Stats: 3,156,785 members, 7,831,538 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 08:22 PM

So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US - Travel (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US (10238 Views)

Nigeria Planning Airline On $2 Billion Aviation Expansio / I'm Planning To Travel To Malaysia For Studies, Please I Need Your Opinion / 10 Days In Nigeria And I Am Planning To Relocate To Nigeria. (2) (3) (4)

Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 7:40pm On Dec 24, 2005
Sage

Please help me get them straight, I am tired of telling them the Facts of Life.Some people are in Denial.

Kokscity @ Home watching some Hard Nose American Football with the crew.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by omon(m): 7:47pm On Dec 24, 2005
How many people earn $120 a day? And how much can you exactly accomplish with factory pay in the US?  I agree that Nigeria is in a dire condition, but it is misleading coming here to tell Nigerians that going abroad is to meet with bed and roses...  Just like you have youths in Nigeria selling pure water, stealing, mugging etc, so do you find them in the so called glory land, doing all lsort of credit card scams, cheat on benefit claims, steal, push hard drugs etc.

Now I am not in denial that we still have mountains to climb in Naija, but plsss the same mountain exactlyt waits for you overseas. I was reading recently in a report ofo how Nigerians have died in teh desert and drowned in the oceans in a bid to get to europe.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 8:34pm On Dec 24, 2005
Kokscity Still watching some Hard Nose all out war Football.
@ The moment ignoring all Ignorant comments by Omon and co.
Omon the mountain is not that high in the west. Maybe in the UK, i know that you guys have it rough out there, but it is much easier in Yankee and Canada than in that Empire the call Great Britain. Land where the Queen Rules. Ha!
Please refer all ignorant answers to the recycling bin.

Kokscity still bleeding Red, White and Blue
Currently wrapped in Old Glory.
Home of the Brave, Land of the Free
Maybe God continue to Bless the USA.
Still paying my Taxes Proudly.My bad just 33% of my gross Income!!!!
Nigerian by Birth, American in Spirit........
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 8:39pm On Dec 24, 2005
Kokscity

Has never done any kind of Fraud, Just a Hard working upstanding member of the society.

Fraud is a short cut to Doom.
Hard work Pays and feels better.
Kokscity currently immune to being oppressed by Nigerians with stolen money.
Marwa a renowned Criminal
Diya a common thief
IBB a classic Fraudsters
Orji Kalu a Thief without Boundaries
Atiku an armed Robber
OBJ A world class thief and Outstanding Jackass.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by paddylo1(m): 8:48pm On Dec 24, 2005
Kokscity....

Was in olde city last night....them chicks are off the chain....

Anyway back to topic....when i was in Naija...i didnt have a car...i mean i drove popsie and mumsies car...but i didnt have one to my name..i came into this country with about $250..mostly from popsie and mumsie....now i drive my own car..earn my money,manage my money however i like it...i own stocks,mutual funds...trade options(equity derivative..)...am 25...people do not seem to understand the importance of a job...i have seen many a young smart Nigerian waste away at home..for lack of a job...if Bill gates was a Nigerian living in Naija,would there be a microsoft..?..what of the guys that invented Google...they are billionaires now by the way....would there have been a google invention by them if they lived all their lives in Naija....now google is worth $420 a share....analysts are expecting it to rise to $600 by yr end 2006.....and what is Google...nothing but mathematics and algorithms...there is opportunity here from healthcare to infotech...Real estate to wallstreet..get in where u fit in and make money.....I am surprised that people are still comparing an economy that has blue chip companies like Boeing....Caterpillar...GE..Intel..Pfizer....and so on...churning out complex products  to Nigeria....What do we produce/Manufacture(apart from oil)...and where is it sold on the world stage.....A famous rapper once said..it aint where u from...its where u at....i have young classmates from all over the world(india,china,brazil,)..who are going to stay behind after they are done with studies.....and we will be a part of the next wave of innovation that happens..whenever it happens....and if u need one more incentive?...well where else can u meet chicks from china,sweden,brazil,japan...poland..russia...german chicks,irish chicks...cuban chicks...phillipinos....(damn they have the prettiest skin..),..turkey....black chicks,white chicks,latinos....all in one night....ha ha...
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by joftech(m): 9:08pm On Dec 24, 2005
Even the ones who think they have good jobs and drive company car and live in company house and earn 80k per month, some factory workers earn that in 3 days or less.

IF you have 40k/month you can get a decent and spacious apartment to live in Lagos, here in Ondo state the highest you are most likely to get is 20k/month. But in the US you will need about $1600/month, so guys how will a factory worker going to make up for the difference; It's either he/she live in the projects or tenements.  Am not even talking about power, gas for cars, phone bills, ISP bills, medical bills, and other misc expenses.

When you all talk about insecurity of lifes and properties here, i tell you today it's on record that the US has the biggest number of incarserated felons in the world. Drug dealers will flaunt their 'wares' on the road as if they are selling recarge cards in Lagos hold-ups. The US has the highest number of street gangs in the world today. If life overhere is as sweet for everybody as you are pressing i wonder why some Akatas still have to go through the hardships that some beggars can't even pray for here. Most of our people here also live on more than a dollar (140 Naira) a day, one of the lies some of those foreign medias used to peddle around.

Refering to Gates and Google just show how some people don't even know the current situation around here. How do you tell someone that has never seen a car to go to the dealership and buy a car a drive.

Take it or leave it Microsoft of 1975 is not the Microsoft of 2005, am so confident that Nigeria of now will not be NIgeria of about the next 50 years.

Some of you sluring here are just guest in another man's land. A guest never care about what the host went through to give him a delicious meal.

Am yet to see area boys going about with AKs and M-16s here.

Although life is hard here, but people still push and pull through instead of retorting to drugs.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by paddylo1(m): 9:52pm On Dec 24, 2005
Hey Joftech....

Where do u think Nigeria will be in 50yrs...is it where it was in 1965....or will it be where the asian economies are today?...whats my point...50yrs is too far....the world might have moved on by then...u have to understand that whatever moves our economy(which is oil..),is a shrinking resource...the economies of the future will be driven by innovation...there seems not to be a realization of this by our leaders....if u knock off oil fromthe Nigerian equation,,then what kind of economy would we have...where are the companies that make an economy stand..the hondas,toyotas,samsungs,mercedes...and so on.....

and i dont get your point about drug dealers....if they choose to sell drugs in the most dynamic economy in the world..its their problem not mine....wall streeters make more money a year than they could ever make in a lifetime selling drugs on the streets...so it boils down to choice....i spent 20yrs in Nigeria..born and bred..all i am saying is that for the next 15-20yrs i will be at the heart of the world economy...taking advantage of any new innovation that comes along..thats all...if you want to remain in ondo state...or wherever its all good....

Nigeria is sweet...but dont confuse it with being productive...if u enjoy sitting around with friends,drinking,chilling...and generally doing nothing all day long...then its all good....but sooner or later u get tired of that.... and want to make something for yourself....

Talking of guns....i lived in Lagos for 20 yrs of my life...i went through all the riots..S.A.P,OPC..and..hausa,...agberos and everyone else..agberos and each other....with guns blazing and cutlasses flying...it was pure madness i tell you.....and am yet to see an m16...or Ak...in philadelphia.....if and when i choose to come back to naija..i'll be in Abuja..its the only sane piece of real estate in Nigeria....

And i am no guest or refugee or whatever...i am the only son of my parents...2 sisters..my dad has money,houses..land..all that...but again u have to get something for yourself....make it on your own..i wonder how many Nigerians get jobs without Man know Man....come on lets be truthful....maybe 3%....but if it will make anyone feel better..i will say that if i wasnt in the U.S...then i would rather be in Nigeria...and no other country.....no u.ks or australia or italy..and all that crap.....

y'll have a merry christmas....wherever u are...
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 10:02pm On Dec 24, 2005
Joftech

When ever or if ever you are in the states, Holla @ ur boy. If the Jail system worked in Nigeria, the Jails will be overcrowded with criminals, the problem is that they are all on the streets and in government parastatals. The law does not work in Nigeria that is why Robbers just yesterday captured a Luxury bus and Killed eight just two days b4 Christmas. Always in the Benin Area i must add. Now if they feared the Law and police effective and were not corrupt, they will have been caught and maybe sent to death row. Instead the carted away with Millions, raped women and killed an eight month old child. Refer to Nigeriaworld.com for more info.

Joftech i wish that you would understand that criminals rule in that country and until we See that, we cannot have a constructive conversation on where this our nation is headed. I am not in the mood. Trust you know that people that you are hating on, still make some damn good money. But at least they have factories to work in.

Haters or rather Bad Belle na em you dey suffer from.
Factory work is an Honest living.
Blue Collar workers make this country great.
Not everybody likes working in an office.
Factory workers get paid by the Hour
Naira 20K am Month Joftech is about $130 per month.
Nigerian Unemployment is @ 60% Plus.
Iraqi Unemployment with all the Bombing is @ 40%
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by WesleyanA(f): 3:17am On Dec 25, 2005
Kokscity:
Joftech

ask wesleyanA

you Kokecity are retarded or what? what has my uname got to do with your craziness on here.
just because someone called you "second class citizen" doesn't mean he killed your favorite puppy or something. why did it hit you so?.

@joftech i'm a proud patroit just like you  cheesy NIGERIA RULES!!

the US was worse than Nigeria when it was 100 years old.
Nigeria is only 45.... it still has a very bright future!. I'm soo returning to Nigeria and even if i don't. i'll rep my country 4lyfe.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by joftech(m): 3:28am On Dec 25, 2005
wesleyanA God bless you, you have never failed to be the only most intelligent girl on Nairaland.com, (i mean it).
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Hotstepper(f): 3:34am On Dec 25, 2005
WesleyanA and Joftech, I have been reading u'all posts about diz topic and i am in support of it alllllll....dunno wat ppl thinks america is and sum ppl r dere suffering but pretending..if i start a case about america ehhhhhhhhhh, ppl would hate me on here.....i can't wait 2 come back and live and work in 9eriaaaa ...enough said
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by WesleyanA(f): 3:55am On Dec 25, 2005
North America 4 Life
Kokscity is willing to die for the US
Kokscity Still Bleeding Red, White and Blue

all these coming from a guy who was born and lived 20 years of his life in Nigeria.

those are the type of people (i really don't know if to call them Nigerians) who goes to out saying i'm "jamaican", "i'm from Chicago" at supermarkets when they're asked where they're from even with Nigeria showing all over them.

I'm Nigerian and proud of it. Even my friends who were born here when asked where they're from say "Nigeria" proudly.

Nigeria might be poor and corrupt for now but that don't mean i'll deny my motherland for some other country.

i think it's a shame.

@Joftech, thanks a lot (i feel flattered)  smiley embarassed
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by sage(m): 4:15am On Dec 25, 2005
Naija is sweet if u have excess money. You can buy a private jet and not be worried by plane crashes or highway robbers.

@joftech when i first came to the U.S and entred a luxurious bus, i was sitting down with a nigerian i met at the staion. It was a night travel and when we started to move, i asked the guy why there where no police escorts on th bus. He almost fell off the bus laughing. I was baffled and i quickly said that what i ment was that since nobody was searched b/4 we boarded, what was the security measures in place in case we encountred highway robbers. His reply was very simple' unless say ur mamma no born u well, u no go dare stop luxurious bus in this country". initially i felt he was exergerating by saying thieves never robbed luxurious buses and i did not believe him then, but right now i know u can board a bus, stay on the road 4 3 days and u WILL NEVER BE STOPED BY HIGHWAY ROBBERS. I could not even believe the roads i was seeing. I felt there had to be bad roads on some of the interstates since the country was that wide but, i still didnot see any.
. I can have a car of my own, not my daddies or mumsies

Admitedlly, there are many challenges in a country like the U.S. it is not a bed of roses. You have to work 4 ur money, but there is basic infastructure, electricity, protection of lives and property,(if u dial 911 u r sure of immediate response), opportunities, good roads etc.
Like i said b/4  people still make their money in naija sooooooooo.

i lived in Aba(the riot capital of nigeria) and so many negative things are forever etched in my memory like the constant mass slaughter of Hausa's on a regular basis, bodies and decomposed corpses of petty thieves left 4 weeks( i saw this almost everyday of my life). Aba has virtually no roads. I watched Bakassi boys kill tens of thousands of people who had no helper, many of them innocent but killed in the most gruelling fashion-cut to piecies while still alive But the mass slaghter of northerners was the most touching. Children watched their parents beign slaughtered in front of them and vice versa 4 no just reason, except they were Hausa. I saw tribalism eating away any future our country has. I lived in Nigeria for more than 20 yrs so i really experienced it. At times if i see people on this forum saying Naija is the best and they hate were they are now(esp those guyz in a lovely country like canada), i just shake my head out of pity. Maybe they saw a diffrent naija but i dont know.

Bottom line is make ur money where u feel
@ paddy_lo u made good points except that u said the other places r rubbish. I have guyz who r in switzerland, and the scandanavian countries that are making it real big time. I mean real big time, more than most nigerians in the US would, but again its choice
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by sage(m): 4:17am On Dec 25, 2005
Hotstepper:

WesleyanA and Joftech, I have been reading u'all posts about diz topic and i am in support of it alllllll.don't know what people thinks america is and sum people r dere suffering but pretending..if i start a case about america ehhhhhhhhhh, people would hate me on here.i can't wait 2 come back and live and work in 9eriaaaa ...enough said

You wont need to be told u have arrived when u go grin grin grin grin
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Hotstepper(f): 5:06am On Dec 25, 2005
Sage, i got ur point really. well am flattered u meantion Canada as a lovely country. it is indeed lovely...10x 4 recorgnizing dat
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by joftech(m): 1:17pm On Dec 25, 2005
sage it's nice that you have experience the USA. But i want to remind you that things did not work out for the US citizens in a single day.

The US has had her own share of bandits/outlaws in the west (or why do you think they call it wild wild west). Those that travelled the trails from the east to the west will marvel if they are able to see all the Interstates in place now.

Like i have said earlier, a guest will (most likely) never bother to find out what the host went through to give him/her a delicious meal.

Nigeria will get there, am sure about this. It maybe by a revolution or any means but i know that day will come. There's always an elastic limit to everything.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by ijebuman(m): 1:43pm On Dec 25, 2005
Kokscity:

Nigerian Unemployment is @ 60% Plus.
Iraqi Unemployment with all the Bombing is @ 40%

Please tell us where you got these figures from

as for Iraq
A report published last month by the government and the United Nations put the unemployment rate at 27 percent. But many experts here say the actual number is probably closer to 50 percent or more because the survey was not conducted in some of the least stable parts of the country and because many Iraqis work unreliable part-time jobs.
source: http://www.washingtonpost.com/wp-dyn/content/article/2005/06/19/AR2005061900729.html (The Washington Post)

WesleyanA:

Nigeria might be poor and corrupt for now but that don't mean i'll deny my motherland for some other country.
spoken like a true patriot  smiley

Kokscity et al rather than 'hate' smiley on your country why don't you hook up with NiPro in the US http://www.afripro.com/niprointl.html
Its an organisation of young Nigerians based in the states working towards building a new positive image and appreciation for young Nigerian professionals and Nigeria, her culture and her people.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by husler: 1:55pm On Dec 25, 2005
c as most of una dey yan obata yarns!! who talk say abroad no hard!! for real!! its work ur ass out!! all around da clock!! or die bin a jabrony!! its crazy out here!! true!! u make a beta living but it all goes back to d gov!! cos as u work,u pay back through taxes!! so my ppls no bi by yarns oh!! n no bi by blowing trumpet sayin u self dey j_d or yankee respect go feed u!! its by knowin who u really r,n wat ur here to do!! or else!! u jst get carried way b4 u remember ur papa name!!
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by goodguy(m): 2:13pm On Dec 25, 2005
You have all spoken well.

Kokscity, you keep running your fingers on the keyboard, making very childish statements. As joftech has rightly said, you're eating done soup over there. I see you're very good at analyzing Nigeria's problems. What solutions have you got?

Rome was not built in a day my brother. Stop making noise wherever you are and face reality. You keep talking of corrupt leaders here as if they'll forever rule the country. You keep talking of lack of this and that as if America never suffered such. Of all problems you have listed, tell me one that America never faced.

I believe with time, Nigeria will be great! I just hope you won't come running back to the same country you've condemned with your own mouth.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by ijebuman(m): 2:15pm On Dec 25, 2005
Who knows that Yoruba proverb about not pointing to your father’s house/village with the left hand
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by paddylo1(m): 6:10pm On Dec 25, 2005
Hey wesleyanA...

I dont know where u meet people like that...that deny Nigeria....but me let me tell u a secret...and for all Nigerians out there...the moment i talk to a girl and they hear my accent..they immediately want to know where i am from..and when i tell them Nigeria..they are so impressed and want to know more about my country...hell my chick here wants to travel with me back to naija anytime soon....i have always and will always be proud to be a Nigerian...it shaped me and made me strong....plus i got strong ties to home too.....peace.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Z4M4eva(f): 6:15pm On Dec 25, 2005
kwl
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by omon(m): 6:58pm On Dec 25, 2005
For all the patriots, I hail you guys. We must realise that the UK and USA have fed on the resources of other countries, Nigeria included. In the days of colanisation, Nigerians had to work for the white man and pay taxes to their govt. That is what built the cities some people don't even know the history of.

We are moving on, our prayer is that a good leader comes after OBJ, then watch out for Nigeria!
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 9:11pm On Dec 25, 2005
Goodguy

If u had read my post you would know that i come to Nigeria frequently. I am just saying that Nigeria @ 45 does not offer the Youth a Choice. That is the reason they all want to flee and for the most part i would encourage them to flee that death trap. Listen it was so bad that the British Embassy had to put a travel restriction on Young people male and fenale ages 18-30. The truth as much as you would not admit is that people in the millions will rather leave than stay, and i do not blame them.

OK Let every one stop comparing Nigeria to the US we all can agree that there is no Comparison, Let us now replace the US with South Africa post Aparthied. or Botswana or Kenya,Senegal, Ghana. No let us see where Nigeria is compared to those nations. We have Issues Goodman and i am not going to apologize for pointing them out.

Kokscity @ Home Chiling, about to watch my LA Lakers whoop some Miami Ass!
Kobe Bryant a super Star from Birth
Kokscity a great fan of Number 8.

Merry Christmas All.
Nigerian by Birth but i am currently bleeding Red,White and Blue
SEMPER FI
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 11:03pm On Dec 25, 2005
Ijebuman

I am sure you know how to do your research, since i know you like sending me links and pictures to read, my facts came from CNN,Wallstreet Journal, NY Times, Washington Times Online, Washinton Post and the State Department website.

Nigerian Population:130Million Plus
Nigeriand Unemployment:60%
Nigerian Underemployment plus Unemployment:70%
Corruption in the World: Nigerian ranked third most corrupt Country in the world(UN)(World Bank)(Forbes)(The Economist)
HIV/AIDS Infection nearly 5-12% of the population(UNAIDS)
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 11:32pm On Dec 25, 2005
Ijebuman

It is funny u said that about me hooking up with Nigerian Professionals in the US. I have actually been to some of their meetings since i am trying to set up a business in SE Nigeria,but i find that Nigeria is beyond repair at this point, and i just think that you are looking at the glass half full, and i am looking at it half empty period.

The meeting was field with people bragging about their degrees and five figure salaries and mainly were looking for home they could make their lives better here not even in Naija. I must say it was not NIPRO, but it was sha Nigerian Professionals in the US i had to travel to DC to even hook up with the crowd and it was more like networking for Jobs and i am sure some women there were trying to hook up with men. But i did not leave there thinking anyone was thinking of going back home at all.

My Personal Opinion people is that once we come and see things that work in the US, Canada,SA, UK, ASIA, AUSTRALIA ETC We expect a country with so much wealth in Natural resources, to be able to give their citizenry common light 24/7. It is unacceptable for me to expect any less from my country. Look and that is why people just want to get the hell out of that country and in some cases are willing to die to so.

Kokscity a little down because my Lakers are now down by 6 points.
But still glad to be watching the Game in the greatest country on the face of the free world.
America: God's own Country
America: Great Country,Great people, Great Ideas............
Kokscity not willing to trade his current state of mind for any reason.
The few, The Strong and the Brave.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 11:53pm On Dec 25, 2005
Lakers are down Just 2 with 18.1 seconds left in the 4TH .We have a chance People.
Classic Christmas watching some good Basketbal and some great hard nose All-Ameican Football.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 12:01am On Dec 26, 2005
Los Angeles Lakers lose by 5. A dire day for Laker Fans worldwide.Just about to take of my #8 Jersey and keep it in my shrine.

Kobe Still a great player
Lakers will make the playoffs.
Kokscity Die Hard Laker Fan!!!!
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 12:29am On Dec 26, 2005
Let us call it like it is people and stop deceiving ourselves and respond to the topic without sentiments. We all can call Nigeria Home and all, but it feels more like a broken marriage you are tired of the woman but are just there for the sake of the kids. It is so Bad that Young men throw Huge Parties when the get US Visas and are ready to leave that country.

@ all the young men in Nigeria without an option,if you do not get a visa to the US or UK there are some great emerging markets in Europe and Asia. Find somewhere that would fit you and start working your way out. The Human race is all about finding ways to live an accomplished life, if Naija does not do it for you, maybe somewhere else would.
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Jackie(f): 3:35am On Dec 26, 2005
Excellent topic!!!!.  GREENER PASTURE I AGREE 100% Some of u say working here is a form of slavery, this is rather derogating. It's not only Africans involved in the so call Slavery,  Americans themselves are also involvled, So what do u all say about that.? I will say onething, American will not have been what it is today, if it hadn't been of Hardwork, detemination. They are hardworking, determine, innovative and a mindset to succeed. CEO, Director or No CEO in a company,everybody is the same, i mean they are have a mind set to success. Failure is not in their Vocab.  Unfortanately our society has been polluted with bribery and corruption, embezzelement, and situation is deploring. Back home before you see a CEO of, some company you have to go through 3 or 4 channels, at some point you have to bribe, why?, no transparency, no freedom. This society teaches people to be responsible, if you work hard and get you education straight, u are fine. You have incentives that can put u through college without u paying a dime, u  college work studies are avalaible, scholarships, and besides there are jobs that you can do part time and pay your tuitions, nd above all technologies are @ your finger tips and this make life easy. Unfortuanley our society is handicapped of all these.

I will take an example from my self. When i came to this country i was working in  one restaurant part time and was so amazed at what i saw. The Manager will leave his office and flip burgers, he will clean tables, he will serve customers, he will mob the floor, when we are very busy. Why was he doing all these? cuz ultimate goal is to increase revenue for the companyand success.

People when i saw all these, i was like PLueeezzzz he is just a restaurant manager, but nope i got it all wrong, This is the atttitude  in americans which we don't practice. I finished my college and i am now working with some big Company and it's still same attitude. If you don't feel comfortable about any thing walk up to the director and air out you views, abi you have the right to air it out.

I mean let's be honest with our selves, these are just 2 of the zillions differences which pulls us down. They have a different mindset than we do. In Nigeria, how can a director give a helping hand to this workers? 

This is a land of opportunity, You reap what you sow. If you travel from  Nigeria to US and decide to work minears jobs for the rest  of your life that's your cup of tea, but hey if u decide to get some education, hang out with positive people, Pray to God for directions, IT WILL PAY OFF, IF U ARE GOOD AT WHAT YOU DO, u will excell.

And, so far Nigerians in the US at least the ones i know are doing great, They came here with determination, exploiting the opportunities, got their degrees and they are doing great.

And i will say Home is Home and i cannot compromise the fact that i don't like Nigeria, but going home to work where? for how much? cry going through all messy briberysand corruptions, everything is very crocket, just kills my spirit.

cheers
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by omon(m): 10:42am On Dec 26, 2005
What do you have in Ghana, Senegal, Botswana and South Africa that you don't have in Nigeria? Don't be fooled by media hype, 90% of the business in south africa are owned by the white folks. If u ask me, apartheid is not completely over there. There are certain cities blacks cannot live, what sort of country is that?
Re: So Many Young Men in Nigeria Planning to go to the US by Kokscity(m): 4:22pm On Dec 26, 2005
Jackie,Jackie,Jackie

You were sent by God Almighty to explain so eloquently why greener pastures is in the USA and for that reason Nigerian men will flee on a dime. If you notice it is only those that do not live here or are in Living in Nigeria that are defending the indefensible.

Until Nigerians understand that A JOB, IS A JOB, IS A JOB, WE ARE ALL DOOMED. Nigerians expect a salary and do not earn it. That is why you have people on this forum looking down at blue collar workers who for the most part are doing much better than them,(Joftech,Omon, and co). Until we understand that the is value to hard work, whether you flip burgers, or work construction or a software engineer for Goggle or even a CEO of a Fortune 500 Company, you still continue to work very hard and continue to understand the value of Hard work.

Nigeria has so depressed it citizens that everyone is looking for a short-cut to wealth and that is why many citizens are predisposed to failure. I did my own share of odd jobs for many years and i now run a small business with 3 employees, but even as a business owner i come to work many times earlier than everyone else and am the last to leave most times. I own my own home, i have bought and paid for four brand new cars during my stay in the US, have shipped three 40footers home.I attribute to hard work. Where would Nigeria have started to give me that kind of opportunity.Please you all can stay and rot in Naija, not me. I like Nigeria as my home and from a sentimental point of view. Nigeria did not offer me Jack in Life and i have 2 give credit where credit is due.

@Omon

You are starting to rub me off the wrong way, i will like to know when last you went home, u seem to be one of these folks we call A Monday morning Quarterback. U sit in that dreadful country and sing praises of a corrupt country like Nigeria. All those countries i listed have a better per capita income than Nigeria and yet do not have the Natural resources that Nigeria has. I am starting to think you might be in the UK on tilt...Dude get yourself together and stop smelling yourself.

Arik Air Management Addresses Fuel Scarcity Issue, Loses $9m / My Experience At The US Embassy Yesterday 23/04/2018 / Lagos To Divert Traffic At Stadium For Today's World Cup Qualifying Match

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 144