Stats: 3,153,270 members, 7,818,929 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 08:22 AM

Is Jesus Really God? - Religion (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / Is Jesus Really God? (29706 Views)

Is Jesus Really God / Archangel Michael Is Jesus Christ / Divorce! Pls What Is Really God's Take On This Issue (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) ... (16) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Is Jesus Really God? by dolphinheart(m): 3:57pm On Dec 02, 2014
Syncan:

You've shown that your hardheartedness is clogging your understanding, If I may decide to open a thread for it, I may decide to continue here, I may decide not to respond, I will do as it pleases me, for I requested sincerity from you, but obviously you are not. I shall refer you to scripture about what Jesus did to someone like you.

Lk 23:9. Then he questioned with him in many words; but he answered him nothing.

I told you the questions are not for me alone, but for readers of these thread ro have a better understanding of what trinity is.

I thank God you are not in charge of the thread as readers can on their own and personaly go through my questions, ur answers and my subsiquents remarks on them.

If u like answer, if u like dnt like , dnt answer. Just note, other people are reading our posts, reading every single bible verse quoted aand coming to an accurate knowledge that we must worship only the true God jehovah/ yaweh/ father. For jesus said he(the true God) is our God and his God and him Alone we must render sacred sacrifice.

Re: Is Jesus Really God? by Freksy(m): 4:25pm On Dec 02, 2014
zyzxx:
I suppose not to answer u, but I will. we are hear to learn and knw d truth.
1. What consine us wit d hierarchy in heaven? y are we bothering ourself, y do we leave our salvation to follow wrong path? The bible as said it all
Kjv
"Lo, this only have I found, that God hath made man upright; but they have sought out many inventions." (Ecclesiastes 7:29).

Nlt
"But I did find this: God created people to be virtuous, but they have each turned to follow their own downward path."" (Ecclesiastes 7:29).

This method will not work for you. Answer the question you said you will.

But I would have you know, that the head of every man is Christ; and the head of the woman is the man; and the head of Christ is God. 1Cor 11:3 KJV
The almighty God existed before his son, Jesus; Jesus existed before the man; and man existed before the woman.

[size=16pt]QUESTION[/size]: In the above hierarchy of headship provided by apostle Paul, tell me the part that is true and the part YOU THINK is false?

bible stated it clearly dat " jesus is d way truth and life, and no 1 comes to the father except through me... jesus said again

In line with the scripture, you have fittingly placed the son between man and the father.

………….MAN……….THE SON……….THE FATHER……….

Can you also put the father between man and the son? In other words, can you also pass through the father in order to meet the son?

………….MAN……….THE FATHER……….THE SON…….

"Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake. " (John 14:11).
Why do u want to separate what is inseparable (trinity )?

‘At that day ye shall know that I am in my Father, and ye in me, and I in you’. John 14:20 KJV.

From your understanding and interpretation of Jesus' statement, you are also a part of the trinity, true or false?

note dis, jesus said God as choice to reveal dis to d children and d illiterate and he leave does dat are too wise on there own. Do u knw Y? Is because of dey knw d truth but think it impossible and dat thru wit human reason it impossible( we are no different from dem if we interpret thing sprit wit human wisdom ) but wit God all things are possible,
a word is enough for d wise.

But you wrongly interpreted John 14:11

1.The father is a distinct person and he is a God; 2. The son is a distinct person he is also a God. 3. And the holy spirit is a distinct person and a God too, according to the trinity.
Please, by using Godly wisdom, and not human’s, kindly explain how the 3 distinct persons, each being a God, are one.
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by RikoduoSennin(m): 4:33pm On Dec 02, 2014
zyzxx:
bro u really amaze Me,, and I can't thank God enough for d wisdom he as bestow on u...
More wisdom sir,
I pray we will never miss heaven in jesus name amen.

Patting him on the back, really? Why would you do that and still say God bestow wisdom on him?

How can that be, when he and you failed to realised that Even though Jesus is a Mighty God he still has an Almighty God-Jehovah whom he answer's to.

When you realise that then, we can say wisdom is close at hand.

John 17:3 ---Everlasting life = Knowledge of Jehovah+ knowledge of Jesus

How can you claim to Know who Jesus really is or who Jehovah really is, with all your previous comments?
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by Nobody: 4:48pm On Dec 02, 2014
Syncan:

You should read my posts then. All I have done here is defend the trinity. You attack me, but you end up defending the trinity too. cheesy

maybe you needed some 'stockfish' and a little of rare spices cheesy

aiit.....brothers-in-the-Word
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by Nobody: 5:49pm On Dec 02, 2014
dolphinheart:

Sir, jesus omnipresent, pls state where the bible said that?, and I dnt want derived analogy
So now , the true god is made up of members?
Yes, jesus , the Holy spirit are united with the father because they are loyal to the father, they do jehovahs will and not their will. They wunt do what the father tells them not to do.
When jesus was about to die, his will was for the cup to pass away, but he did not do his will, but the will of the father, hence the loyalty, hence the reason he was rewarded by the father.
If a man marries a woman and the woman refuses his headship, they are not one.there unity in purpose is based on loyalty.

Are u saying they are not equal in power and might? Then I say you are a truthful man for not believing in trinity.

Sir, Jesus is a god, jesus is a mighty god, but jesus is not the almighty god , the phrase almighty have never been used when reffering to jesus, it has only been used in refference to the father, jehovah. J jesus is not the father.
Nah, I believe in trinity...... As for Jesus omnipresence. Can't figure any bible verse. See, let's allow what is be. Even if we keep on arguing it doesn't change anything. When I pray, I pray to the Father, Jesus and even the Holy Spirit. I commune with them like I do to my friends, trusting and believing that my supplications and thanksgiving is accepted. And I believe they speak to me through my mind. The joy I receive is unspeakable. So the concept of who the true God is whether the father, Jesus christ or the Holy spirit is of little importance to me. All I'm concerned about is working out my salvation with fear and trembling, not arguing, worrying about what is or what will be. Anyone.
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by RikoduoSennin(m): 9:31pm On Dec 02, 2014
Rjasan:
Nah, I believe in trinity...... As for Jesus omnipresence. Can't figure any bible verse. See, let's allow what is be. Even if we keep on arguing it doesn't change anything. When I pray, I pray to the Father, Jesus and even the Holy Spirit. I commune with them like I do to my friends, trusting and believing that my supplications and thanksgiving is accepted. And I believe they speak to me through my mind. The joy I receive is unspeakable. So the concept of who the true God is whether the father, Jesus christ or the Holy spirit is of little importance to me. All I'm concerned about is working out my salvation with fear and trembling, not arguing, worrying about what is or what will be. Anyone.

It is very important to know oh.... John 4:22 " You worship what you do not know, while we worship what we know"

Also read John 17:3

You need to know who to call on for Salvation...Rom 10:14

You don't want to give God's glory to his creation do you?
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by Syncan(m): 10:10pm On Dec 02, 2014
italo:

Syncan, na you go visit coconut head!

*Just kidding. grin

I don tire bro, I do not have the luxury of time again right now. With all the holes I've picked in all they brought forward,(God created a god and the god created the world, but we wont say the god created the world, even though it is the god that created the world, because it will be giving God's glory to the god... as if it isn't the god that have the glory of what he created....). I was thinking that after tearing apart that example they gave me, with scriptures, they'll see the ridiculousness of their stand.Yet they decide to hide in he "created through" a proxy nonsense. I think I will open a thread to talk about Trinity and let people who really want to listen and ask question do so. I have found out that not all that believe in the trinity even understand it. The folks here have decided to turn a blind eye and play around, so I decided to run around with them, trashing any new bobo dem wan bobo here. Thought they'll be like "ok use example explain your own make we see", but no, they are here even denying what they wrote here in black and white, I hold this person; e say na the other one, I hold this one ; e say na the other, yet them dey support each other since. I don tire bros, more so, my free time this much ends tonight.

"There are diversities of graces, but the same Spirit; and there are diversities of ministries, but the same Lord: and there are diversities of operations, but the same God, who worketh all [of them] in all [persons]." (1cor 12:4-6)

Jesus is God
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by Nobody: 10:54pm On Dec 02, 2014
RikoduoSennin:

John 5:37 "and the Father who sent me has himself borne witness to me. HIS VOICE YOU HAVE NEVER HEARD, HIS FORM YOU HAVE NEVER SEEN "

John 6:46 " Not that ANY ONE has SEEN the Father EXCEPT him who is FROM God; he has SEEN The Father "

John 1:18 " No one has seen God ; the only Son who is in the bosom of The Father, he has made him* known"

NB: If men saw Jesus, what kind of God is he? Because everywhere in the Bible says Jehovah is "invisible"- I have scriptural prove for that too.

Please See above, It can't be the Father because he is INVISIBLE--- Read also 1 Tim 1:17,Heb 11:27, Col 1:15.

@John 5:37 quoted above, no one has heard the Father's voice, he usually spoke through agents and the Holy Spirit is NOT ONE OF THOSE AGENTS. Notice who is....

Hebrew 1:1,2 " In many and various ways God spoke of old to our fathers BY THE PROPHETS: but in these last days he has spoken to us by A SON......"

God spoke through Angel to Moses at the burning bush Acts 7:30,35,38 compare all these with Genesis account of Moses.

Rev 1:1 ---God gave Jesus, Jesus gave angels to show John.

That is chain of command.

Yes, the Son of God and never "God the Son", there is a difference. One is man made to support the trinity doctrine.

Jesus is a Mighty God no doubt but he lacks what it takes to be the Almighty God.

2 corinthians 4:4 " In their case the god of this world has blinded the minds of the unbelievers, to keep them from seeing the light of the gospel of the glory of christ, who is the LIKENESS of God. "

the two words translated god/God are the same greek words, English translators use their own initiative to differential the two by their identities.

Who do you think "the god of these system of things" is refering to?

NB: Jesus is the "Likeness" of God not God himself. Man too are made in the Likeness of God ( Gen 1:26)

see this guy oo?.........tell me who could see Jesus before He became human?

No one.

So get what am saying.
God can't be seen, right! But the 'man' Jacob saw is none other than God the Father to be precise but lets just say that 'man' was God.
The person, Melchizedek, that Abraham paid tithes to is none other than God. Yes! God because it is only to God we pay tithes to.

So i stand to be proved wrong that it is to God we pay tithes to with biblical backing. If not the 'Melchizedek' Abraham paid tithe to is God. Look at it sef, there was neither prophet nor judge nor even your so called 'agents' then sef to say that Melchizedek is any of them.

Same to the person that Jacob struggled with. And you can tell me that was an angel because there is no where in the Bible that any person struggled/fought with an angel! Angels dont even have the luxury of time, they do what they are sent to do and poof they are gone.

Who told you you cant hear God! Chaiiiiii!!!!! Who spoke to Moses from the burning bush? Who spoke with the Israelites from the top of the mountain? Who was Abraham talking to, when he was making inquiry about the demise of sodom and gomorrah? Who did Samuel answer to when he said 'here i am, Lord'?

When Jesus was saying no one has seen God, Jesus was talking about seeing God in His Glory not when He has changed/diluted His form
I won't say that no one can hear God because you can't say Abraham was replying to the air neither was Samuel nor Elijah and many other prophets of old; or do yo want to tell me when Adam and Eve were 'answering the question of their lives' in Eden, they were talking to themselves?

Yes the bible says God/Jehovah is invisible but that doesn't mean He can't make Himself visible or does anywhere in the Bible say so?

Also take note that any time Jesus speaks he is talking to the unbelievers tha's what you people don't understand of Jesus' teachings, he is not talking to everybody in general but to unbelivers and 'shaky' christians. He said I have not come for the righteous but for sinners [paraphrased]
so take note that Jesus came with a message for the sinners not the righteous!

When He was saying nobody has seen or heard His Father, He was talking to the unbelievers though His disciples were present, why won't they be present? They are His disciples afterall.

Also because Jesus came in flesh doesn't mean He is neither God nor the Spirit He was in the beginning.
You are rikoduo made up of three forms:
soul-your main 'personality'
spirit- the spirit/breath of God/life in you
body- self explanatory

now without just one of'em you can't be rikoduo again so you have:
rikoduo the soul
rikuduo the body
rikuoduo the spirit

people can't see your soul but your body is a perfect replica of it and the spirit is needed for the soul and body to be bound together.

So if i've seen your body, i have also seen your soul, does that make your body short of what exactly it is?

With the above analysis you also equally say Jesus is the Son of God and God the Son

Re: Is Jesus Really God? by RikoduoSennin(m): 6:44am On Dec 03, 2014
TheTerrible:

No one.

So get what am saying.
God can't be seen, right! But the 'man' Jacob saw is none other than God the Father to be precise but lets just say that 'man' was God.
The person, Melchizedek, that Abraham paid tithes to is none other than God. Yes! God because it is only to God we pay tithes to.

So i stand to be proved wrong that it is to God we pay tithes to with biblical backing. If not the 'Melchizedek' Abraham paid tithe to is God. Look at it sef, there was neither prophet nor judge nor even your so called 'agents' then sef to say that Melchizedek is any of them.

Same to the person that Jacob struggled with. And you can tell me that was an angel because there is no where in the Bible that any person struggled/fought with an angel! Angels dont even have the luxury of time, they do what they are sent to do and poof they are gone.

Who told you you cant hear God! Chaiiiiii!!!!! Who spoke to Moses from the burning bush? Who spoke with the Israelites from the top of the mountain? Who was Abraham talking to, when he was making inquiry about the demise of sodom and gomorrah? Who did Samuel answer to when he said 'here i am, Lord'?

When Jesus was saying no one has seen God, Jesus was talking about seeing God in His Glory not when He has changed/diluted His form
I won't say that no one can hear God because you can't say Abraham was replying to the air neither was Samuel nor Elijah and many other prophets of old; or do yo want to tell me when Adam and Eve were 'answering the question of their lives' in Eden, they were talking to themselves?

Yes the bible says God/Jehovah is invisible but that doesn't mean He can't make Himself visible or does anywhere in the Bible say so?

Also take note that any time Jesus speaks he is talking to the unbelievers tha's what you people don't understand of Jesus' teachings, he is not talking to everybody in general but to unbelivers and 'shaky' christians. He said I have not come for the righteous but for sinners [paraphrased]

When He was saying nobody has seen or heard His Father, He was talking to the unbelievers though His disciples were present, why won't they be present? They are His disciples afterall.

Also because Jesus came in flesh doesn't mean He is neither God nor the Spirit He was in the beginning.
body- self explanatory

rikoduo the soul
rikuduo the body
rikuoduo the spirit

people can't see your soul but your body is a perfect replica of it and the spirit is needed for the soul and body to be bound together.

So if i've seen your body, i have also seen your soul, does that make your body short of what exactly it is?

With the above analysis you also equally say Jesus is the Son of God and God the Son

Hahahahahahaha, you make me laugh my ribs hurt.

So much speculations. No scripture to back anything up, just human reasoning.

You did not bother to read Acts 7:30,35,38 "And when forty years were expired, there appeared to him in the wilderness of mount Sinai an ANGEL of the Lord in a flame of fire in a bush.....This Moses whom they refused saying who made you a ruler and judge? The same did God send to be a ruler and a deliverer BY THE HAND OF THE ANGEL which appeared to him in the bush........This is he, that was in the church in the wilderness with the ANGEL WHICH SPAKE TO HIM IN THE MOUNT SINAI, AND WITH OUR FATHERS (The Prophets) who received the lively oracles to give unto us"

If everyone called "God" in the bible is God Almighty (Note the capital 'G'). Then the Person/Angel who wrestled with Jacob is God Almighty too. See proof: Hosea 12:3,4 " In the womb he took his brother by the heel and in his manhood he strove with "God" , He strove with the "Angel" and prevailed, he wept and sought favour, He met "God" at Bethel, and there he spoke with him "

Did you bother to read about the baptism of Jesus?

Jesus on earth being baptised by John

Holy spirit descends in the form of a dove to aniont/possess Jesus

The Father's voice from Heaven was heard (of course through an Angel)

Do you think the Father's throne have been vacant for even a tiny second. He has angels that acts as representative of his person. Even Jesus is one of his representative hence the word "Sent", "Messenger". How can the "sent" be the same as the "sender".

Can you send you soul/spirit. Can the soul/spirit be at the right hand of my body? Promised a kingdom by my body? Raised up by my body? **see man's reasoning**

All these aside. How can a God (Jesus) have a God (Jehovah) and you still say they are the same. Neither the Holy spirit nor the son can ever send the Father on an errand but both have been sent repeatedly by the Father- what does that tell you?

Be honest, the words "God the Son" and "God the Holy spirit" are man made as they are not found in the bible.

If you are still confuse about Jesus having a God, I assure you the first century christians were not and I have proof. I will post it if you need it, though I think you don't seeing as no one can deny Jesus having a God- John 20:17, Rev 1:6. Etc

Re: Is Jesus Really God? by vest(m): 9:22am On Dec 03, 2014
@syncan try use simple grammar when u open the thread oh!

Re: Is Jesus Really God? by dolphinheart(m): 11:07am On Dec 03, 2014
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by dolphinheart(m): 11:20am On Dec 03, 2014
TheTerrible:

No one.

So get what am saying.

body- self explanatory

rikoduo the soul
rikuduo the body
rikuoduo the spirit

Haba! Siirr!,
Despite the seriousness of the issues on these thread, I can't help but laugh when I read ur thread.
first of all , ur postulations contained little or no biblical reference, quote or citation to back it up .
Second, u where told with biblical reference that no one has seen God, except the one he sent, God is invisible, No one can see God and yet live , and ur answer to that is that no one has seen jesus before he became human! Sir , y now!

Sir, are you saying that God personaly collects his tithe , so he had to take the for of high priest melchizedeck , become his own high priest so that he can collect tithe?
Are you saying the priest and levite who collected tithes from the isrealites are God in the form of men.
Do you know what the tithe , collected by the levites, is meant for and why they collect it?

Sir, if jesus was always talking to unbelievers, then I guess he was talking to unbelievers when he said he was going to prepare a place for them in haven right?

Sir, on the issue of soul, can I ask you 3 questions
1. What is the soul.
2. When god created Adam, where was it stated that God gave him a soul.
3. Can the soul be touched .
Pls answer with bible references.

Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 11:24am On Dec 03, 2014
OLAADEGBU:

Jesus Truly Is God

There are numerous evidences for the absolute deity of Jesus Christ in the Bible. The following is a summary of the more important evidences.

Jesus Has the Names of God

Jesus Christ possesses divine names—names that can only be used of God. For example:

Jesus is Yahweh. Yahweh is a very common Hebrew name for God in the Old Testament, occurring over 5,300 times. It is translated Lord (all capitals) in many English translations of the Bible.

We first learn of this name in Exodus 3, where Moses asked God by what name He should be called. God replied to him, “I AM WHO I AM. . . .Thus you shall say to the children of Israel, ‘I AM has sent me to you’ ” (verse 14). Yahweh is basically a shortened form of “I AM WHO I AM” (verse 15). The name conveys the idea of eternal self-existence. Yahweh never came into being at a point in time for He has always existed.

Jesus implicitly ascribed this divine name to himself during a confrontation He had with a group of hostile Jews. He said, “I say to you, before Abraham was, I AM” (John 8:58). Jesus deliberately contrasted the created origin of Abraham—whom the Jews venerated—with His own eternal, uncreated nature as God.

Jesus is Kurios. The New Testament Greek equivalent of the Old Testament Hebrew name Yahweh is Kurios. Used of God, Kurios carries the idea of a sovereign being who exercises absolute authority. The word is translated Lord in English translations of the Bible.

THE AFFIRMATION THAT “JESUS IS LORD” (KURIOS) IN THE NEW TESTAMENT CONSTITUTES A CLEAR AFFIRMATION THAT JESUS IS YAHWEH. To an early Christian accustomed to reading the Old Testament, the word Lord, when used of Jesus, would point to His identification with the God of the Old Testament (Yahweh). Hence, the affirmation that “Jesus is Lord” (Kurios) in the New Testament constitutes a clear affirmation that Jesus is Yahweh, as is the case in passages like Romans 10:9, 1 Corinthians 12:3, and Philippians 2:5–11.

Jesus is Elohim. Elohim is a Hebrew name that is used of God 2,570 times in the Old Testament. The name literally means “strong one,” and its plural ending (im in Hebrew) indicates fullness of power. Elohim is portrayed in the Old Testament as the powerful and sovereign governor of the universe, ruling over the affairs of humankind.

Jesus is recognized as both Yahweh and Elohim in the prophecy in Isaiah 40:3: “Prepare the way of the Lord [Yahweh]; make straight in the desert a highway for our God [Elohim].” This verse was written in reference to John the Baptist preparing for the coming of Christ (as confirmed in John 1:23) and represents one of the strongest affirmations of Christ’s deity in the Old Testament. In Isaiah 9:6, we likewise read a prophecy of Christ with a singular variant (El) of Elohim: “And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God [El], Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

Jesus is Theos. The New Testament Greek word for God, Theos, is the corresponding parallel to the Old Testament Hebrew term Elohim. A well-known example of Christ being addressed as God (Theos) is found in the story of “doubting Thomas” in John 20. In this passage, Thomas witnesses the resurrected Christ and worshipfully responds: “My Lord and my God [Theos]” (John 20:28).

Jesus is called Theos throughout the rest of the New Testament. For example, when a jailer asked Paul and Silas how to be saved, they responded: “Believe on the Lord Jesus, and you will be saved, you and your household” (Acts 16:31). After the jailer believed and became saved, he “rejoiced, having believed in God [Theos] with all his household” (verse 34). Believing in Christ and believing in God are seen as identical acts.

https://answersingenesis.org/jesus-christ/jesus-is-god/is-jesus-god/

Jesus Possesses the Attributes of God
Jesus possesses attributes that belong only to God

Jesus is eternal. John 1:1 affirms: “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” The word was in this verse is an imperfect tense, indicating continuous, ongoing existence. When the timespace universe came into being, Christ already existed (Hebrews 1:8–11).

Jesus is self-existent. As the Creator of all things (John 1:3; Colossians 1:16; Hebrews 1:2), Christ himself must be uncreated. Colossians 1:17 tells us that Christ is “before all things, and in Him all things consist.”

Jesus is everywhere-present. Christ promised His disciples, “Where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them” (Matthew 18:20). Since people all over the world gather in Christ’s name, the only way He could be present with them all is if He is truly omnipresent (see Matthew 28:20; Ephesians 1:23, 4:10; Colossians 3:11).

Jesus is all-knowing. Jesus knew where the fish were in the water (Luke 5:4, 6; John 21:6–11), and He knew just which fish contained the coin (Matthew 17:27). He knew the future (John 11:11, 18:4), specific details that would be encountered (Matthew 21:2–4), and knew from a distance that Lazarus had died (John 11:14). He also knows the Father as the Father knows Him (Matthew 11:27; John 7:29, 8:55, 10:15, 17:25).

Jesus is all-powerful. Christ created the entire universe (John 1:3; Colossians 1:16; Hebrews 1:2) and sustains the universe by His own power (Colossians 1:17; Hebrews 1:3). During His earthly ministry, He exercised power over nature (Luke 8:25), physical diseases (Mark 1:29–31), demonic spirits (Mark 1:32–34), and even death (John 11:1–44).

Jesus is sovereign. Christ presently sits at the right hand of God the Father, “angels and authorities and powers having been made subject to Him” (1 Peter 3:22). When Christ comes again in glory, He will be adorned with a majestic robe, and on the thigh section of the robe will be the words, “KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS” (Revelation 19:16).

Jesus is sinless. Jesus challenged Jewish leaders: “Which of you convicts Me of sin?” (John 8:46). The apostle Paul referred to Jesus as “Him who knew no sin” (2 Corinthians 5:21). Jesus is one who “loved righteousness and hated lawlessness” (Hebrews 1:9), was “without sin” (Hebrews 4:15), and was “holy, harmless, [and] undefiled” (Hebrews 7:26).

Source: https://answersingenesis.org/jesus-christ/jesus-is-god/is-jesus-god/
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by dolphinheart(m): 11:33am On Dec 03, 2014
vest:
@syncan try use simple grammar when u open the thread oh!

And pls tell him to stick to the bible, in simple terms , the bible explains the bible, we dnt need philosophy to explain it.

Pls help me ask him him if any of my statement is false

Jesus said he has a God.
Jesus said his God is our God.
Jesus Said we must worship the true God .
The bible said the true God is the father
Syncan said jesus is not the father.

Re: Is Jesus Really God? by dolphinheart(m): 11:45am On Dec 03, 2014
OLAADEGBU:

Jesus Possesses the Attributes of God
Jesus possesses attributes that belong only to God

Jesus is eternal. John 1:1 affirms: “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God.” The word was in this verse is an imperfect tense, indicating continuous, ongoing existence. When the timespace universe came into being, Christ already existed (Hebrews 1:8–11).

Jesus is self-existent. As the Creator of all things (John 1:3; Colossians 1:16; Hebrews 1:2), Christ himself must be uncreated. Colossians 1:17 tells us that Christ is “before all things, and in Him all things consist.”

Jesus is everywhere-present. Christ promised His disciples, “Where two or three are gathered together in My name, I am there in the midst of them” (Matthew 18:20). Since people all over the world gather in Christ’s name, the only way He could be present with them all is if He is truly omnipresent (see Matthew 28:20; Ephesians 1:23, 4:10; Colossians 3:11).

Jesus is all-knowing. Jesus knew where the fish were in the water (Luke 5:4, 6; John 21:6–11), and He knew just which fish contained the coin (Matthew 17:27). He knew the future (John 11:11, 18:4), specific details that would be encountered (Matthew 21:2–4), and knew from a distance that Lazarus had died (John 11:14). He also knows the Father as the Father knows Him (Matthew 11:27; John 7:29, 8:55, 10:15, 17:25).

Jesus is all-powerful. Christ created the entire universe (John 1:3; Colossians 1:16; Hebrews 1:2) and sustains the universe by His own power (Colossians 1:17; Hebrews 1:3). During His earthly ministry, He exercised power over nature (Luke 8:25), physical diseases (Mark 1:29–31), demonic spirits (Mark 1:32–34), and even death (John 11:1–44).

Jesus is sovereign. Christ presently sits at the right hand of God the Father, “angels and authorities and powers having been made subject to Him” (1 Peter 3:22). When Christ comes again in glory, He will be adorned with a majestic robe, and on the thigh section of the robe will be the words, “KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS” (Revelation 19:16).

Jesus is sinless. Jesus challenged Jewish leaders: “Which of you convicts Me of sin?” (John 8:46). The apostle Paul referred to Jesus as “Him who knew no sin” (2 Corinthians 5:21). Jesus is one who “loved righteousness and hated lawlessness” (Hebrews 1:9), was “without sin” (Hebrews 4:15), and was “holy, harmless, [and] undefiled” (Hebrews 7:26).

Source: https://answersingenesis.org/jesus-christ/jesus-is-god/is-jesus-god/

Before I reply this post.
@syncan , pls pls pls, for the sake of those who want a better understanding of trinity. Is oladeegbu right when he stated that jesus is yaweh?

Even if you dnt have much time to explain , a yes or no answer is good enough for us
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 12:01pm On Dec 03, 2014
dolphinheart:

Before I reply this post.
@syncan , pls pls pls, for the sake of those who want a better understanding of trinity. Is oladeegbu right when he stated that jesus is yaweh?

Even if you dnt have much time to explain , a yes or no answer is good enough for us

Yes. In John 8:58 Jesus said:

"Before Abraham was, I am."

I AM was the most revered divine name of God in the Old Testament (Ex. 3:14). Christ was not merely claiming that He existed before Abraham, but that He was still in existence before Abraham. Dr. A.T. Robertson, one of the greatest Greek scholars who ever lived, had this to say about John 8:58 after translating it "I am":

"Undoubtedly here Jesus claims eternal existence with the absolute phrase used of God."
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 12:14pm On Dec 03, 2014
Leobreezy:

Well, on whether a Trigod exists you may wish to see Isaiah 44:6, Deuteronomy 6:4, and Malachi 2:10. The Bible really makes it clear on whether Jesus is God. For instance in Colossians 1:15, it clearly states that Jesus was created. It sounds rather funny to think God created himself.
Also in John 5:19, Jesus showed that all he did was what God had the intention of doing. Jesus doing the intention of himself? Hardly the case. That explains Jesus statement in John 10:30 to show that he was of the same purpose which God has, hence they are one in will, not power or body.
Furthermore in John 14:28, Jesus addressed God as being greater than him.
Although Isaiah 9:6 does prophetically refer to Jesus as the Mighty God, that is very much different from Jehovah's title as Almighty God in Exodus 6:2 & 3. On Who we Christians should worship, Jesus himself gave an answer in Matthew 4:10,"it is Jehovah your God you MUST worship". Clearly then, Jesus is not God.
For more information please visit Jw.org

Let me take you up on the fallacy that Jesus was created citing Colossians 1:15 as your bible reference. Below is a post that your comrades are yet to respond to. When you answer these first set of questions then I'll entertain your remaining objections but until you do so I'll keep reiterating the same point.

OLAADEGBU:

Let's read the passage you are referring to in context and ask pertinent questions:

"Giving thanks unto the Father, which hath made us meet to be partakers of the inheritance of the saints in light: Who hath delivered us from the power of darkness, and hath translated us into the kingdom of his dear Son: In whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins: Who is the image of the invisible God, the firstborn of every creature: For by him were all things created, that are in heaven, and that are in earth, visible and invisible, whether they be thrones or dominions or principalities or powers:  all things were created by him, and for him. And he is before all things, and by him all things consist.."  (Colossians 1:12-17).

Here we go:

Does Colossians 1:15 highligted above teach that Jesus was created?

You will see here that Jesus is called the "first-born" of all creation.   The term "first-born" here does not imply "first-created" those two words mean two different things.   

You can see from the following points that Paul was not teaching that Jesus was created talkless of saying that He was the firstborn of all creation: 

Birth and creation are not equivalent terms.  For example, the Bible teaches that Jesus was born of a virgin, but this does not mean that Jesus was created the day He was born of Virgin Mary and since birth and creation happen at different times, they cannot mean the same thing.

There are two different Greek words for "first-born" and "first-created" and Paul used the word which means "first-born" not "first-created"

Paul was not teaching that Jesus Christ is a created being because he further taught that Jesus Christ was really the Creator of all things.  If all things were created by Christ, He  cannot be created, otherwise there is something that Christ did not create and this verse would be in error when it states that Christ created all things.

Hebrews 1:10 and John 1:3 confirms that:

The Lord Jesus Christ is the Creator of everything that has been created and thus He must not be created, but God.

What does the title "first-born" mean?

Reputable Bible scholars say:

"This title refers to Christ's preeminent position and sovereignty over creation, not that He Himself is a part of creation.  In the Old Testament, the first-born had certain rights and a certain status, such as preeminence, a double share of the inheritance, the right of the priesthood, and supremacy.  And it can be distinctly seen from Genesis 49:3 that the meaning "priority of birth" or in "in time" has been overshadowed and even sometimes lost to the implication of the term meaning "supremacy" or "preeminence."  In other words, one does not have to have been "born first" to be called "first-born" because the term's primary meaning came to be "preeminence" and "supremacy," sometimes with nothing to do about birth."

When Paul calls Jesus the first-born, He is saying that Jesus has all the rights of the first-born and that He has the first-born status of supremacy and preeminence.  When Paul adds that He is the first-born of all creation, He is merely specifying what Christ's preeminence (i.e., His first-born status) applies to -- namely, all creation.

Furthermore, this passage clearly teaches Christ's deity.  Since the Uncreated Creator alone created all things (Isaiah 44:24; Hebrews 3:4), and Colossians tells us that Christ is the Creator, we can then conclude that Jesus is the Uncreated Creator.

Other Bible scholars have demonstrated that the word "born" does not mean to be "created" when we look at it from Jesus' title "Son of God."  Don't misconstrue this to mean that Jesus Christ must have come into existence at some point and that He is less than God, thinking that He is the Son of God, and not God, in just the same way that a human son comes into existence after their human father.  This might sound plausible at first, but upon proper observation it becomes clear that this cannot be the case. The Bible is very clear in defining the title Son of God" to mean that Jesus is of the same nature as God, just like a child is of the same nature as their parent.  And if Jesus Christ has God's nature, then He is, by definition, God, and therefore without a beginning.
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 12:18pm On Dec 03, 2014
briantext:

I Rep #Mormons

Are you also admitting that the allegations against your group as said in the OP are true? undecided
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 12:19pm On Dec 03, 2014
queensley55:

Jesus is or was an angel from heaven to earth..As the world was going astral God sent him on earth to preach the gospel,he was not God's son or God himself.

Have you got any biblical reference to buttress your assertion? undecided
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 12:21pm On Dec 03, 2014
doubleDx:

Isaiah 42:1-5(KJV)

Behold my servant, whom I uphold; mine elect, in whom my soul delighteth; I have put my spirit upon him: he shall bring forth judgment to the Gentiles. He shall not cry, nor lift up, nor cause his voice to be heard in the street. A bruised reed shall he not break, and the smoking flax shall he not quench: he shall bring forth judgment unto truth.

He shall not fail nor be discouraged, till he have set judgment in the earth: and the isles shall wait for his law. Thus saith God the Lord, he that created the heavens, and stretched them out; he that spread forth the earth, and that which cometh out of it; he that giveth breath unto the people upon it, and spirit to them that walk therein:

Who is being referred to as "my servant" in the message above?

I think those verses alone should settle the case....

How does this deny the deity of Christ?
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by dolphinheart(m): 12:31pm On Dec 03, 2014
OLAADEGBU:

I AM was the most revered divine name of God in the Old Testament (Ex. 3:14). Christ was not merely claiming that He existed before Abraham, but that He was still in existence before Abraham. Dr. A.T. Robertson, one of the greatest Greek scholars who ever lived, had this to say about John 8:58 after translating it "I am":

"Undoubtedly here Jesus claims eternal existence with the absolute phrase used of God."

Pls bear with me, I will reply ur post , but since you support trinity and syncan support trinity, I will wait till he answers my question .the question is : does he support oladeegbu's claim that jesus is yaweh? He can use simple yes or no , and he can give explanations.

Abi ,(to olaadeegbu and others reading the thread) dnt you think syncan should respond to that statement by oladeegbu?
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by dolphinheart(m): 12:43pm On Dec 03, 2014
OLAADEGBU:

Also before I respond to your post, I will like to know what u understand on the following terms and question.

1)what is a God. (what do u understand by the term God)
2) what do you understand by the term Christ)
3) can you qoute and explain to us proverbs 8: 20 to 31

Pls dnt disspear again o
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 1:00pm On Dec 03, 2014
dolphinheart:

Questions
1.) Where in the bible is Jesus called almighty God.

"I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, says the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty" (Revelation 1:8.)

Here is our Lord Jesus Christ claiming absolute deity in His glorified form in His first words spoken to Apostle John on the Isle of Patmos.

dolphinheart:

2.)what do you really mean by "one god in 3 persons"? Are u saying that the 3 of them are in 1 person? Or one person is in the 3 of them? Or 3 of them are different characteristics of one person? Or the 3 are the different parts of one person? Does one personalities have three different handles or 3 different handles are being controlled by one person.

I mean that there are three Persons in One God. God is One. The doctrine of the Trinity affirms that there is only one God and that in the unity of the one godhead there are three coequal and coeternal persons—the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.

dolphinheart:

3.)please explain further how all three personalities are one god, are you also saying here that the personality(person) of Jesus is different from that of jehova? That they are 2 different spirit forces?

What I meant was that Mighty and Almighty are descriptions of the same God. If you insist as you have been taught that Jesus was a created being how then did He become a god? If God is eternal and all powerful and omniscient, how can an angel become that? Read my penultimate posts for answers to your other questions.
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 1:04pm On Dec 03, 2014
ayinba1:

@op. If you were not conflicted about the whole concept, why did you raise this question again?

For the sake of God, I will answer. Jesus (peace be upon him )is not Almighty God. He was sent with a message to mankind to worship one God, uphold the laws and stop twisting the message.

BTW, calm down oh you who claim to be christians! We can have differing opinions, it is not christ like to insult people for not agreeing with you.

I repeated the question again with a different emphasis. Repetition is the essence of the importance attached to the subject.
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 1:05pm On Dec 03, 2014
Kay17:

Then Jesus must be a part of God

Jesus Christ is really God, the second Person in the Godhead.
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 1:07pm On Dec 03, 2014
dolphinheart:

@op, still waiting for answers to my questions

Sorry for the delay. They have been posted above. wink
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 1:08pm On Dec 03, 2014
fishleg123:

@Olaadegbu, if I may ask, where is Jesus now.

Everywhere. Jesus, being God, has all of the attributes of God, including omnipresence.
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 1:34pm On Dec 03, 2014
RikoduoSennin:

So much Ado Nothing!

Q: Is Jesus really God?

A: YES! (John 20:28)

Really?

RikoduoSennin:

Q: Which kind of God is he?

A: A Mighty God. (Isaiah 9:6)

Who is this passage referring to?

"Ah Lord God! behold, you have made the heaven and the earth by your great power and stretched out arm, and there is nothing too hard for you: You show lovingkindness to thousands, and recompense the iniquity of the fathers into the bosom of their children after them: the Great, the Mighty God, the LORD of hosts, is his name" (Jeremiah 32:17-18.)

RikoduoSennin:

Q: Is Jesus the same as the Almighty God?

A: No, There is only "one" Almighty God- Jehovah. Almighty is a position that one one person/entity can hold. Besides Even though Jesus is a God he still has a God over him (John 20:17), so he can't be called Almighty.

If you say Mighty means lesser, then Jehovah according to the passage above must be a lesser God, no? This should tell you that mighty and almighty are both descriptions of the same God. Jesus is God just as the Father and the Holy Spirit is God.

RikoduoSennin:

Case closed!

Not so fast. wink
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by Nobody: 1:48pm On Dec 03, 2014
OLAADEGBU:

How does this deny the deity of Christ?

I'm NOT denying the deity of Christ! The only thing I can't accept is the concept of three persons in one GOD...Yahweh is the overall OGA at the top. Shikena!
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 2:01pm On Dec 03, 2014
TheTerrible:

No one.

So get what am saying.

body- self explanatory

rikoduo the soul
rikuduo the body
rikuoduo the spirit

Some good points raised here. smiley
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 2:11pm On Dec 03, 2014
dolphinheart:

Also before I respond to your post, I will like to know what u understand on the following terms and question.

1)what is a God. (what do u understand by the term God)
2) what do you understand by the term Christ)
3) can you qoute and explain to us proverbs 8: 20 to 31

Pls dnt disspear again o

Questions, questions and more questions. When will you come to the knowledge of the truth? God is the uncreated infinite Creator of all things.

Let me start you off on Isaiah 43:10

"You are my witnesses, says the LORD, and my servant whom I have chosen: that you may know and believe me, and understand that I am He: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me. I, even I, am the LORD; and beside me there is no saviour" (Isaiah 43:10-11).

How does a creature become a God? Please educate us. cool
Re: Is Jesus Really God? by OLAADEGBU(m): 2:20pm On Dec 03, 2014
doubleDx:

I'm NOT denying the deity of Christ! The only thing I can't accept is the concept of three persons in one GOD...Yahweh is the overall OGA at the top. Shikena!

The deity of our Lord Jesus Christ is closely connected to the doctrine of the Godhead. This doctrine affirms that there is only one God and that in the unity of the one trinity there are three coequal and coeternal persons, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit. Read the suggested link in the OP for details.

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) ... (16) (Reply)

Nigerian Churches: Who Are They Building Universities For? / 2019 Election Prophecies: Prophet Jeremiah Fufeyin Cautions Men Of God (Video) / Pope Francis Reacts To Ozubulu Anambra Catholic Church Killings, Offers Prayers

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 205