Stats: 3,159,013 members, 7,838,552 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 03:57 AM

What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People - Culture (6) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People (65678 Views)

Important Drums Of The Yoruba People / 5 Interesting Things About The Yoruba People / 15 Common Misconceptions About Yoruba People (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (13) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by omooba969(m): 12:39pm On Jan 01, 2016
francizy:

Forget about the wars you guys fought. Forget olden days ish, even if Fela was the only brave man SW ever produced, I'd personally regard the whole of SW as fearless humans that dare even the devil himself (OBJ, IBB, Abacha, Buhari, etc.). Fela came, he saw and he conquered.

Btw, I think the SW has recorded the highest number of activists in Nigeria of which many of them stood for what they believed in even till they were executed by the military murderers.

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by ElekeNtioba: 12:40pm On Jan 01, 2016
saxywale:

The Yoruba's conquered kingdom as far as Ghana, and repelled jihadist from the North. What kingdom did your own tribe conquer?

you repelled which jihadists?? your pple where traditionalists before the Sokoto cliphate started its land-grabbing southwards. Today half your population is muslim.

Infact if not for the coming of d British dat halted Hausa/Fulani expansionism, the entire yorubaland would have been knocking their heads on the ground to d moon god.

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by engrkaz(m): 12:40pm On Jan 01, 2016
Radoillo:
LOL.

I knew this Yoruba Muslim from my IT days at NBL. Once we (me and a bunch of other IT students) got talking about drinking and he joined in. I was a little surprised because he struck me as someone who took his faith seriously - his dad was an imam and he prayed regularly.

So I said, "You drink beer?"

He looked at me quizzically and went, "Yes, why? Do I look too young to drink?" I was even more surprised that he couldn't tell straight away that his religion was the reason I was surprised.

When I finally said, "But you're a Muslim", he went, "Oh...that. Mscheew..."
I am also a devout, I pray 5 times a day, fast in Ramadan, planning to do my hajj soon, I give Zakat, and I believe in Allah Almighty.....But I dont see all these a reason not to enjoy most especially a very cold BEER!!! I LOVE gulder and 33 export larger.......Above all I am YORUBA.

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by Nobody: 12:41pm On Jan 01, 2016
Yanks101:
And yet you were beaten black and blue by women from benin republic.
Repelled jihadists? grin Don't let the emir of kwara hear that.
There are no islamic heritage in my homeland. That is what it means to repel jihardists.
Atleast we conquered kingdoms, and raised armies. What kingdom did your own tribe conquer?

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by vislabraye(m): 12:41pm On Jan 01, 2016
Setaje:
And before some idiots come to say they are cowards. Remember that before we became one Nigeria, yorubas have fought so many wars within themselves. War is never the answer to any question. Nothing as worthy as dialogue, diplomacy and respect of boundaries.

Name the wars tongue
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by yetunsbay(m): 12:42pm On Jan 01, 2016
ElekeNtioba:

where was ur mental superiority when moshood abiola was rotting in jail like a common criminal for more than 5 years??

[size=14pt] “Those who lack the courage will always find a philosophy to justify it.” ― Albert Camus[/size]
courage my foot! And Biafra still meandering upon all d so called courage. U dnt always win wars with hoes and cutlasses rather mental capability coupled with tailored strategy

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by Nobody: 12:42pm On Jan 01, 2016
ElekeNtioba:

you repelled which jihadists?? your pple where traditionalists before the Sokoto cliphate started its land-grabbing southwards. Today half your population is muslim.

Infact if not for the coming of d British dat halted Hausa/Fulani expansionism, the entire yorubaland would have been knocking their heads on the ground to d moon god.

Islam was not forced on us. We accepted the religion just as we accepted Christianity, yet our traditional religion is still active till date. Our language is still Yoruba.
Do you know that our armies in the 19th century had Islam faithfuls fighting side by side with traditionalists?

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by ElekeNtioba: 12:45pm On Jan 01, 2016
cbrass:

Chai.. see how warped your thinking is. If I may ask wetin yoruba ppl do you guys sef

Nothing....bt have u seen that man who is prepared to hold another man down even if it means staying down with him.

He is Yoruba.

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by 4everGrand(m): 12:46pm On Jan 01, 2016
cosby02:

Bebe shi n lo... Ko duro rara

Black Scorpion is from which tribe? Adekunle Fajuyi is from which tribe? Tell me about lack of courage then.

I dont think a Yoruba would carry another man's issue on his head while dragging his on the floor. The article is somewhat true tho but I think of all tribes, a larger percentage of Yorubas count the costs before launching into foolish endeavours.

I really like calm, educated Yorubas...awesome to be with.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by ElekeNtioba: 12:48pm On Jan 01, 2016
yetunsbay:
courage my foot! And Biafra still meandering upon all d so called courage. U dnt always win wars with hoes and cutlasses rather mental capability coupled with tailored strategy

was dat d strategy u used when d Hausa/fulani ended up capturing the capital of d mighty oyo empire??

dats wonderful grin
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by Nobody: 12:48pm On Jan 01, 2016
saxywale:

The Yoruba's conquered kingdom as far as Ghana, and repelled jihadist from the North. What kingdom did your own tribe conquer?

Abeg follow me ask am o. People dey talk tribe wey no get history sef dey put mouth.

I am tired of these silly guys using us as target practice. I have lost my omoluabi so many times in the last few days that I feel unclean.

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by YourNemesis: 12:48pm On Jan 01, 2016
ElekeNtioba:

Nothing....bt have u seen that man who is prepared to hold another man down even if it means staying down with him.

He is Yoruba.

Just because majority of them do not support your Bifr*** struggle
Na by force?

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by oluamid(m): 12:50pm On Jan 01, 2016
daretodiffer:

You are right

Losing is the worst thing

Warriors are those who survive wars

If you rush into a fight, you will lose and you will end up dead

A lot of people need to read A Song of Ice and Fire (Game of Thrones) books to realise that many times, tact will win a war where strength fails. A simple analogy is why a small man like Tyrion Lannister (despite all the people who want him dead) is still alive when strong men like the Mountain, Oberyn Martel, Kahl Drogo are dead. 99 times in 100, a wise man will survive a conflict where millions of strong men have lost their lives.

A lot of Nigerians confuse tact with cowardice.

12 Likes 1 Share

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by ElekeNtioba: 12:50pm On Jan 01, 2016
YourNemesis:

Just because majority of them do not support your Bifr*** struggle
Na by force?

who said anything abt yoruba support. what kind of support of support can one expect from cowards under Gambari slavery.
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by ElekeNtioba: 12:52pm On Jan 01, 2016
i just love hw yoruba are consoling themselves on this thread....you made my day grin

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by yetunsbay(m): 12:53pm On Jan 01, 2016
ElekeNtioba:

was dat d strategy u used when d Hausa/fulani ended up capturing the capital of d mighty oyo empire??

dats wonderful grin

will wait for argumt when ur Biafra natn is achieved
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by YourNemesis: 12:53pm On Jan 01, 2016
ElekeNtioba:

who said anything abt yoruba support. what kind of support of support can one expect from cowards under Gambari slavery.

Then what the heck were you talking about?
Wetin concern Yorubas with una?

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by jstriker442(m): 12:54pm On Jan 01, 2016
daretodiffer:

And end up losingsmiley his land and its peopletongue

If my ancestors have fought like that, there won't be Ibadan.
u dnt loose wat u fight for dear
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by cbrass(m): 12:55pm On Jan 01, 2016
ElekeNtioba:

He is Yoruba.

Oh not again undecided
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by Nobody: 12:56pm On Jan 01, 2016
Tallesty1:
Lols!

Even some northern Muslims enjoy beer.
Lmao... True talk sha. But I no they take beer o grin
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by Aystarz: 12:58pm On Jan 01, 2016
jstriker442:
ts complete COWARDICE.
''What better way can a man die apart from fighting for the land of his fathers and the temple of his god's ''

Here we go with the Yeye chestbeating. Can you die for anyone ....as in right now?? Oh I thought so. It's all in the mind.

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by cbrass(m): 1:00pm On Jan 01, 2016
olukenzo:

Abeg follow me ask am o. People dey talk tribe wey no get history sef dey put mouth.

I am tired of these silly guys using us as target practice. I have lost my omoluabi so many times in the last few days that I feel unclean.

Lmao abeg go find your omoluabi o grin you see those ppl just want to learn how to speak by attacking yorubas all the time ni

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by peeparty(m): 1:01pm On Jan 01, 2016
you seee my mention?
sameer1212:
Lmao... True talk sha. But I no they take beer o grin
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by oluamid(m): 1:04pm On Jan 01, 2016
ElekeNtioba:

LMAO...which group in Nigeria has never experienced internal strife. is dat what should serve as a indication of bravery

How you respond in the face of aggression or attacks be it violence or civil disbodience is the criteria. Cowards perpetually hide under d toga dialogue and diplomacy even when they are redundant.

The history books are your friends bro. When it comes to large scale wars or civil strive, the Yoruba has fought the longest and bitterest. We are not talking riots here. We are talking wars involving hundreds of thousands of people. I understand that our schools don't teach indigenous history that much so I won't blame you for probably not knowing about the internecine wars. The Yoruba also fought wars against other empires who pretty much were in charge of West Africa at some point in the past. There's even a monument somewhere in Yoruba land that signified the point where the different Yoruba sub groups came together to sign an agreement never to war again. Is it any wonder that the Yoruba as a group would rather go the peace route? Most times, wars do not resolve conflicts, agreements and concessions do.

There is always a story behind a story. The Yoruba 'cowardice' of today has a story behind it; a story of self-preservation.

History did not begin in 1914.

16 Likes 1 Share

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by Nobody: 1:04pm On Jan 01, 2016
daretodiffer:

You are right

Losing is the worst thing

Warriors are those who survive wars

If you rush into a fight, you will lose and you will end up dead

Whaaaaaaat!!!!!!

How dare you daretodiffer angry angry angry angry

Ok maybe not really. You differed just a little. undecided undecided undecided undecided

Ok I am just kidding/messing around. grin grin grin grin

New year spirit. I think. cheesy cheesy cheesy

Happy New Year
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by zejov: 1:05pm On Jan 01, 2016
True! They are neither here nor there.
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by watered(m): 1:07pm On Jan 01, 2016
Oyibo man forget that yan! Its just a show of cowardice and we all know that.

Yoruba don blow for church biz; I don't want to mention names but make ur research and see for yourself.
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by OkehBoraxe(m): 1:08pm On Jan 01, 2016
Radoillo:
LOL.

I knew this Yoruba Muslim from my IT days at NBL. Once we (me and a bunch of other IT students) got talking about drinking and he joined in. I was a little surprised because he struck me as someone who took his faith seriously - his dad was an imam and he prayed regularly.

So I said, "You drink beer?"

He looked at me quizzically and went, "Yes, why? Do I look too young to drink?" I was even more surprised that he couldn't tell straight away that his religion was the reason I was surprised.

When I finally said, "But you're a Muslim", he went, "Oh...that. Mscheew..."
my best friend Bolaji a moslem even breaks his Ramadan fast with Heineken... Am not joking... And we go to some Christian events to do MC that was during our undergraduate days.[color=#770077][/color]

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by Nobody: 1:09pm On Jan 01, 2016
ElekeNtioba:

LMAO...which group in Nigeria has never experienced internal strife. is dat what should serve as a indication of bravery

How you respond in the face of aggression or attacks be it violence or civil disbodience is the criteria. Cowards perpetually hide under d toga dialogue and diplomacy even when they are redundant.

So gani fawehinmi, kudirat abiola and all d activists dt made IBB resign and fought for our democracy in d face of armour tanks, several imprisonment & assasinations were dialouging & diplomacying abi. LMAO!

You guys shld kp living in ur delusions, the rest of the world knows Nigerias REAL history. There are books and monuments in other countries, not just in Nigeria. I am yet to see an igbo man fight for anything and win. Pls give an example, we are all ears.

The only thing i know abt igbo history is that they lived naked in forests and were slaves to d calabar pple before they were slaves to the white man. True story.

11 Likes 1 Share

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by jstriker442(m): 1:10pm On Jan 01, 2016
Aystarz:

Here we go with the Yeye chestbeating. Can you die for anyone ....as in right now?? Oh I thought so. It's all in the mind.
bros, m nt chestbeating. The writer said it all (yoruba). I'd uphold my belief till the very end my dear. ''Uwa bu ofu nbia''. A man must die, shey u knw.
Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by jomoh: 1:13pm On Jan 01, 2016
AnakinSkywalker:

Well we know they believe death is not an option in any confrontation.

A living dog is better than a dead lion. That is their philosopy.

Although now dem dey form cult and hard men after places like PH and Warri don dey abandon am finish.

While to some other tribes (like mine), death is not the worst thing that can happen to a man

Easterners were not known in history to form societies. They prefer to live in isolation.

The four major and popular cult groups in Nigerian institutions started from the west.

Pirate Confraternity started from the University of Ibadan by Wole Soyinka

Buccaneer Confraternity broke away from the Pirate confraternity also from the University of Ibadan

Eye Confraternity carries a typical Yoruba name meaning "bird".

Aiye/Ake/Axe also carries a Yoruba name.

Can you tell us a major cult group that has its roots in the eastern part of the country and the year it started.

Before all these cult groups, Yorubas used to have the Ogboni Local Confraternity and many more.

"Ogun odun ti Aja ti n se ile Igbo ni obo yin wa" (decades after the dog has being a domesticated animal monkeys were still roaming the jungle)

We have being there(wars and battles) and we've seen it all. It never settles anything.

But only a fool will keep going to a war he can never win just to prove his "bravery".

13 Likes 1 Share

Re: What A Blaine Harden Wrote About Yoruba People by emerged01(m): 1:14pm On Jan 01, 2016
Ijebulogic:
Updated for 2016 - Ijebulogic :
"The saving grace in Nigeria's political split is the Yoruba. The tribe serves as a kind of political buffer, noisy but not explosive. As much as they relish escalating an inconsequential disagreement into a full-blown screaming match, the Yoruba are not stupid enough to die for man-made selfish political objectives. They were a most reluctant participant in the Biafra war - they managed to keep their economy buoyant whilst the more explosive tribes battled in vain to serve a few individuals misguided ambitions. Yorubas enjoy their beer, fine wine, cognac and champagne. Their motto which has guided their success in diplomacy, academia, politics and economics is...."Kini Big Deal"?
Thank you!

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (13) (Reply)

Where Did Nigerians Get That Superiority Complex From? / Alaafin Of Oyo, Adeyemi At Gabriel Igbinedion 85th Birthday (Photos) / Oba of benin Erediauwa Visit The Ooni Of Ife On His Ascension To The Throne

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67