Stats: 3,152,977 members, 7,817,878 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 09:53 PM

Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 - Sports (28) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 (92350 Views)

Nigeria Vs Zambia: 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier - 1 - 0 (Full Time) / Cameroon Vs Nigeria: 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifier 1 - 1 (Full Time) / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (25) (26) (27) (28) (29) (30) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by Nobody: 8:55pm On Mar 25, 2016
DoctorMcgruff:
Nigeria needs to employ a second more defensive lineup, Siasia should play a 5-3-2 with a triangle 3 (1 attacking mid, 2 defensive) here is why

1. Ighalo plays well with a striker next to him, part of the damage he does for Watford can be attributed to Troy Deeney's work next to him. Siasia should play Ighalo with Kelechi Uptop. Kelechi can create well enough for a striker, remeber the flick to sterling in the mancity pregame? or even Musa/Ighalo or Kelechi/Musa

2. 5 defenders will helps us protect the back, it will also help us play around with the mid 3, we could have 2 attacking mids in such a formation to help us offensivley

3. He should play Iwobi behind the two strikers, One thing i like about iwobi is he makes smart plays and can attack the box.

My issues with this lineup are two fold, i dont have confidence in our fullbacks and their ability to whip in balls, which is crucial in such a formation and Wingers like Moses Simon could be left in the cold. We could play him uptop, but who knows
This formation will spell doom for us in Egypt. What we are looking for is win and not a draw otherwise we are in trouble. Adi is very good in the air as well and very difficult to mark totally unlike Ighalo who is predictable. A good striker when policed, will change direction to confuse the opponent.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by Nobody: 9:06pm On Mar 25, 2016
I'm personally very optimistic Super Eagles will surprise many & grind out a good result in Egypt come Tuesday.

Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by chevchenko: 9:09pm On Mar 25, 2016
Harmony10:

My guy @ 3mins do you still have any more substitution.

Reason I said he should have reserved a sub
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by joey150(m): 9:11pm On Mar 25, 2016
christinie:
Just wasted diesel.

Buhari must pay me back.
babe i like you..
But its none of your business grin
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by aalangel(f): 9:12pm On Mar 25, 2016
hifaif1:

Selfish!!! I wonder what you enjoy in those typically and overly sentimental BS from Mexico.

Nothing really. Just following a stupid, annoying storyline which is better than watching Super Eagles break my heart!!!!
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by joey150(m): 9:15pm On Mar 25, 2016
Abeg o..did iwobi play?

I no dey trust wenger products again. I hope they capped him sha
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by aalangel(f): 9:17pm On Mar 25, 2016
dayojags10:
oloribushan ni eleyi sha...... Tank Ur star ur husby isn't my dad... No Tv for the whole of dis week b dat. I miss watching ball with that old man mehn

Though you spoke husby's language, I don't understand it. It better not be something bad. Anyways, your guys are on 5 points. Pray hard!!!

NB: Ewwwwww!!! How can your dad be husby?? And I don't have a star...
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by dominique(f): 9:21pm On Mar 25, 2016
Mekyno:

i tink he is right. His 1st officially recognised debut.
It seems d frndly match was nt recognised by FIFA because England wanted him to play for them b4 today's game. My view

Debut means first time you're doing something. Saying first debut is an unnecessary repetition. All the commentator should have said is 'he's making his debut' chikena
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by aalangel(f): 9:22pm On Mar 25, 2016
joey150:
Abeg o..did iwobi play?
I no dey trust wenger products again. I hope they capped him sha
He played. Nothing for England.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by sontoly: 9:23pm On Mar 25, 2016
I agree with the guy that said ighalo was predictable, I noticed it, little wonder why Hus goals has dried up, when we had emenike, if was just the same, trying to shield n muscle defenders.
most of our shot where wayward, most where either directed to the keeper or shot into the croud, ( ahmed musa was a culprit, he need to train himself on goal scoring)
mosses simon was fantastic, skillful and trouble the egyptins
iheanacho was more like the only guy who knows what he wants, two shots on target, not just to get a shot but an eye for goal which resulted in goal as well.
Mikel didn't do bad either , since he played where he love most.
but our defence was pathetic.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by robosky02(m): 9:27pm On Mar 25, 2016
emeernest:
I'm personally very optimistic Super Eagles will surprise many & grind out a good result in Egypt come Tuesday.

yes
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by sontoly: 9:29pm On Mar 25, 2016
for those shouting iwobi should have started, na waoo!!, na small small na, he needs to take time and study the game Nigerian game well, same with iheanacho they need for be properly groomed, with simon mosses these guy r d future of Nigeria football, and sia sia is definitely d right man to do that, hope the NFF gives him the enabling environment.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by quickly: 9:32pm On Mar 25, 2016
Why Is Mike wearing 10 when he is playing 6 or 4
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by hifaif1: 9:49pm On Mar 25, 2016
aalangel:

Nothing really. Just following a stupid, annoying storyline which is better than watching Super Eagles break my heart!!!!

Please, allow your husband to watch Super Eagles o. There is a return leg coming up on Tuesday. Once it is time, just be a good wife and be the one to pick up the remote and help your husband put it in the right channel.

Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by Smooyis(m): 10:01pm On Mar 25, 2016
femi4:
We have to beat Egypt in Egypt on tuesday

Nothing to worry about. We will do well in Egypt. Nigeria performs best under tense conditions
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by aalangel(f): 10:08pm On Mar 25, 2016
hifaif1:

Please, allow your husband to watch Super Eagles o. There is a return leg coming up on Tuesday. Once it is time, just be a good wife and be the one to pick up the remote and help your husband put it in the right channel.

I heard you.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by aalangel(f): 10:08pm On Mar 25, 2016
hifaif1:

I heard you. But that doesn't make one a good wife.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by Nobody: 10:08pm On Mar 25, 2016
Geofavor:

listen, i'm not hating. Nigeria should do away with mikel. Dude runs like a milipede. How many assists did he have today? What did he do to give us the win today?

The central midfielder is supposed to be someone agile. A playmaker. Someone swift. Not someone who's pattern of play has been configured for life to be defensive.
you don't know anything about football. If you do, den you should know was the best player on green today

Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by elampiro(m): 10:10pm On Mar 25, 2016
TheGoodJoe:

You are pointing out that these attackers have innovative ideas to score goals when things do not come in easy. What is Ighalo's innovative approach when things get hard?

That is my problem. He just did the same thing. Which is easy for any top defender to stop.

No. It's their playing style. Ighalo has more mobility and build up play than Inzaghi and Chicharito. Yekini as prolific as he was had no build up play. Despite Inzaghi's supposed lack of build up play, he is one of the best scorers ever. It's just playing style.

Using Aguero as an instance, one of world top 5 strikers at the moment is ridiculous.

I can see you are a City fan. So you would naturally support Iheanacho. Iheanacho was not in the game today, the only reason I wanted him in was his eyes for goal. But if he were the point man, he would have been clipped.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by hifaif1: 10:10pm On Mar 25, 2016
aalangel:

I heard you.

Alright, hope we chat again on Tuesday when the Egyptians shall be decimated by our darling Super Eagles!!!
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by TheSuperNerd(m): 10:11pm On Mar 25, 2016
Sir Robosky, abeg... No time to waste. Open up another thread ahead of tuesday.....

#SuperEagles #IStillBelieve

robosky02:

yes
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by hifaif1: 10:20pm On Mar 25, 2016
aalangel:

I heard you. But that doesn't make one a good wife.

No, it doesn't. But it reduces frictions between couples. Tolerance and sacrifices are needed to strengthen a relationship. When you are able to sacrifice 60 minutes soap opera so your husband can watch his 90+ minute football and he can sacrifice 60 minutes to let you watch your soap operas every time they are been shown, a lot of troubles will be avoided. That you have been watching your soap operas shows that your husband has been sacrificing a lot. So anything bad in you sacrificing an episode so he can watch his football?

Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by edi287: 10:21pm On Mar 25, 2016
Sookul:
Certainly I have made my point . Quite me if those things I outlined doesn't affect you more than the lost game.
I get what you're saying. But this isn't the thread for it.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by gbenga44: 10:55pm On Mar 25, 2016
We play a very fluid game. I havent seen the Eagles connect and move the way they did in today's game. Our midfield and wing play was quite effective but still needs more precision and entry technique. Our centre attack play was quite commendable even though the Egyptians outclassed us in the back four department. A little more play time together , working on cordinatio and tactical awareness and position play will make this team a nightmare for Egypt in the return leg. However, our defense has to stay focused on the ball and ensure their outpasses hit midfield especially coming from Papa Efe!.overall, welldone to Sia1..welldone again.

quote author=princfred post=44107560] Yeah expect that from SiASiA. He is our special one . If not for the sabotage by some players the last time........ he is tactically and technically very sound.[/quote]

Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by Goke7: 11:01pm On Mar 25, 2016
TheGoodJoe:

I disagree with the American being bigger than Iheanacho because he offered more bite and innovation than Odion Ighalo. The problem with Ighalo is that he has no plan B when things do no work out for him.

The Egyptian defenders were comfortable with us lobbing the ball to Ighalo. They had their ways of neutralizing him. Unlike Nacho who dropped deep a lot of time to be part of the game and make the midfield more fluid.

Our attack was too stretched out and Ighalo should have dropped deep to feel the ball, create himself breathing space and make our midfield build up play stronger.
In all I praised the players they did their best, we have good prospects going forward, if we don't qualify for afcon, we will surely qualify for the world cup 2018 with what the eagles played in the second half. My problem with NFF is that they will likely bring in a foreign coach who I think can't add any value to this team. I wish they can allow siasia be. The match was entertaining with the Kaduna fans cheering on. It was a long time we saw eagles play this good.

Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by augster(m): 11:12pm On Mar 25, 2016
BizBayo:

Bros, heaven fit vex if I know quote your comment. Lot of laugh. Hahahahaha
Lol... That commentator suppose resign
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by TheGoodJoe(m): 11:22pm On Mar 25, 2016
Goke7:

In all I praised the players they did their best, we have good prospects going forward, if we don't qualify for afcon, we will surely qualify for the world cup 2018 with what the eagles played in the second half. My problem with NFF is that they will likely bring in a foreign coach who I think can't add any value to this team. I wish they can allow siasia be. The match was entertaining with the Kaduna fans cheering on. It was a long time we saw eagles play this good.

The boys played well and with time, the team will gel. The NFF needs to give Coach Siasia chance because his philosophy and pattern of play fits our current emerging talents.

I totally disagree with the idea of bringing in a foreign Coach. Coach Siasia and his crew will soon get it right. Dropping Siasia will take our development backwards.

Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by Walelavender(m): 11:32pm On Mar 25, 2016
So painful the match turrned out to be bad and unfortunate
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by Walelavender(m): 11:33pm On Mar 25, 2016
So painful the match turrned out to be unfortunately disheartening.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by cooltobex(m): 11:44pm On Mar 25, 2016
mikaael:

seems u are drunk..are they representing delta or nigeria?

Thank you for that response (not the 'drunk' part though). I don't understand why people feel the need to be so tribalistic. Forgetting that we're first of all Nigerian, before we're yoruba, igbo, hausa and the likes. Again, apt response.
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by baum1: 12:00am On Mar 26, 2016
Jbuster:
Please, where were the supporters club members, with their drums and trumpets? I'm fully convinced we will defeat Egypt in the reverse fixture

Guy, I like your conviction and the way it's articulated
Re: Nigeria Vs Egypt AFCON Qualifier: 1 - 1 On 25th March 2016 by Iamthoney(m): 12:01am On Mar 26, 2016
awjomo:
please was that guy not off side?
He was on-side.

(1) (2) (3) ... (25) (26) (27) (28) (29) (30) (Reply)

Mama Arsenal: Hassan Nasimot Amoke Awarded N250, 000 For Her Passion (Photos) / Cristiano Ronaldo Vs Hushpuppi: Who Wore It Better? / Kinsey Wolanski Invades Liverpool Vs Tottenham Champions League Final Game

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56