Stats: 3,152,740 members, 7,817,040 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 12:24 AM

The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. - Car Talk - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. (19979 Views)

Remember This Vehicles Used Mostly By Police And Robbers Back Then. / Toyota Corolla 2003 Engine Number Location / How To Know The Engine Size Of VW Golf 3 From The VIN Or Engine Number (2) (3) (4)

The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Jucol(m): 10:47pm On Jan 14, 2013
A good look at most discussions on this forum shows that most of us know very little about the cars we have spent so much to buy. This is because the Licensing Authorities do not request for and or provide the essential technical details of a vehicle during registration.

When a motorist in Nigeria is stopped for Police check, very often you see the Policeman/men peeping, cleaning and almost tearing apart the engine in search for the ENGINE NUMBER. This sometimes happens even at night. Some Policemen do have a piece of chalk. Should the engine number be used as identification How did the Licensing Authorities come about this? Did they learn this from USA,UK, Germany, Japan or France??

The CHASSIS NUMBER(VEHICLE IDENTIFICATION NUMBER -VIN) is very clearly written on the chassis and also easily accessible. Chassis No.is universally used for vehicle identification. And no two vehicles have the same chassis no.

The engine is simply a part of the vehicle. It can be changed as at any moment just like the seats or wheels. It has become common practice to obtain a POLICE REPORT or something like that when the engine is changed. Why do the Police not ask for a proof of change of colour.

Most of our leaders do travel abroad. Don't they look around and learn?

On my vehicle registration paper ( smaller than a folded A4 sheet) the following TECHNICAL information are available:
NAME OF OWNER
MAKE OF VEHICLE
MODEL
YEAR OF MANUFACTURE
DATE OF REGISTRATION
CHASSIS NUMBER
REGISTRATION NUMBER
TYPE OF ENGINE
TYPE OF FUEL: DIESEL OR PETROL
CAPACITY OF ENGINE IN KILOWATTS/HORSE POWER
STANDARD TYRE DIMENSIONS
LICENSING AUTHORITY

Registration papers in Nigeria hmmmmmm more than a HAND OUT abi BOOK.

I understand the local officials may not be well trained to supply these details. However, it could be made mandatory for all shippers to supply these details for vehicles coming into Nigeria. ALL VEHICLES from Europe and America have these information.

Lets discuss this issue and hope for a change.

Cheers
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 11:09pm On Jan 14, 2013
Jucol, an interesting thread.

The fact remains, the majority of automobile owners in Nigeria simply refuse to educate themselves. They will buy an automobile, yet never do the simple thing, carry out online research. Most don't know the engine size of their own vehicles! If you ask, they'll simply say "4 plug" or "V6". That's it. I find it unbelievable that in this day and age, one wouldn't know what they're driving.

And this is nothing to do with the Nigerian Government. Yes, there should be more records, but the onus lies with the owner of an automobile to know what they drive. Some don't even know the trim level - L, GL, XL, XLE, SLX, GTI, GT etc. Little wonder one would go from driving a Nissan Sunny 1,4L for 5 years, then switch to a Nissan Maxima 3,0 V6. Then complain of poor gas mileage. Ask what engine size their automobile has, they can't tell you.

a 16-year-old kid, male or female, shopping around for their first car they'll be legal to drive when they turn 17, know exactly what they're looking for. Yet grown men in Nigeria with access to the internet have no idea if the automobile they bought 9 years ago has a 1,4 / 1,6 / 1,8 / 2,0 or even a 3,0 engine. Which of course leads to confusion if ever they wish to order parts from Europe or the US. If you don't know the basics of your vehicle, how would the faceless person 7,000+ miles away be able to help you?

Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by akanxpress: 6:13am On Jan 15, 2013
Hi Siena, sorry 2 derail this topic. Please kindly check your hotmail for my enquires on Chrysler Stratus. i've mail you twice on this. God bless
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 11:19am On Jan 15, 2013
akanxpress: Hi Siena, sorry 2 derail this topic. Please kindly check your hotmail for my enquires on Chrysler Stratus. i've mail you twice on this. God bless

No worries bro. Will read, and get back to you.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by stagger: 12:18pm On Jan 15, 2013
Siena: Jucol, an interesting thread.

The fact remains, the majority of automobile owners in Nigeria simply refuse to educate themselves. They will buy an automobile, yet never do the simple thing, carry out online research. Most don't know the engine size of their own vehicles! If you ask, they'll simply say "4 plug" or "V6". That's it. I find it unbelievable that in this day and age, one wouldn't know what they're driving.

And this is nothing to do with the Nigerian Government. Yes, there should be more records, but the onus lies with the owner of an automobile to know what they drive. Some don't even know the trim level - L, GL, XL, XLE, SLX, GTI, GT etc. Little wonder one would go from driving a Nissan Sunny 1,4L for 5 years, then switch to a Nissan Maxima 3,0 V6. Then complain of poor gas mileage. Ask what engine size their automobile has, they can't tell you.

a 16-year-old kid, male or female, shopping around for their first car they'll be legal to drive when they turn 17, know exactly what they're looking for. Yet grown men in Nigeria with access to the internet have no idea if the automobile they bought 9 years ago has a 1,4 / 1,6 / 1,8 / 2,0 or even a 3,0 engine. Which of course leads to confusion if ever they wish to order parts from Europe or the US. If you don't know the basics of your vehicle, how would the faceless person 7,000+ miles away be able to help you?

I thought the emphasis of the article was on why the Nigerian Police make it a habit to always want to look for things to use in trapping vehicle owners, an why it is mandatory to get a police permit when changing the engine of your vehicle in Nigeria if you don't want to be branded a robber or distributor of stolen engine parts. It has nothing to do with the car owner knowing about his vehicle.

Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 1:08pm On Jan 15, 2013
stagger: I thought the emphasis of the article was on why the Nigerian Police make it a habit to always want to look for things to use in trapping vehicle owners, an why it is mandatory to get a police permit when changing the engine of your vehicle in Nigeria if you don't want to be branded a robber or distributor of stolen engine parts. It has nothing to do with the car owner knowing about his vehicle.

It has everything to do with this, Stagger. Half the time, the members of the NPF are clueless. If half the people they pull over at least know what their vehicle details are, they can point the officers in the right direction. An officer sees a car as a 2,2L, the owher of the car says it's a 1,6L. What happens then?

Folk buy cars with an "alternative" engine fitted, but because they're not clued up, assume it's the 1,5L their model should have been fitted with, so they tell the officer so. And it turns out the Mazda 1,5L is actually a Toyota Camry 2,2L. At least if they're automobile savvy, they'll tell any officer EXACTLY what's under the hood, rather than insist it's not what the officer says it is.

Who gets held up then, when the engine number doesn't match the vehicle registration documents? Sure, engines get replaced, but these are things the owner should be aware of, to avoid lengthy delays when he / she is pulled over.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by trix1: 3:39pm On Jan 15, 2013
Siena:

It has everything to do with this, Stagger. Half the time, the members of the NPF are clueless. If half the people they pull over at least know what their vehicle details are, they can point the officers in the right direction. An officer sees a car as a 2,2L, the owher of the car says it's a 1,6L. What happens then?

Folk buy cars with an "alternative" engine fitted, but because they're not clued up, assume it's the 1,5L their model should have been fitted with, so they tell the officer so. And it turns out the Mazda 1,5L is actually a Toyota Camry 2,2L. At least if they're automobile savvy, they'll tell any officer EXACTLY what's under the hood, rather than insist it's not what the officer says it is.

Who gets held up then, when the engine number doesn't match the vehicle registration documents? Sure, engines get replaced, but these are things the owner should be aware of, to avoid lengthy delays when he / she is pulled over.

while I agree that many people don't take time to really know the kinda engine they have, I think this thread has more to do with police obsession with engine number, than engine type. It seems you don't live in Nigeria, so you haven't gotten a clear picture of what the OP is painting.
when you get to a police check point, they don't look at the engine type, what they look for is engine number, and woe betide you if the 5 written on your papers look like S.

Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by qualified(f): 3:42pm On Jan 15, 2013
@sienna, pls help us better by telling us if d Police has d duty of checking Engine nos. And d easiest ways to avoid their problems?
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by qualified(f): 3:45pm On Jan 15, 2013
trix!:

while I agree that many people don't take time to really know the kinda engine they have, I think this thread has more to do with police obsession with engine number, than engine type. It seems you don't live in Nigeria, so you haven't gotten a clear picture of what the OP is painting.
when you get to a police check point, they don't look at the engine type, what they look for is engine number, and woe betide you if the 5 written on your papers look like S.

i really dont think d Sienna guy lives in Nigeria or has experienced this police madness over Engine no.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by dilbert100: 3:52pm On Jan 15, 2013
interesting thread,....
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by stagger: 3:54pm On Jan 15, 2013
qualified:

i really dont think d Sienna guy lives in Nigeria or has experienced this police madness over Engine no.

I wish he would have an experience, then he can tell us how his approach will work. Then he will know that Naija and the UK are as different as black and white.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 4:01pm On Jan 15, 2013
trix!:

If I understand you correctly, we're saying the same thing.

If they're looking for an engine number, they're indirectly looking at engine type. Because if your Peugeot 407 1,6 petrol engine has been replaced with a 2,0 version from the same Peugeot family, the engine number will change! Because the engine number also contains the code that specifies engine size.

Can you see the relationship here? Engine number and engine type / size are linked.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by chucky234(m): 4:05pm On Jan 15, 2013
Policemen only ask of your engine number in order to trap you into parting with some bucks,engine number in modern cars is certainly not crested in a conspicuous position where it can be easily notice and those greedy policemen are aware of that fact that's why they always want to use it into trickling dumb drivers.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by chucky234(m): 4:09pm On Jan 15, 2013
Siena:

If I understand you correctly, we're saying the same thing.

If they're looking for an engine number, they're indirectly looking at engine type. Because if your Peugeot 407 1,6 petrol engine has been replaced with a 2,0 version from the same Peugeot family, the engine number will change! Because the engine number also contains the code that specifies engine size.

Can you see the relationship here? Engine number and engine type / size are linked.
No Nigerian policeman would allow you to leave with your car without dragging you to their station if they spot 1.4L on your vehicle license as engine number because they always expect the engine to be a 12 digits thing.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 4:12pm On Jan 15, 2013
qualified: i really dont think d Sienna guy lives in Nigeria or has experienced this police madness over Engine no.

Yes, I don't live in Nigeria. But my brother still does, so does my sister. They're not mechanics, but they've dealt with the Law with information I've given them. Madness in Nigeria or not, knowledge is power. I lived in Nigeria, and drove there too. And yeah, the police did try pushing me around, but I knew where I stood, and let them know. I've been through the "you sure say dis no be engine from motor wen dem tief last week?" "Dis your engine no be original, wey your receit?" I was a teen then, but could always see through the stunts they were pulling, and never failed to let them know. And I didn't have the resources you guys have these days.

If you're willing to just sit and let these guys shove you around, that's fine. It's almost like you've been so conditioned to accept what they dish out without question, even when they're taking the piss that you see it as the norm.

Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 4:15pm On Jan 15, 2013
chucky234: No Nigerian policeman would allow you to leave with your car without dragging you to their station if they spot 1.4L on your vehicle license as engine number because they always expect the engine to be a 12 digits thing.

Again, you're not getting it. I never said your vehicle registration documents would have your engine size as the engine number. I said your engine number WILL have the code that tells what the engine capacity is, which SHOULD match the one on your engine block, unless it's had a replacement.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 4:17pm On Jan 15, 2013
chucky234: Policemen only ask of your engine number in order to trap you into parting with some bucks,engine number in modern cars is certainly not crested in a conspicuous position where it can be easily notice and those greedy policemen are aware of that fact that's why they always want to use it into trickling dumb drivers.

My point exactly. Which is why the uninformed driver's end up getting fleeced. So it still boils down to having basic knowledge of the automobile you own, and are driving.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by eggy(m): 4:37pm On Jan 15, 2013
trix!:

parley u got it spot on......
I dont see the correlation btw knwing your engine size and engine no...I searched for that of my corrolla sport like mad even my mechanic cld not help; he had to call a friend who sells engine to come help us decipher the whole tingy..its really frustrating what our police have turn into (secialist in detecting misrepresented alpha-numeric symbols). A friend parted with 4k simple cus '1' was represented as 'I' on his papers(SMH)
I doubt if emphasis on engine no is placed in other climes like our police do here in naija...
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by chucky234(m): 4:47pm On Jan 15, 2013
Siena:

My point exactly. Which is why the uninformed driver's end up getting fleeced. So it still boils down to having basic knowledge of the automobile you own, and are driving.
People should be aware of details of their cars to avoid avoidable embarrassment in the hands of those men in black called Olopa.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by ifyalways(f): 5:05pm On Jan 15, 2013
#on your inner light#
#wey your particulars#
#i no see your chasis and engine numbers#

Find us something na, oga. cheesy

I love Naija police.

Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Ogojohn(m): 5:36pm On Jan 15, 2013
MY BROTHER THAT PRESENTLY RESIDE IN CAMEROON RETURNED WITH HIS TOYOTA CAMRY ONCE AND I TOOK IT OUT. ON A POLICE CHECK POINT THEY STOPPED ME. WHEN THEY CHECKED THE CUSTOM PAPERS THAT THE VEHICLE CAME TO NIGERIA WIT. TO MY SURPRISE. THE CAR HAD ON THE THE CHASSIS NUMBER. AT THE PLACE WHERE THE ENGINE NUMBER WAS SUPPOSED TO BE WAS BLANK.THE POLICE MEN NOW TERMED THE VEHICLE A STOLEN VEHICLE EVEN WIT THE OFFICIAL CUSTOM PAPER WITH WHICH THE VEHICLE WAS PERMITTED TO COME INTO NIGERIA WAS PRESENTED. I WAS MADE TO PATH WITH SOME MONEY AFTER ABOUT TWO HOURS DELAY AT THE POLICE STATION. WHEN I CAME BACK I ASKED MY BROTHER WHY THE PAPERS DIDN'T HAVE THE ENGINE NUMBER. HE EXPLAINED TO ME THAT IN CAMEROON THAT VEHICLE ENGINE ARE ALSO PARTS IN A VEHICLE THAT CAN BE CHANGED THEREFORE ARE NOT INCLUDED IN THE PARTICULARS.

Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Jucol(m): 5:50pm On Jan 15, 2013
@OGOJOHN: THAT'S THE POINT.THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR EXPERIENCE.NICE ONE. THOSE OF YOU IN OTHER COUNTRIES KINDLY TELL US WHETHER OR NOT ENGINE NUMBER APPEARS ON YOUR REGISTRATION PAPERS.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Jucol(m): 6:28pm On Jan 15, 2013
Thank you guys for your positive and educative contributions so far. The purpose of this thread is first and foremost to enlighten us on the IRRELEVANCE of the engine number, and secondly to challenge us to make individual efforts to acquire some basic information about the automobile we own/use. Lots of free info available on the internet.
I have read many threads on this forum whereby somebody needs help to fix his valued car. When Siena(apropos thanks for your patience smiley) asks for the technical details, he gets replies such as " Toyota Camry, 05 model , bank type...Honda Accord 02 model orobo, tiny eye etc.
THE MORE INFO YOU HAVE ABOUT YOUR CAR, THE CHEAPER TO MAINTAIN IT.

I am looking forward to read inputs from Nigerians in SUDAN,NIGER,CONGO, BURKINA FASO, TIBET,AFGHANISTAN SOMALIA ETC. I bet they are spared this engine number wahala. Why Nigeria??
NIGERIA WE HAIL THEE.O' YES but not on this issue definitely
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Exponental(m): 6:47pm On Jan 15, 2013
stagger:

I thought the emphasis of the article was on why the Nigerian Police make it a habit to always want to look for things to use in trapping vehicle owners, an why it is mandatory to get a police permit when changing the engine of your vehicle in Nigeria if you don't want to be branded a robber or distributor of stolen engine parts. It has nothing to do with the car owner knowing about his vehicle.
siena still on line. The basis of d topic is knowledge or ignorance as d case may be......he only emphasized on other things to know.
Even most police dont know what they are doing, all they are after is money. I know someone who mistakenly gave his BMW documents 2 d policemen while driving his camry n d police checked ALL n confirmed it ok.
Well, I know where my engine no is, but if any officer has interest, let him do d searching.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 7:17pm On Jan 15, 2013
Jucol: @OGOJOHN: THAT'S THE POINT.THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR EXPERIENCE.NICE ONE. THOSE OF YOU IN OTHER COUNTRIES KINDLY TELL US WHETHER OR NOT ENGINE NUMBER APPEARS ON YOUR REGISTRATION PAPERS.

Yes, engine numbers are on the vehicle registration documents here in the UK. Same in Germany, Holland, France, The US, Australia and Canada.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Jucol(m): 8:15pm On Jan 15, 2013
@ Siena: Good to know. In Norway, it is immaterial cos engine can be replaced. Do you have to amend the papers or get an authorization from the authorities when you change your engine?
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by sultaan(m): 8:25pm On Jan 15, 2013
The Nigerian Police still work per the 1959 training manual grin
If a car is stolen even if the car runs over their boots they won't know because they never reference the numbers, no working database.

What will be the engine number of a Tesla, or Nissan Leaf?

Its a reliable tactic that pays, which is its still being used today.

There is no way of getting out of that tactic but to have the location ready for them to see before you pay grin.

If only Nigerians know what its like to deal with a developed system they won't even believe its possible to drive 6 years without getting stopped by a policeman.

What will be the engine number on these cars.

Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Nobody: 8:26pm On Jan 15, 2013
Jucol: @ Siena: Good to know. In Norway, it is immaterial cos engine can be replaced. Do you have to amend the papers or get an authorization from the authorities when you change your engine?

Over here, it's the duty of the vehicle owner to ammend the new engine details. There's a section in the vehicle Registration Document (V5) to notify the DVLA of any changes. I always do, though checks by the police are not made for engine numbers, unless they have cause to believe your vehicle may be stolen.

Most folk do make these changes, as if ever your vehicle is involved in a crash, your insurance company WILL be looking at engine details - type and number, to see if it matches the records they hold. Obviously if the details don't tally, they can declare your insurance null and void, and reject any claim you may make.
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by sultaan(m): 8:58pm On Jan 15, 2013
Here is an example of a police check point which could have been made possible if the have a proper database for tags.

The Police car will stay by the roadside and read plates on every passing car, if car is stolen, no license, uninsured, wanted; the system alarms officers and you get caught.

Now these are on highways and intersections all over so it will tell where any car is at anytime soon they are going to make electronic tags which already exists in new car(that is why OnStar can track any GM car on the planet)

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Automatic_number_plate_recognition#United_States

Not trying to go off topic, just that there is no way of getting around stagnant administrations, because the old ways brings in huge benefits. Remember check points catch more people the Cotonou cars and missing engine numbers than drunk drivers, or armed robbers.

Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Jucol(m): 9:10pm On Jan 15, 2013
@Sultaan:

You will be "super charged" at the check point/station if they can't trace the engine no. of that SUPER CHARGED ENGINE you posted grin grin
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by Egbagirl(f): 9:24pm On Jan 15, 2013
Jucol: A good look at most discussions on this forum shows that most of us know very little about the cars we have spent so much to buy. Most of our leaders do travel abroad. Don't they look around and learn?

LOL. Look and learn what? They don't have time for that. Na joliement dey their mind abeg
Re: The Nigerian Police And Engine Number. by yosmen: 9:32pm On Jan 15, 2013
is it true BMW engines dont have engine number?police use am chop me for checkpoint,i had to part with money to avoid delay nd wahala.later i check my m50 engine but cudnt find.

Waymo Self-driving Cars Becomes Soft Before Hitting A Pedestrian / Tanker Went Up In Flames In Kano (photos) / See The 2019 Lincoln Nautilus Configurator Valued At 14.3million Naira

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 82