Stats: 3,156,252 members, 7,829,467 topics. Date: Thursday, 16 May 2024 at 07:35 AM

Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men - Romance - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Romance / Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men (942 Views)

My Fiancee Confessed She's HIV+ After I Proposed To Her. Please, Help / See The Popular Herbs Big Babes Use In Hooking Their Men In The North / 5 Things Women NEVER Tell Their Men (2) (3) (4)

Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Nobody: 12:37pm On Feb 10, 2015
In celebration of
women who take
their relationships
into their own hands,
The Huffington Post
puts the spotlight on
8 famous women
who proposed to
their men

In theory, there is no
stigma against women
proposing to their men.
However, the trend is
yet to catch on in
Nigeria, as ladies still
wait for that old-
fashioned get-on-one-
knee proposal.
Only a handful of
women have been bold
and courageous enough
to take the lead and
pop the question.
In celebration of
women who take their
relationships into their
own hands, The
Huffington Post »
puts the spotlight on 8
famous women who
proposed to their men:
1. Judge Judy:
Asking the
question is a
man's job? Let
Judy Sheindlin be
the judge of that!
Television's
favorite
courtroom
personality
popped the
question to her
second husband,
Jerry Sheindlin, in
1978. In an
interview with
DuJour », Judy
says, "[H]e tried
to weasel out of
it... I told him to
pick a date. He
picked Flag Day.”
2. Zsa Zsa Gabor:
The socialite and
actress claimed
to have
proposed to all
nine of her
husbands »
. She started her
run early,
proposing to her
first husband, a
Turkish diplomat,
when she was
only 15. Much
later in life, she
told her
biographer, "I pay
all my own bills... I
want to choose
the man. I do not
permit men to
choose me."
3. Queen Victoria:
The Queen
proposed to her
cousin, Prince
Albert, in 1839 »
. In her diary, she
describes how
she invited him to
her room, where
she popped the
question. Of that
day, she wrote, "I
really felt it was
the happiest
brightest
moment in my
life."
4. Diane Von
Furstenberg: In
an interview
published in O
Magazine » in
December 2014,
Furstenberg told
Oprah that she
proposed to her
current husband,
Barry Diller. On his
birthday, she
called him and
said, 'You know, if
you want, for
your birthday, I'll
marry you." The
happy couple wed
a week later, and
have spent 13
happy years
together.
5. Elizabeth
Taylor: Elizabeth
Taylor, who was
married a total of
eight times to
seven husbands,
took it upon
herself to
propose to her
second husband,
British actor
Michael Wilding.
According to the
Guardian », the
two were
married in a
London registry
office in 1952,
and had two
children before
their eventual
divorce. Taylor
later described
the marriage as a
calm one: "We had
a lovely, easy life,
very simple, very
quiet."
6. Pink: You
wouldn't expect
less from pop's
most badass
chick. According
to People
Magazine »
, Pink proposed to
her hubby,
motocross
champion Carey
Hart, back in June
2005 -- while he
was mid-race! As
Hart began his
third lap, Pink
showed him a
sign that read,
"Will You Marry
Me?" She followed
up with a "I'm
Serious" sign.
Needless to say,
he took her
seriously and the
two tied the knot
the following
year.
7. Kristen Bell:
Kristen Bell
proposed to
hubby Dax
Shepard »
on Twitter as
soon as the
Defense Of
Marriage Act was
struck down in
2013. The couple,
who welcomed
their first child
earlier that year,
had decided to
hold off on tying
the knot until
their gay and
lesbian friends
could do so too.
8. Jennifer
Hudson:
Boyfriend David
Otunga popped
the question
first, on Hudson's
birthday in 2009.
So Hudson
surprised him
on his birthday
»
five months later
by proposing right
back! She
presented him
with a one-of-a-
kind five-carat
engagement ring.
The two remain
engaged, and
have a child
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Brugo(m): 12:46pm On Feb 10, 2015
Where are those proud girls? Let them come and see.

Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Nobody: 12:47pm On Feb 10, 2015
;
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by francizy(m): 1:21pm On Feb 10, 2015
Its awkward for a girl to ask a guy out in our society tho..

All the same, its cool tho..
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Nobody: 2:15pm On Feb 10, 2015
francizy:
Its awkward for a girl to ask a guy out in our society tho..

All the same, its cool tho..
lols, itz possible.
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Sheenor: 2:20pm On Feb 10, 2015
Not in this country.
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Edwardhead(m): 2:21pm On Feb 10, 2015
Why wont they woo me when dey check ma dp?
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Nobody: 2:29pm On Feb 10, 2015
Sheenor:
Not in this country.
you haven't seen them thats why you said, not in this country! Try google it..
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by passionate88: 2:38pm On Feb 10, 2015
Nigerian girls una dey read am?
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Nobody: 3:10pm On Feb 10, 2015
I hope he doesn't pass out when I do this, tho undecided
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Solove1(m): 3:20pm On Feb 10, 2015
A naija lady can ask men out too but it's based on the material things she will get out of d relationship. not because of one so call love of likeness. in d absent of money and other things she will be asking who is next.
Our girls are not sincere so they don't get sincere result as well. in responses to that (I.e not getting sincere result) their EGO is an option for them.
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by Sheenor: 3:55pm On Feb 10, 2015
MeshackMiles:
you haven't seen them thats why you said, not in this country! Try google it..
naaah, you do that. when you come up with list forward the link....
Re: Will You Marry Me? 8 Famous Women Who Proposed To Their Men by mrkay101(m): 4:06pm On Feb 10, 2015
I don't think I'll feel comfortable if a girl am dating asks me to marry her.. its going to be so awkward for me. marriage is not something one rushed into so if I most marry I must be sure of myself and know that she's the one. I need to be in total control and not just rush and marry her because she had the courage to ask.

Birthday Gift / Could More Porn Actually Make Us Healthier? / This Will Surely Make A Lot Of Women Angry