Stats: 3,153,334 members, 7,819,154 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 12:02 PM

Maintenance Tips On Cars. - Car Talk (61) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Maintenance Tips On Cars. (915441 Views)

Funny Things Written On Cars(buses) You've Seen? / Maintenance Tips For Honda Cars / AUTO MAINTENANCE TIPS (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (58) (59) (60) (61) (62) (63) (64) ... (510) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by obekediamondfuto(m): 2:01pm On Jul 21, 2018
candygebsslim:
My car Toyota Camry 2005 pushes with forward with a bang whenever i engage the gear to D. I feel it most of the front tires. And this bang increases as the car temperature increases.
Very early in the morning the bang is very very minimal when i engage the gear but as i drive around and car temperature keeps increasing, this bang keeps increasing to a point that when I engage the gear to D.
Every occupant of the Car jerks forward.

Note.
Gear had issues of revving up and not selecting when in motion.

It was a 13pin converted to 10 pin.

Repairs done.

Changed all engine mounts still bang persist.
Changed gear body valve(brain box) thrice bang persist

In the course of changing the body valve, the mechanic forgot to set the gear selector on the body valve, hence car was only moving forward when gear is on R N D. And during this time, bang stopped.

Make una come deliver me my gurus

u virtually changed almost everything except the car itself and ur mechanic.

choose which one u want to change amongst the two, u will extend ur life by 20yrs when u do

PS there is a problem somewhere that is thermo-dynamic meaning th problem is there, but increases with rise in temp..... start by confirming if the transmission oil cooler line is still connected, then what kinda fluid did u use for the gear box? seahorse or abro or Mobil 1 or Mobil xhp? and yes I know what I'm saying, those kazeems can and will use even brake/clutch fluid for ur gearbox......

I strongly suspect the fluid.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by obekediamondfuto(m): 2:04pm On Jul 21, 2018
parcifal:

Thank you brother, I've just scan the car and one of the faults read:- "Misfiring on several cylinders ". pls what's the next step to take now bcoz I don't want those mechanic to create a bigger problem for me. am just coming from where the car was scanned. Thank you Sir.

u meant "random multiple misfires"
start by checking for unplugged/ broken/loose hoses and pipes around the intake area.
all ur injectors / plugs cannot just go bad like that.

gambus007 ova to u
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by gambus007(m): 2:06pm On Jul 21, 2018
parcifal:

Thank you brother, I've just scan the car and one of the faults read:- "Misfiring on several cylinders ". pls what's the next step to take now bcoz I don't want those mechanic to create a bigger problem for me. am just coming from where the car was scanned. Thank you Sir.
Best is to paste all codes then THEY shall give you a recommendation on way forward.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by gambus007(m): 2:26pm On Jul 21, 2018
obekediamondfuto:

u meant "random multiple misfires"
start by checking for unplugged/ broken/loose hoses and pipes around the intake area.
all ur injectors / plugs cannot just go bad like that.

gambus007 ova to u
My guess is bad coil pack or lean issue but full scan result will point out the main cause..
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by Machini(m): 3:31pm On Jul 21, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

Gear remains unaffected. You just exercised your arm grin
Just pull it down to D in a flash. wink
Hahaha! Thanks boss
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by themonk(m): 6:08pm On Jul 21, 2018
GAZZUZZ:
This thread is dedicated to solving car related problems, it will cover all issues feel free to post problems here, Car gurus your posts are welcome and highly appreciated.
I'm new into the transportation business. I just bought two mini buses which I intend to rent out for weekly payment.

Please I have a few questions for my esteemed auto section members:
1) How often should commercial cars be serviced and what are the critical things in the vehicle that need to be serviced for it not to break down and last long?

2)What are the necessary frequent indicators prior to a breakdown?

PS: Please give me any necessary advice that you feel I would need.

The vehicle is a mini-bus that usually conveys 7 passengers.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by Segzila: 5:12am On Jul 22, 2018
I drive a Lexus RX 300...for some time now I have had knock sensor problems P0330 and P0325 and all effort to replace failed... I have changed the sensors but the check engine light keep coming up and acceleration is very bad....recently the auxiliary went bad, I just fix that but this P0330 will not just go away....I really need ur expert advice urgently as I travel with the twice a week
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by Wilfredpat22(f): 7:26am On Jul 22, 2018
Please my tiny light toyota is making annoying noise or squeaks at the back rear of the drivers side whenever I pass bumpy roads? Please as the noise draws the attention of people to me

Can scanner also read Camry tiny light?the noise is annoying and comes from underneath

PS-the rods and leakages supporting the absorbers has been removed yet the noise persist

Cc gazzuzz autojosh and all car gurus plsss
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 11:29am On Jul 22, 2018
obekediamondfuto:

u virtually changed almost everything except the car itself and ur mechanic.

choose which one u want to change amongst the two, u will extend ur life by 20yrs when u do

PS there is a problem somewhere that is thermo-dynamic meaning th problem is there, but increases with rise in temp..... start by confirming if the transmission oil cooler line is still connected, then what kinda fluid did u use for the gear box? seahorse or abro or Mobil 1 or Mobil xhp? and yes I know what I'm saying, those kazeems can and will use even brake/clutch fluid for ur gearbox......

I strongly suspect the fluid.

This year alone we have see 3 specimens in the workshop. They were all ECU related.
The ECU kills the gearbox.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 11:30am On Jul 22, 2018
Wilfredpat22:
Please my tiny light toyota is making annoying noise or squeaks at the back rear of the drivers side whenever I pass bumpy roads? Please as the noise draws the attention of people to me

Can scanner also read Camry tiny light?the noise is annoying and comes from underneath

PS-the rods and leakages supporting the absorbers has been removed yet the noise persist

Cc gazz.uzz auto josh and all car gurus plsss

you have every ones attention.

Noises from the rear of that vehicle could be caused by more than one defective part.

Any of these could cause noises from the rear.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449384_screenshot20180722102458_jpeg6d462e9fda71e68f4fe38c5a6701cc99

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449385_screenshot20180722102414_jpeg29394d0ce4e0829bcbc79e07a1f8cd52

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449386_screenshot20180722102347_jpega7605941eaea8979948aae824adcc782

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449389_screenshot20180722102223_jpeg51c196a8fe9260a501ffdaf22b126efe

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449410_screenshot20180722104038_jpeg8e4043b0e6d757ff8da568b17c5186dd

Please note, to fix noise issues, proper Diagnosis and part testing is required.

I am avoiding the sway bar links and bushings since they have been removed.

The upper strut mounts are the first possible culprits, in most cases the 19mm nut is loose, but best practice, take it out and inspect.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449410_screenshot20180722104038_jpeg8e4043b0e6d757ff8da568b17c5186dd

Next.

Lower control arm bushings on the left and on the right.

Have your mechanic Inspect and replace if faulty.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449431_screenshot20180722102458_jpeg6d462e9fda71e68f4fe38c5a6701cc99

Lateral arm bushings, there are 4 of them, if there is excessive play, there will be horrible noises on uneven roads.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449389_screenshot20180722102223_jpeg51c196a8fe9260a501ffdaf22b126efe

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449390_screenshot20180722102347_jpega7605941eaea8979948aae824adcc782

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449392_screenshot20180722102414_jpeg29394d0ce4e0829bcbc79e07a1f8cd52

Other factors to note. Excessive air pressure. If you have over 35psi in your tyres, you will have and unpleasant ride on rough roads.

Fake rear struts. If the rear struts are bad or Fake, they generally have horrible noises when on uneven roads. KYB struts are good and can be locally sourced. Ensure it is engraved MADE IN JAPAN and not JAPAN QUALITY.

Exhaust touching the body frame.

A loose fuel tank.

Warnings.

If your vehicle is rusted badly, this will be a partnership between the panelbeater and mechanic. It will not be a 1 day job.

2. Do not cut tyres and use as bushings.

3. When you are done ensure you do a 4wheel allignment.

4. Expect a lot of other parts to fail while doing this e.g abs wheel speed sensor, rusted brake lines and replacing possible entire parts like the rear spindle.

if you follow this by the book it will be noise free 101per.

At the end of the day the bushings might be the culprits.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/7449479_screenshot20180722102239_jpeg281d8053a7a91a00ec0a7017b54ad5e1

good luck.

Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 11:32am On Jul 22, 2018
Segzila:
I drive a Lexus RX 300...for some time now I have had knock sensor problems P0330 and P0325 and all effort to replace failed... I have changed the sensors but the check engine light keep coming up and acceleration is very bad....recently the auxiliary went bad, I just fix that but this P0330 will not just go away....I really need ur expert advice urgently as I travel with the twice a week

ability to test the replacement part is key. I learnt that 10years ago.

Let me give you a clue, Voltage is A/C not DC, not resistance.

Buy new sensors if you are unable to test tokumbor replacements.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 11:35am On Jul 22, 2018
parcifal:

coils, injectors, spark plugs.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by obekediamondfuto(m): 3:49pm On Jul 22, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

This year alone we have see 3 specimens in the workshop. They were all ECU related.
The ECU kills the gearbox.

wow, so while changing from 13pin to 10pin, the ecu must be changed as well?

these kazeems need to know this oh
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 4:15pm On Jul 22, 2018
obekediamondfuto:

wow, so while changing from 13pin to 10pin, the ecu must be changed as well?

these kazeems need to know this oh

the point I am trying to drive at is, we replaced gearboxes (13pin)with the right specs! But they where still acting up until we replaced the ECU's

From our autopsy reports, the old gearboxes died from faulty computers.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by obekediamondfuto(m): 4:26pm On Jul 22, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

the point I am trying to drive at is, we replaced gearboxes (13pin)with the right specs! But they where still acting up until we replaced the ECU's

From our autopsy reports, the old gearboxes died from faulty computers.

waoh, that's serious
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by delec002(m): 10:48am On Jul 23, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

maintenance light is cleared by a combination of buttons on the dashboard (Google is your friend) you are required to use the right engine oil grade if you want to use the maintenance light as a guide to oil change. (Gazz.uzz is your friend) https://www.nairaland.com/4606605/mobil1-5w30-advance-full-synthetic#69451899. Scan your vehicle to get understand why you have the check engine light and VSC lights

Oga Gazzuzz

Kindly help me with this please

I scan the sienna 04, and I i have the 5 listed checks

P0300 - Random/Multiple Cylinder Misfire
P0301 - Random/Multiple Cylinder 1 Misfire
P0303 - Random/Multiple Cylinder 3 Misfire
P0171 - System too lean Bank 1
P0037 - HO2S Heater Control Circuit Low Bank 1 sensor 2

Kindly Advice please

Moreover, if i want to oeder for the Mobil1, can i call the MTN on the link? Please is the Mobil1 5litres?

thank you
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 12:18pm On Jul 23, 2018
delec002:

Oga Gazzuzz

Kindly Advice please

Moreover, if i want to oeder for the Mobil1, can i call the MTN on the link? Please is the Mobil1 5litres?

thank you

confirm engine type. 2gr or 3MZ

Engine oil is available and can be delivered via uber to any location in lagos.

Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by delec002(m): 2:07pm On Jul 23, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

confirm engine type. 2gr or 3MZ

Engine oil is available and can be delivered via uber to any location in lagos.

Please where will i get the engine type info please

Toyota Sienna 2004 limited 3.3ltrs engine 2004 MODEL

PLEASE IS THE ENGINE OIL 5LITRES?
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by jossytech(m): 2:38pm On Jul 23, 2018
GAZZUZ D BOSS

MY ABS, ISSUE, I CHECK TODAY AND DISCOVER NO ABS Reluctor Ring ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE, WHEN I CHANGE THE SHAFT DISCOVER WAS NO RETURN THERE

IS THERE A WAY I CAN CHECK, WHERE I USED TO BUY AUTO PART, NO TOYOTA AND THE UK I SAW WAS 25 POUNDS FOR 1 PLEASE CAN I GET IN LAGOS PLEASE

ITS ALSO CALLED ABS WHEEL RING SENSOR OR TONE WHEEL

PICS ATTACHED

Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 4:00pm On Jul 23, 2018
delec002:

Please where will i get the engine type info please

Toyota Sienna 2004 limited 3.3ltrs engine 2004 MODEL

PLEASE IS THE ENGINE OIL 5LITRES?

3MZ engine is what you have in vehicle.

Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by delec002(m): 4:27pm On Jul 23, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

3MZ engine is what you have in vehicle.

OKAY OGA GAZZUZZ

PLEASE WHAT IS THE ADVISE PLEASE
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 4:31pm On Jul 23, 2018
jossytech:
GAZZUZ D BOSS

MY ABS, ISSUE, I CHECK TODAY AND DISCOVER NO ABS Reluctor Ring ON THE FRONT PASSENGER SIDE, WHEN I CHANGE THE SHAFT DISCOVER WAS NO RETURN THERE

IS THERE A WAY I CAN CHECK, WHERE I USED TO BUY AUTO PART, NO TOYOTA AND THE UK I SAW WAS 25 POUNDS FOR 1 PLEASE CAN I GET IN LAGOS PLEASE

ITS ALSO CALLED ABS WHEEL RING SENSOR OR TONE WHEEL

PICS ATTACHED

what vehicle?
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 4:33pm On Jul 23, 2018
delec002:

Oga Gazzuzz

Kindly Advice please

thank you

please see a technician. My advice might make you replace parts you don't need.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by delec002(m): 4:48pm On Jul 23, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

please see a technician. My advice might make you replace parts you don't need.

NEVER MEAN TO DISTURB YOU, THE TECH GUY SAID I WILL CHANGE THE PLUGS

JUST WANNA BE DOUBLE SURE PLEASE
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 4:54pm On Jul 23, 2018
delec002:

NEVER MEAN TO DISTURB YOU, THE TECH GUY SAID I WILL CHANGE THE PLUGS

JUST WANNA BE DOUBLE SURE PLEASE

He might be right, he might be wrong, but I don't want to cause any confusion. Proper Diagnosis takes time and testing of defective parts.

Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by delec002(m): 4:59pm On Jul 23, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

He might be right, he might be wrong, but I don't want to cause any confusion. Proper Diagnosis takes time and testing of defective parts.

HMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by jossytech(m): 7:00am On Jul 24, 2018
1998 Toyota Camry LE
GAZZUZZ:

what vehicle?
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 8:01am On Jul 24, 2018
jossytech:
1998 Toyota Camry LE

N500 ladipo market. Free if I can run thru my Scrap parts.
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by EddyNumerouno(m): 3:05pm On Jul 24, 2018
Hello Gazzuzz, is there any harm in replacing an automatic ac compressor with a manual compressor?
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by GAZZUZZ(m): 4:39pm On Jul 24, 2018
EddyNumerouno:
Hello Gazzuzz, is there any harm in replacing an automatic ac compressor with a manual compressor?

Harm to the vehicle or pocket? grin
Re: Maintenance Tips On Cars. by delec002(m): 9:22am On Jul 25, 2018
GAZZUZZ:

PLEASE YOU ARE NOT CAUSING ANY CONFUSION PLEASE, JUST ADVISE ME LIKELY THINGS TO CHANGE AS I DONT LIKE THEM PUTTING HAND IN THE ENGINE OFTEN, PLEASE BE OF HELP

(1) (2) (3) ... (58) (59) (60) (61) (62) (63) (64) ... (510) (Reply)

Mercedes Benz Thread / Nasty effects of road accidents (caution very graphic and potentially offensive images)!

Viewing this topic: kingreign(m) and 1 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 67