Stats: 3,153,042 members, 7,818,090 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 07:27 AM

NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November - Politics (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November (29530 Views)

Customers Protest Discos’ Plan To Retrieve Prepaid Meters / Consumers Kick As FG Raises Prices Of Prepaid Meters / Stockpile Foodstuffs Before November 6 - NLC Tells Nigerians (2) (3) (4)

Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by CaptainFM1: 8:24pm On Aug 23, 2023
kmaster007:
Wat of we dat don't hv prepaid meter

You update your estimated meter-box. You suppose know say na scam Dem wan scam us again.

Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Correct05: 8:26pm On Aug 23, 2023
Am trying to upgrading my solar. Ibedc will bring light in my area around 12am to 5am as if we are ghost that didn't sleep. So, if my unit finish, I will cut the wire.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by ufuosman(m): 8:32pm On Aug 23, 2023
U dey whine
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by figment232(m): 8:39pm On Aug 23, 2023
Blitzking:
I no dey update shishi..if this one knock I go get another one..you can stylishly inflate price in the name of update..machine dey work u wan update..which new functionality is the update bringing.
guy!.....
how can i get a prepaid meter?
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Blitzking: 8:44pm On Aug 23, 2023
figment232:
guy!.....
how can i get a prepaid meter?
Where are you based..if in lagos go Ponle or Ikeja fill a form requesting for prepaid meter single phase as the case may be they would request some payment and if you get estimated bill like mine wey be 500k plus then had to pay 115k to activate the meter..minimum payable amount after which una go agree on the repayment plan.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by 7arrows: 9:40pm On Aug 23, 2023
Racoon:
Hope NERC is not up to something sinister. Never trust any policy under this government.

They r surely up to something. I don't ever trust them. This is like the second or third time they are changing meters. So a meter that is not bad nor destroyed why change it? Thief people. Useless people.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Neoteny7: 10:32pm On Aug 23, 2023
For the negative commenters, this is nothing to do with NERC. It's a universal problem that affects 70m meters globally.

It's a feature of STS meters wherein the counter which sets individual token IDs will exhaust all possible permutations of its 24-bit register by November 2024 and will thus reset the stack to zero. When that happens, all tokens generated on the legacy STS standard will be invalid.

The legacy counter started counting in 1993 and this known as the Base Date with Key Revision Number 1 (KRN1)

Updating your meter will start a new counter set at 2014 to expire at 2045, as the new Base Date with KRN 2.

You only need to key in 2 sets of 20 digit tokens called Key Change Tokens to upgrade your meter. It takes a few seconds only.

Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by figment232(m): 10:53pm On Aug 23, 2023
Blitzking:
Where are you based..if in lagos go Ponle or Ikeja fill a form requesting for prepaid meter single phase as the case may be they would request some payment and if you get estimated bill like mine wey be 500k plus then had to pay 115k to activate the meter..minimum payable amount after which una go agree on the repayment plan.
I DONT UNDERSTAND
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Blitzking: 3:18am On Aug 24, 2023
figment232:
I DONT UNDERSTAND
Go to their office and request for a meter...they would ask you to fill a form.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Privatepart00: 3:29am On Aug 24, 2023
SalamRushdie:
Idiot NERC the again increased Tarriff rate this month secretly

I recharged 1000 naira worth of light and got 247.9 units, I am surprised if something is wrong?
I know it supposed to be lower than 50units.
I had to double check Incase I pressed 10,000 naira without knowing.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Correct05: 4:42am On Aug 24, 2023
Then why is thousands of ibedc meters not accepting token after upgrading.
Neoteny7:
For the negative commenters, this is nothing to do with NERC. It's a universal problem that affects 70m meters globally.

It's a feature of STS meters wherein the counter which sets individual token IDs will exhaust all possible permutations of its 24-bit register by November 2024 and will thus reset the stack to zero. When that happens, all tokens generated on the legacy STS standard will be invalid.

The legacy counter started counting in 1993 and this known as the Base Date with Key Revision Number 1 (KRN1)

Updating your meter will start a new counter set at 2014 to expire at 2045, as the new Base Date with KRN 2.

You only need to key in 2 sets of 20 digit tokens called Key Change Tokens to upgrade your meter. It takes a few seconds only.

Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by SalamRushdie: 6:28am On Aug 24, 2023
Privatepart00:

I recharged 1000 naira worth of light and got 247.9 units, I am surprised if something is wrong?
I know it supposed to be lower than 50units.
I had to double check Incase I pressed 10,000 naira without knowing.

It's probably an error because even 10k can't get you 247 units today
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Blackdisciple(m): 6:49am On Aug 24, 2023
After updating are they going to give free units if yes no probs if no then it's crazy
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Blackdisciple(m): 6:50am On Aug 24, 2023
After updating are they going to give free units if yes no probs if no then it's crazy.

Lagos landlords don see chop be that oo because this one they will put it on their tenants...
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Aghaclem67: 7:56am On Aug 24, 2023
I have tried doing that but not working yet. Seems they have not started though.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by pocom35: 8:36am On Aug 24, 2023
Jazmine10:
They should stop troubling Nigerians with nonsense unproductive activities. What exactly is the benefit of this update? Update where they can pilfer one one naira per user once you recharge? Some folks are barely feeding they want to use back door to introduce another draconian law. Nigerians should resist this nonsense.

All it cost is to input a free random code from your disco.. finish..

Nigerians with drama smh.

By the time you cannot recharge due to negligence of the update you will come and type bigger stories here
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by orisa37: 9:51am On Aug 24, 2023
ANOTHER LEVEL TO ESTIMATED CORRUPTION.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Nobody: 12:21pm On Aug 24, 2023
pocom35:

All it cost is to input a free random code from your disco.. finish..

Nigerians with drama smh.

By the time you cannot recharge due to negligence of the update you will come and type bigger stories here
Please do take time out to go re-read that post to comprehend. Trust your day is going great?.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Neoteny7: 12:50pm On Aug 24, 2023
Correct05:
Then why is thousands of ibedc meters not accepting token after upgrading.

Perhaps firmware issues. I've seen this with some specific meter manufacturers.
Re: NERC Urges Users To Update Prepaid Meters Before November by Omodua(m): 7:28pm On Aug 24, 2023
jmoore:

It is a worldwide update. Not peculiar to Nigeria.
It only requires a keychange that is inputed via the CIU by the customer.
Explain what you mean to readers. They need further elucidation on the scheme.

Pls educate us.

Low Turnout Mars PDP State Rally In Gboko; Angry Residents Boo Governor Suswam / Full Story Of Dr Ishola Oyenusi The Nigeria Notorious Armed Robber / Nnamdi Kanu Will Continue Agitation For Igbo Nation – Wife

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 37