Stats: 3,152,990 members, 7,817,911 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 10:48 PM

Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN - Politics (7) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN (56368 Views)

EFCC Raids Walter Onnoghen's House In Abuja / Photo: President Buhari And CJN Walter Onnoghen At Armed Forces Remembrance Day / Court Stops FG From Trying Walter Onnoghen, CJN (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (12) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by flowx(m): 5:42pm On Jan 25, 2019
Nigeria is completely finished...

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by rexwalters: 5:43pm On Jan 25, 2019
nkwuocha:
Abacha did worst,we all know how Mrs Rice snapped the life off him.
Wrong please get your facts right before you start spreading false statements,Representative Rice is accused of killing MKO Abiola not Abacha,Abacha was murdered by CiA Agent Yasser Arafat.

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by ejose4real: 5:43pm On Jan 25, 2019
modath:
bros nor vex oh! Can D president suspend D Cjn without the Senate?

What can you do? Nor go rest..
Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by FocusedDiva(f): 5:43pm On Jan 25, 2019
LMAO grin grin grin
modath:

Who is your "bros"? undecided

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by zsamorano(m): 5:44pm On Jan 25, 2019
CJN is gone....legal battle and political jingoism will start now....make carry chair sit down dey enjoy the show

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by Naajjii: 5:44pm On Jan 25, 2019
ken6488:
i get it dey want to exclude ss and se den we are leaving your country
You are free to leave, if you are still here by tommorow shame go catch you o!!

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by rexwalters: 5:44pm On Jan 25, 2019
flowx:
Nigeria is completely finished...
Get your one way bus ticket to Accra Ghana,we will see again in 2023,he who fights and runs away lives to fight another day.

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by tesppidd: 5:44pm On Jan 25, 2019
ClumsyFlimsy:

Not a fan of pdp. I juat want genuine change sarting with removing buhari and only atiku is capable

My prayer is remove buhari, remove atiku after 4years and hopefully a sowore or kingsley moghalu or a serious revolution.

Pdp is apc and apc is pdp. This animals are one
See jim nwobodo for pdp to apc and now back to pdp.

I repeat they are one. You guys should stop deceiving yourselves and other naive ones. Saying pdp is the issue as if those in pdp are not currently in apc.

I tire for naija
Truth is that it's either Buhari or Atiku.
APC or PDP

These 2 are the only options.

I choose APC.

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by ejose4real: 5:44pm On Jan 25, 2019
FocusedDiva:
LMAO grin grin grin
i wonder if u ppl ve brain
Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by MissingBudget: 5:44pm On Jan 25, 2019
PaChukwudi44:

BROS E NO FIT HAPPEN.TRUST ME.KOLEWORK.DO YOU WANT TO BET?

Saraki should summon the senate. The president does not have such rights!

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by Jonadull: 5:44pm On Jan 25, 2019
SalamRushdie:

by tommorow the bodybof benches will make a statement rejecting this fanatic and it will be over for Buhari ... This is the worst govt ever
Ok cheesy
www.nairaland.com/attachments/8591635_screenshot20190125at5_37_23pm_jpeg3266a680bfea2eb9e1fac68c5bfc597c
Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by Corrinthians(m): 5:45pm On Jan 25, 2019
modath:

This is Buhari, heavens will not fall....
Let it fall if it will! angry

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by asawanathegreat(m): 5:45pm On Jan 25, 2019
Oyah over to us nairalanders, make we begin kill ourselves for these politicians

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by nkwuocha: 5:45pm On Jan 25, 2019
rexwalters:
Wrong please get your facts right before you start spreading false statements,Representative Rice is accused of killing MKO Abiola not Abacha,Abacha was murdered by CiA Agent Yasser Arafat.

Oh really?
Thought Abiola took the infamous ratak?!
Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by ahmadeen66: 5:45pm On Jan 25, 2019
All this people know more than us. We ordinary citizen let's sit down and watch season film

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by lordtriplee(m): 5:46pm On Jan 25, 2019
anjigirl:
http://dailypost.ng/2016/10/14/president-powers-appoint-remove-justices-obono-obla-reacts-njcs-claim-independent/

Don't be a smarty pant here. Read what you sent me. The president can remove justices on thr recommendation of the NJC.

When it comes to checks and balances, the president doesnt hold such power all on his own.

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by SalamRushdie: 5:46pm On Jan 25, 2019
Jonathan:

Ok cheesy
www.nairaland.com/attachments/8591635_screenshot20190125at5_37_23pm_jpeg3266a680bfea2eb9e1fac68c5bfc597c

Just look at the clown you are quoting , it would have been better of you quote Bobrisky

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by rexwalters: 5:46pm On Jan 25, 2019
hedonistic:

Ogbeni get lost and burn to ashes. Bloody bastard. Senseless he goat. For people like you to support this kind of blatant illegality, you don't deserve to live at all.
Welcome to Nigeria,you get electricity for house?

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by ken6488(m): 5:46pm On Jan 25, 2019
Naajjii:

tongue
Naajjii:

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by wirinet(m): 5:46pm On Jan 25, 2019
lordtriplee:

Don't be an ignorant fellow. Read.

The CJN holds office at the pleasure of the Nigerian constitution and can only be removed from office by death or on attainment of age 70 whichever occurs first or by impeachment by the Senate of the Federal Republic of Nigeria which requires a super majority of the members of the Nigerian Senate.

Technically the CJN was not "removed" from office, he was merely suspended. You do not need Senate approval to suspend a CJN or any other officer that required Senate approval. It was the same way the then CBN governor Lamido Sanusi was suspended without Senate backing.

10 Likes 1 Share

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by drey076(m): 5:46pm On Jan 25, 2019
NgeneUkwenu:
Now Chukwudi44, The Supporter Of Criminals Can Go Hug Trans.....mer.

#SayNoToCorruption.

God Bless Buhari/Osinbajo
Buhari for second term jare

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by lordtriplee(m): 5:47pm On Jan 25, 2019
rexwalters:
Of course and that same constitution says you must declare all your assets before you assume the position of the CJ?if not a crime has been committed.

The same constitution offers a procedure to look into such cases if they occur -- the NJC.

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by CrestMan: 5:48pm On Jan 25, 2019
No wonder Buhari's evil conscience couldn't allow him dress in Ibo attire when he visited the "East Central States" yesterday because he knows the evil suspension that he wants to announce today angry

I know the Senate and the Judiciary will turn the suspension down because it lacks merit. It's a grand plan for rigging 2019 election angry

BMCs/BMOs, I was one of the undecided voters who recently made up his mind not to vote for Buhari. I collected my PVC this afternoon and I have influence to get people under me to follow same path with me! sad

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by wirinet(m): 5:48pm On Jan 25, 2019
MissingBudget:

Saraki should summon the senate. The president does not have such rights!
The Senate can't do anything. The CJN was not removed, he was merely suspended.

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by Yoighaman(m): 5:48pm On Jan 25, 2019
Why at this period did PMB suddenly realize that the CJN is corrupt, this looks fishy.... also, this development might ignite a new era of insecurity caused by vicious groups. It is well with Nigeria.
Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by lordtriplee(m): 5:48pm On Jan 25, 2019
wirinet:

Technically the CJN was not "removed" from office, he was merely suspended. You do not need Senate approval to suspend a CJN or any other officer that required Senate approval. It was the same way the then CBN governor Lamido Sanusi was suspended without Senate backing.

CBN governor suspension was a complete illegality. Drunk Jona had no such powers. The fact a silly drunk president did it in his time doesn't make it legal.

Jesus Christ!

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by rexwalters: 5:49pm On Jan 25, 2019
nkwuocha:

Oh really?
Thought Abiola took the infamous ratak?!
Unlike the cowards ojukwu and nnamdi kanu that will send millions to an early death and run away only to come back years later to marry miss Nigeria like ikemba ojukwu did,what an irony?

Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by staytravel: 5:49pm On Jan 25, 2019
Shebe he's only president when elections are coming.
Re: Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen, Appoints Tanko Muhammed As Acting CJN by Nobody: 5:50pm On Jan 25, 2019
Bearshare:
It was at this point I knew Onnoghen would go down today. His actions were too predictable and desperate for a CJN. what a sad way to be remembered

A man under trial and investigation wants to swear in election tribunal members.

What is the guarantee that those he would swear in would not be his extensions in corruption ?

Buhari made the right move

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (12) (Reply)

No Vehicle Will Move Between These Hours On Election Days – IG / PRESIDENTIAL ELECTION RESULTS CURRENT STANDINGS (UPDATED -31/03/2015, 5.53pm) / Why Nigeria, Its People, Are Suffering — Buhari

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 36