Stats: 3,152,507 members, 7,816,230 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 08:03 AM

Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace - Literature (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace (35341 Views)

Scared (A Story About Love And Sorcery) / Ade Son Of Thunder( A Tale About Love, Destiny And Betrayal) / Kelvin's Dilemma(a Short Story) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Didov(f): 10:34am On Apr 06, 2017
nice story op.....dnt knw who is at fault nw,whether chuks or jane.....bt chuks went too far
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Aaaalexxx: 10:40am On Apr 06, 2017
Nice story Op.... Keep up the good work
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by pweetychyka(f): 10:45am On Apr 06, 2017
Nice one OP! A friend like Lola is hard to come by embarassed

Enof lessons to learn... kiss kiss kiss
Pls update oooooooo
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Ajboss(m): 10:46am On Apr 06, 2017
I must confess, you are a rare talented writer! keep the update coming dnt think of stopping....
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by ztanleechima(m): 10:51am On Apr 06, 2017
Wehdone MhizGracie

Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by vyrussbeatz: 10:53am On Apr 06, 2017
Babe, Nice write-up you've gat here.. u try jare..
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Shancca: 11:09am On Apr 06, 2017
Nice write up... Unto d next section pls
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by cerowo(f): 11:25am On Apr 06, 2017
Thumb up sis keep it coming
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by busymama: 11:27am On Apr 06, 2017
Pls.continue. grin
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by martphreak(m): 11:51am On Apr 06, 2017
Op am on my knees crying and begging... bikonu continue... I am so loving this piece that I can't even concentrate... nice writeup as wear
.. simple and awesome

Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by bestpianist(m): 12:42pm On Apr 06, 2017
wwwoooowww dis is one of the best stories i ever read
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Oseseamhe(m): 12:45pm On Apr 06, 2017
Pls continue, i can't eat. Pls and pls am down
martphreak:
Op am on my knees crying and begging... bikonu continue... I am so loving this piece that I can't even concentrate... nice writeup as wear
.. simple and awesome
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Samuelking4280(m): 1:16pm On Apr 06, 2017
continuation lah......
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by NkayTiana(f): 1:38pm On Apr 06, 2017
I can relate to the locations as a Uniben student that I am.... nice right up... expecting update
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by kelvinhilton(m): 1:47pm On Apr 06, 2017
Why always uniben Most stories I've r centred in uniben lipsrsealed[color=#000000][/color]
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Nobody: 1:55pm On Apr 06, 2017
Continuation

The thought of what Lola must be going through at the hands of the blackbirds made me weep like a baby. I couldn't stay in Warri knowing that the only true friend I had was in trouble because of me, I knew I had to present myself to the blackbirds in order to save her. if I remained in hiding they would definitely harm her and I won't be able to forgive myself. I packed my bags that night with the intention of leaving the following morning, I was prepared to die at the hands of the blackbirds. I sobbed as I arranged my clothes neatly in my bag, I thought about my parents especially my mother. She would definitely commit suicide if anything happened to me, but at least I won't be alive to feel the guilt.

The next morning my mum walked into my room, she was surprised to see me all dressed up and ready to leave. "I have to go back—when dad wakes up tell him I've gone back to school." I tried as much as possible to hold back the tears that welled up in my eyes but trust Nigerian mothers, they always have a way of knowing when their children are hiding something.
"Are you okay?" she asked suspiciously
"Of course I am" I replied, faking a big smile.
She wasn't fooled a bit. "Jane, I'm your mother. if you can't tell me what you're going through, who will you tell?" there was sadness in her voice. I thought deeply about her words; if I couldn't tell her, who then will I tell? perhaps she wouldn't faint as I expected, maybe she would be strong enough to think of a way out for me. I broke down in tears and hugged her "Mum I've been a fool.. I didn't focus on my studies like I promised you and dad." I sniffed "And now—I'm in deep trouble because of it." She widened her eyes "What kind of trouble?!"
I made her sit on my bed before explaining everything to her in detail. She couldn't stop weeping "How could you hide such a thing from us? How do you think we would cope if we lost you? "
"I'm sorry mum, I was scared." I sobbed
"We need to tell your father right away! I don't care if we have to storm that school with the entire police force." She gripped my hand and dragged me all the way to my father. She explained everything to him in tears and he was shocked beyond words. He kept shaking his head and muttering things to himself. I felt quite relieved after my dad found out because I knew he was a highly connected man, maybe involving my parents wasn't a bad idea afterall.

After nearly three minutes of complete silence, my dad finally spoke.
"We're going to that school this morning—I need to speak with that incompetent VC, he must explain to me why he has allowed those cultists to roam the campus and threaten the lives of innocent students !" he barked adjusting his glasses which always fell down whenever he spoke angrily.
My parents and I arrived at the university campus at noon. My dad marched furiously to the VC's office while my mum and I followed him sheepishly. Knowing that he wouldn't be allowed into the office easily, he called the Vc's personal number. in no time, we were allowed in. After exchanging pleasantries with the VC my dad asked me to repeat everything I had said at home and I did so with trembling lips. The VC was shocked " I can't believe what I'm hearing. So you mean that things like this have been happening right under my nose?"
"Yes—you need to do something about it because if I lose my only child I will personally burn down this school!" my dad remarked furiously. 'he's just making mouth' I muttered inwardly
"Calm down George—you know you are my very good friend. your daughter is like my daughter. I will do everything in my power to protect her and her friends as well." he turned to me "Young lady, one of them is in jail right?" I nodded affirmatively "Good—he would be able to tell us the whereabouts of the other members of the cult and we would hunt them down before tomorrow runs out."
I felt like a heavy burden had been lifted off my shoulders. I was sure that the VC's plan would work but what if Chuks refused to cooperate? what if he refused to give out the name and addresses of the other blackbirds? The VC called the d.p.o of the ugbowo police station and I heard him telling him to ensure that Chuks is properly tortured until he revealed the details of his fellow cult members. My heart froze, I could imagine the pain he would go through and it was all my fault. I wanted God to strike me dead that moment because I felt that it was unfair for Chuks, Somto and Lola to suffer for my mistakes while I remained unharmed. Maybe if I was inflicted with some form of physical pain, I would feel less guilty.
My parents,the VC and I waited all afternoon for the D.p.o's call but it didn't come until about 4pm. The VC put the phone on loud speaker so we could hear what he had to say. My heart was pounding faster than an athlete who just completed a race.
"It was successful, we have the names and addresses of the other cultists. two of them stay at bdpa, three stay at Ekosodin and one stays in Hall 4."
My parents heaved a sigh of relief "So what next?" the Vc asked.
"We plan to raid their hostels first thing tomorrow morning." replied the d. p. o
I wasn't relieved, what if they killed Lola before then? they hadn't sent me any other message and that made me worried.

My parents and I passed the night at a a hotel somewhere in Ugbowo. I stayed awake all night worrying and praying to God. I begged him desperately to grant the police a successful operation. if Lola was saved and the blackbirds were in police custody, half of my problems would be solved. After a long night, morning finally came and I had mixed feelings. Fear, hope and a tiny bit of relief. I was told to remain in my hotel room by my parents and the d.p.o until the matter was resolved. I couldn't bathe or even brush my teeth that morning, I kept pacing up and down my room waiting for my parents to return and give me feedback. My mum came back alone at noon, she wore a gloomy face. My heart sank "What's the news?" I asked with trembling lips.
She shook her head and my heart skipped a beat. I held her hand "Mum please tell me what happened! Is Lola still alive?!"
"My daughter please be prepared for what you are about to see." I held my breath as she opened the door to let someone in "Lola! " I screamed joyfully. My friend was standing before me looking healthy and happy. I ran into her open arms and kept her locked in a warm embrace. "Thank God you're OK." I turned to my mum who was smiling deviously probably because she succeeded in fooling me for a moment. "You nearly gave me a heart attack!" I yelled playfully. She laughed and I hugged her in tears "Thank you so much mum—you saved me."
"It's nothing—I was just protecting my daughter like every mother would."
She narrated to me how the blackbirds were nabbed in their respective hostels, some were even asleep when the police arrived.She said my dad was discussing some important issues with the VC.
"Am I free to return to my hostel?" I asked curiously
"Yes but I can't let you go until I'm completely sure you're safe—I'm going to get us something to eat OK? "
I nodded. When she was out of sight, Lola drew closer to me and whispered "Aren't you going to check on Somto any time soon?"
"I will but first I need to get Chuks out of the mess he's in—I know he wasn't thinking straight when he shot Somto."
"I thought so too but there's nothing you can do for him or is there?"
I sighed "I really don't know—maybe I could convince my dad to help him." I muttered.
Later that evening, Lola returned to the hostel while I stayed back at the hotel with my parents. It was time for them to speak their mind. I received a furious tongue lashing from my dad. He kept going on and on about how I almost ruined my life because of my stupidity. My mum was furious as well but she didn't shout. She gave me a long emotional speech and I couldn't help but cry. I realized how selfish and insensitive I was and I was determined to give self-control a chance in my life.

EPILOGUE

After nearly two days of pleading, my dad finally agreed to have Chuks released because apparently, he was just an emotional wreck who was brainwashed by the blackbirds into joining them and seeking revenge for something so trivial, He was released after signing an undertaking. I went to see him after he was released to beg for forgiveness. He forgave me but refused to remain friends with me. He said he was going to stay as far away as possible from me till he graduated. I was a bit hurt but I understood his reasons. About a week later Somto finally regained consciousness and I went to see him as well. Just as I expected, he wasn't happy to See me. He said he wanted nothing to do with me after all I put him through so I had to write down my apology on a small paper which I slipped under his provisions before leaving. When I returned to my hostel that day, I cried my eyes out but I finally felt relief. it felt good to be free from all the lies, deceit and heartache and I wanted things to remain that way for as long as possible.

THE END!
THANKS FOR READING!!

29 Likes 1 Share

Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by ogaofficer(m): 2:14pm On Apr 06, 2017
MhizGracie:
Lol..nah i'm still a fresher but I knew a lot about uniben even before I entered cos I have two sisters there, the eldest is Jane and I'm sure she'll kill me if she finds out that I used her name to write this kinda story grin grin
naughty girl..... Lols. Am really Impressed
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by tessiko: 2:18pm On Apr 06, 2017
Great story. Thank God everything later settled for all the paties. My lesson: in life dont allow yourslf to be a great liar else you will be in hell. @ Gracie, Keep it up dear and may God see you through in your studies. With this you can go great places .kudos@!!!!
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by brunxy(m): 2:22pm On Apr 06, 2017
Nice one sweetheart...Finger crossed and patiently waiting for ur next story..and don't forget to mention me on the next story.
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Chommieblaq(f): 2:23pm On Apr 06, 2017
Beautiful story!

One can't eat his or her cake and have it.
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by dannybee(m): 2:37pm On Apr 06, 2017
Short and interesting....waaoh u deserve a round of applause
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by alarmednigerian: 3:38pm On Apr 06, 2017
Lovely.....Thanks for this interesting piece
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Reigns01(m): 3:59pm On Apr 06, 2017
Nice write up,, really glad things turned out well for Chuks. It would have been terrible if he were jailed.
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Reigns01(m): 3:59pm On Apr 06, 2017
Nice write up,, really glad things turned out well for Chuks. It would have been terrible if he were jailed.
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Missmossy(f): 4:07pm On Apr 06, 2017
Beautiful end MhizGracie glad it turned out well. Thumbs up dear.
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Nobody: 4:21pm On Apr 06, 2017
tessiko:
Great story. Thank God everything later settled for all the paties. My lesson: in life dont allow yourslf to be a great liar else you will be in hell. @ Gracie, Keep it up dear and may God see you through in your studies. With this you can go great places .kudos@!!!!
brunxy:
Nice one sweetheart...Finger crossed and patiently waiting for ur next story..and don't forget to mention me on the next story.
Chommieblaq:
Beautiful story!

One can't eat his or her cake and have it.
dannybee:
Short and interesting....waaoh u deserve a round of applause
alarmednigerian:
Lovely.....Thanks for this interesting piece
Reigns01:
Nice write up,, really glad things turned out well for Chuks.
It would have been terrible if he were jailed.
Missmossy:
Beautiful end MhizGracie glad it turned out well. Thumbs up dear.
Thank you all very much..
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Nobody: 4:23pm On Apr 06, 2017
I would have loved to start another story but unfortunately school has resumed...see you guys next holiday! wink
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by temmiesexy(f): 4:40pm On Apr 06, 2017
nice write up bae... grin grin grin grin
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by nollyway(m): 5:19pm On Apr 06, 2017
MhizGracie:
I would have loved to start another story but unfortunately school has resumed...see you guys next holiday! wink
u mean uniben don resume like dis??

When we are barely finishing exams undecided hmm

I rep unizik tho cool

Less I forgot nice write up wink
U kill ma boredom today grin grin
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by xprezz02(f): 5:48pm On Apr 06, 2017
MhizGracie:
why?? I don't want it to end!!!!!!
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Kewt: 5:49pm On Apr 06, 2017
MhizGracie:
Continuation

The thought of what Lola must be going through at the hands of the blackbirds made me weep like a baby. I couldn't stay in Warri knowing that the only true friend I had was in trouble because of me, I knew I had to present myself to the blackbirds in order to save her. if I remained in hiding they would definitely harm her and I won't be able to forgive myself. I packed my bags that night with the intention of leaving the following morning, I was prepared to die at the hands of the blackbirds. I sobbed as I arranged my clothes neatly in my bag, I thought about my parents especially my mother. She would definitely commit suicide if anything happened to me, but at least I won't be alive to feel the guilt.

The next morning my mum walked into my room, she was surprised to see me all dressed up and ready to leave. "I have to go back—when dad wakes up tell him I've gone back to school." I tried as much as possible to hold back the tears that welled up in my eyes but trust Nigerian mothers, they always have a way of knowing when their children are hiding something.
"Are you okay?" she asked suspiciously
"Of course I am" I replied, faking a big smile.
She wasn't fooled a bit. "Jane, I'm your mother. if you can't tell me what you're going through, who will you tell?" there was sadness in her voice. I thought deeply about her words; if I couldn't tell her, who then will I tell? perhaps she wouldn't faint as I expected, maybe she would be strong enough to think of a way out for me. I broke down in tears and hugged her "Mum I've been a fool.. I didn't focus on my studies like I promised you and dad." I sniffed "And now—I'm in deep trouble because of it." She widened her eyes "What kind of trouble?!"
I made her sit on my bed before explaining everything to her in detail. She couldn't stop weeping "How could you hide such a thing from us? How do you think we would cope if we lost you? "
"I'm sorry mum, I was scared." I sobbed
"We need to tell your father right away! I don't care if we have to storm that school with the entire police force." She gripped my hand and dragged me all the way to my father. She explained everything to him in tears and he was shocked beyond words. He kept shaking his head and muttering things to himself. I felt quite relieved after my dad found out because I knew he was a highly connected man, maybe involving my parents wasn't a bad idea afterall.

After nearly three minutes of complete silence, my dad finally spoke.
"We're going to that school this morning—I need to speak with that incompetent VC, he must explain to me why he has allowed those cultists to roam the campus and threaten the lives of innocent students !" he barked adjusting his glasses which always fell down whenever he spoke angrily.
My parents and I arrived at the university campus at noon. My dad marched furiously to the VC's office while my mum and I followed him sheepishly. Knowing that he wouldn't be allowed into the office easily, he called the Vc's personal number. in no time, we were allowed in. After exchanging pleasantries with the VC my dad asked me to repeat everything I had said at home and I did so with trembling lips. The VC was shocked " I can't believe what I'm hearing. So you mean that things like this have been happening right under my nose?"
"Yes—you need to do something about it because if I lose my only child I will personally burn down this school!" my dad remarked furiously. 'he's just making mouth' I muttered inwardly
"Calm down George—you know you are my very good friend. your daughter is like my daughter. I will do everything in my power to protect her and her friends as well." he turned to me "Young lady, one of them is in jail right?" I nodded affirmatively "Good—he would be able to tell us the whereabouts of the other members of the cult and we would hunt them down before tomorrow runs out."
I felt like a heavy burden had been lifted off my shoulders. I was sure that the VC's plan would work but what if Chuks refused to cooperate? what if he refused to give out the name and addresses of the other blackbirds? The VC called the d.p.o of the ugbowo police station and I heard him telling him to ensure that Chuks is properly tortured until he revealed the details of his fellow cult members. My heart froze, I could imagine the pain he would go through and it was all my fault. I wanted God to strike me dead that moment because I felt that it was unfair for Chuks, Somto and Lola to suffer for my mistakes while I remained unharmed. Maybe if I was inflicted with some form of physical pain, I would feel less guilty.
My parents,the VC and I waited all afternoon for the D.p.o's call but it didn't come until about 4pm. The VC put the phone on loud speaker so we could hear what he had to say. My heart was pounding faster than an athlete who just completed a race.
"It was successful, we have the names and addresses of the other cultists. two of them stay at bdpa, three stay at Ekosodin and one stays in Hall 4."
My parents heaved a sigh of relief "So what next?" the Vc asked.
"We plan to raid their hostels first thing tomorrow morning." replied the d. p. o
I wasn't relieved, what if they killed Lola before then? they hadn't sent me any other message and that made me worried.

My parents and I passed the night at a a hotel somewhere in Ugbowo. I stayed awake all night worrying and praying to God. I begged him desperately to grant the police a successful operation. if Lola was saved and the blackbirds were in police custody, half of my problems would be solved. After a long night, morning finally came and I had mixed feelings. Fear, hope and a tiny bit of relief. I was told to remain in my hotel room by my parents and the d.p.o until the matter was resolved. I couldn't bathe or even brush my teeth that morning, I kept pacing up and down my room waiting for my parents to return and give me feedback. My mum came back alone at noon, she wore a gloomy face. My heart sank "What's the news?" I asked with trembling lips.
She shook her head and my heart skipped a beat. I held her hand "Mum please tell me what happened! Is Lola still alive?!"
"My daughter please be prepared for what you are about to see." I held my breath as she opened the door to let someone in "Lola! " I screamed joyfully. My friend was standing before me looking healthy and happy. I ran into her open arms and kept her locked in a warm embrace. "Thank God you're OK." I turned to my mum who was smiling deviously probably because she succeeded in fooling me for a moment. "You nearly gave me a heart attack!" I yelled playfully. She laughed and I hugged her in tears "Thank you so much mum—you saved me."
"It's nothing—I was just protecting my daughter like every mother would."
She narrated to me how the blackbirds were nabbed in their respective hostels, some were even asleep when the police arrived.She said my dad was discussing some important issues with the VC.
"Am I free to return to my hostel?" I asked curiously
"Yes but I can't let you go until I'm completely sure you're safe—I'm going to get us something to eat OK? "
I nodded. When she was out of sight, Lola drew closer to me and whispered "Aren't you going to check on Somto any time soon?"
"I will but first I need to get Chuks out of the mess he's in—I know he wasn't thinking straight when he shot Somto."
"I thought so too but there's nothing you can do for him or is there?"
I sighed "I really don't know—maybe I could convince my dad to help him." I muttered.
Later that evening, Lola returned to the hostel while I stayed back at the hotel with my parents. It was time for them to speak their mind. I received a furious tongue lashing from my dad. He kept going on and on about how I almost ruined my life because of my stupidity. My mum was furious as well but she didn't shout. She gave me a long emotional speech and I couldn't help but cry. I realized how selfish and insensitive I was and I was determined to give self-control a chance in my life.

EPILOGUE

After nearly two days of pleading, my dad finally agreed to have Chuks released because apparently, he was just an emotional wreck who was brainwashed by the blackbirds into joining them and seeking revenge for something so trivial, He was released after signing an undertaking. I went to see him after he was released to beg for forgiveness. He forgave me but refused to remain friends with me. He said he was going to stay as far away as possible from me till he graduated. I was a bit hurt but I understood his reasons. About a week later Somto finally regained consciousness and I went to see him as well. Just as I expected, he wasn't happy to See me. He said he wanted nothing to do with me after all I put him through so I had to write down my apology on a small paper which I slipped under his provisions before leaving. When I returned to my hostel that day, I cried my eyes out but I finally felt relief. it felt good to be free from all the lies, deceit and heartache and I wanted things to remain that way for as long as possible.

THE END!
THANKS FOR READING!!

Very interesting and suspense filled. Kudos OP... Every second spent reading ds was worth it

Nice conclusion also.
Re: Jane's dilemma(A short story about love and double-dating)by Onojeta Grace by Ifecoded(m): 6:40pm On Apr 06, 2017
Sometimes we hurt ourselves the more by trying to solve life puzzles all on our own...
Whereas an heart to heart talk with our elders could just save us from some sh!t...
A problem shared is half solved.
Kudos to you(MhizGracie), you've done a great job.
Send me your details make I send you some..................................................................................................................................................
.........................................................................................................................................................
Kisses.
Stay Safe

The Favourite Who Loved Me (18+) / The Last Bus / Relationship Story "A Friend In Need" (Full Episode)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67