Stats: 3,151,595 members, 7,812,952 topics. Date: Monday, 29 April 2024 at 11:23 PM

Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate (20163 Views)

Bill To Create 111 Additional Electoral Seats For Women Scales Second Reading / Anti-Open Grazing Bill Scales Second Reading In Akwa Ibom Assembly / Social Media Bill: Protesters Storm National Assembly (Photos) (2) (3) (4)

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by johnmartus(m): 3:24pm On Nov 20, 2019
Continue maybe you will use as a scapegoat. Buhari dont know anything about the yet you are still mention his name.
SalamRushdie:
Everything Buhari wants will be passed by this rubber stamp house !!!! Anything they dont pass simply means Buhari doesn't want it

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by johnmartus(m): 3:26pm On Nov 20, 2019
You're a liar. I will advice you to watch your mouth.
djdutchbrah:

I pity low I.Q people like you. Not one member of APC,PDP or APGA or their children or relatives will be affected by this bill. It is the everyday masses that speak out against corruption and tyranny that will pay the price.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Nobody: 3:28pm On Nov 20, 2019
Beautyaddy:

Thank you!

Are you minding that fool?

You are the fool. A very ignorant one to boot. The nations you all want to run to and laud as bastions of development, like the UK and USA, have strict rules and regulations in place concerning use of social media. For Nigeria to be unsupervised, with anyone able to say what they want online, when such is offensive and even dangerous to others, is not a way forward. Anything from the Government and you m0r0ns just begin to shout like mad inmates of an asylum without inspecting the benefits of what is suggested.

Is it not UK that jailed a white man who used social media to racially mock a black footballer( Patrice Muamba) who had a heart attack on the pitch while playing football? The character was tracked with his IP address, prosecuted successfully and sent to jail. That is the sort of development that shows some form of regulation must be in place. It is not `rocket science abeg. It is like society at large. Take out police and would London and New York not become lawless with 2 hours? Why should social media then have no regulation when some can use it very dangerously?

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Nobody: 3:28pm On Nov 20, 2019
johnmartus:
You're a liar. I will advice you to watch your mouth.
This law works in civilized countries with rule of law like UK,France and Canada. It can never work in a lawless jungle like Nigeria where court orders are disobeyed.
It will be abused by the fantastically corrupt tyrants that rule this country.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Inteltower: 3:30pm On Nov 20, 2019
so only a South Easterner spoke against the bill
anyway let me keep observing the wailers here

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by johnmartus(m): 3:34pm On Nov 20, 2019
Nigeria is lawless country right. Keep it coming.
djdutchbrah:

This law works in civilized countries with rule of law like UK,France and Canada. It can never work in a lawless jungle like Nigeria where court orders are disobeyed.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Nobody: 3:35pm On Nov 20, 2019
djdutchbrah:

You live in the corruption capital of the world and a lawless jungle were court orders means nothing and are disobeyed. And you think this bill is meant for the masses?
It is meant to protect the fantastically corrupt bandits ruling the country.

Ok we believe you then. It is not meant for the masses and is to protect politicians. So, Mr.Einstein, we should therefore leave Nigeria's social media space with no regulation at all because of your own unfounded suspicion and unobjective anti-government paranoia when much better organised nations in the West have regulatory measures policing use of social media?

It is for people like you they coined the adage "don't throw the baby out with the bath water". For Nigerian social media space to exist without regulation is not an option today. Get that into your thick head. This bill, coming late in my opinion, is largely aimed at making Nigerians use social media more responsibly and to serve as a deterrent for using the medium to deliberately defame others or put them in harms way.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Beautyaddy: 3:51pm On Nov 20, 2019
johnmartus:
Continue maybe you will use as a scapegoat. Buhari dont know anything about the yet you are still mention his name.

Look at this fool supporting a hardcore chronic fanatically corrupt and lying dictator. angry

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by sheDD(m): 3:56pm On Nov 20, 2019
Oshigun:

Please shut up and stop showing the world you are lawless and perhaps even a dishonest blogger or Yahooze. If you don't use social media fraudulently and are ready to stand accountable for what you put online, so far as it is not falsehood or overt manipulation of the truth for your own agenda, then you have nothing to worry about.

Don't come her talking as if only Politicians will benefit from this bill. It will protect more ordinary Nigerians in my opinion to include yourself. If someone puts your full name online claiming you robbed their shop, when this is a deliberate and malicious lie, should they not be punished for defaming your character and attracting negative reactions toward you?
there is an existing arm of law that sort that one
But this newest bill is baneful and its terms and letters z viler than the latter
Maybe u don't knw wot this new bill entails??

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Nobody: 3:59pm On Nov 20, 2019
Inteltower:
so only a South Easterner spoke against the bill

anyway let me keep observing the wailers here

Is that then supposed to be a plus or negative for the SE? I blame the Government for never getting their PR right to state clearly what initiatives they move for will entail. That is what always enable some to come here with their cheap scaremongering and hatred against anything related to the Government.

Singapore has passed the same bill into law on 02 October 2019 and many nations will too as it is inevitable since in is now universally agreed that 'fake news' and its dissemination on social media is very dangerous. Anyone who wants to banish ignorance should read the Singapore version of the bill we are seeking to pass, as that of Nigeria will virtually be identical, to note it is not beneficial to leaders alone.

https://wilmap.law.stanford.edu/entries/protection-online-falsehoods-and-manipulation-act-pofma

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by SalamRushdie: 4:02pm On Nov 20, 2019
johnmartus:

So because i said the truth about the rubber stamp 9th assembly you want to label it hate speech and hang me know ? cheesy cheesy. You see why we said your target is not hate speech but truth speakers

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Nobody: 4:03pm On Nov 20, 2019
sheDD:
there is an existing arm of law that sort that one
But this newest bill is baneful and its terms and letters z viler than the latter
Maybe u don't knw wot this new bill entails??

I do. It is a generic and near identical copy of that enacted in Singapore on 2 October 2019. Same as how freedom of information act is almost identical worldwide bar a few nation-specific tweaks.

https://wilmap.law.stanford.edu/entries/protection-online-falsehoods-and-manipulation-act-pofma

Protection from Online Falsehoods and Manipulation Act (POFMA)
Bill No. 10/2019

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Nobody: 4:13pm On Nov 20, 2019
SalamRushdie:

So because i said the truth about the rubber stamp 9th assembly you want to label it hate speech and hang me know ? cheesy cheesy. You see why we said your target is not hate speech but truth speakers

You are not prevented from criticising the government as that falls under freedom of speech which is fundamental. You should not be able to go unpunished saying you know for a fact PMB is marrying his Minister on Friday when such is fake and entirely fabricated news likely to cause distress to President Buhari and the Minister involved.

If the bill becomes law then people will think twice before putting their names to such obviously false submissions that cause real harm to others. No one will be looking for you if you claim you feel the Senate is a rubber stamp of the executive. They are not seeking to police the opinions of Nigerians. The bill is about regulating fake news some deliberately pass as the truth. Claiming Buhari died in the UK is fake news and whoever went public with that should be made to prove it or face consequences.

6 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by LabDNA: 4:19pm On Nov 20, 2019
NuraSambo:
This is the problem you people have. Instead of us all to fight against this draconian bill in unison, you have decided to tribalise it. Do you want to tell us that does eastern traders you allude to, do not make use of Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms?

There is no need crying over spilt milk, majority of Nigerians suspended their own right when they decided that an ex-military man, with an unapologetic history of jackboot governance methodology must preside over their affairs.

Anybody who claims to be wise and didn't see this coming is actually an idiot ascribing to himself wisdom that he has not.

The bill is coming through whether Nigerians like it or not.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by NuraSambo: 4:28pm On Nov 20, 2019
LabDNA:

There is no need crying over spilt milk, majority of Nigerians suspended their own right when they decided that an ex-military man, with an unapologetic history of jackboot governance methodology must preside over their affairs.

Anybody who claims to be wise and didn't see this coming is actually an idiot ascribe to himself wisdom that he has not.

I am not disputing this. My objection is on the comment you made earlier about easterner traders not being affected by this bill
Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Nobody: 4:35pm On Nov 20, 2019
LabDNA:

Anybody who claims to be wise and didn't see this coming is actually an idiot ascribe to himself wisdom that he has not.

Many of you just lose your head and objectivity when you feel a chance has presented itself for you to use in attacking PMB. Firstly, Buhari does not sponsor bills at the Senate. Senators do. When the Senate approves the bill, they forward it to the executive arm for approval.

Secondly, this law , or a form of it, will likely be in place in most nations of the world in the next 10 years tops anyway so how is the law to do with the type of President Nigeria has when nations with the most highly-read technocrats, as President, are embracing the regulation of social media by new and specific laws?

You guys are just making a mountain out of a molehill. It is bloggers who make money selling fake news and dumbing down the intellect and critical thinking of Nigerians who should worry the most and not ordinary Nigerians who mainly contribute their opinion online.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by LabDNA: 4:43pm On Nov 20, 2019
NuraSambo:
I am not disputing this. My objection is on the comment you made earlier about easterner traders not being affected by this bill

Why should they be affected?

Between 1970 to 1980s when it was a mortal sin for an easterner to even have an opinion after losing the war to Nigeria and her British backers, did you hear of any of Eastern journalists or social commentator arrested? They simply went home to quietly rebuild their cities damaged by war, while the people like Fela, Gani and co were busy jumping in and out of jail.

It won't affect the East, the 3rd term will succeed, SW journalists will only grumble on social media but they can't do anything about because it will now be interpreted as 'hate speech'. The judges won't find it difficult to jail.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Inteltower: 7:16pm On Nov 20, 2019
Oshigun:

Is that then supposed to be a plus or negative for the SE? I blame the Government for never getting their PR right to state clearly what initiatives they move for will entail. That is what always enable some to come here with their cheap scaremongering and hatred against anything related to the Government.

Singapore has passed the same bill into law on 02 October 2019 and many nations will too as it is inevitable since in is now universally agreed that 'fake news' and its dissemination on social media is very dangerous. Anyone who wants to banish ignorance should read the Singapore version of the bill we are seeking to pass, as that of Nigeria will virtually be identical, to note it is not beneficial to leaders alone.

your ignorance is to think that the supposed anti social bill is restricted to fake news.

plus your ignorance also fails to remember how the NG manipulates the interpretation of the law and using the term technically to carry out injustice

your ignorance fails to see that the manner of critic displayed in the US whether online, on TV or offline is what the NG is trying to take away from the common man.

so pls don't quote.. me with ignorance

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by itiswellwithme: 7:22pm On Nov 20, 2019
It's about to go down!
Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Nobody: 8:22pm On Nov 20, 2019
Buhari has one of the worst human right records of any leader in the world. He had a similar bill called decree 4 that was used to go against anyone that criticized him and jail them in the 80's
Buhari does not obey court orders and is a law unto himself. This bill will be abused by the tyrant.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by salford: 8:40pm On Nov 20, 2019
Abba Morro supported the bill. suprised? shyte hole senators.
How low can a country go? Take a good look at Nigeria.
Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by kolafolabi(m): 8:40pm On Nov 20, 2019
We will have to be sarcastic in typing our words like: This country is fantastically not currupt and stealing is not corruption.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Okoroawusa: 8:40pm On Nov 20, 2019
djdutchbrah:

If Nigeria is a "lawless jungle" why r u disturbing your self about its laws?

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by OyiboOyibo(m): 8:40pm On Nov 20, 2019
The current senate is the most stupid and most foolish since 1999

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Priwillo: 8:42pm On Nov 20, 2019
These idiots left important things for this
Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by salford: 8:43pm On Nov 20, 2019
NuraSambo:
Did I just read that Senator Abba Moro also spoke in support of the bill? Is this not the same Abba Moro of the infamous immigration recruitment scam? A man that ought to be serving a long jail sentence is among those making laws to gag Nigerians
Welcome to the zoo. Nnamdi Kanu was right after all.
Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by SenecaTheYonger: 8:44pm On Nov 20, 2019
IT'S COMING! THE DEATH BILL IS COMING!!
Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by donprinyo(m): 8:45pm On Nov 20, 2019
Something is cooking
Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by Cherrybae(f): 8:46pm On Nov 20, 2019
Igbos and wailers will not be happy to read this. They want to continue spreading falsehood and fake news.

We totally support this bill.

God bless Buhari
God bless our senators.

Nigeria shall be great again

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by farggie(m): 8:48pm On Nov 20, 2019
We are not in a banana republic we shall defend the democracy we fought for. Majority of those in power today never fought for democracy. The bill should be trashed.

Re: Social Media Bill Scales Second Reading In Senate by tunjilee003: 8:48pm On Nov 20, 2019
Gradually, these polithiefcians want to turn Nigeria to south Korea within the blink of an eye.. They want to keep the masses shut while they squander more money as they can.. But i know one day Nigerians will fight with sticks and guns �

Security Forces Uncover Insurgents’ Plot To Infiltrate Abuja / Delta 2023: APC, Omo-Agege Solicit ‘Obidients’ Votes / 2019: Jonathan’s Kinsmen Allege Ex-president, Wife Working For Opposition

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 52