Stats: 3,151,140 members, 7,811,208 topics. Date: Sunday, 28 April 2024 at 06:38 AM

Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 - European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga) / Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 (802 Views)

Poll: Who Wins This Match?

Real Madrid: 71% (5 votes)
Real Sociedad: 28% (2 votes)
Draw: 0% (0 votes)
This poll has ended

Manchester City Vs Leicester City (1 - 3) On 6th February 2016 / Real Sociedad Defeats Barcelona 3 - 2 On 19th January 2013 / Chelsea Vs Liverpool [0 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 (2) (3) (4)

Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by mukina2: 2:36pm On Feb 04, 2011
Copa Finalists In Troubled Times
Real Madrid booked another date with Barcelona in the Copa del Rey final by winning through against Sevilla on Wednesday night, but though the knockout competition is clearly precious to Jose Mourinho, it’s the league that earns the greatest kudos.

Los Blancos have seen their title aspirations slip away with a couple of poor performances away from home since the turn of the year. A draw in Almeria hinted that all was not right in the Madrid camp, but this was made clear last weekend when they went down to stubborn Osasuna, who were value for their 1-0 success.

But Mourinho’s sides are nothing if not mentally resilient, bouncing back with a 2-0 victory over Sevilla on Wednesday night at the Bernabeu, where they’ve done nothing but win since the Portuguese took over. Late goals from Mesut Oezil and Emmanuel Adebayor kept that record going in midweek.

Former president Ramon Calderon has increased the tension on a week of unease for the capital side by declaring the backroom troubles of the club as “a powderkeg that is ready to blow”, referring to Mourinho’s relationship with sporting director Jorge Valdano, which isn’t thought to be cordial.

Only victories on the field will prevent the media from leaping to discuss a ‘crisis’, and three points are certainly expected on Sunday.

No Fear
For a period over the bleakest moments of winter, it seemed that Athletic Bilbao could be sucked into the relegation battle. A run of four successive defeats promised nothing but woe for the San Sebastian club, but they’ve since roused themselves to earn two wins over the course of their last three matches.

A smashing 4-0 victory over Getafe got the ball rolling, and strong hints of a revival were also on show when the Basques went to Villarreal and snatched the lead before ultimately going down 2-1. This disappointment was placed behind them last weekend with a 2-0 home success over Almeria, which keeps the relegation zone a distant 10 points in the rear-view mirror.

Recent results have been reflected in a sense of confidence portrayed prior to this encounter by young French midfielder Antoine Griezmann, who feels there is no sense in la Real travelling to the Bernabeu with a sense of fear. “Madrid are not a big deal,” he dismissed. “We have played against them and are not anything special.”

Sociedad often aren’t anything special when playing away from home, though. From their 11 away trips to date, they’ve lost a staggering seven, picking up three victories along the way. Given these numbers, it’s tough to see the plucky northern side causing a weekend sensation, but then again, those accusations were levelled at Osasuna last weekend.

TEAM NEWS

Real Madrid
Pepe, Jerzy Dudek and Gonzalo Higuain all remain sidelined due to injury. Sergio Ramos won’t play this weekend due to a ban.

Real Sociedad
Joseba Llorente is out for the rest of the season with a serious back complaint. On the other hand, la Real will welcome back Mikel Gonzalez, who was suspended last weekend.

Match
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by Pharoh: 5:11pm On Feb 04, 2011
This will be an interesting opportunity to cover the gap as barca is facing a very tricky unpredictable match.
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 5:46pm On Feb 04, 2011
To me the laliga (although craziest things happen in footbal attimes) is almost lost. So we can use it as a fine tune level for the UCL, classico and CDR FINAL.

But My ''church mind'' grin says both clubs will win their respective ties.
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by medjai(m): 8:57pm On Feb 04, 2011
grin You lost to a Basque side last week. You face another Basque side in Sociedad this weekend. Who knows? Maybe lightning can strike twice. . .
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by khanye(m): 2:34pm On Feb 06, 2011
Real Sociedad can do a Osasuna grin
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by holydante(m): 6:43pm On Feb 06, 2011
Altho Sociedad is doing relatively well by all recent accounts however the head to head record stacks up against the Basque side agaisnt Los Blancos, its not a match where upset is expected, although if a certain Christiana and Dimaria fail to come to the party and frenchy Benzema continues misfiring, then impossible is nothing.

Petulant Ronaldo has not scored in a while and with Messi running rampant with goals, that's enough to fire up the showman in white to prove his worth too.

Am in a relaxed mood waiting for the game, Looserpool shelsi match up aint producing no fire works giving what happened yesterday, perhaps d ligaBBVA will lighten up the sunday for moi.

10 points above them, I'l appreciate a loss or draw for them but hey who cares, worse, we'l still be 7 points above board.

On High-5 Barca I stand
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by SeanT21(f): 10:51pm On Feb 06, 2011
WE WON!!!
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 10:07am On Feb 07, 2011
yes we won. and ronaldo made history as well as being the fastest real madrid player to score 50 goals in the least number of matches

REAL MADRID PLAYERS TO NET 50 LEAGUE GOALS IN THE FEWEST GAMES
Cristiano Ronaldo-------- 51
Puskas--------------------- 54
Di Stefano----------------- 56
Pahíño---------------------- 57
Pruden ---------------------63
Hugo Sanchez------------ 69
Ronaldo --------------------71
Barinaga------------------- 79
L. Regueiro---------------- 82
Molowny------------------- 82
Zamorano----------------- 85

He is already on his way to becoming a real madrid legend even with only two seasons with us. cool
Next on the line is another catalunya clubside:
ESPANYOL
HALA MADRID
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by AjanleKoko: 12:59pm On Feb 07, 2011
^^
A worthless Real Madrid statistic. What happened to creating world or European records, or even La Liga records? Well, I guess since the Whites are staring down the barrel of yet another trophyless season, club records and personal bests are what is left to play for.

I see Valdano is already complaining about Flores's comparison of Messi to Di Stefano. Who cares? Messi is Messi, he is his own brand. I guess Cristina needs to be compared to someone to help his self esteem grin
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 1:50pm On Feb 07, 2011
^^^ which one dey bite you for body inside the record.
abi who abuse una when you wanted pedro to score to create a club record of goals in seven consecutive matches. angry

oun t'aba ni la n na'ni.

bad belle people. angry
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 2:04pm On Feb 07, 2011
AjanleKoko:

I see Valdano is already complaining about Flores's comparison of Messi to Di Stefano. Who cares? Messi is Messi, he is his own brand. I guess Cristina needs to be compared to someone to help his self esteem grin
ask Messi himself, he would be elated to be compared to a great footballing legend. As if barcelona had a player of same calibre as Alfredo Di Stefano. lipsrsealed
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by AjanleKoko: 2:31pm On Feb 07, 2011
usbcable:

ask Messi himself, he would be elated to be compared to a great footballing legend. As if barcelona had a player of same calibre as Alfredo Di Stefano. lipsrsealed

Ever heard of Diego Maradona, Ronaldo Da Lima? They played for FCB. Though Ronaldo later went on to play for the Blancos, his La Liga records were with the Azulgrana. You should check Wikipedia more often undecided
Di Stefano ko, Di Maria ni grin
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 2:55pm On Feb 07, 2011
And would you class Maradona a barcelona legend? or Ronaldo De Lima a legend of bacrelona? Both humped from club to club even Ronaldo De Lima is regarded more as a Real Madrid Player thatn a barcelona player.

Obviously, a NO would be the answer.

Mention a barcelona legend that is of same footing as Alfredo or Puskas.

Obviously none exists. And if you can provide one then I will humbly recall my claims.
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by AjanleKoko: 3:08pm On Feb 07, 2011
^^
Ever heard of a certain Mr Johan Cryuff? 2-time European Cup Winner, European Championship winner, WC runner up?

Anyway, why would there be any need for a 'Barcelona' legend? The Club itself is a legend, bro.
Remember that your man Di Stefano played footie in the black and white days. Look how Messi is rewriting La Liga History. 40 goals already this season, 47 last year. Messi is the Barca legend, in a team of legends. Check Wikipedia, and see which club has won the most Ballon D'or/WPOTY awards.

I say again, Di Stefano ko, Diganga ni grin
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 4:45pm On Feb 07, 2011
Johan Cruyff ? I admit great footballer of his times indeed.
European Cup Winner-------------------2
European Championship winner,------1
World Cup Runner up---------------------1
However, all three titles won as a footballer with Ajax Amsterdam and not with barcelona.
He only mustered 1 league title and and 1 CDR with barca.
Now check for Alfred while he played for Real Madrid;
Laliga-------------------------8
CDR---------------------------1
European Cup--------------5(note;the five was won back to back)

Now who achieved more playing for their respective clubs. Cruyff attained a legend status not as a player but as Bracelona manager. Even at that Di Stefano beat him at it.

BTW you mentioned the most ballon D'or I give it to barcelona who have 8 as against 5 from real madrid and that shows we are not lagging behind to far in that respect.
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by AjanleKoko: 10:40am On Feb 08, 2011
Hmm, usb, o lenu pa! grin

Okay oh, you win.
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 12:46pm On Feb 08, 2011
^^^ I followed your instruction nah.
I got the info from wikipedia as suggested.lol.hehehehehehe grin grin grin
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by medjai(m): 12:53pm On Feb 08, 2011
Lol grin
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by medjai(m): 1:30pm On Feb 08, 2011
@usbcable:
Do you know Luis Suarez and Quini? Luis Suarez was the 2nd player to win the Balon D' Or. Quini won the Pichichi three or four times consecutively. He is David Villa's idol. They both played for Barca.

Di Stefano, I think, also played for Barca until Franco, then Spanish dictator, somehow used his influence to bring him over to Madrid.
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by AjanleKoko: 4:10pm On Feb 08, 2011
^^
That na their specialty. Figo, Ronaldo . . . that's their way.
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 6:10pm On Feb 08, 2011
both of you be sincere:

If you have a better offer for employment wont you leave for it?

They all as will always be go to a better and more friendly clubside

It all shows its better and more prestigious playing for REAL MADRID.
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 6:14pm On Feb 08, 2011
medjai:

@usbcable:
Do you know Luis Suarez and Quini? Luis Suarez was the 2nd player to win the Balon D' Or. Quini won the Pichichi three or four times consecutively. He is David Villa's idol. They both played for Barca.

Di Stefano, I think, also played for Barca until Franco, then Spanish dictator, somehow used his influence to bring him over to Madrid.

And Luis Suarez was actually the fifth player to win the balon D'or meanwhile The Legendary Alfredo Di Stefano was actually the second player to win as you wrongly claim. grin Gotcha again cool.
And that was after 2 real madrid players had won it including the great Alfredo. tongue
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by medjai(m): 10:44pm On Feb 08, 2011
Whatever grin the truth is you guys are always 'stealing' our players. Di Stefano, Figo, Ronaldo. . . Even Saviola shocked You had Eto'o, you threw him out. We picked him up and made him one of the greatest strikers the world have ever seen. That's what we do - we create!
Save for serendipity, Raul would have been an Atletico player. At the end of the day, there's hardly any player you have groomed tongue
Re: Real Madrid Vs Real Sociedad [4 - 1] On Sunday 6th February 2010 by usbcable(m): 11:12am On Feb 09, 2011
medjai:

Whatever grin the truth is you guys are always 'stealing' our players. Di Stefano, Figo, Ronaldo. . . Even Saviola shocked You had Eto'o, you threw him out. We picked him up and made him one of the greatest strikers the world have ever seen. That's what we do - we create!
Save for serendipity, Raul would have been an Atletico player. At the end of the day, there's hardly any player you have groomed tongue
PLAYER GROOMING
Raul joined Real Madrid at the age of 17 left at 33, meaning he spent 16 solid years with us and you say we didn't groom him and please note(FYI) he spent a season with the youth team.
same goes for José María Gutiérrez Hernández
likewise the great and still agile Casillas.
Negredo
Dela red
Arbeloa
Granero
Juan Mata
we're once castilla players loaned/sold out but with a buy back option which we make use of at our convenience.
ever heard of a Getafe F.C, they are like our team B playing in the preimera liga.
And your players will continue to leave until your management changes their attitude that makes them to leave and join us. And that I see has happened with leo,xavi and iniesta which are purely catalunya citizens. so stop complaining about us using what we have to get what we want.

Mourinho Please Come Back! / Arsenal Ensured A Memorable: / Beckham Leaving Real Madrid By June

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40