Stats: 3,153,144 members, 7,818,432 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 03:37 PM

US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test (39291 Views)

Russian Fighter Jet Shoots Down U.S Reaper Drone Over Black Sea (Photos) / US Shoots Down Another High-altitude Object Flying Across Alaska / US Shoots Down Suspected Chinese Spy Balloon Over Atlantic Ocean (2) (3) (4)

US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by prince2pac(m): 1:04pm On Nov 17, 2020
An intercontinental ballistic missile (ICBM) was shot down in space from a warship for the first time during a successful demonstration on Tuesday, according to the Missile Defense Agency (MDA).

The ICBM target missile launched from a test range in the Marshall Islands, located in the Pacific Ocean, between Hawaii and the Philippines around 12:50 a.m., and was shot down in space by a missile launched from a U.S. warship at sea, the MDA announced.

It was destroyed by an advanced SM-3 Block IIA ballistic missile defense interceptor made by Raytheon Missiles & Defense and co-developed with Japan’s Mitsubishi Heavy Industries, a statement said.

"This was an incredible accomplishment and critical milestone for the Aegis BMD SM-3 Block IIA program," said MDA Director Vice Admiral Jon Hill. We have demonstrated that an Aegis BMD-equipped vessel equipped with the SM-3 Block IIA missile can defeat an ICBM-class target, which is a step in the process of determining its feasibility as part of an architecture for layered defense of the homeland."

Bryan Rosselli, vice president of Strategic Missile Defense at Raytheon Missiles & Defense, said the test was a "first-of-its-kind" and shows that the U.S. "has a viable option for a new layer of defense against long-range threats."

Previous tests to shoot down ICBMs were conducted using ground-based interceptors launched from bases in Alaska and California.

"My congratulations to the entire test team, including our military and industry partners, who helped us to achieve this milestone," Hill added.

https://www.foxnews.com/us/homeland-defense-test-intercepts-destroys-intercontinental-ballistic-missile-u-s-missile-defense-agency

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by fuckingAyaya(m): 1:16pm On Nov 17, 2020

177 Likes 8 Shares

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by helinues: 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020

USA been wasting billion of dollars on war artillery while neglecting important things

83 Likes 5 Shares

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Nickshrapnel: 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Albert Einstein noted, “Mankind invented the atomic bomb, but no mouse would ever construct a mousetrap.”

136 Likes 8 Shares

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by slawormiir: 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Damnnn niggarrrr
Isoright

4 Likes 3 Shares

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by superior1: 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Iran, China, NKorea and Russia

That’s serving you a notice

26 Likes 1 Share

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by ATEAMS: 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
It's well

22 Likes 3 Shares

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Orubebe01: 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Good one. Trump my niggar

17 Likes

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Englov(m): 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Abbeyme: 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Towards the advancement of science and technology

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by BoboKush(m): 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by olaniyi0(m): 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
I don't understand, are u saying a missile went into space to destroy something

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by iamyemiakins(m): 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Who shot the ballistic missile to space in the first place

30 Likes 2 Shares

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Bodyodour: 3:26pm On Nov 17, 2020
Na this people Iran being wan get problem with I laugh in Japanese

77 Likes 2 Shares

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by victorazy(m): 3:27pm On Nov 17, 2020
Damm

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by kuuljay(m): 3:27pm On Nov 17, 2020
B

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by DropsMic(m): 3:27pm On Nov 17, 2020
The real humans beings....
Always creating. Unlike one particular race like that wey be liability for earth

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by RealZizou(m): 3:27pm On Nov 17, 2020
Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Docodes(m): 3:27pm On Nov 17, 2020
how North korea and china wan take threaten them now angry angry angry

15 Likes 1 Share

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by EdoFirstBorn(m): 3:27pm On Nov 17, 2020
Imagine see country wey dey work

Smh
This lady who sells beans is going to end up coming to knock on my door because I haven't paid the 150 I am owing her .

Adamu changed his face last time to took coaster biscuit and ground nut 100 naira from him. Men I am hungry o
Those who commit suicide have money o.

Imagine me having 500 naira I will now go and use it to buy sniper when I can use it and eat. Smh

Men when last did I pick money on the road ? Imagine if I just walk out now and see a Ghana must go of 500k in the bush..

Lord I will buy new clothes , pay my rent ahead and let my neighbors know I have paid my rent ahead.

Kai I am hungry , who will I tax now?

17 Likes

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Basicend: 3:27pm On Nov 17, 2020
How art
Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by elshanAutos: 3:27pm On Nov 17, 2020
Russia remains the best in rocket technology.

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by LovesickG(f): 3:28pm On Nov 17, 2020
Nigeria will get there, hopefully.

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Okuda(m): 3:28pm On Nov 17, 2020
we dey learn work.
Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by JohnBullMySon: 3:28pm On Nov 17, 2020
If north Korea test their own now, trump go begin tweet rubbish. SMH

16 Likes 1 Share

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Basicend: 3:28pm On Nov 17, 2020
How about many others they have missed?

The promotion of success from this report is still hazardous.

Not so reliable, but better than non anyway.

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Lagosianswag: 3:28pm On Nov 17, 2020
Come and See American Wonder!

Come and See American Wonder! grin

Re: US Shoots Down ICBM In Space From Warship For First Time In Successful Test by Okuda(m): 3:28pm On Nov 17, 2020
LovesickG:
Nigeria will get there, hopefully.

shutup!

27 Likes 2 Shares

India Beats Russia, US To Become First Country To Land On The Moon's Lunar Pole / Nigeriens Carry "Russia + Wagner = Freedom" Placards (Photos) / Trump Threatening A Damaging New Trade War With The United Kingdom After Brexit

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 18