Stats: 3,153,699 members, 7,820,438 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 02:48 PM

Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. - Travel (13) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. (684171 Views)

The Adventures Of A Village Scholar In Germany / Getting A Green Card By Adjustment Of Status: My Yankee Experience / Naija to Yankee Thoughts And Experiences (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) ... (220) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by austino677(m): 3:47pm On Jan 05, 2017
MISTAICEY02288:

As i stated in the above quote, i am finally in yankee too now. Arrived today. Came with Delta airline and its a direct flight to Atlanta Georgia. Im staying at Duluth presently,another state in Georgia... Seriously, Yankee na the place to be. Everything for here too make sense and set die. grin grin Chai, i wonder if Naija go ever reach this level in future. embarassed

Will post more updates later.
nice one bro congrats

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by obinna5000(m): 5:11pm On Jan 05, 2017
MISTAICEY02288:

As i stated in the above quote, i am finally in yankee too now. Arrived today. Came with Delta airline and its a direct flight to Atlanta Georgia. Im staying at Duluth presently,another state in Georgia... Seriously, Yankee na the place to be. Everything for here too make sense and set die. grin grin Chai, i wonder if Naija go ever reach this level in future. embarassed

Congrats. Study hard, be of good behavior and get your Masters degree.
Wish you all the best.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Bossman(m): 5:51pm On Jan 05, 2017
Congrats and welcome to the US. Duluth is actually just another city in the state of Georgia. More like a suburb of Atlanta proper.

MISTAICEY02288:

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 8:15pm On Jan 05, 2017
MISTAICEY02288:

Welcome my brother. We will succeed in this country grin

16 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by bikerboy1(m): 8:16pm On Jan 05, 2017
FrankNetter:

Welcome my brother. We will succeed in this country grin

Amen.

Oluwa, please pick up my call. I want to succeed with my brothers.

14 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 8:17pm On Jan 05, 2017
Bossman:
Yes o. My wife received 2 of those last year. Both of them for not coming to a complete stop at the red light before making a right turn. Besides the picture with time/date of offense they mail to you, they also include the url of video online that shows exactly what happened. You can't dispute it. Picture/Video no dey lie. And if you do not pay the fine by the time specified, the fine doubles. LOL!

My brother, no be small thing o! Each time we pass that particular area where she was issued the tickets, she go just dey para. The thing still dey pain her till today. grin grin

24 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 8:22pm On Jan 05, 2017
bikerboy1:

Amen.

Oluwa, please pick up my call. I want to succeed with my brothers.

Yes bro. We will make more money than our wives and families can spend.

35 Likes 1 Share

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Nobody: 8:48pm On Jan 05, 2017
FrankNetter:

Lol, don't let these monkeys disturb your inner peace. Life is too short for that. wink
i love that!.........................................

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Originalsly: 10:56pm On Jan 05, 2017
MISTAICEY02288:
Im staying at Duluth presently,another state in Georgia
Really?.... this is like saying I'm staying in Ikeja presently, another state in Lagos.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by guiddoti: 11:19pm On Jan 05, 2017
Originalsly:
Really?.... this is like saying I'm staying in Ikeja presently, another state in Lagos.
I guess, county.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Kenneth10110(m): 12:57am On Jan 06, 2017
JonSnow:

Dude, I have a relative who doesn't have green card, she earns $2000 ++ every month

How many graduates can boast of that in Nigeria?

$2000 ++ big lie. what is she doing to earn that amount.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by signature2012(m): 1:26am On Jan 06, 2017
Kenneth10110:

How is it a big lie and why are you concerned about what she does to earn it?
Fyi,I know people who even make more...

13 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 2:35am On Jan 06, 2017
Kenneth10110:

Lol. See this dude.

15 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by austino677(m): 3:02am On Jan 06, 2017
grin grin$2,000.....recession wink
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by kenkels: 5:23am On Jan 06, 2017
Just passing. Frank you deyd0 betterwork

8 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by lovedappie: 7:54am On Jan 06, 2017
@FrankNetter I have been enjoying your write-up from the onset, what about Chi-town chics?, you ain't told us anything about them.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by MISTAICEY02288(m): 8:01am On Jan 06, 2017
austino677:
nice one bro congrats

Thanks bro
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by MISTAICEY02288(m): 8:02am On Jan 06, 2017
obinna5000:

Congrats. Study hard, be of good behavior and get your Masters degree.
Wish you all the best.

Thanks mane
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by MISTAICEY02288(m): 8:05am On Jan 06, 2017
Bossman:
Congrats and welcome to the US. Duluth is actually just another city in the state of Georgia. More like a suburb of Atlanta proper.

Yea bro thanks. I actually made a mistake i guess the excitement got into ma head too much grin. I actually wanted to write another city in Georgia not another state in Georgia. Been modified now tho wink

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by MISTAICEY02288(m): 8:07am On Jan 06, 2017
Originalsly:
Really?.... this is like saying I'm staying in Ikeja

presently, another state in Lagos.

Lol... Everyone knows it was a mistake, what I actually had in mind was ''city'' not state. Its been modified already

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by obinna5000(m): 12:39pm On Jan 06, 2017
@FrankNetter, post more pics from Chicago.

@MISTAICEY02288, what is the name of the university you're attending?
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by guiddoti: 12:58pm On Jan 06, 2017
kenkels:
Just passing. Frank you deyd0 betterwork
That's 404! going golgotha.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by MISTAICEY02288(m): 3:29pm On Jan 06, 2017
obinna5000:
@FrankNetter, post more pics from Chicago.

@MISTAICEY02288, what is the name of the university you're attending?

American Intercontinental University.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by obinna5000(m): 3:31pm On Jan 06, 2017
MISTAICEY02288:

American Intercontinental University.

OK.
That's in Illinois. Maybe you and FrankNetter will meet someday.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by MISTAICEY02288(m): 4:28pm On Jan 06, 2017
obinna5000:

OK.
That's in Illinois. Maybe you and FrankNetter will meet someday.

Its not in illinois. Its in Atlanta, capital city of Georgia state.

Buh i will still visit the popular cities in United states all the same. Cities like Las Vegas, Chicago, Miami, Los Angelis, New York, Texas etc.

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by Malayy(m): 4:41pm On Jan 06, 2017
FrankNetter:
See as everybody dey obey traffic. If you misbehave (or run red light), cameras would take a photo of your vehicle, your plate number and mail it to your house along with your ticket. grin grin

If i can find the one they sent to my mum, I'd snap and upload it. On two occassions, she had to pay $200 each.

that's $400 just for disobeying traffic. How much is that in naira again?
please don't mention it.. I had to comment when I saw this.. 400grand wasted just like that. if I was her, I ain't paying that..
Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 5:06pm On Jan 06, 2017
So, we were making moi moi and akara some minutes ago. And the blender got burnt. I was sent to go get a new one from a shop nearby, and get some stuff as well.

The weather is 1° F.

14 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 5:08pm On Jan 06, 2017
Out of curiosity, I entered one shop where they sell used household items, grin

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 5:11pm On Jan 06, 2017
Then i left and entered one "supermarket"

Saw some unripe plantains (which my mum loves) and packed all of them grin

22 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 5:14pm On Jan 06, 2017
You see that sun?

Na for fancy. You won't feel one iota of warmth. While loading the stuff i bought into the car, my fingers got so cold, I thought they would snap off!

14 Likes

Re: Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. by FrankNetter(m): 5:15pm On Jan 06, 2017
I also got some water.

(1) (2) (3) ... (10) (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) ... (220) (Reply)

Giving Birth In Canada / General USA Student Visa Enquiries-part 17 / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 19

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48