paragraph not transmission
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 7:56pm On May 27, 2018
udy4real:

Apologies for the late reply. Recommended atf for your transmission is Toyota T-IV.

As for your engine oil, we have the American Castrol GTX which comes in 5quarts and 1quart gallon.
If your engine is a 4.5L 6cyl engine, Engine oil capacity is 7.8quarts or 7.4litres.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 7:59pm On May 27, 2018
Almaiga:

E46

BMW recommends any of this. BMW 7045E, 8072B, LA 2634 or LT 71141
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by daomi(m): 8:15pm On May 27, 2018
Hello ebuks4ever I just bought a 99 corolla naija used pls whc type of atf and good engine oil should I use cos I suspect sludge might have build up
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by Almaiga: 8:58pm On May 27, 2018
ebuks4ever:

BMW recommends any of this. BMW 7045E, 8072B, LA 2634 or LT 71141
Ok, thanks.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by daomi(m): 9:02pm On May 27, 2018
daomi:
Hello ebuks4ever I just bought a 99 corolla naija used pls whc type of atf and good engine oil should I use cos I suspect sludge might have build up
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 9:26pm On May 28, 2018
daomi:

Recommended atf for your car is Toyota Type III but has been replaced with Toyota Type-IV.

As for engine oil, recommended is SAE 5w30. However, make sure there are no oil leaks.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by daomi(m): 5:43am On May 29, 2018
ebuks4ever:

Recommended atf for your car is Toyota Type III but has been replaced with Toyota Type-IV.

As for engine oil, recommended is SAE 5w30. However, make sure there are no oil leaks.
pls any good sae 5w30 brand out there?
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by etebefia: 8:25am On May 30, 2018
ebuks4ever:

Please use the recommended Hyndai/Kia SPI-IV for your vehicle. This is a modified version of the previous SP-III oil.
Please can you give example of this Hyndai/Kia SPI-IV? Is it sold in the market? Does Mobile super fall into this category?
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ColeworldMD(m): 3:57pm On May 30, 2018
daomi:
total, Castrol Edge
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ndidibabe(f): 4:26pm On May 30, 2018
ebuks4ever:
Do you need help with the fluid for your Automatic Transmission?
Drop details of your car and we will recommend the right oil for you.
2007 LE TOYOTA CAMRY. Thank you.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 9:45pm On May 30, 2018
daomi:

Good oil brands I'll recommend are the American Mobil1 and Castrol. Note that this is not available in their stations.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 9:47pm On May 30, 2018
etebefia:
Please can you give example of this Hyndai/Kia SPI-IV? Is it sold in the market? Does Mobile super fall into this category?

The SP-IV falls into synthetic category of ATF. This is an upgrade from the SP-III.
Ford Mercon LV also falls into this category incase the SP-IV is not obtainable.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 9:48pm On May 30, 2018
ndidibabe:
2007 LE TOYOTA CAMRY. Thank you.

Is this a 4 or 6cylinder Engine?
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by Opeyemi5(m): 9:56pm On May 30, 2018
hi
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ndidibabe(f): 11:23pm On May 30, 2018
ebuks4ever:

Is this a 4 or 6cylinder Engine?
4 cyl
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by radautoworks: 1:30am On May 31, 2018
udy4real:

Please I was talking about the engine service in the second paragraph not transmission

Answer is still no because the weights and specs of the two won't be the same. E.g. even if you put 15w30 from two brands, would still be a problem. Same goes for ATF. Everything is available by the liter.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by nickxtra(m): 1:25pm On May 31, 2018
ebuks4ever:

Your engine needs 4.2Litres of 5w30 Engine Oil
Your Transmission needs Type T-IV Toyota ATF
Pls, how can I get Toyota Type T-IV ATF, the cost and the volume of liters required by my Toyota Corolla S 2007 gear box?
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 10:54am On Jun 01, 2018
Opeyemi5:
Hello
I need gear oil for my Lexus es350 and who can help me service it

Please what year is your car? Also what's your location? Abuja or Lagos?
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 10:56am On Jun 01, 2018
ndidibabe:
4 cyl

Recommended atf for toyota camry 2007 4cyl is Toyota WS.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ndidibabe(f): 12:28pm On Jun 01, 2018
ebuks4ever:

Recommended atf for toyota camry 2007 4cyl is Toyota WS.
how many litres required?
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 1:47pm On Jun 01, 2018
ndidibabe:
how many litres required?

4 Litres.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by daomi(m): 11:34am On Jun 02, 2018
Is Toyota type 111. Same as dexron 111?
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 5:50pm On Jun 04, 2018
daomi:
Is Toyota type 111. Same as dexron 111?

Yes it is but strongly advise you use the Toyota oil instead in your Toyota/Lexus tranny.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by zhikirullah(m): 2:32pm On Jun 05, 2018
Hello, our rates crashed, ship your items such as cosmetics, fashion, electronics etc for as low as $3/lbs, ship your car for as low as $780, ..save up to 40% on your global procurement or shipping service, we have hundreds of verified merchants where you can buy internationally at low cost using your MasterCard, be wise, log on to www.sclogisticsng.com to get free warehouse addresses in USA, UK, China etc for your shopping. Call/whatsapp +2348066353127.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ndidibabe(f): 2:01pm On Jun 08, 2018
ebuks4ever:

4 Litres.
My mech insist i should buy 6 litres. I just hope he won't spoil my gear system.
Re: Let's Talk About Automatic Transmission Fluid (gear Oil) by ebuks4ever(m): 11:29am On Jun 14, 2018
ndidibabe:
My mech insist i should buy 6 litres. I just hope he won't spoil my gear system.

He is actually right. Actual capacity is 6.7quarts or about 6.4litres.

(1) (2) (3) ... (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) ... (35) (Reply)

"The Car Is Worth 100m, The Cloth Is 15k A Yard", Young Northerner Brags / 4-cylinder Engine Vs 6-cylinder Engine / 24 Most Expensive Cars Found On The Streets Of Nigeria

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 50