Stats: 3,153,830 members, 7,820,909 topics. Date: Wednesday, 08 May 2024 at 02:09 AM

US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart - Foreign Affairs - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart (1068 Views)

Kamala Harris Rebukes Israel, Calls For Immediate Ceasefire In Gaza / Putin Orders Ceasefire In Ukraine / Mark Esper To Resign As Trump's Defense Secretary (2) (3) (4)

US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by KillerCrocodile: 9:27pm On May 13, 2022
US Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin urged an immediate ceasefire in Ukraine Friday in talks with Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu, but their first call since the war began resolved no immediate issues, the Pentagon said.

Shoigu spoke with Austin at the Pentagon chief's request for about an hour, their first direct discussion since February 18, six days before Russia invaded Ukraine.

"Secretary Austin urged an immediate ceasefire in Ukraine and emphasized the importance of maintaining lines of communication," the Pentagon said in a statement.

The Russian Defense Ministry confirmed the call, saying the two sides discussed current international security issues, "including the situation in Ukraine."

No other details were offered officially by either side, but a senior US defense official dampened expectations that any progress was made on the war situation beyond the reopening of a crucial line of communication between Moscow and Washington.

"The call itself didn't specifically solve any acute issues or lead to a direct change in what the Russians are doing or what they are saying," the official said.

The official added that the US call for a ceasefire was not a change in US policy toward the war, even as Washington has said it wants to support Ukraine with arms and funding in a longer effort to weaken the Russian military.

"Our call for a ceasefire is very much in line with what other allies and partners want to see happen," the official said.

French President Emmanuel Macron recently urged the two sides to negotiate a settlement.

On Friday German Chancellor Olaf Scholz asked Russian President Vladimir Putin in a call to agree to a ceasefire and negotiations, according to his office.

Scholz called for a ceasefire "as soon as possible to improve the humanitarian situation and make progress in the search for a diplomatic solution to the conflict," his office said.

The call also came as Finland and Sweden have expressed the desire to join the NATO defense alliance, a direct consequence of Russia's attack on Ukraine, which is not part of NATO.

Neither side would say whether NATO's expansion, which Russia has opposed, was discussed in the defense chiefs' call.

At the UN Security Council Friday, the United States branded as "ludicrous" Russian allegations that the US government had run a secret biological and chemical weapons program in Ukraine.

The allegations "are categorically false and ludicrous," said US Deputy Ambassador to the UN Richard Mills.

The defense chiefs' conversation came as Russian and Ukrainian forces battle along a long front line in eastern and southern Ukraine, with the Pentagon maintaining that Russia is weeks behind goals set in its war plan.

The Pentagon official said the Russians are "not making any major gains in the Donbas" region where the fighting is heaviest.

"Ukrainian artillery is frustrating Russian efforts to make much ground," the official said.

But Moscow has shown no indication of pulling back and is believed by Western intelligence to want to take control of a wide swath of southern Ukraine stretching along the Black Sea to Moldova.

https://www.france24.com/en/live-news/20220513-pentagon-chief-urges-immediate-ukraine-ceasefire-in-call-with-russian-counterpart

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by seunny4lif(m): 9:40pm On May 13, 2022
USA, Germany said Russia must be defeated but today all of them have called Russia counterpart to allow humanitarian aids and allow cease fire.
Is the war not going according to them again Abi I don’t understand oooh.

Russia now controlled almost size of UK and already controlled almost all Ukraine wheat crops.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by ken6488(m): 9:44pm On May 13, 2022
seunny4lif:
USA, Germany said Russia must be defeated but today all of them have called Russia counterpart to allow humanitarian aids and allow cease fire.
Is the war not going according to them again Abi I don’t understand oooh
They noticed propangada is no longer working

They want cease fire to move in weapons

Russia will not take that

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by seunny4lif(m): 9:46pm On May 13, 2022
ken6488:
They noticed propangada is no longer working

They want cease fire to move in weapons

Russia will not take that
Today fuel price have increased again.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by DannyFX2638: 9:57pm On May 13, 2022
If Russia play along . I'll know they are fooolllsss

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by HITsquad: 10:20pm On May 13, 2022
Shouldn't Russia be calling for cease fire and looking for means to end the war quick and go home since they are losing the war?

lol the west is truly an empire of lies like Putin said...

These people got nothing on Russia! propaganda is their greatest weapon in this fight reason they are 24/7 dedicated in their effort to spread the propaganda.

Go to Russian's State media website that the west claimed to be the headquarters of propaganda, dude nothing much is there on the Military Operation in Ukraine... they only post few facts and not on daily basis.

But if you accidentally turn on BBC or CNN? the first thing you would probably see or read would be... "An old Ukrainian lady with only one arm and one leg gangbanged by Russian troops" or "Russia suffered heavy loss as a whole battalion got drowned in quick sand"

And next they will show that Ukraine Selfie president running around with mobile phone on his face spewing his on trash!

I love Ukraine I always did... but they were misled by the West and a puppet President. Ukraine was just a Bait.. The West doesn't care about Ukraine.. and this war is way bigger than Ukraine... it's between Western and Eastern powers.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 10:25pm On May 13, 2022
Even Zelenskyy himself has always called for direct talks with Putin.

Nevertheless, Ukraine backed by US and the rest of NATO will NEVER surrender to Russia.

Pro-Putin luuunatics can take this to the bank.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by HITsquad: 10:42pm On May 13, 2022
Russia is prepared to fight this war till thy kingdom come... they have the resources. and the West has almost exhausted all their Sanctions...

NATO would keep pumping money and weapons encouraging Ukraine to fight... meanwhile they sleep good at night in their various countries, no sirens,no explosion.... Same as Russia.

But Ukraine they are the biggest loser in this whole game... Ukraine would be worst than Somalia by the time they realize their 4uk up!

A wise man knows when to fight and when not to fight,whom to fight and whom not to fight.

I feel for the lower citizens that are suffering because of their leaders error and a bigger conspiracy behind the curtains that they know nothing about....

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by hayzed19(m): 10:55pm On May 13, 2022
You may make your case without seeming foolish. neither the West nor Russia knew anything about us.
You can respond to and disagree with other people's points without insulting them.
Stop acting like a kid and grow up sir.
Opolopoopolonio:
Even Zelenskyy himself has always called for direct talks with Putin.

Nevertheless, Ukraine backed by US and the rest of NATO will NEVER surrender to Russia.

Pro-Putin luuunatics can take this to the bank.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 11:33pm On May 13, 2022
hayzed19:
You may make your case without seeming foolish. neither the West nor Russia knew anything about us.
You can respond to and disagree with other people's points without insulting them.

Just shut up!

Pro-Putin luuunatics are a nuisance and are worse than Putin himself.

Which reasonable person supports this senseless war
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 11:36pm On May 13, 2022
HITsquad:
Russia is prepared to fight this war till thy kingdom come... they have the resources. and the Western have almost exhausted all their Sanctions...

NATO would keep pumping money and weapons encouraging Ukraine to fight... meanwhile they sleep good at night in their various countries, no sirens,no explosion.... Same as Russia.

But Ukraine they are the biggest loser in this whole game... Ukraine would be worst than Somalia by the time they realize their 4uk up!

A wise man knows when to fight and when not to fight,whom to fight and whom not to fight.

I feel for the lower citizens that are suffering because of their leaders error.

Russia lost 27million resisting Hitler's invasion during world war 2 in addition to massive infrastructure destruction.

Yet they recovered.

Ukraine will recover after it has won it's fight for independence.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Kastonkastroll(m): 12:02am On May 14, 2022
Propaganda and outright lies can only get you sympathy from gullible people but it can never win you a war. Have CNN exhausted their lies? And you see some very foolish clowns on this forum jubilating over the lies and propaganda they heard from western media. undecided

Shey they say zelensky is a hero abi; no wahala, time will definitely tell. grin

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Mossadd: 6:51am On May 14, 2022
hayzed19:
don't bother yourself to read whatever rubbish he posted just skip it and go to the next comment I dont bother myself to read his stupid rant

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by hayzed19(m): 9:02am On May 14, 2022
You can continue to live in your foouuulishness if it makes you happy.
Calling people loooonatics for having a different opinions to yours shows you are a blithering eeedhiot
No one enjoys war, but when it serves their interests, Washington, Moscow, Beijing, and the other superpowers will always break the law.
The majority of you will back US actions in Kosovo without UN approval while criticizing Russia's actions in Ukraine crisis.

Opolopoopolonio:

Just shut up!

Pro-Putin luuunatics are a nuisance and are worse than Putin himself.

Which reasonable person supports this senseless war

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by hayzed19(m): 9:04am On May 14, 2022
Thanks brother.
I think that will make sense
Mossadd:
don't bother yourself to read whatever rubbish he posted just skip it and go to the next comment I dont bother myself to read his stupid rant

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 10:35am On May 14, 2022
hayzed19:
You can continue to live in your foouuulishness if it makes you happy.
Calling people loooonatics for having a different opinions to yours shows you are a blithering eeedhiot
No one enjoys war, but when it serves their interests, Washington, Moscow, Beijing, and the other superpowers will always break the law.
The majority of you will back US actions in Kosovo without UN approval while criticizing Russia's actions in Ukraine crisis.

@bolded gives you out as a dullllard.
Russia is responsible for Ukraine crisis starting with the annexation of Crimea in 2014.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by hayzed19(m): 11:26am On May 14, 2022
who transfer this same Crimea to Ukraine in the first place or is does Crimea belongs to Ukraine right from time.
Or you didn't know that the troubles in Crimea began when the West funded large-scale protests known as Euromaidan to overthrow Pro-Russian Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych for allying with Russia and refusing to sign an accord for stronger ties with the European Union.
As I have always maintained, both Moscow and Washington will always break international law if it is in their best interests.
Once again, you can always dispute point without seeming as if your folly is of the first order.
peace
Opolopoopolonio:

Russia is responsible for Ukraine crisis starting with the annexation of Crimea in 2014.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by seunny4lif(m): 11:46am On May 14, 2022
Opolopoopolonio:

Russia own Crimea
Former USSR president who was a Ukrainian transferred Crimea to Ukraine and Crimea have voted 2 times to join Russia back.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Hanibbal(m): 12:19pm On May 14, 2022
Opolopoopolonio:

Russia lost 27million resisting Hitler's invasion during world war 2 in addition to massive infrastructure destruction.

Yet they recovered.

Ukraine will recover after it has won it's fight for independence.

@d bolded.... Definitely but it will never remain the same again. Western countries are even getting tired of the war. Imagine U.S defence secretary now asking Russia's General Sergei Shogu to begin a cease fire..lol...Even Emmanuel Macron and German leader are even telling Zelensky to try and make some compromises by ceding some territories to Russia so as to end the war...lolss. Are they now tired of sending weapons to Zelensky? They were very sure Ukraine would come out victorious with their western weapons why are they now asking for a ceasefire and even hinting that Ukraine should make some compromises.

Russia is ready for a very long offensive in that country and U.S intelligence have given a hint about that. The west cannot continue to fuel this war. Zelensky is the biggest fool in the 21st century. A war that should have been avoided the west he was trying to please are now saying what he does not want to hear. Russia will annex some parts of Ukraine it is inevitable and Zelensky will realise that the war and gra gra he has been doing all these while don't worth it.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 2:40pm On May 14, 2022
Hanibbal:

@d bolded.... Definitely but it will never remain the same again. Western countries are even getting tired of the war. Imagine U.S defence secretary now asking Russia's General Sergei Shogu to begin a cease fire..lol...Even Emmanuel Macron and German leader are even telling Zelensky to try and make some compromises by ceding some territories to Russia so as to end the war...lolss. Are they now tired of sending weapons to Zelensky? They were very sure Ukraine would come out victorious with their western weapons why are they now asking for a ceasefire and even hinting that Ukraine should make some compromises.

Russia is ready for a very long offensive in that country and U.S intelligence have given a hint about that. The west cannot continue to fuel this war. Zelensky is the biggest fool in the 21st century. A war that should have been avoided the west he was trying to please are now saying what he does not want to hear. Russia will annex some parts of Ukraine it is inevitable and Zelensky will realise that the war and gra gra he has been doing all these while don't worth it.

Zelenskyy himself has called for ceasefire several times. So as he also demanded to meet with Putin.

The fact that Russia is cowardly attacking Ukrainian civilians and infrastructure rather than taking on the Ukrainias on the ground is one that is worth calling for a ceasefire.

NEVERTHELESS, Ukraine will NEVER bow to Russia.

And the West will NEVER be tired of arming Ukraine.

Russia CANNOT sustain this war. Time will tell.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 2:41pm On May 14, 2022
seunny4lif:

Russia own Crimea
Former USSR president who was a Ukrainian transferred Crimea to Ukraine and Crimea have voted 2 times to join Russia back.

Nonsense!

Looking at the map, there is no border between Russia and Crimea at all.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 2:45pm On May 14, 2022
hayzed19:
who transfer this same Crimea to Ukraine in the first place or is does Crimea belongs to Ukraine right from time.
Or you didn't know that the troubles in Crimea began when the West funded large-scale protests known as Euromaidan to overthrow Pro-Russian Ukrainian President Viktor Yanukovych for allying with Russia and refusing to sign an accord for stronger ties with the European Union.
As I have always maintained, both Moscow and Washington will always break international law if it is in their best interests.
Once again, you can always dispute point without seeming as if your folly is of the first order.
peace

There is NOTHING wrong with a MAJORITY of people deciding that they want to be pro-West rather than pro-Putin.

It is not enough reason for Crimea to be annexed by Russia. After all, Crimea has always been a semi-autonomous part of Ukraine.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by seunny4lif(m): 2:55pm On May 14, 2022
Maybe you need to read more Crimea
Ottoman Empire with the help of French and British empires fought Russia empire for many years over Crimea.
Russia and Turks war on Crimea alone was more than 10th until Empress Catherine defeated Turks.

Opolopoopolonio:

Nonsense!

Looking at the map, there is no border between Russia and Crimea at all.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 2:59pm On May 14, 2022
seunny4lif:
Maybe you need to read more Crimea
Ottoman Empire with the help of French and British empires fought Russia empire for many years over Crimea.
Russia and Turks war on Crimea alone was more than 10th until Empress Catherine defeated Turks.

It still doesn't change the fact that there is no border between Russia and Crimea.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by seunny4lif(m): 3:07pm On May 14, 2022
Opolopoopolonio:

It still doesn't change the fact that there is no border between Russia and Crimea.

So, you think there is a land border between Northern Ireland and England?
What is a border? You think only land is a border. grin
Russia empire controlled all Eastern Ukraine until USSR lead by Lenin came into power and his counterpart decided to give some Russia empire lands to Ukraine because Ukraine joined USSR.
Then no need for land or bridge to Crimea because it’s a straight road from Kherson Oblast to Crimea or Odessa.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 3:13pm On May 14, 2022
seunny4lif:

So, you think there is a land border between Northern Ireland and England?
What is a border? You think only land is a border. grin
Russia empire controlled all Eastern Ukraine until USSR lead by Lenin came into power and his counterpart decided to give some Russia empire lands to Ukraine because Ukraine joined USSR.
Then no need for land or bridge to Crimea because it’s a straight road from Kherson Oblast to Crimea or Odessa.

Of course, England and Northern Ireland have a land border.

All borders are landed. There is NOTHING like sea border or air border.

There is no border between Crimea and Russia of today.

USSR is dead and buried.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by seunny4lif(m): 3:17pm On May 14, 2022
England and Northern Ireland have a land border? Wow
I did not know that oooh grin grin
I told u, do research before commenting.
It’s shows that you, don’t know anything.
Just stick to beer parlour gists.

Opolopoopolonio:

Of course, England and Northern Ireland have a land border.

All borders are landed. There is NOTHING like sea border or air border.

There is no border between Crimea and Russia of today.

USSR is dead and buried.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by AldrichAmes: 3:21pm On May 14, 2022
seunny4lif:

cheesy cheesy

I don’t think the guy took geography classes. Just typical of most of these pro-Ukraine guys, lol.

I doubt he can point to where Northern Ireland is on a map without label, lol.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by AldrichAmes: 3:25pm On May 14, 2022
The reason why the US is begging for a ceasefire is illustrated in the picture attached below.

Russia went on all out attack on all Ukrainian defensive front in the Donbass yesterday and the “ceasefire” was for Ukrainian to regroup.

Donbass should collapse in a week or two.

Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 3:25pm On May 14, 2022
seunny4lif:

Okay. I am not sure. But the whole of Ireland used to be part of UK.

Which other country can lay claim to Ireland that is not sharing border with it like Russia is doing with Crimea

Crimea is physically part of Ukraine. That's all.
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by Opolopoopolonio: 3:26pm On May 14, 2022
AldrichAmes:
The reason why the US is begging for a ceasefire is illustrated in the picture attached below.

Russia went on all out attack on all Ukrainian defensive front in the Donbass yesterday and the “ceasefire” was for Ukrainian to regroup.

Donbass should collapse in a week or two.

Rubbish!

Donbas will NEVER fall
Re: US Defense Secretary Demand Immediate Ceasefire In Call With Russian Counterpart by seunny4lif(m): 3:32pm On May 14, 2022
AldrichAmes:

cheesy cheesy

I don’t think the guy took geography classes. Just typical of most of these pro-Ukraine guys, lol.

I doubt he can point to where Northern Ireland is on a map without label, lol.
I swear
It’s shows

Africa's King Of Kings / Somalian Pirate Brought To U.s. To Face Charges For Hijacking The Maersk Alabama / A Photo Of Obama As A Kid (pic)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 68